Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post for everyone who QUIT evil fags

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭molly77

Hi all ye non smokers:D

Well Day 18 :) dont even know how i am still here:rolleyes:

Today another BAD day, lots of craving,s, still though i am not tempeted to buy 20. Thank God (shop only 2 mins away). Wondering when de day will arrive when i dont think about de EVIL ones. :(

Well tomorrow another day.
    best of luck everyone and Stay FAG Free :):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

regular pangs today but have resisted and have eaten like a horse all day long....................hope this doesn't go on cause I can't afford to put on too much weight.

why does this have to be sooooooooooooooo hard ???

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Day 8 :)

From reading your posts it seems that the end of week 2 is the "wall". It's good to have the heads up, gives me a chance to prepare myself. Helps to know what to expect.

Keep it up guys, your my inspiration. I need ye as a benchmark!

Sardo :p

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Dalan

stella09 wrote: »
    Im baaaack!! :D I think yesterday could have been my worser worst worstest day EVER....:mad::eek: but i have just read through all the comments and posts form all of yous and thanks soooo much!
    I was doubting myself all day yesterday and kept fighting myself from going into shop with my 8.55..
    Today is a brand new day and this boards is really really helpin!!:cool:

keep it up everyone! ye are doing GREAT!!! :D:D:D

Stella that's really well done! It would have been so easy to give up all the hard work you've put into quitting, so it's great to know you had the strength to come back. The whyquit.com site has a lot about it's not so much that smoking is so hard to give up, it's that it's so easy to start doing again. I'm off the nicotine fix for three weeks now; still have treacherous little thoughts ("junkie thinking") every day at some point about how nice and oh wouldn't it be great; but I really do appreciate the physical differences already there about not stinking and not coughing up a gobful of cigarette tar every morning, and so, for today at least, I don't intend going back. Good luck yourself with your own resolution, good luck to all on the thread who are finding the way to beat the addiction...

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Dalan

"Recovery is a temporary period of adjustment. It's a period of transition from the daily needs of the endlessly feeding addict who occupied center stage in our lives, to the relaxed and comfortable us no longer tied to the endless roller-coaster of nicotine highs and lows." (John Polito)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 ciara10

Hi All,
    Gave up smoking 8 days ago. I am 36 years old and have been smoking ciggarettes since I was 16 years old so was smoking 20 years!! I was smoking up to twenty ciggies a day. I am currently using the 25mg Patches. my cravings aren't so bad and can control them now but I believe that i will now never smoke again after the week I have put in already I simply cannot go back now only forward!. I have some side effects though that I am wondering are normal? I am constantly tired so tired infact that I would gladly lie down on the side of the road if I thought that I could get some sleep. I am sleeping well at night but can't wait to get into bed in the evening and can't get out of bed in the morning! My eyes are constantly sore from tiredness. Is this normal and when will I begin to feel better? I feel aches in my lungs even though I am breathing much better and can feel my heart racing at times. I don'y think I could possibly go cold turkey without the aid of the patches, it is not an option for me. let me know if I am normal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

ciara10 wrote: »
    Hi All,
    Gave up smoking 8 days ago. I am 36 years old and have been smoking ciggarettes since I was 16 years old so was smoking 20 years!! I was smoking up to twenty ciggies a day. I am currently using the 25mg Patches. my cravings aren't so bad and can control them now but I believe that i will now never smoke again after the week I have put in already I simply cannot go back now only forward!. I have some side effects though that I am wondering are normal? I am constantly tired so tired infact that I would gladly lie down on the side of the road if I thought that I could get some sleep. I am sleeping well at night but can't wait to get into bed in the evening and can't get out of bed in the morning! My eyes are constantly sore from tiredness. Is this normal and when will I begin to feel better? I feel aches in my lungs even though I am breathing much better and can feel my heart racing at times. I don'y think I could possibly go cold turkey without the aid of the patches, it is not an option for me. let me know if I am normal!

Hi Ciara. I got extreme tiredness when on the patches too. Im doing it cold turkey this time around and have almost too much energy.

Aches in the lungs are normal as is your heart racing. It does calm down as your body adjusts.

Hi all hope ye,re doing well.

Craving,s again today, pissed off them at this stage. :mad: Bought myself a tin of Quality Street:p

I have cum to de conclusion that this is going to take time.
    Common sense I have been smoking 30 years, its like u lost ur best friend. Cant just forget about them in a few weeks.
    Need a few months to get used to been an non smoker:) and hopefully then i wont even think about them evil yokes :D

Keep going Guys We can beat them together. :):):):):):):):)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,655 ✭✭✭1966

well just back from work and today wasn't too bad to be honest - was so busy in work I really didnt have time to think about a break / ciggie.
    hope tonight goes so smoothly.
    it seems to be one easyish day followed by a few killers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Day 36.

