Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DK build thread

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭ripperman

urbanledge wrote: »
    yea a vague ad came up for 30 arcade cabs came up on adverts.
    A fella here went to get them but it turned out to be a bit of a let down as most were wrote off.
    op raid is nerd slang for operator raid.where collectors get the change to "raid" a warehouse/arcade.

very rare in these parts!
    but some day...........

Oh yeah the 30 games in Galway thing. Got excited about that too when I saw it. Thought I might be able to get a couple!

Some day indeed. :)

Cheers

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 5,381 Mod ✭✭✭✭Optimus Prime

op raid is nerd slang for operator raid.where collectors get the change to "raid" a warehouse/arcade/Barn.

very rare in these parts!
    but some day...........

added Barn to that list haha.. great craic going on a "raid"

Chassis back today via Parcel motel,
    will try test it later if I have time but no doubt its working!

Rang my uncle too.(the cabinet maker)
    Decided to go with high quality 15mm ply keeping with an original.
    With a solid CP and solid timber for the monitor frame.

The ply will all need to be filled and sanded to cover the grain.
    Apparently the grain will always show through even after primer and PU paint.

3 sheets of ply at about 55e a pop!
    should have money to start it by the end of the month :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Sounds good, but €55 a pop ouch!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Timber is pricey alright !!

Can you get T-Molding that size easily enough ?

Yep 55 a pop or 38 for mdf,
    Might as well do it properly now as I've spared no expense on the rest of the stuff.

I have the replica nintendo t-molding from mikes arcade.
    its 5/8" thats 15.8mm in real money.
    might be a tiny lip on each side.
    should be ok tho.

.4mm over at each side!
    Ah here I thought you said you might as well do it properly?

joking

Build starting tomorrow week!
    I've decided Im going to make 2 panels,
    one DK replica (obviously )and 1 shump panel with extra buttons.

Going to put one of these under the CP and wire the Jamma harness to it
    $_12.JPG

The 2 panels will be wired to the appropriate plugs for quick swap outs!
    Might make a 3/4th blank panel while Im at it for future plans.

Big update on this,
    Spent the whole day with my uncle and made some serious progress!
    I wasnt going to show you any pics but feck it.
    I made a mistake today but all will be fixed tomorrow.
    See can you spot it!(its fairly obvious tbh!)
    Also I was too busy to take pics of every step so some pics missing

Step one:
    150e worth of birch ply (3 sheets) in an extremely messy workshop!
    2014-04-19+10.29.25.jpg

Step two:
    Mark out a gable end.I had made a full scale template before hand.
    The gable on top was cut out rough (still tidy) with the jigsaw then cleaned up using a straight edge and a router and a bit of free hand.
    2014-04-19+11.22.59.jpg

Step three:
    Rough out your second gable end and use the finished gable as a template.
    again using a router.Now you have 2 identical gables!
    These pics are before routing.
    2014-04-19+11.33.38.jpg2014-04-19+11.30.07.jpg

Step 4:
    Work out the bits you need for the inside!
    Floor,coin door,speaker panel,upper shelf,top and coin box shelf.
    Rip these to size on a panel saw (if you have one:D)

(pics missing)

Step 5:
    when it comes to fixings some people use bracket or glue blocks/batons.
    Since I had the tools available I opted to "kreg gig" everything together.
    Super strong system that's clean and works well.
    All panels are pre drilled and ready for assembly.
    Heres a pic of a kreg jig hole
    hqdefault.jpg

Step 6:
    Lets stick this together!
    Top,bottom,lower speaker panel and marquee box in!
    2014-04-19+13.59.07.jpg

Speaker panel and coin door sections in!And some holes for cables.
    2014-04-19+14.51.58.jpg

CP and Marquee test fit (its not quite right in this pic)
    2014-04-19+15.31.24.jpg2014-04-19+15.31.31.jpg

And test fit a few other bits!
    2014-04-19+15.35.37.jpg

Thats it for todays work!( apart from the **** ton of sanding that I did)
    Work continues at 9am tomorrow.
    So far so good (except that one thing :rolleyes:)
    at least its not to late to fix it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Wow, amazing stuff. It's gonna be a thing of beauty when done

• Registered Users Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Excellent stuff indeed!

Looks brilliant, Would love to do one of these some day. Favourite wooden cabinet by far.
    Mistake?

The speaker holes are the wrong size by a mile!

Brilliant work, going to look fanastic when its done.

wow great job, that looks brilliant! Nintendo cabs.. best cabs ever.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

As Sera would say but no 42 year old man should say, ever, So Jelly!
    It's looking great, will be brilliant when complete.
    Damn, but wish I did woodwork!

Works been pushed back till tomorrow due to easter family stuff!
    I'm eager to get to going!

Looking forward to the updates this evening

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭kevin2me

The speaker holes are the wrong size by a mile!

