Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Coronavirus Pandemic Information- Local and Worldwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Consider the term herd suppression, as the majority of pathogens are never ever fully eliminated due to immunity. Most exist continuously and are dangerous only for a small minority of the population. For example take the other pre covid coronavirus strains, they can and do all kill every year but are only dangerous to the very old and weak. Sweden would seem to be at that stage as it is now at the lower end of the scale of new infections in Europe. The problem is that no research on antibody prevalence at population level has really been carried out before to give us benchmark data to base covid off.
    The idea that we need 60-70% immune to keep things stable is nonsense.No disease moves through any population in a homogeneous way with each individual exposed having an equal chance of infection.

Flu vaccines only actually make small (if any) differences to mortality as vaccines struggle to protect those who need them most. This will be the same with a covid vaccine.
    Every old person will have their day of reckoning against covid with or without a vaccine. A vaccine will likely mean that the disease will be less severe for many people. But for a typical 84 year-old with multiple underlying conditions, ultimately what will decide if they live or die is how much vigour is left in them.

Look up the seasonal variation of respiratory pathogens. Flu and coronavirus are seasonal rhinovirus being less so.
    Flu season is late autumn and winter, coronavirus season is late winter through spring.
    A flu infection will generally mean that you are less likely to get a coronavirus infection as non specific immunity is ramped up post infection.
    There is no reason to think that a super infection of coronavirus and flu would happen. Why don't people suffer multiple flu strains+rhinovirus+coronavirus infections as things are? All capable of killing in their own right, together they'd be unstoppable, only the mechanism of how an infection and disease progresses is far more complicated and each strain of virus will be looking for different cues/conditions before they actually cause an infection.

Again not going through each point individually.

It remains herd immunity as the solution - has no reliable modern equivalence.

The other significant point is that is a "Novel" Coronavirus and this point in time - speculating that it will definitely behave in the same way other coronviruses is effectively moot. But yes it has been detailed by medical professionals that both covid19 and influenza infections are very likley to overlap. Not much that can do about that tbh other than to increase Flu vaccine uptake and make ready essential services for potentially a very difficult autumn/ winter / spring.

And yes co-infection from a range of pathogens can certainly be an issue where the immune system is under stress from another infection. In April, a team at Stanford University found that among 116 people in Northern California who tested positive for the coronavirus in March, 24 also tested positive for at least one other respiratory pathogen, most often rhinoviruses and enteroviruses that cause cold symptoms, as well as RSV. Only one of the patients had influenza, although there likely wasn’t much flu circulating so late in the U.S. season, according to Stanford pathologist Benjamin Pinsky.

All that said - I reckon possibly best thing is to watch this space as otherwise it means going yet further into the realms of more general / unqualified speculation about what is in effect a brand new disease and one we are still learning about tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

gozunda wrote: »
    Again not going through each point individually.

It remains herd immunity as the solution - has no reliable modern equivalence.

The other significant point is that is a "Novel" Coronavirus and this point in time - speculating that it will definitely behave in the same way other coronviruses is effectively moot. But yes it has been detailed by medical professionals that both covid19 and influenza infections are very likley to overlap. Not much that can do about that tbh other than to increase Flu vaccine uptake and make ready essential services for potentially a very difficult autumn/ winter / spring.

And yes co-infection from a range of pathogens can certainly be an issue where the immune system is under stress from another infection.

All that said - possibly best thing is to watch this space before going further into the realms of more general or unqualified speculation about what is in effect a brand new disease

There is a very valid argument to be said that if more of the population got the flu this winter we would see less coronavirus in spring.
    Unfortunately it's an example of the problems in science. Nothing can be said without immersing oneself in excessive detail and running down rabbit holes that probably don't matter at all all the while failing to look at the big picture. This quote springs to mind;

‘Let us not drop at once into the soil and lose ourselves in the darkness of its details, but first
    let us look about and see how our field is related to the world at large and to the powers that
    energise in it, let us begin with sunshine and the work it does’

We see far to many virologists, immunologists etc commenting on what is a field science far removed from their area of expertise.
    Nobody can argue that the sampling we are doing is not biased and is representative of the population as a whole, but yet they trust these figures as representative of the full picture when anything but.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

40 dubs stayed and socialised around Tullamore last week, 20 have since proved positive. Next week should be interesting in the midlands

In isolation here, young lad had a cough. Which he gets routinely as he's back at the childminder. He got his test today, 3 days for results. Am allowed out on the farm but not near any people. Tis a pita when ya run low on simple things like milk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭NcdJd

In isolation here, young lad had a cough. Which he gets routinely as he's back at the childminder. He got his test today, 3 days for results. Am allowed out on the farm but not near any people. Tis a pita when ya run low on simple things like milk!