First few times out on the beer were touch and go, but otherwise doing good. I guess I find it easier as I've made the decision I just don't want to be a smoker. I found it a lot harder when I wanted to smoke but tried to quit.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Follow the Plan

Christ its tough, my fav smoke was in the evening when the work was done. I miss that one most of all. Still off them tho.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Shazanne

You still out there Rraff?
    Just wondering how the e-cig is working out for you?
    PM me if you dont want to say publicly.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Day 10

• Registered Users Posts: 31 sahs1

Hi Molly and all! :)

I am on day.....? Which must be a good sign cuz in the past I would know how many days....hours...mins....secs....! Anyways it was last sunday week coming I think...the first week was not too bad...got hit with some real stressful situations.....one so bad I asked the giver of the stress for a cancer stink and fate leaped in........they had run out....that was two days ago...lesson...avoid other smokers just for a bit....give yourself space.....I do feel its right for me to stop, in agreement to the other thread follower's comment.....I really do feel that ever lighting up and inhaling another fag for me is a complete no no, one puff thats it I am back on....tried and tested! So no matter how hard and the last couple of days have been....although today wasn't bad at all...real hard! Sorry I am ranting which I am doing alot lately!!! lol I have some help to share....it worked for me....I read it every nite and a paragraph every morning...I listened to it for the first couple of days.....mc2.com.....quit smoking.....I can't tell you why it worked for me.....like the comment made by the other threader!!! If you really want to stop.....and I did....I found the utube short video by mc2...my kick off them.....and am still off them.......smiling big :)))) pain or no pain...they are filthy, expensive, stinking con sticks......sorry again for the rant and know this.......if you could make one great effective decision to better your life in an instant..............its to quit! You're all fabulous and smell gorgeous!!!! x

Hi Molly and all! :)

I am on day.....? Which must be a good sign cuz in the past I would know how many days....hours...mins....secs....! Anyways it was last sunday week coming I think...the first week was not too bad...got hit with some real stressful situations.....one so bad I asked the giver of the stress for a cancer stink and fate leaped in........they had run out....that was two days ago...lesson...avoid other smokers just for a bit....give yourself space.....I do feel its right for me to stop, in agreement to the other thread follower's comment.....I really do feel that ever lighting up and inhaling another fag for me is a complete no no, one puff thats it I am back on....tried and tested! So no matter how hard and the last couple of days have been....although today wasn't bad at all...real hard! Sorry I am ranting which I am doing alot lately!!! lol I have some help to share....it worked for me....I read it every nite and a paragraph every morning...I listened to it for the first couple of days.....mc2.com.....quit smoking.....I can't tell you why it worked for me.....like the comment made by the other threader!!! If you really want to stop.....and I did....I found the utube short video by mc2...my kick off them.....and am still off them.......smiling big :)))) pain or no pain...they are filthy, expensive, stinking con sticks......sorry again for the rant and know this.......if you could make one great effective decision to better your life in an instant..............its to quit! You're all fabulous and smell gorgeous!!!! x

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Ricekrispie

Male, gave up almost two years ago after a small routine operation that had me in hospital for three days and probably helped me over the real craving bump. Now 39, had smoked more or less full-time from about aged 19 or 20 - on average between 8 and 14 a day. Had given up once, about seven years ago for 3 months or so and went back on them. Now off them almost two years. Still think of them fondly every now and then but never have the real urge to have one. Have smoked the odd bit of a cigar (about three times) since quitting, but didn't make me want to smoke again. Feel much better now that I'm off them. Took up running four months ago (because I had put on weight in past year) and now can jog 4km non-stop and do it about three or four times a week! Can't believe that myself.......... Worth keeping at it!

Hi all

Well 21 days without fags, Last few days very hard, going out tonite for my first drink without fags:mad: have 3 drinks only:)
    40 a day habit
    Total
    21 days = 840 fags I did,nt smoke:)wow
    saved € 357
    tomorrow week 4 and it fecking better get easier, or i will be gone crazy:D
    best of luck guys, noticed a few people did,nt post here this week?

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭sniffingchimp

molly77 wrote: »
    Hi all

Well 21 days without fags, Last few days very hard, going out tonite for my first drink without fags:mad: have 3 drinks only:)
    40 a day habit
    Total
    21 days = 840 fags I did,nt smoke:)wow
    saved € 357
    tomorrow week 4 and it fecking better get easier, or i will be gone crazy:D
    best of luck guys, noticed a few people did,nt post here this week?

Best of luck with the drinks tonight hon - it's tough with the drink but if you feel yourself slipping and edging towards having one keep strong or just remove yourself from the pub and head on home.... you're doing incredibly well and it's one of the biggest challenges (the pub) so just take small steps...

17 days for me, 20 a day habit and it's still tricky, especially when socialising! Hang in there.

