Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Wait there....

1. Who sang IRA songs in public and then denied it??
    2. Who denies knowledge of fans being searched before games??
    3. Who has a number of times take out injuctions against the press or individuals???
    4. Who tried again this week to get an injuction???

5. Who did a glossy magazine interview with his missus??
    6. Who was only too happy to push the carrier of a young lady who is today the mother of a young child whose father is a rugby player???
    7. Who has willingly been photographed with fans pissed drunk when it suites the agenda??

8. Who had a two part documentary made about themselves?

I like this game. :)

9. Who ran onto the pitch and threw their tie into the crowd when we won our qualifier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Wait there....

1. Who sang IRA songs in public and then denied it??
    2. Who denies knowledge of fans being searched before games??
    3. Who has a number of times take out injuctions against the press or individuals???
    4. Who tried again this week to get an injuction???

5. Who did a glossy magazine interview with his missus??
    6. Who was only too happy to push the carrier of a young lady who is today the mother of a young child whose father is a rugby player???
    7. Who has willingly been photographed with fans pissed drunk when it suites the agenda??

Oh the man has an Alan partridgesque aspect to his character. A deeply cringe man but I don’t think tittle tattle about his personal life is the same as scruity over his occupation.

You don’t see the distinction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Dots1982 wrote: »
    This is the arrangement for every business entity so your point has no merit.

Ohhh it has merit....all listed companies are subject to control through its supervisory board. They are put in place by the shareholders and ask the questions on their behalf.....

Who does JD or the FAI answer too?? What chance do fan clubs/clubs/fans have to ask questions without them being filtered or blocked as they dont meet the agenda??? Have you ever tried to ask the FAI about details of topics.....away ticket allocations for example???

Have we ever been told who paid for the VIP tickets bought to keep fans happy after the Scotland away after the FAI failed to allocate tickets to fans who had followed the team around the world for years????

Ohhh it has merit....all listed companies are subject to control through its supervisory board. They are put in place by the shareholders and ask the questions on their behalf.....

Who does JD or the FAI answer too?? What chance do fan clubs/clubs/fans have to ask questions without them being filtered or blocked as they dont meet the agenda??? Have you ever tried to ask the FAI about details of topics.....away ticket allocations for example???

Have we ever been told who paid for the VIP tickets bought to keep fans happy after the Scotland away after the FAI failed to allocate tickets to fans who had followed the team around the world for years????

They’re ultimately answerable to the government, minister for sport and public accounts committee. Those bodies are answerable to the people. Put enough pressure on those people or organize a boycott and you’ll threaten Delaney’s power.

Delaney would also been answerable to the board and various parties at the annual congress- schoolboy leagues etc I’d imagine but he’s oiled the wheels with them so they are all in his pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,793 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Because it’s brought a significant level of negative scrutiny on him. Again this is so obvious I’m perplexed why I’m having to explain it

You've said that there's no smoking gun here. Nothing negative or questionable. If this is the case why try hide it??

A group have lobbied for JD to appear infront of a government comittee....he had no time last month, is expected in April if he doesnt find another reason to leave.

Since then....
    - LOI clubs officiall allowed to share goal clips before Monday nigh RTE

coverage (there is no deal for LOI coverage...)

- LOI manager appointed to the U21s, with promise of first team

- Term periods have been fix for FAI comitte members
    - He organised a coat and dagger meeting in a pub with hand picked fans,

a few of which have been public about his position.
    - He tried to block a story in the news papers about loans to the FAI

A large group of fans have been staying away from the Aviva for a while. All you have to do is watch games...the stadium isnt every full at lower tier level.

Banner fly overs of the Aviva stopped at the last minute, pilot was advised not to fly, fans searched by JDs head of security at home and away games to take banners or flags off them, heavy handed security in the singing section of the Aviva and FAI employees searching socail media looking for critical fans, banners or plan for protest..... ;)

kippy wrote: »
    You've said that there's no smoking gun here. Nothing negative or questionable. If this is the case why try hide it??

To repeat myself ..Negative publicity or scrutiny for high profile figures is best avoided.

Delaney would also been answerable to the board and various parties at the annual congress- schoolboy leagues etc I’d imagine but he’s oiled the wheels with them so they are all in his pocket.

Who makes up these boards and parties.....friends of himself and his father. Its a closed shop and it should stay that way....if its open why havent any of the lads on YBIG forum been allowed join or ask questions.

To repeat myself ..Negative publicity or scrutiny for high profile figures is best avoided.

What's negative about this?

A group have lobbied for JD to appear infront of a government comittee....he had no time last month, is expected in April if he doesnt find another reason to leave.

Since then....
    - LOI clubs officiall allowed to share goal clips before Monday nigh RTE

coverage (there is no deal for LOI coverage...)

- LOI manager appointed to the U21s, with promise of first team

- Term periods have been fix for FAI comitte members
    - He organised a coat and dagger meeting in a pub with hand picked fans,

a few of which have been public about his position.
    - He tried to block a story in the news papers about loans to the FAI

A large group of fans have been staying away from the Aviva for a while. All you have to do is watch games...the stadium isnt every full at lower tier level.

