Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Unpopular Opinions - OP Updated with Threadban List 4/5/21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Ireland is getting itself into a right mess with its Covid startegy (or lack thereof). From what I can see it actually has no exit strategy.

Lads sitting around getting a hard on for the daily figures. Come on Ireland. Snap out of it and grow a pair and stop obsessing over other countries.

Whatever happened to an "Irish solution to an Irish problem"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

Cadbury's chocolate is **** but too many people think that is what chocolate should taste like.

It's basically the Foster's lager of the chocolate world.
    Imo that applies to Nestle but not Cadbury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,819 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Marks and Spencer food is often overrated!

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Munstergirl854

We export our worst comedy(Mrs Brown,young offenders) to the UK and then wonder why the English have a dumbed down view of the Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

We export our worst comedy(Mrs Brown,young offenders) to the UK and then wonder why the English have a dumbed down view of the Irish.

Do the Irish even make decent comedy ?

Those considered decent like The savage eye, which I liked ripped the piss out of the Irish

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I like The Young Offenders. It's sweet, sometimes funny, and without a cynical bone its body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭cms88

Ireland is getting itself into a right mess with its Covid startegy (or lack thereof). From what I can see it actually has no exit strategy.

Lads sitting around getting a hard on for the daily figures. Come on Ireland. Snap out of it and grow a pair and stop obsessing over other countries.

Ireland could be doing everything right but that type of person would still have something to complain about.

Before lockdown people calling for it, when it happned they wanted it lifted and when it was it was too early according to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,065 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The people who are complaining about pubs being closed will be the first pricks to be complaining when people are dying again due to Covid

If you've builders hammering and tapping and drilling in the neighbours house next door the builders will find your 'articulated' sentiments to them about it the same as other projects they are working on:

If you wrestle with a pig in the mud, the pig will enjoy it.

It's not "WOKE" enough for many Irish millennials.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

I don't agree with the new move to put pressure on maternity hospitals to lift restrictions on antenatal appointments and visitors after. Unless there are complications, most antenatal stuff is run of the mill and doesn't really require both parents present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Quazzie wrote: »
    The people who are complaining about pubs being closed will be the first pricks to be complaining when people are dying again due to Covid

not me!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

It's not "WOKE" enough for many Irish millennials.
    Ireland was better when it only had Yokes and when the Yokes were Farm Implements !

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Antares35 wrote: »
    I don't agree with the new move to put pressure on maternity hospitals to lift restrictions on antenatal appointments and visitors after. Unless there are complications, most antenatal stuff is run of the mill and doesn't really require both parents present.
    The Dad has had his input already. He might as well be sleeping at home now !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,024 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Some people, men, can’t “handle” that a womxn would know more about sport than they do.

And be better than them at, said, sport.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

E-sports are an absolute joke, and I'd be ashamed if either of my sons were involved. It's a sign of the decay of society.

Some people, men, can’t “handle” that a womxn would know more about sport than they do.

And be better than them at, said, sport.

Some people, men, are so deprived of intimate contact with the opposite sex that they will speak and behave in an obsequious manner to a servile degree - desperate in the hope that this pandering behaviour dressed as “respect” will ingratiate them.
    Favour it may win them with certain insecure/dogmatic women, sexual relations however will remain a vain aspiration.

Any detractors of this patronising behaviour will be derided acidly as “misogynists” etc, presumably “fragile” in their “masculinity” and so on.

E-sports are an absolute joke, and I'd be ashamed if either of my sons were involved. It's a sign of the decay of society.

Yes, it's a sign of parents globally being too afraid to let their kids be out and about like they were when they were young. I'm not sure what adults expect from young people. Like they keep them inside and expect them to not be addicted to their phones and be apathetic to sports. Like they mock young people for not knowing how to hang a picture but they never taught them how to do it.

I don't have any problems with e-sports themselves really. They're just too addictive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

Some people, men, are so deprived of intimate contact with the opposite sex that they will speak and behave in an obsequious manner to a servile degree - desperate in the hope that this pandering behaviour dressed as “respect” will ingratiate them.
    Favour it may win them with certain insecure/dogmatic women, sexual relations however will remain a vain aspiration.

Any detractors of this patronising behaviour will be derided acidly as “misogynists” etc, presumably “fragile” in their “masculinity” and so on.

Some people have such an entirely transactional attitude towards social interactions with the opposite sex that they don't understand the concept of being decent for the sake of being decent. If they see a man not being an asshole towards women, in terms of expressed attitudes or behaviour, they judge him by their own low standards, assuming that he wants something (usually sex, because what else could a woman offer?) in return.

