Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Conor McGregor Arrested for Sexual Assault

• 12-09-2020 6:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭Fuzzyduzzy

Irish sportstar Conor McGregor has been arrested in France. https://www.the42.ie/conor-mcgregor-20-5203114-Sep2020/

Mod: A couple of ground rules:
    • Unequivocally equating MMA as a sport to rape/assault is a ridiculous argument and adds nothing to the discussion. Please don't make the point again.
    • The purpose of the thread is to discuss the current allegation against Conor McGregor, not to discuss the sport as a whole - we have a forum for that already.
    • Any further use of derogatory terms or epithets will be met with a forum ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I anticipate a highly reasoned discussion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

"Going on a trip with Princess Charlene of Monaco"

Classy, just what exactly would they have to discuss?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

he will get off as he has lots of money
    like the time he punched the old guy in bar

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=I-u1B-pPl_c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,849 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

bobbyy gee wrote: »

And the time he threw a metal trolley into a bus

And the time he broke a lads phone

And the time in a certain dublin hotel that was settled out of court ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,023 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

bobbyy gee wrote: »

Along with the other stuff.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Thread moved to CA. Please note charter.

Along with the other stuff.

And to note this will be out of the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Loves his cocaine too much....too many scrotes blowing smoke up his ass...

Not sure how many more times he can buy his way out of trouble....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

And the time he threw a metal trolley into a bus

And the time he broke a lads phone

And the time in a certain dublin hotel that was settled out of court ...

Playing the game man..they were all publicity stunts to promote fights..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

Seems to be a bit of a scumbag, always in trouble. Poor role model. Hope no kids (or adults) look up to this lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Like the time he got a girl pregnant but wait it turned out he wasn't the daddy .

I'd imagine that most of the stuff written him about is bs

Seems to be a bit of a scumbag, always in trouble. Poor role model. Hope no kids look up to this lad.

It's the adults looking up to him that are the trouble.

If his trial is anything like the one Ian Bailey got he's fcuked, regardless whether he did anything or not. Tried and convicted by many on this thread already. Maybe he's guilty but let's wait and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,306 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

No big surprise...let's see if he can buy his way out of trouble as per usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

If his trial is anything like the one Ian Bailey got he's fcuked, regardless whether he did anything or not. Tried and convicted by many on this thread already. Maybe he's guilty but let's wait and see.

He should be in prison for punching the aul lad who didnt like is pisswater whiskey.

So hes owed a prison stay at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Many things simply cannot be bought or taught --

Humility, grace, wisdom, compassion, etc.

As with Trump, inevitability is never apparent from within the bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,408 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Gets engaged , tries in on with anyone who looks at him.
    What a guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

You could never accuse cage fighting fans of being the sharpest tools in the box, but even they must have given up defending the thug at this stage?

Gets engaged , tries in on with anyone who looks at him.
    What a guy.

Attempted assault is just as bad as full assault. Same intent.

He wont spend a day in an actual jail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Isn’t this the fella who was whinging at the government or close the airport all summer? But it’s grand for him to head off to the Med.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭Rodney Bathgate

fullstop wrote: »
    Isn’t this the fella who was whinging at the government or close the airport all summer? But it’s grand for him to head off to the Med.

Stay safe. Stay home.

Probably safer for Irish people that he didn’t stay home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,849 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Yep.

He did a laughable pathetic “state of the nation” type video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭threeball

Hopefully the French will deal with this toerag the way the yanks and the Irish failed to. Lad should have seen prison time on multiple occasions at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 475 ✭✭AdrianBalboa

Conor McGregor is toxic masculinity manifest: the deformed, miscarried bastard child of "locker room talk" and "banter."

Conor McGregor is merely a symptom of the disease. How many people told us that he didn't "mean it," his vile statements about women? How often has his moron coach John Kavanagh defended his golden goose with pitiful shrugs and pathetic excuses? John Kavanagh claimed that he would never shake hands with a wife beater and yet he's happy to train an alleged rapist how to take a person apart with his bare hands.

<modsnip>

Here's a few more examples:

https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-sports/war-machine-sentenced-to-life-for-brutal-assault-of-ex-inside-the-mma-stars-fall-200852/

http://www.thescrap.co/random-joe-the-dirty-life-and-crimes-of-joseph-son/

elperello wrote: »
    I beg to differ.

I like a drop of Proper 12 myself.

Not so sure about the man himself though.