Fab re the running...............I love it....:) Running off the fags is gonna be too sweet...first long one tomorrow......I love reading threaders who have been off fags a long time......it motivates me to keep off them, I don't want to survive another day...I want to feel like a non smoker and stop the monkeys jumping on my back with fag thoughts....grrrrrrr.....I found the first week easy enough....the second has been very difficult and obsessive.......the freezing dark weather doesn't help...lol everywhere I look I see smoke sitting densely in front of me....hanging like a cruel temptress from chimneys......!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Im off the fags a week now - hurrah!!!:D

But I feel like someone jumped on my chest and Im coughing all day - hope I start to feel some positive effects soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Money Tree

19 days and counting for me now and am happy to report i managed to clear the first big hurdle last night by enjoying a night out without smoking.

Hi all
    Went to pub last nite but did,nt smoke. on edge all nite long, only had 3 drinks, didnt enjoy de nite one bit, not much of a drinking person been there done that.
    No lies
    This morning bad SMOKED 2 fags:mad::mad::mad::mad: So i need HELP badly.
    I am finding it very hard, most of my day is thinking about them, I dont want to go back smoking 40 a day again
    :(
    HELP

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

Hi all, I started smoking after my intercert back in 1990, was on them the best part of 18 years :( tried to give them up (usually half hearted attempts) without any success until I found out my partner was pregnant with our first abay in April 2008, I stopped the next day and haven't gone back, been tempted may times but all I have to do is think of my little man and the craving goes.
    The pub was the toughest part, but as we were having a baby out social life got considerably quieter so it wasn't soo much of an issue, I've been around smokers since, sometines it would bring on a craving but after a while (few months) it stopped bothering me as well,.
    I consider myself a non-smoker now and can't ever see myself going back, if I can get off them anyone can, keep the faith and have a good reason to stop.

Hi Molly!!!

Don't give up! :) Check out mc2 easy method to quit smoking on utube.....its only 10 minutes and boy is it good to motivate you.......am off the con sticks 13 days and when it gets tough I listen again......went out last nite for the first time....woke this morning thrilled to bits as a). no hang over and b). no smoking......so chuft its worth all the cravings.....which get easier....weaker.....less frequent........I hope you stick at it.....:)

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭dozydelilah

Hi everyone. This is my 7th day smoke free... I cannot believe it??? I'm taking champix, and I don't know how they work but they must!! There's no way I could manage this on my own.. I had to beg the doctor for it, specially cause I'm on so many other meds!!! But went on it three weeks ago. I didn't think it as working cause I still didn't want to get Tony quit date. I actually padtvit by a week, but then I had no choice cause I had told everyone I was going to!!!! Touch wood it hasn't been bad so far!!! I really am in shock!!
    Iv tried everything in the past, gum, pAtches, hypnosis 4 times!!!! And felt every Minuit I managed before!!! I'm so excited to never smoke again!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 cailindeas25

Molly, I hope you are finding things easier now. Same happened to me after 10 weeks on my first attempt. But I made the mistake of thinking it was okay and fell back into the smoking trap and I stayed away from boards coz I felt guilty. It's good that you're logging your feeling here. Back on the wagon with ya, you'll get loads of support here :) Back off them four months now and I think a wee slip up just reinforces your will to keep off them the next time around.Best of luck :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Money Tree

Im off them 3 weeks tonight but have found this weekend very difficult. Just logging on here is a great help to me. Keep up the good work everyone

Today has been up and down! I feel great that I have stopped and am not nearly obsessing about them as much, but just now have had three or four big.......poke's for a ciggy......just getting a bit peed off with the prospects of having to deal with them for the rest of my life????? They only last for a second..........BUT feel very proud and best of all.........my fingers and toes are warm, when I go to bed I fall asleep which I had not been doing at all when smoking, it was taking me hours to fall asleep! The pains I was having in my legs have disappeared........and I ran for 1hr16mins on Sat!!! :) I am so happy to be off them...................good luck and stick to yer guns people!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭NavanEPS

HI All - and Molly77 get back on that wagon!

I am off them 6 months and still get the odd "thought" I would like a ciggie but just remind myself of how I would have to go through the first few weeks again. NO! I could not do it - I worked so hard to give them up, it wasn't easy, so there is no way I will do that again. So if I can't do it again, and I don't want to die from a smoking related disease then I had better stay off them. IT IS THAT SIMPLE!
    I still come on to boards to see how other people are doing and to remind myself how difficult it was at week 1, week 3 etc etc.
    But you know what - IT DOES GET MUCH EASIER
    Good luck to all who are off them and to all those who are trying - we have two choices - smoke or don't smoke

PS I smoked for 25 years, 20 a day so for most of you it will be less difficult - just GO FOR IT!

Hi all
    After my little relapse. Binned rest of pack and broke them up into pieces good feeling :) Doing well since, Went for a 4 hrs hike yesterday, tough going especially breathing, but it has improved. Cravings not to bad since.

Dalan, shinshin snoozy, where are ye gone to:confused: hope ye are all going gud.

Thats it hopefully i will not give into de EVIL ones again:)