.anon. wrote: »
    Some people have such an entirely transactional attitude towards social interactions with the opposite sex that they don't understand the concept of being decent for the sake of being decent. If they see a man not being an asshole towards women, in terms of expressed attitudes or behaviour, they judge him by their own low standards, assuming that he wants something (usually sex, because what else could a woman offer?) in return.

There’s a nice willing misinterpretation of what I said.

There’s a difference between being decent to people and patronising them. Your contention being that anything other than that is being an asshole. Nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You're going to be really furious when you find out about darts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

There’s a nice willing misinterpretation of what I said.

There’s a difference between being decent to people and patronising them. Your contention being that anything other than that is being an asshole. Nonsense.

I've misinterpreted nothing. Some men (thankfully a minority, albeit one massively over-represented on here) don't appear to understand why any man would not share their attitudes towards women, and assume that anyone who doesn't could only be looking for sex. Maybe they're sometimes right, but they seem to believe it's true across the board.

Regarding Irish current affairs on YouTube, The Irish presence on YouTube contains elements like the "socialist" side on Facebook. They will vote down some balanced Youtube videos. Mind you, when they post in the comments they will be snarky and snide.

If you want decent support on YouTube pay for it with a Premium account.

Going by the Youtube creator channel, you'll come across lots of wonderful nice YouTubers ready to you out as a starter, without much trouble at tall.

.anon. wrote: »
    I've misinterpreted nothing. Some men (thankfully a minority, albeit one massively over-represented on here) don't appear to understand why any man would not share their attitudes towards women, and assume that anyone who doesn't could only be looking for sex. Maybe they're sometimes right, but they seem to believe it's true across the board.

That’s fair enough, however I also think it reductive to think that just because someone does not think women need to be pandered to like children with OTT praise and affirmation means that they view any interaction with them as transactional etc

Just because I don’t supplicate and headpat my gf for the simple fact of her being a woman does not mean we don’t have a loving relationship based on mutual respect and admiration.
    It’s not a dichotomy of either being a (excuse stupid internet term) simp or an asshole towards them. There’s plenty of space in between to treat them with due respect and manners and not some fallen gods you must champion in all spheres at all costs to repent for the collective sins of men who are assholes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Errashareesh

You're right that there are such men. I feel bad for them in some ways. I know you don't mean just guys who are simply sound to everyone including women.

Using "womxn" is disrespectful to *women* too.

I agree with .anon. that there are the type of guys whom they describe too though. Neither they nor the "nice" guys have pure intentions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Most feminists are just angry at their ex-boyfriend / ex-husband / dad

Most mgtow are just angry at their ex-girlfriend / ex-wife /mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,170 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

99nsr125 wrote: »
    Most feminists are just angry at their ex-boyfriend / ex-husband / dad

Most mgtow are just angry at their ex-girlfriend / ex-wife /mother

And male feminists are hiding something dark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

And male feminists are hiding something dark

Absolutely, usually trying to prey on vulnerable women and get some.
    http://stonetoss.com/comic/with-friends-like-these/

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

You cannot control your circumstances or being from a "bad background" but that should not become a pass for bad behaviour.
    You can however change your life by working hard and
    proving yourself.

The world owes you nothing.

It’s a very sad state of affairs that the above comment would be seen as an unpopular view in today’s world , but right on !

You’d be accused of victim blaming and the other never ending isms and privilege guff excuses that come out of idiots mouths today

People should just laugh at those clowns , publicly and ridicule them

Telling people that their problems are insignificant cause others have it worse is ridiculous. I've heard many times the fallacy of relative privation/'Starving African Kids' fallacy.

I understand the reasoning for it, sure it's good to be grateful but sometimes complaining is good cause it gets you to see what's wrong. In life, you'll always find those worse off than you and better off than you.

But others don’t want to hear the whinging especially if it is from an habitual whinger . They have heir own issues

Andrea B. wrote: »
    There is advice against going.
    He had an obvious sense of entitlement and part of his job is to be seen to be supporting the concept of staycationing.
    Further, it is not "his money". It is "our" money.

“Our money” , says the man who talks about “sense of entitlement”

In return for a salary , which is funded by tax payers (many of the population don’t Significantly contribute to taxation by the way) , to do a job. Once the money is handed over as a salary , it’s his money and it’s for him to do what he chooses with his salary

By your logic , the money that you earne each week under PAYE so really the “customers” money 😆 🙄

They didn’t force people to staycation , they promoted the idea that people consider doing stay cation . Why shouldn’t he travel eles where if the law permits ?

The real tripe and nonsense is from those whining about “do as I say and not what I do”. Those very same people are under the very mistaken belief that we are all equal and all this in together . Some people ought to know their bloody place

AllForIt wrote: »
    When it comes to sport, there is far far to much emphasis paid to team sports.

