Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engagement Ring

• 03-11-2020 9:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25

What would you say is a good price to spend on an engagement ring i have an idea of what price and type just wondering what others think.

I know the engagement ring is more expensive then the wedding ring as there more simple .

I know what she likes I am good a picking out jewellery in the past and she never brought it back to change it. I always get a gift receipt just in case anyway.
    I'm pretty confident I will pick a good one, but then again this will be pretty expensive and not sure if I can go back with it if she wants to look at others .

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭as_mo_bhosca

I think it depends on what you can afford. Do not listen to rubbish about 2/3 months salary. This is just a marketing campaign from De Beers diamonds and frankly would be a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a ring. My gf drives a car currently worth about 5k, if I spent 10-15k on a ring, I think she'd prefer a newer car!
    ETA: diamond industry/fecking eejits say I should spend 10-15k on a ring. I just spent a little over 1800 on a half carat diamond set in an 18 carat gold solitaire setting. IMHO opinion, and hers more importantly, it's all about the sparkle of the diamond!

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Luca G wrote: »
    What would you say is a good price to spend on an engagement ring i have an idea of what price and type just wondering what others think.

I know the engagement ring is more expensive then the wedding ring as there more simple .

I know what she likes I am good a picking out jewellery in the past and she never brought it back to change it. I always get a gift receipt just in case anyway.
    I'm pretty confident I will pick a good one, but then again this will be pretty expensive and not sure if I can go back with it if she wants to look at others .

You'll probably hear lots of different amounts like a months salary, two months salary....whatever.

At the end of the day there shouldn't be a set figure and you should spend what you decide is affordable for you.

Don't waste money just pick a figure you're comfortable with, take a look at rings and see if there's anything you really like (and then check the price tag).

My engagement ring was expensive, in my opinion a huge waste of money and if I'd had got to pick it myself I would have got something different and about a tenth of the price.

If you are going to spend a large amount then the cost of insuring it is something you need to consider too long term. An expensive ring you'll pay for again in insurance over the years.

But seriously, don't waste a fortune on a ring. It's not worth it and if you're getting engaged for the right reasons then the price tag on the ring won't matter a single bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 Luca G

Locotastic wrote: »
    You'll probably hear lots of different amounts like a months salary, two months salary....whatever.

My engagement ring was expensive, in my opinion a huge waste of money and if I'd had got to pick it myself I would have got something different and about a tenth of the price.

If you are going to spend a large amount then the cost of insuring it is something you need to consider too long term. An expensive ring you'll pay for again in insurance over the years.

Thanks for the advice, my girlfriend is the same she would say it's to expensive. I was looking at platinum rings

I wouldn't know much about the insurance now how much would that be do you pay for it each month ? Or pit a set price down?

I think it depends on what you can afford. Do not listen to rubbish about 2/3 months salary. This is just a marketing campaign from De Beers diamonds and frankly would be a ridiculous amount of money to spend on a ring. My gf drives a car currently worth about 5k, if I spent 10-15k on a ring, I think she'd prefer a newer car!
    ETA: diamond industry/fecking eejits say I should spend 10-15k on a ring. I just spent a little over 1800 on a half carat diamond set in an 18 carat gold solitaire setting. IMHO opinion, and hers more importantly, it's all about the sparkle of the diamond!

My girlfriend would prefer the car aswell Haha .
    Thanks for your advice appreciate it .

• Registered Users Posts: 40 Ninesell

Would you think about proposing with a token ring? We went shopping for my ring together and personally I was happy to be involved in and enjoyed that experience!

Ninesell wrote: »
    Would you think about proposing with a token ring? We went shopping for my ring together and personally I was happy to be involved in and enjoyed that experience!

I was thinking about that aswell. It would be good in a way she can pick out what she definitely likes but I know she will be checking the prices which will annoy me.

• Registered Users Posts: 754 ✭✭✭Locotastic

Just on the platinum rings, mine is platinum and its a very dull metal (you can get them polished but I've never bothered).

On the other hand my wedding ring is a plain white gold band (cost about €100) and is as good as the day I got it.

For insurance over a certain amount a valuation is needed by the insurer, mine is valued at €5k and costs about €100 a year to insure, not a huge amount but over time it adds up and I never wear the ring so it just seems pointless.

The token ring mentioned is an excellent idea, plus she might really like it. The fact that you picked it for her is all that matters, price doesn't come into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,010 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I was thinking about that aswell. It would be good in a way she can pick out what she definitely likes but I know she will be checking the prices which will annoy me.