Smashing work. Its looks fab. Nintendo cabs are proper art.
    Cant wait to rest rest of it...

Worked on this all day,
    Didn't think I had a lot to do but turns out I did and a few bits took ages.

Step 7:
    The back.
    The back has 3 bits,top bit,bottom bit and door.
    Straight forward enough just had to make a few cut outs to match the original.
    Mark out your cuts,
    2014-04-21+11.46.18.jpg2014-04-21+11.46.24.jpg

Box off your lines and use a router to cut them out.Far better job than a jigsaw.
    2014-04-21+13.00.09.jpg

and this is your finished cut,as you can the cut is lovely!
    2014-04-21+13.37.23.jpg

Step 8:
    I drilled the CP and did some routing to let the stick recess and test fitted the latches.
    2014-04-21+14.34.32.jpg2014-04-21+14.34.24.jpg

Step 9:
    Back to that speaker grill.
    So I found out I should of used a 8mm slot cutter for this.
    I didnt have one and couldn't get one today so I used a 6.3mm
    I made a gig up on the bench for routing and marked out the lines
    2014-04-21+15.31.39.jpg

I actually made a balls of it the second time so ended up doing a third one!
    took ages but it was worth it in the end.

Small bit of filling to fix a few chips.
    2014-04-21+16.56.48.jpg

After sanding.Very happy with this
    2014-04-21+17.30.04.jpg

Step 10:
    Stick all the bits together
    2014-04-21+17.32.43.jpg2014-04-21+17.33.13.jpg

Step 11:
    This is the bit I was dreading.
    The lower bezel/cp timber.
    This is made out a massive lump of birch.
    This is a cross section of it.
    2014-04-21+18.32.58.jpg

As you can see the CP slots into this and the bottom of the bezel so it was a bit of a bastard to get right but luckily my uncle is a pro and wasnt phased by it.
    He made this part
    i was going to strengthen the lower bit but there was no need to in the end.
    Also the top of the CP needs to be flattened off to fit in.
    This was a bastard of a job and again my uncle did this on the panel saw.

here it is installed.
    2014-04-21+18.40.52.jpg

At this stage I test fitted all the brackets and the plastics.
    All looked 100%.
    I forgot to take a pic tho!

Step 11:
    Paint!
    Base coat on .

2014-04-21+19.47.40.jpg2014-04-21+19.51.17-1.jpg

And thats it for the moment!
    I've ran into a problem and another possible one.
    I havent got the right slot cutter for the Tmolding.
    cant paint until the slot is cut !
    And I dont want any grain to show through the paint so Im not sure if I have to use a spray filler on it first and sand it all down so going to shoot some blue onto it during the week and see where Im at.

So deffo wont be painting till next saturday !

Anybody ever do any tmolding?

Stick it on a cab? yeh loads of times.

Edit:
    Think you mean cut the groove? never done it myself, seen a friend do it, looked dead easy to be honest, i just didnt have a router to do it.

keithgeo wrote: »
    Stick it on a cab? yeh loads of times.

Edit:
    Think you mean cut the groove? never done it myself, seen a friend do it, looked dead easy to be honest, i just didnt have a router to do it.

Yea I mean cut the Grove. My tmolding is 7/64 of an inch wide. Silly silly imperial stuff.
    Don't know what cutter to get :-(

7/64 is an odd size ? Seem to be plenty of 1/8" slot cutter bits available though..

Yea it is odd,
    After a bit of searching it looks like I need a 0.080 of an inch slot.
    Thats 2.032mm in real money.
    tm-58in.jpg

So a 2mm cutter then and a hammer !!

I wouldn't worry about it too much, getting the exact size, ive put tmolding on a load of cabs, some of them where the groove was twice the size it should be in parts due to damage. A hot glue gun and a bit of patience doing it and it will go in and stay on no bothers. Just fire in the glue in sections and hold the tmolding down until the glue drys.

Well I ordered the slot cutter and shank.
    35 poxy euro delivered from UK.
    Should be the last expense in this project............
    except a marquee light!

Put another full day into this yesterday!
    The slot cutter I was waiting on hasnt come tho :(
    still I was able to get some paint on!

First up close up of the CP slot thing!
    mw2KBSxkLJibvVCtCT4V6u2dYys7VpRbKxTLGiM-na0=w485-h857-no2014-04-26+10.34.03.jpg

Oh thats a lovely fit!

Now the exciting stuff!
    Black paint!
    2014-04-26+14.47.04.jpg2014-04-26+14.47.13.jpg

Painted the inside because if you paint one side of ply it'll bend!
    surface tension caused by the paint apparently.

Then masked up and first coat of blue on!
    Its wet in this pic!I'm very happy with the blue:D
    2014-04-26+17.07.55.jpg

I still gotta make and paint the black foot thing,cut the T slot and them im going to do 2/3 coats of clear lacquer over everything.