Soccer, rugby and GAA Football are basically the same thing, in the same way pool and snooker are the basically the same thing.

And now we have womens versions of those as well. Which basically increases coverage of team sports x 2, where he already have saturation coverage of team sports as it is.

And it seems to me when we talk of ourselves as being a sporting nation, we are not in fact a sporting nation, rather we just watch the drama of it unfold on our TV's screens, which isn't the same thing at all.

Being into drama isn't the same as being into sport. Being into sport is playing sport. Not watching it.

When it comes to team sports it seems to me the 'passion' is not really about sport, but rather the thrills and highs that come from seeing 'your' side, your county, your country, the side you picked, win.

I'm not saying there are no football purists, but I think the vast majority of spectators, involved in it, never kicked a ball in their adulthood in their life, and are into it for cheap thrills, often accompanied by betting and endless petty arguments about the players and the managers and coaches. That's what the sports news is often about and I think that's pretty sad.

There are GAA clubs and soccer teams (least since the 1980s) all over the nation , be it urban areas (sometimes more than one GAA club and more than one soccer club) and even villages , and schools

Yet despite that, you make the outlandish suggestion that the vast majority of spectators never kicked a ball in their life , specifically their adult life 😂😂👌🏻👌🏻

Good luck backing that up with any facts

Sorry that the nations aren’t as arsed about the loner sports like running etc

That is a plague in the world of cycling now. A lot of amateur cyclists making a killing with their videos and being cheerleaders and corporate whores for the likes of Zwift - some of very insightful to be fair and worth listening to

Check out the contrversey over last years British indoor cycling championship won by a well known YouTube and the media attention that it got from cycling journalists

Check out the reception glorified spin class gets

Mother of god and races that have been going in for 50 years plus are struggling to get financed ��

This generation has a lot to answer for. Those you get notions should be sneered at

Yes, it's a sign of parents globally being too afraid to let their kids be out and about like they were when they were young. I'm not sure what adults expect from young people. Like they keep them inside and expect them to not be addicted to their phones and be apathetic to sports. Like they mock young people for not knowing how to hang a picture but they never taught them how to do it.

I don't have any problems with e-sports themselves really. They're just too addictive.

In the world of internet , and parents working every hour of the sun, I’m sure that the young people can check out YouTube or even their wood work classes and figure out how to nail a picture to the wall ��

Does everything have to be spoon fed to these kids and young adults ?

You silly enough to believe that most people were not told to go out and learn for yer selves ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Yeah but you see men behaving that way towards women out of some kind of misguided chivalry. Think an old bloke opening a door for a woman just because she's a woman. Or someone offering a seat to a woman because she's a woman.

Ever seen a man push a door open and then he sees a woman coming towards him, so he stands in the doorway, back to the door with arm outstretched to keep the door open to let the woman through first? Cringe.

It never occurred to me that those blokes are deprived of women's attention. It's just an old school type of, mostly benign, misogyny.

But you referred to "some" men, so fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭randd1

That is a plague in the world of cycling now. A lot of amateur cyclists making a killing with their videos and being cheerleaders and corporate whores for the likes of Zwift - some of very insightful to be fair and worth listening to

Check out the contrversey over last years British indoor cycling championship won by a well known YouTube and the media attention that it got from cycling journalists

Check out the reception glorified spin class gets

Mother of god and races that have been going in for 50 years plus are struggling to get financed ��

This generation has a lot to answer for
    . Those you get notions should be sneered at
    The struggles of cycling wouldn't have anything to do with it being constantly exposed as a marathon of drugged up endurance men repeatedly dragging the name of the sport through the mud for decades with various drug taking, cover up and corruption scandals?

And the very real fear for parents that if their child has an interest in the professional side of things they'll likely have to dose themselves to the gills to get anywhere of note and that they mightn't want that for their children so discourage it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,024 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Yeah but you see men behaving that way towards women out of some kind of misguided chivalry. Think an old bloke opening a door for a woman just because she's a woman. Or someone offering a seat to a woman because she's a woman.

Ever seen a man push a door open and then he sees a woman coming towards him, so he stands in the doorway, back to the door with arm outstretched to keep the door open to let the woman through first? Cringe.

It never occurred to me that those blokes are deprived of women's attention. It's just an old school type of, mostly benign, misogyny.

But you referred to "some" men, so fair enough.

Isn’t holding a door for someone, man or womxn, just good manners?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Isn’t holding a door for someone, man or womxn, just good manners?

Not always and certainly not the way I described it. When the door opens away from you and the only way to keep the door open and allow the person through first is to stand in the actual doorway and hold the door open. It's just cringe to watch.

Manners changes over time. Kissing a woman's hand on introduction was also considered polite in the recent past. That's changed too.

