Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1billion to build children's hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Cartouche wrote: »
    Having watched the piece on Prime Time, its not a surprise the costs are so amazing. The lady on representing the project basically the costs were a secret and the public were on a need to know basis :confused:

Of course we are, sure we're only paying for the ****ing thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

remind anyone of that county councillor piece...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Run special luas carriages with big red crosses on them.it'll be great on a hot day. Virus incubators. Yay.

Jump on with your broken arm crammer in with loads of other sick people and get a nice infection to boot.

Sorry but that's not what I meant. Poster asked how would people get there and I answered.

How do people get to all other hospitals.

Well ambulance, taxi, private car, bus, luas or train so actually no they wouldn't need any red crosses.

Red line is sufficient enough it already carries many of the walking dead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Ease of access is an important factor for any hospital, I agree. However it's not the only factor and in fact it's not the most important factor. I gladly criticise the department of health and HSE for being inept geebags, but the location and format of the NCH was informed by a committee of international experts to avoid the exact dublin/rural divide, accusations of politicians getting kickbacks arguments that people have thrown up here.

Co-location is a necessity. That's a fact. Getting from Athlone to an M50 greenfield site in less time than it would take to get to James' is nice, but it means feck all if your child has major burns and the major burn surgeon is 30-40 mins away in James'. It means feck all to the neonates in the coombe/Holles st/rotunda who would be further and may need urgent transfer where every minute counts.

If anyone has read the independent report commissioned (which looks at the top 17 paediatric hospitals in the world) you will see there is only one paediatric hospital that isn't co-located. The authors even balanced the issue of access VS co-location. They cited the Bristol Inquiry in the UK which said that “quality and safety should prevail over ease of
    access”.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

satguy wrote: »
    It will lay idle when built as there is no Staff, or no parking if they do find Staff..
    It's going to be a Rush Hour nightmare, so only get sick on Sunday's ..

There is 100 acres at Newlands Cross,, or there is another 100 acres at Peamount Hospital..

Newlands Cross is where it should be.. the luas goes past, the Nass Road is a fine 3 lane road with many bus routes nearby.

If it doesn't make any sense there is generally a brown envelope involved

They are "saving" those sites for the private hospitals in the future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,651 ✭✭✭✭beauf

Something like 90% of people use a car to get to hospital.

So put it where its gridlocked, very little parking and its expensive. Makes perfect sense.

Its been a political football and manipulated since they wanted it in the Mater.

TBH even the M50 is too close to Dubin. Now since its gridlocked a lot of the time now aswell.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,634 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Trump would build it for 400m and come in under budget and under time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Build it out from Dublin on the M4 or M7 with entry and exit the same as the Motorway service areas.That would be common sense which unfortunately is lacking in Ireland.

Not sure why this is more useful than the centre. Or easier to access.

The M50 can be a car park.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Then he'd send all the immigrants home who helped build it and remove free health care for anyone who really needs it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭satguy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Port tunnel overcost
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/port-tunnel-cost-804m-50pc-more-than-budget-26717361.html

PPars program ha ha ha
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/health/hse-pay-system-costing-euro6m-a-year-129774.html

Civil servant decentralization Im not saying anything at all about Civil Servants.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/deranged-big-d-vision-cost-us-dear-1.647606
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/the-decentralisation-debacle-1.646870

Gas Pipelines not so gas now.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/corrib-gas-cost-overruns-deprive-state-of-600m-in-tax-1.2267210

Evoting machines
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/54m-voting-machines-scrapped-for-9-each-26870212.html

Poolbeg incinerator
    http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/poolbeg-incinerator-cost-600-million-3051421

The luas line
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/new-pressure-for-review-of-huge-surge-in-cost-of-luas-26012871.html

Irish Water.
    No link needed there its still fresh in the memory.

Billions and billions pished away like there is no tomorrow.

And some people have the balls to point and laugh at corruption in Uganda or Zimbabwe or Russia.

At least there they are upfront about it from the start.

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

And the Mexicans would pay for it.:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Ease of access is an important factor for any hospital, I agree. However it's not the only factor and in fact it's not the most important factor. I gladly criticise the department of health and HSE for being inept geebags, but the location and format of the NCH was informed by a committee of international experts to avoid the exact dublin/rural divide, accusations of politicians getting kickbacks arguments that people have thrown up here.

Co-location is a necessity. That's a fact. Getting from Athlone to an M50 greenfield site in less time than it would take to get to James' is nice, but it means feck all if your child has major burns and the major burn surgeon is 30-40 mins away in James'. It means feck all to the neonates in the coombe/Holles st/rotunda who would be further and may need urgent transfer where every minute counts.