Banner fly overs of the Aviva stopped at the last minute, pilot was advised not to fly, fans searched by JDs head of security at home and away games to take banners or flags off them, heavy handed security in the singing section of the Aviva and FAI employees searching socail media looking for critical fans, banners or plan for protest..... ;)

You would need to see low attendances at big qualifiers when the team is doing well to really classify it as a boycott. Right now most could be staying away for the same reason as all other football fans stay away- Their team is crap.

Who makes up these boards and parties.....friends of himself and his father. Its a closed shop and it should stay that way....if its open why havent any of the lads on YBIG forum been allowed join or ask questions.

I’ve said 3 pages ago he’s guilty of cronyism. It’s not illegal.

Somebody from the FAI said something very similar to me at a game recently. Small, round, baldy fella.....in an away foreign ground.

You would need to see low attendances at big qualifiers when the team is doing well to really classify it as a boycott. Right now most could be staying away for the same reason as all other football fans stay away- Their team is crap.

Interesting would be to find out how many tickets the FAI gave away for the last qualifier......think most people would be suprised if the figures came out. But that will never be public as the FAI dont answer to anyone.

What's negative about this?

Jesus im really I’m at a loss with you....How would you classify the media and social media coverage of John Delaney and the FAI since Saturday night? Would you say it’s been positive, neutral or negative?

Well if the FAI had been successful with their court order there would have been no coverage.

Yes, that’s true...so...what’s your point?

What's caused the most damage to his rep at this stage?
    The initial act or the attempted cover up?

What's caused the most damage to his rep at this stage?
    The initial act or the attempted cover up?

Both caused damage. The initial story was negative publicity so Delaney wanted it spiked. The only way your point would have merit is if the initial story wasn’t negative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭shanec1928

dan1895 wrote: »
    Never realised Delaney's bootlicks were on here in such numbers.
    Defending till the bitter end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

It is a bizarre story this but I think, for a change, there is probably less to it than meets the eye. I just had a look at the FAI's 2017 accounts and they don't paint a great picture. Turnover was pretty much the same €49M V €50M in 2016 and retained profit after grants etc was €2.7M V €2.3M. What is noticeable though is that, thanks to some balance sheet changes, the current bank account situation deteriorated from a positive €970K to a negaitve €1.3M. Given the erratic nature of income for the FAI it would be very easy to see a situation where they might suddenly have come up against the overdraft limit.

Long term borrowings have also barely shifted from €39M in 2016 to €38.2M. Thats is probably the key to Delaney's attempted subterfuge. It is difficult to see how he can back up his claims to be be debt free in a few years ("if we choose to, rather than re-invest") when your long term debt is stubbornly stuck in the high €30M's. There is also the un-professional appearance of a sizeable company having to dip into a Director's funds to fund cashflow issues.

If you want to be picky the note on transactions with Directors fails to mention the loan. If you want to get real picky there is a detailed note on 'going concern' and the uncertainty of funds through performance etc but no mention that things were so precarious that JD had to fund the company short-term. I'm sure JD was able to convince the auditors it was just the easiest thing to do at the time rather than applying to the bank for emergency funds. I would be curious to see the covenants attached to the long term borrowings and what they say about other borrowings / overdraft facilities. That might possibly be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,419 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

A boycott of the home leg of a playoff, or the last home game of a qualification with it all on the line.

Now that would be a proper boycott.

A boycott of the home leg of a playoff, or the last home game of a qualification with it all on the line.

Now that would be a proper boycott.

Aye, you’ll be a long time waiting for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

You'll find enough event whores to fill the stadium even if there was one so they wouldn't care.

Both caused damage. The initial story was negative publicity so Delaney wanted it spiked. The only way your point would have merit is if the initial story wasn’t negative.

What was negative about it? (The initial story that is?)

Ah jaysis, do I need to explain this? this is like school.

The FAI had a cash flow problem and the CEO bailed them out with a loan.

And sure what's negative about that. Isn't a good thing for him that he could support the organisation he works for?
    Unless of course there's more to it.

And sure what's negative about that. Isn't a good thing for him that he could support the organisation he works for?

Yeah it’s a brilliant situation to be CEO of a firm that is unable to meet its financial commitments. It’s the dream scenario really.

I’ve given up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Yeah it’s a brilliant situation to be CEO of a firm that is unable to meet its financial commitments. It’s the dream scenario really.

I’ve given up.

This probably isn't true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭larchielads

They wouldn't need the money if they weren't paying him 250k a year in the first place, think that's what most people are complaining about.

If the man was on say 100k a year and was doing a good job of it for that salary and was able to invest his money in his own personal businesses or save his money,all above board of course and if the fai did fall into financial difficulty through no fault of paying someone an obscene amount of money for a below standard job that they were doing then maybe people could accept him giving a loan as it were to the fai.