My cousin and her family went through the same thing recently. Tests all came back negative and it turned out they all had the flu. Fingers crossed its the same for yourselves. There's a lot to be said for the old way of having the milk, butter, eggs and bread being delivered to the house a couple of times a week without having to worry about such things!

NcdJd wrote: »
    My cousin and her family went through the same thing recently. Tests all came back negative and it turned out they all had the flu. Fingers crossed its the same for yourselves. There's a lot to be said for the old way of having the milk, butter, eggs and bread being delivered to the house a couple of times a week without having to worry about such things!

Thanks, I'm certain it's just his normal cold. He pretty much has it for the duration he's at the childminders, it's like pass the virus parcel between kids. But now any new cough requires a test so we assume we have it and keep away from others.

Just got the all clear there ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Just got the all clear there ðŸ˜
    Just waiting for test result here. Wife had a cough all week got tested yesterday at 12.30. Hope to get result soon. Supposed to be working this weekend getting treble pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Herself was saying that the test for children is nasal swab only now. Probably make it easier on them.

She was tested herself few weeks ago while being admitted through ED. Few hours wait for results, maybe 4-6.

Hopefully we have testing capacity under control. The usual return to school sow throats and coughing needs to be discounted quickly to keep families and schools going.

wrangler wrote: »
    40 dubs stayed and socialised around Tullamore last week, 20 have since proved positive. Next week should be interesting in the midlands

Very sad story to this, a woman died in the pool in the Bridge House hotel, They found the virus in the Post Mortem, Then they tested the rest, 20 positive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,836 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Very sad story to this, a woman died in the pool in the Bridge House hotel, They found the virus in the Post Mortem, Then they tested the rest, 20 positive

You'd have to wonder though about 40 people heading off on a golfing trip during a pandemic.

whelan2 wrote: »
    You'd have to wonder though about 40 people heading off on a golfing trip during a pandemic.

My thoughts too, but they're in enough strife without everyone sticking the boot in, They shouldn't have been there but reports are that they concentrated in one area of the town, but yea they shouldn't have been there.
    Another Golfgate

_Brian wrote: »
    Herself was saying that the test for children is nasal swab only now. Probably make it easier on them.

She was tested herself few weeks ago while being admitted through ED. Few hours wait for results, maybe 4-6.

Hopefully we have testing capacity under control. The usual return to school sow throats and coughing needs to be discounted quickly to keep families and schools going.

Nasal swab is what the young fella had. There's going to be a lot of forced time off from now until next May. Our lad had a regular recurring cold last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,351 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    My thoughts too, but they're in enough strife without everyone sticking the boot in, They shouldn't have been there but reports are that they concentrated in one area of the town, but yea they shouldn't have been there.
    Another Golfgate
    I'm in the minority but I cannot understand why hotels, restaurants, golf/sport clubs, gastro pubs were allowed to remain open considering the recent increase in numbers - probably due to the power of the Licenced Vinters Association.

What are the numbers going to be like in two weeks time after the pubs open on Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Base price wrote: »
    I'm in the minority but I cannot understand why hotels, restaurants, golf/sport clubs, gastro pubs were allowed to remain open considering the recent increase in numbers - probably due to the power of the Licenced Vinters Association.

What are the numbers going to be like in two weeks time after the pubs open on Monday.

I’d agree with you Base...

And are the pubs going to open everywhere except Dublin now come Monday?

Will that lead to more incidences like Tullamore above, where people from Dublin travel to somewhere else in the country?

Brother was saying it took him 2 and a half hours to get down to Wexford yesterday afternoon (Lives in Wexford). He said he's never seen so much traffic going out of Dublin on a Friday. The town he's close to was chocablock with people. 4 pubs in the town closed their doors due to the crowds.

The horse has well and truly bolted by the time the guards get on the roads with their checkpoints. I can never understand why some people can't do with going to the pub for a couple of weekends and follow the advice. Absolute muppets of the highest order. I hope every hotel and pub in the country turns them away.

See northern Ireland had a record number of cases today, 222 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,354 ✭✭✭naughto

Nasal swab is what the young fella had. There's going to be a lot of forced time off from now until next May. Our lad had a regular recurring cold last year.