If anyone has read the independent report commissioned (which looks at the top 17 paediatric hospitals in the world) you will see there is only one paediatric hospital that isn't co-located. The authors even balanced the issue of access VS co-location. They cited the Bristol Inquiry in the UK which said that “quality and safety should prevail over ease of
    access”.
    Hey you! Yes you, with your informed opinion. You are not welcome here.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,267 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

access”.

Ah here, will you stop bringing facts into the discussion. Some of us are trying to have an uninformed rant.

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭OneOfThem Stumbled

I said wrote: »
    Cost has more than doubled from 400million in 2012 to 1 billion today.
    Incorrect thread title:

€1 billion to discuss building children's hospital.
    All I want to know is what shower of thieving,greedy,corrupt and backhander specialists are the only ones who think they know best for the country.

Answer is predominantly the HSE, but also Mary Harney. Everyone outside of the HSE top brass and minister for health could tell them that the Mater was an unsuitable location. Some people, like Philip Lynch, were told that the location was not up for discussion, and resigned because of it. An Bord Pleanála rejected their original plan as inappropriate.

It's not clear who were on the expert groups, or how the costs have spiraled so much, but James Reilly also seemed to make a haimes of the affair.

If we could work out why the HSE and ministry of health were so bad at organising building a hospital, perhaps it would indicate how to fix the management of health services in Ireland, in general (which are pretty poorly managed).

• Registered Users Posts: 19,689 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Ireland's health care system is on par with Bulgaria's - 'pretty poorly' is an understatement. Probably the highest paid health care managers in the EU, I wouldn't doubt.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,634 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Blame the people. They keep electing the usual suspects. Change in Ireland is feared.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

One Billion! Nice round figure! Could they not have said it was going to cost 969 million? At least it would have sounded like they weren't plucking figures from the sky!

I saw something similar on Wikipedia.

It lists Sligo's population at 20,000 ie they don't really know but it's probably about that. :)

On the hospital costs, does Europe not pay for these things anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

And the sick would simply be put down unless they're veterans.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Blame the people. They keep electing the usual suspects. Change in Ireland is feared.

What's the alternative,elect other usual suspects to replace the usual suspects?.Vicious usual suspect circle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Without getting all 'Jacque Fresco or Edward de Bono'
    - what about converting an old cruise liner and park it up somewhere to save a few hundred million.

ship.png

Perhaps also get a spare one as rehabilitation and treatment center for the other 'substance challenged' folks.
    All that lovely fresh sea air would do wonders.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    And the sick would simply be put down unless they're veterans.

Dont worry its happening here already.

Its just called a waiting line.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭daheff

Jesus...spend 2bn...lets go state of the art....cos we arent doing one again for another 100 years. Lets do this right

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭Stars and Stripes

The usual Fianna Gael and Fine Fail parasites who bought into property around the preferred FF site. Dig deep enough and it will turn out to be another property related scam off the state's finances.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,088 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

access”.

If you set the correct terms of reference you get the desired result.
    As others have siad most people travel to these hospitals via car, not luas not train, not bus.

Now maybe someday we will all have some super duper public transport, but even then i don't think most pearents will bring their sick children on public transport so that they are more open to infactions, etc.

BTW you linking this to having to be close to three very badly sited maternity hospitals already shows how limited your thinking is, much like our governments (yes there have multiple ones involved in this debacle), the Dept of health and HSE.

For anyone who has experience of Hollis St it is absolute shyte location where there is absolutely no parking.
    The hospital building itself is from the fooking 19th century and not fit for purpose.
    And this is from experience of having to see your wife spend the night on a corridor with a newborn baby and having no parking which means a woman in labour has to walk down the street to get to the door. :mad::mad:

A new childrens hospital should have been outside Dublin city cnetre and one or more of the major maternity hsopitals moved out to it.

This whole debacle is political maneouvering both by actual politicians and vested medial interests.
    It is much like how every fecking hospital in the country was redesignated a University Hospital.
    It is like how first HSE CEO was allowed setup in Naas because it suited him.
    Ah here, will you stop bringing facts into the discussion. Some of us are trying to have an uninformed rant.

Yeah would these be like the facts that had the Mater has the first site ?
    I can remember quiet a few people lauding that location as well until suddenly it was found that it wasn't right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

1 billion to build children's hospital.

... in the wrong location.

Should have been a green field site IMO, instead of being crammed into an already crowdwd City Centre site.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

jmayo wrote: »

access”.

If you set the correct terms of reference you get the desired result.
    As others have siad most people travel to these hospitals via car, not luas not train, not bus.