As a woman who will be wearing it every day for the rest of her life, shouldn't she be the one to pick it to her taste?
    Like someone said, have a nice costume ring as a proposal gesture and then if you both discuss the price you're comfortable with and agree on that, go shopping together.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

Ninesell wrote: »

This was my take on it, we ended up going to look at rings and once herself had found one she liked we got it, or one similarly styled, made privately to a higher standard and for significantly cheaper (I do realise that not everyone knows a goldsmith however) but the take away is that it had nothing to do with the amount spent, just that she was 100% happy with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Absolutely let her pick it!! Shopping for the ring is a lovely thing to do together, once restrictions are somewhat lifted. I ended up getting something that I never would have thought I'd like, once I saw it I knew it was the ring for me. If he'd picked my ring he never would have picked it based on what he thought my preference was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Just tell the jeweller what your maximum budget is in advance and ask them to show her a tray within the price range.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,811 ✭✭✭Alkers

You can get token rings in the style of many common engagement ring styles, try that and you can mirror it if she loves it

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 253 ✭✭Xtrail14

12 and a half corona payments is the new normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭nikpmup

Just tell the jeweller what your maximum budget is in advance and ask them to show her a tray within the price range.

^^ This. Most jewellers will ask what style you like, what metal and what budget when you make an appointment. Or talk to your fiancee beforehand, and agree a ballpark. Its the first financial decision you'll make together in your marriage :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭appledrop

nikpmup wrote: »
    Absolutely let her pick it!! Shopping for the ring is a lovely thing to do together, once restrictions are somewhat lifted. I ended up getting something that I never would have thought I'd like, once I saw it I knew it was the ring for me. If he'd picked my ring he never would have picked it based on what he thought my preference was.

I would agree with this 100%. I thought I always knew what style I wanted until I actually tried them on! It might sound mad but some of rings didn't suit my hand + you won't know till you try it on.

Its so exciting picking your ring. You will have to book appointment anyway in current climate so just tell them ballpark your spend + they will bring selection of rings on tray for her.

Also try a few jewellers as all different styles.

Good Luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 24 UnBridled

Everyone is different OP. I would propose with a token ring just in case. It can be a pricy investment and not just that but very meaningful. It's a ring your fiancée wear for the rest of her life. My fiancée didn't propose with any ring. He just asked me to marry him and then we went ring shopping together. I knew the question was coming so had a look around myself beforehand. Going together to pick it out is a lovely experience. At the end of the day its up to you.

Good luck :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Locotastic wrote: »
    Just on the platinum rings, mine is platinum and its a very dull metal (you can get them polished but I've never bothered).

On the other hand my wedding ring is a plain white gold band (cost about €100) and is as good as the day I got it.

For insurance over a certain amount a valuation is needed by the insurer, mine is valued at €5k and costs about €100 a year to insure, not a huge amount but over time it adds up and I never wear the ring so it just seems pointless.

The token ring mentioned is an excellent idea, plus she might really like it. The fact that you picked it for her is all that matters, price doesn't come into it.

I was going to weigh in here with the very opposite advice about platinum and white gold.

My wife and I (married 2009) both have white gold wedding rings, and her engagement ring is white gold too. They have to be polished or plated (or whatever the correct term is) every so often, at a cost of about €80 to €100 a pop. She's quite good at looking after hers, but mine hasn't been done for a good few years now, and it's dull as ditchwater. And I just sit at a desk all day (even when not on Boards!), so it's not as though I'm ruining it with heavy manual labour or anything.

But I've been involved since then in copywriting for websites, including for a jeweller who specialists in engagement and wedding rings, and her take on it is that platinum has become more and more popular in recent years because it holds its sheen better than white gold does.

Then again, the woman here with the platinum ring says different, so who am I to know!!!

As regards cost/insurance - my wife's engagement ring cost me a little over €2,000 at the time, and anything up to €2,500 is covered on our house insurance anyway, so no need to insure it separately at extra cost. If €2,500 (ish) sounds like enough for you, maybe check your own house insurance too, just to see.

Finally, I did the old-fahsioned thing of buying the "proper" ring myself when I proposed back in 2008, and apparently, even then I was very much in the minority as most couples go together for her to choose it. Luckily I picked one that she liked....and I know she's not just saying that, because we went back to the shop together anyway, "just in case", and she decided to keep it instead of changing it. But overall, maybe consider the token ring thing anyway, and then go together to buy the real one.

You don't have to spend much on a token ring. There's probably still a few Halloween bracks left in the shops at around €2 each, and you can get a ring there..... :D

My engagement ring is platinum and is very shiny. Now it's only about 3 months old and I am very careful with it, take it off in shower and things like that. I don't expect it to dull over time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

You need to be forking out at least 5k for a ring in my opinion. It's embarrassing for women who have to pretend they're happy with some tiny single diamond when they're friends have proper rocks.