This is the thing some places are forcing there employees to take annual leave if there child has to go for a test and wait till they get there results

naughto wrote: »
    This is the thing some places are forcing there employees to take annual leave if there child has to go for a test and wait till they get there results

Ye someone was saying she was only back at work after 6 months off and she had to take leave to wait for the results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

An interesting blog from an older man who has had Covid19 earlier this month.
    https://twitter.com/dawso007/status/1307201713833758721?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Looking like testing capacity will be swamped by the end of the month. Nearly 4 months after we had 100,000/week capacity. How will the country be able to be kept open when the schools alone could probably use up the vast majority of that testing capacity.
    If we go back to testing only the worst symptoms we'll be hearing about how the virus is getting deadlier once more, how the positivity rate is going up, how the virus is targeting old people much more than young etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Looking like testing capacity will be swamped by the end of the month. Nearly 4 months after we had 100,000/week capacity. How will the country be able to be kept open when the schools alone could probably use up the vast majority of that testing capacity.
    If we go back to testing only the worst symptoms we'll be hearing about how the virus is getting deadlier once more, how the positivity rate is going up, how the virus is targeting old people much more than young etc etc

Might be a brainwave to suspend bvd testing next year of calves and tool up these labs and their staff as dedicated covid testing labs, its plain ridiculous bvd testing is still mandatory but tying up labs and trained staff testing bvd samples when their is a national interest to divert all available resources to covid testing is bonkers

naughto wrote: »

It's certainly disruptive to everyone, but it's wrong what those places are doing. In our case we were told by our doctor to self isolate, he even specifically named each of us and repeated it on a later call in case there was any doubt, it wasn't our choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Might be a brainwave to suspend bvd testing next year of calves and tool up these labs and their staff as dedicated covid testing labs, its plain ridiculous bvd testing is still mandatory but tying up labs and trained staff testing bvd samples when their is a national interest to divert all available resources to covid testing is bonkers

These labs are already doing a lot of the private Covid testing.

Darragh McCullough out to harvest the last of the field beans and he finds a load of Brazilians just finishing up a large overnight party. At least they took the rubbish with them and were friendly enough I suppose.

https://twitter.com/darraghmccullou/status/1307589718528454657?s=20

Darragh McCullough out to harvest the last of the field beans and he finds a load of Brazilians just finishing up a large overnight party. At least they took the rubbish with them and were friendly enough I suppose.

https://twitter.com/darraghmccullou/status/1307589718528454657?s=20

Feking gob****es. And we wonder why there is a current rise in Covid cases ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,768 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Spanish tennis player Fernando Verdasco has been forced to withdraw from the French Open after he tested positive for Covid 19. He claims the French testing system is flawed after he tested positive in August then had two clear tests since and now has been tested positive once again before the Open.

https://www.newstalk.com/sport/verdasco-claims-french-open-coronavirus-testing-inaccurate-1081999

It's looking like genetic variations in production of interferon may be responsible for some of the more severe reactions to infections by Covid19.
    Covid scientists find common thread in life-threatening cases

https://f7td5.app.goo.gl/JimsvF

The rise in the infection rate in the last 2 weeks.
    OpGtEH8.jpg
    The relative rates since this started.
    5LPp3TL.jpg
    Not a comforting perspective.

Been looking for something like this for a while. 7 day reported rates from across the country and todays counties reporting.
    https://twitter.com/illustratethis/status/1311006141468626945?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Been looking for something like this for a while. 7 day reported rates from across the country and todays counties reporting.
    https://twitter.com/illustratethis/status/1311006141468626945?s=19

Hadn’t realised the situation in NI was so bleak.

Am I reading that wrong - or does Limerick more so than other Munster counties look like its getting a hammering?

The numbers in NI are very high, per 100,000 they have five times the ROI rate.
    Cork has 20% of the numbers in ROI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,913 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

At the mart earlier today. 1 in 20 , I'd say, wearing masks. What the fook is going on?
    Groups of lads hanging around in groups chatting.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

At the mart earlier today. 1 in 20 , I'd say, wearing masks. What the fook is going on?
    Groups of lads hanging around in groups chatting.

They all think they are bullet proof. 10 additional deaths in this evening's report..

Edit 8 of these happened previously sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,481 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

613 cases today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭emaherx

They all think they are bullet proof. 10 additional deaths in this evening's report..

Edit 8 of these happened previously sept.

There is big numbers in recent days but putting 10 deaths in headlines is complete BS, just giving the covid deniers ammunition.

Reggie. wrote: »
    613 cases today

Would you have any water canons in your military arsenal Reggie? You have my blessings as a Dub to blast these clowns into the Liffey..

https://twitter.com/cardgallery_ie/status/1312425033457897473?s=20

emaherx wrote: »
    There is big numbers in recent days but putting 10 deaths in headlines is complete BS, just giving the covid deniers ammunition.

When I typed that I thought they were recent deaths. I agree they should announce these separately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,203 ✭✭✭emaherx

When I typed that I thought they were recent deaths. I agree they should announce these separately.

That was in no way aimed at your post and I seen your edit.

Wonder will Govn't go with a Level 4 for 2/3 weeks and try and keep as much as possible of the economy going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,481 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Water John wrote: »
    Wonder will Govn't go with a Level 4 for 2/3 weeks and try and keep as much as possible of the economy going?

I'd say so. Go as far as 4 for the min

New York looking to close down too, incl schools.

Will this affect marts I wonder? Have nothing sold yet.