Now maybe someday we will all have some super duper public transport, but even then i don't think most pearents will bring their sick children on public transport so that they are more open to infactions, etc.

BTW you linking this to having to be close to three very badly sited maternity hospitals already shows how limited your thinking is, much like our governments (yes there have multiple ones involved in this debacle), the Dept of health and HSE.

For anyone who has experience of Hollis St it is absolute shyte location where there is absolutely no parking.
    The hospital building itself is from the fooking 19th century and not fit for purpose.
    And this is from experience of having to see your wife spend the night on a corridor with a newborn baby and having no parking which means a woman in labour has to walk down the street to get to the door. :mad::mad:

A new childrens hospital should have been outside Dublin city cnetre and one or more of the major maternity hsopitals moved out to it.

This whole debacle is political maneouvering both by actual politicians and vested medial interests.
    It is much like how every fecking hospital in the country was redesignated a University Hospital.
    It is like how first HSE CEO was allowed setup in Naas because it suited him.

Yeah would these be like the facts that had the Mater has the first site ?
    I can remember quiet a few people lauding that location as well until suddenly it was found that it wasn't right.
    You can try dismiss it by suggesting the terms of reference were deliberately framed to place it at James' (despite this report being commissioned almost a decade before James' was settled on as the location). The reality is that the evidence favours co-location with a major tertiary hospital. The major tertiary hospitals are located in and around the city, and so this takes precedence over ease of access for outpatients. In fact, a quick check on google maps shows that there is less than 6 minutes in the difference in travel time for someone travelling from the west of the country to Connolly VS James'.
    Evidence to support co-location:
    • 16/17 of the top paediatric hospitals are co-located with a major adult teaching hospital (McKinsey 2006)
    • "Children's acute hospital services should ideally be located in a children's hospital, which should be physically as close as possible to an acute general hospital" (Bristol Enquiry 2001). For example, the cardiothoracic surgeons in Crumlin (which acts as the national centre for paediatric cardiac services) also work on adults in James'. At present they are 8 minutes away if they are needed for emergency care in Crumlin. A children's hospital at Connolly would increase this 3-fold.
    • "Children's specialist acute hospital services should be co-located with adult, maternity & neo-natal services" (Scottish review of paediatric services, 2004)
    • The Queensland Review 2006 recommended the merger of 2 paediatric hospitals into a single hospital, on the campus of a major adult hospital "to act as the hub of state-wide network of paediatric tertiary services"

Co-location is international best practice. That is a fact. Quality of care for the kids of the country takes precedence over ease of finding a parking space. We're not the first nor are we the only country that has their major hospitals located throughout the capital city.

You can try dismiss it by suggesting the terms of reference were deliberately framed to place it at James' (despite this report being commissioned almost a decade before James' was settled on as the location). The reality is that the evidence favours co-location with a major tertiary hospital. The major tertiary hospitals are located in and around the city, and so this takes precedence over ease of access for outpatients. In fact, a quick check on google maps shows that there is less than 6 minutes in the difference in travel time for someone travelling from the west of the country to Connolly VS James'.
    Evidence to support co-location:
    • 16/17 of the top paediatric hospitals are co-located with a major adult teaching hospital (McKinsey 2006)
    • "Children's acute hospital services should ideally be located in a children's hospital, which should be physically as close as possible to an acute general hospital" (Bristol Enquiry 2001). For example, the cardiothoracic surgeons in Crumlin (which acts as the national centre for paediatric cardiac services) also work on adults in James'. At present they are 8 minutes away if they are needed for emergency care in Crumlin. A children's hospital at Connolly would increase this 3-fold.
    • "Children's specialist acute hospital services should be co-located with adult, maternity & neo-natal services" (Scottish review of paediatric services, 2004)
    • The Queensland Review 2006 recommended the merger of 2 paediatric hospitals into a single hospital, on the campus of a major adult hospital "to act as the hub of state-wide network of paediatric tertiary services"

Co-location is international best practice. That is a fact. Quality of care for the kids of the country takes precedence over ease of finding a parking space. We're not the first nor are we the only country that has their major hospitals located throughout the capital city.
    What does Google say about travel times from Limerick/Galway/Wexford to a greenfield site out aat the M50 vs inner ciry Dublin. A car travelling un-escorted. An ambulance under blue lights is a difference scenario obviously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Might have been better long-term to build a new major hospital out of the city and a co-located children's hospital along with it

Course it would but the vested interests (doctors and politicians who own property near the hospital site) didn't like that plan. So they kept going until they got one they wanted.