It is still practical (and polite) to hold a door when it opens towards you and you arrive at the same time as people people the other side.

Opening a door for a woman because she's a woman isn't universally polite today. It's in the process of changing meaning. But some old people might still consider it polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Pubs opening in Ireland is not that important.

stoneill wrote: »

Hundred percent agree. The pubs are a vocal lobby group though.

Opening things oncreases covid transmission. I'd prefer to open schools, manufacturing, and loads of industry and see if there's still room for pubs. If we're happy with the current infection rate and death rate, and would be happy to increase that infection and death rate, then open pubs.

Pubs should be late to reopen and early to be closed down again to control infection rates.

Not always and certainly not the way I described it. When the door opens away from you and the only way to keep the door open and allow the person through first is to stand in the actual doorway and hold the door open. It's just cringe to watch.

Manners changes over time. Kissing a woman's hand on introduction was also considered polite in the recent past. That's changed too.

It is still practical (and polite) to hold a door when it opens towards you and you arrive at the same time as people people the other side.

Opening a door for a woman because she's a woman isn't universally polite today. It's in the process of changing meaning. But some old people might still consider it polite.

I think I'll continue to what I deem to be polite and hold the door open for people. If a woman wants to see me as a misogynist for doing so, then that's her prerogative, and it's fine with me because it's exactly the type of person I would want to avoid so it will be a good warning system.

I didn't say it was misogyny in relation to people in general (or holding a door when it's the practical thing to do), I gave an example of awkwardly holding the door for women because they're women...

Assuming that's what you meant then sure, do as you want. You'll probably povide the same service of marking yourself for young people watching you exhibit the very definition of virtue signalling.

I didn't say it was misogyny in relation to people in general (or holding a door when it's the practical thing to do), I gave an example of awkwardly holding the door for women because they're women...

Assuming that's what you meant then sure, do as you want. You'll probably povide the same service of marking yourself for young people watching you exhibit the very definition of virtue signalling.

Doing a decent thing, and having manners, is not virtue signalling. Seeing as such says more about you than me. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

It’s just good manners to hold a door for anyone, I can’t imagine checking to see if it’s a woman before I decide to hold a door for them. I think I’d probably laugh in their face if somebody got offended by that simple gesture of decency.

Doing a decent thing, and having manners, is not virtue signalling. Seeing as such says more about you than me. ;)

As I said, sometimes it's practical (thus polite) to hold a door. But holding a door can also be just virtue signalling as I've outlined earlier. You haven't said which type you do so I don't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

stoneill wrote: »

I’d agree that it’s low priority compared to essential work (including childcare, and education),

Though I see a lack of effort to open them with strict measures.

For example,

Allow (wet) pubs reopen if
    1) They can undertake to ensure that patrons will imbibe a max number (tbd) of alcohol units,
    2) Patrons will maintain a level of coherence so they do not put people in danger, i.e. responsible drinking.
    3) They will ensure masks to be worn if closer than 2m,
    4) straws will be provided for people wearing masks.

Now people may scoff at these suggestions, fair enough, but at least it’s starting the conversation around reopening.

I don’t see an effort from the government to try to find any solutions.

nj27 wrote: »
    It’s just good manners to hold a door for anyone, I can’t imagine checking to see if it’s a woman before I decide to hold a door for them....

Well, there has to be more to it than this it else everyone would hold the door for everyone and nobody would get though doors.

There's the practicality of which way the door opens, towards you or away from you. And who gets to the door first.

If a door opens away from you and you get there first then you probably walk through and hold it open for the people on the other side.

It's the ones who stand prostrate in the door which opens away from them and hold it open as people have to shuffle past them, that are cringe.

And yeah, you'll find plenty of men who think it's correct to hold a door for women because they're women and offer a seat to a woman because she's a woman. They'll tell you it's the manners they were raised with and they won't (or can't) change. That's just a mostly benign misogyny. Manners change over time so it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Henry VIII did the right thing in his Dissolution of the Monasteries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

Some lad on Twitch switched to Mixer streaming platform last year and Microsoft paid him 50 million to stream on their platform. MS few months later closed the platform and the contract had to be paid out still :eek:

50 million and your job just sitting there playing video games, it's no joke. Years ago made no sense. Seems to be a profitable job for some nowadays.

Of course there only a number of people who actually make money from playing games, it just a social relax thing for other males and females.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,705 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring2

Watching some world war 2 documentaries, seeing the destruction of cities throughout Europe, I think we as Irish(in the south) people overstate how unkind history has been to us. Imagine having that in your collective memory.

Famine was not kind to Ireland. The historian estimates are the population would be 15 million if it had not happened.