I spent 17.5k for my missus back in 2004. Got her another sapphire worth similar for our 10 year anniversary.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Good man Paddy. You've got deeper pockets than I do! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Teach30

I went platinum as apparently it’s far more hard wearing than other metals, particularly important if your wearing it for manual tasks. It’s not overly shiny but then I wouldn’t want the metal to take from the diamonds!

My fiancé didn’t propose with a ring as I’m not into jewellery so after visiting quite a few jewellers I finally found a style that suited my hand. Some will try and sell you anything and be mindful of the lights they use in the room as it can be very deceptive. I asked to see them in daylight outside. Only in one store was this not possible so we left it.

We didn’t have a budget but don’t be afraid to combine your money if necessary. I personally don’t see why it has to be all the mans money! Once I found what I wanted, I spent about 2 months researching and visiting diff places, I brought my sister to see it and fiancé paid over the phone. In reality only those with a good eye for a quality diamond will ever have a true idea of the price so don’t worry about lower priced rings. Go with what you love. Cost 15.5k in the end and that was after bargaining.

I’d have no hesitation trading it in if I’m honest, so be mindful of this too as down the line styles change and she might want a change. I’d defiantly go bigger if changing..!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,131 ✭✭✭screamer

It’s a tricky one, some people are very materialistic and want ridiculous amounts spent on it so they can show off, other people are more modest or would rather that money went to a house deposit or something more useful. Spend what you can afford and what you feel comfortable with, and remember a big rock or a small one, doesn’t make you any more or less engaged.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭saabsaab

You need to be forking out at least 5k for a ring in my opinion. It's embarrassing for women who have to pretend they're happy with some tiny single diamond when they're friends have proper rocks.

I spent 17.5k for my missus back in 2004. Got her another sapphire worth similar for our 10 year anniversary.

Grand if you want to but stay within a budget plenty other things to spend it on. If you need bling go for a a bigger alternative stone.

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Teach30

screamer wrote: »
    It’s a tricky one, some people are very materialistic and want ridiculous amounts spent on it so they can show off, other people are more modest or would rather that money went to a house deposit or something more useful. Spend what you can afford and what you feel comfortable with, and remember a big rock or a small one, doesn’t make you any more or less engaged.

Yea I know a few with really tacky huge rings that obviously aren’t real. In reality though very few will recognise a quality diamond vs a fake.

If you have an interest in fine jewellery you can say It’s an investment as real, quality diamonds hold their value. It certainly didn’t put us debt but at the same time I’d have hated to pretend that something he chose I liked!

My ring cost almost 4 1/2K.
    Never did I think I'd be charmed so much by the rings I tried. I remember saying things like "oh I don't care about diamonds or having a fancy ring". I wasn't long changing my mind when shopping for it. It is a very personal decision when it comes to how much you pay and isn't necessarily down to budget. For example if I fell in love with a ring half the price then that's what I'd have on my finger. I would have a line though when it comes to the max. Anything over 5k is ludicrous in my mind but that's me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Diamonds aren't at all rare. They are made from carbon a common element. The market is kept in check by a few companies who control it they have little intrinsic value.

Buy a white sapphire ring, and save to upgrade to a diamond on your 10th Wedding Anniversary! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Ste16051986

I'm in a similar position at the moment, I have set a budget that the ring needs to fall into and I am going from there.
    In terms of jewelers, it's harder to decide without seeing the actual ring in person so I am looking to see if I can arrange some private appointments.

Have you considered where you will buy the ring?

Also some good info shared on insurance, this is not something I thought off.

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭Kmagic

I had the opportunity with https://www.theschoolofjewellery.ie/ to make my engagement ring.

Was easy enough to do over a 2 day weekend. They ran a course at the time and I dont see it listed now but they may do a one off type thing if you ask. Could negotiate something with them.

The money spent wont matter when you make it yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭NewClareman

Thanks for the advice, my girlfriend is the same she would say it's to expensive. I was looking at platinum rings

I wouldn't know much about the insurance now how much would that be do you pay for it each month ? Or pit a set price down?

I would say pay what you can afford, but err a bit on the generous side. It is telling her how much you care about her. No matter what she says, she wouldn't prefer a car. That's only us men, being sensible.

There are lots of guides online on buying rings, that give very helpful advice. I looked up prices online I think it was BlueNile, and used the price to negotiate with a local jeweller. He tried to tell me they were poorer quality and talk them down. He stoped, once he realised I knew my stuff. They will all negotiate, particularly for more expensive rings. If he hadn't I would have bought in the diamond district in New York.

We both have platinum rings, they get very dull, if not polished every 2-3 years. I quite like the colour, as it ages, think pewter. The other half would not be happy with that. Overall there is a significant premium with platinum. As a minimum, the engagement ring and wedding band have to be the same metal.