There are better whiskies for less, and it doesnt put money into the pocket of the coked up yahoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,627 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I wonder what Dee has to say about this, and his other indiscretions?

Will she be another Colleen Rooney type...living the rich life!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭r439z5ifwt8soq

<modsnip> Here's a few more examples:

loooooooooool what a mad statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

walshb wrote: »

Try and have some bit of decorum for the love of God.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Yeah she's clearly the real villain here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Dee will put up and shut up as always because too many people are depending on her to stay with him. She's not married yet ;) She's a dope. You know that old saying, when you marry for money you earn every penny? That is certainly true for Dee dee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,021 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is there no end to these disgusting individuals antics, an odious individual that just can't help himself, what is it about certain sports success stories that ultimately just end in vulgarity. To think some kids actually look up to this clown, just sad and depressing.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Seamai

Like many a woman before and after her who turns a blind eye to their other half's indiscretions as they know which side their bread is buttered on and she's probably developed quite an appetite for bling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,484 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Yeah let’s jump the gun and assume he’s guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

We need to be able to strip people of citizenship for bringing the nation into disrepute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,582 ✭✭✭✭elperello

touts wrote: »
    We need to be able to strip people of citizenship for bringing the nation into disrepute.

Great idea, a travelling circus of stateless criminals touring the globe.

If I’d a euro for every time a rich man was falsely accused of sexual assault I’d be a rich man.

How about see how this one plays out in a few weeks/months time?

Or you could just get back to calling him a “knacker” which seems to be fine by the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,692 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

He has lived up (or down) to pretty much every sterotype-driven prediction of how he would turn out to be.

Interesting that a man capable of such dedication and with so much talent was not able to grow out of the stereotype.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

If I’d a euro for every time a rich man was falsely accused of sexual assault I’d be a rich man.

How about see how this one plays out in a few weeks/months time?

Or you could just get back to calling him a “knacker” which seems to be fine by the mods.

What words would you use to describe the actions and character of McGregor?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

What happened to innocent until proven guilty?

Or I forgot that, that doesn't exist online and it's guilty until proven innocent.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭Cody montana

He’s a wrong un.

What words would you use to describe the actions and character of McGregor?

I wait to see if it’s another false allegation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,582 ✭✭✭✭elperello

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Oh its all subjective, no doubt.

But Id rather not give my cash to McGregor.

Certainly is.

That's fair enough, if you don't like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭HBC08

Conor McGregor is toxic masculinity manifest: the deformed, miscarried bastard child of "locker room talk" and "banter."

Conor McGregor is merely a symptom of the disease. How many people told us that he didn't "mean it," his vile statements about women? How often has his moron coach John Kavanagh defended his golden goose with pitiful shrugs and pathetic excuses? John Kavanagh claimed that he would never shake hands with a wife beater and yet he's happy to train an alleged rapist how to take a person apart with his bare hands.

MMA is a poison, a weapon used by angry men to intimidate and rape women. Here's a few more examples:

https://www.rollingstone.com/culture/culture-sports/war-machine-sentenced-to-life-for-brutal-assault-of-ex-inside-the-mma-stars-fall-200852/

I dont know whats scarier,that you might actually believe that sh1te or that two people thanked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

MMA is a poison, a weapon used by angry men to intimidate and rape women. Here's a few more examples:

And yet you married a boxer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

MMA is a poison, a weapon used by angry men to intimidate and rape women.

Haha. Classic! :P

You forgot to include the [Brass Eye] [/Brass Eye] tags though.

From the social media videos with him cheatin on his wife, to the videos of him sucker punching old lads and throwing trollys at buses, i think I have a suspicion to consider him a scroat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,499 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Like that time he was falsely accused of punching the old fella in the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

Did the bus in New York and the old man at the bar in Dublin turn out to be false allegations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Tu ne feras rien!

Like that time he was falsely accused of punching the old fella in the pub?

Punching an old lad in the head and throwing a trolley at a bus are very different to what he’s been accused of here.

I’d wait to see what comes of it before I make comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

HBC08 wrote: »
    I dont know whats scarier,that you might actually believe that sh1te or that two people thanked it.

I think he feels very strongly about it.

Personally, I suspect that for some male types who find success in sports, politics, business, entertainment, etc. there is an element of
    "I'm gonna make sure *women pay attention to me now that I ain't a nobody anymore".

* I appreciate that they the types I'm writing about may not use the term "women".