Basically he loaned them back money he didn't deserve to be earning if he was on 100k a year that's a saving of 150k a year salary wise. And how long has he been earning 250k , say up to 10 yrs ok we'll say 5. So 5 x 150k in savings is 750k.

There ye go no need for a loan from Del boy

I’ve given up.

So finally, at best he is an absolutely useless CEO. At worst theres more to it than meets the eye or the initial trio of press releases the FAI have put out.

Id want to see who paid for the legal action as well, would assume it came out of JDs own pocket.

sugarman wrote: »
    Hes on €360k and thats after he took a 10% paycut!

Only to get a gig with UEFA for an extra €100K or so more per year......and we wont mention his expenses which no one is allowed to ask about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,870 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Sports Ireland...not informed about financial problems.....

Now the washing is being washed.....maybe the reason for the injunction???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

They wouldn't need the money if they weren't paying him 250k a year in the first place, think that's what most people are complaining about.

If the man was on say 100k a year and was doing a good job of it for that salary and was able to invest his money in his own personal businesses or save his money,all above board of course and if the fai did fall into financial difficulty through no fault of paying someone an obscene amount of money for a below standard job that they were doing then maybe people could accept him giving a loan as it were to the fai.

Basically he loaned them back money he didn't deserve to be earning if he was on 100k a year that's a saving of 150k a year salary wise. And how long has he been earning 250k , say up to 10 yrs ok we'll say 5. So 5 x 150k in savings is 750k.

There ye go no need for a loan from Del boy

Isn't he paid 350k per year?

Sports Ireland...not informed about financial problems.....

Now the washing is being washed.....maybe the reason for the injunction???

The judge has certainly being vindicated about allowing the Sunday times print the story.

Are you starting to see some sense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,870 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

....and today's daily statement is in....

https://twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1108088797009453056

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

The mans a disgrace!

He earns a few grand less than the whole prize money in the LOI!

I pray to God he’s done something illegal and gets the book thrown at him!

Proper Protest needed Tues. They can’t stop 10,000 odd chanting about Delaney

Serious question from reading the past few pages, Is this you John or do you just work for FAI?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

The mans a disgrace!

The type of clientele at an international game won't even know this is happening.

The mans a disgrace!

The type of clientele at an international game won't even know this is happening.

That’s true but if u include all the LOI fans, YBIG lad and lasses plus the few thousand more who want him gone it’s achievable.

I’m going Tuesday myself and I’ve a banner which will easily be brought in undetected, Just a matter of when to display it

That’s true but if u include all the LOI fans, YBIG lad and lasses plus the few thousand more who want him gone it’s achievable.

I’m going Tuesday myself and I’ve a banner which will easily be brought in undetected, Just a matter of when to display it

Wouldnt talk about it too much....otherwise Glue will be searching and mind reading at the entrance to the stadium. He will be looking deep into your eyes and turning you away......no protests against the great leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭larchielads

givyjoe wrote: »
    Isn't he paid 350k per year?

Well then, there ye go everybody my point made even more

Just read on another forum that JDs income (€160,000) from UEFA is now being paid directly to the FAI...add the €100,000 he gave as a loan and the fact he tried to get the injuction when mentioning divorce courts...........smells like someone is trying to hide something from the ex and kids.

On another note....how would it work if he donated the €160,000....would he get tax rebate on it or tax credits??? Is there a charity anywhere inside the FAI or linked to it???

Dougal..I mean Kippy, I had to explain to you why the story was negative for Delaney and the FAI like you were a six year old child with a learning disability.

Of course the story is negative and damaging to the FAI and JD. Thats why they attempted to block it.That is the very reason it warrant s further, deeper, independent analysis. Its not a minor 'nothing to see here' set of incidents, as you've been trying to claim in your previous posts. How you can believe anything coming from the FAI on this is laughable. I'd suggest a six year old child would at lest question what is going on here.

And again, I'd like to know whose money paid for the legal action and what the point of said legal action was.

A full and independent investigation by the proper authorities need to happen to give the public some confidence in what has gone on here.

The mans a disgrace!

Go on then

As Delia said, let's be having you.

Organise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭Augme

I’m going Tuesday myself

This is your problem. Once you have paid and go then I doubt a protest is going to be much of a annoyance to them. If people actually wanted rid of Delaney they wouldn't attend full stop.

If you want to protest I will be in Tom Clarkes down the Quay for a few pints during the game (however they have what they wanted...your money).....will buy you a shot for every JD out banner or mass protest heard/seen from fans.

First away I will miss in nearly 4 years....but enough is enough.

Augme wrote: »
    This is your problem. Once you have paid and go then I doubt a protest is going to be much of a annoyance to them. If people actually wanted rid of Delaney they wouldn't attend full stop.

Exactly

Stop going to games, not just one low profile game, all games.

When season tickets are up for renewal don't renew them.

Don't buy merchandise, don't buy sponsors products etc.

If the amount of FAI/Delaney hatred here is anything to go by ye should make a impact in no time.