Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai find naked man whipped on crucifix in Dublin club, naked audience watch

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

It was consenting adults, not my cup of tea but they weren't doing anything illegal.

People need to stop being curtin twitchers and stay out of others sex lives.

I generally agree, but if you own the premises you get a say in what goes on there.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

KiKi III wrote: »
    I generally agree, but if you own the premises you get a say in what goes on there.

When they were doing nothing wrong why should he have a say?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,436 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I'd love to go to a party like that just to see the craic (pun intended), I'd even buy a whip and smack some ass.

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

If she can afford to live in Sandymount maybe we're all in the wrong line of work!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

They were breaking a number of laws by the looks of it... read the article

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Mr. Karate

KiKi III wrote: »
    They were breaking a number of laws by the looks of it... read the article

We all have the right to a happy ending.

Mr. Karate wrote: »
    We all have the right to a happy ending.

I must have missed that section of the Constitution ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,426 ✭✭✭TheChizler

What's the bet the landlord is making the claim of it being a brothel just to try to get the tenant out?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Most of the audience were naked. At minimum he would have to get the seats cleaned - or if soft coverings replaced. Expensive. Probably not covered in the rent.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,726 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Sex Workers in Ireland are more abused by the Government than anyone else. Sex Workers were the ones out protesting the change of laws in Ireland, they were the ones who were unrecognized, and again during this pandemic, they were abandoned and entitled to nothing. Every Tom Dick and Harry who worked an hour a week suddenly had 350 a week no questioned asked, but the Sex Workers were again abused and mistreated by the Government '' lets pretend they don't exist, give them nothing, let them rot'' its' not cool, they should have the same rights.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,683 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Sex Workers in Ireland are more abused by the Government than anyone else. Sex Workers were the ones out protesting the change of laws in Ireland, they were the ones who were unrecognized, and again during this pandemic, they were abandoned and entitled to nothing. Every Tom Dick and Harry who worked an hour a week suddenly had 350 a week no questioned asked, but the Sex Workers were again abused and mistreated by the Government '' lets pretend they don't exist, give them nothing, let them rot'' its' not cool, they should have the same rights.

You can refer to them as “sex workers”, but in reality, they’re people who are engaged in prostitution. People who engage in prostitution aren’t being abused by the State, far too often they’re abused by the people who choose to exploit them.

There were only a handful of prostitutes protesting the change of laws in Ireland, along with Amnesty International led by Colm O’ Gorman who campaigned for what they called “sex workers rights”, as though being a prostitute is an immutable characteristic of a person, and not an occupation under which they would already be protected by employment law. That would of course mean having to pay tax like anyone else who is in employment, and the majority of prostitutes who weren’t out protesting, don’t want to pay tax either.

They were recognised at the time the same as anyone else, as submissions were invited from the public, same as any time new laws are introduced. They were also recognised during the pandemic as being entitled to the same entitlement as anyone else whether they were already in employment and engaging in prostitution as a nixer, or whether they were engaged in prostitution full time. They weren’t entitled to anything on the basis of engaging in prostitution.

No every Tom, Dick and Harry who worked an hour a week didn’t suddenly have 350 a week no questions asked, nor did anyone who was engaged in prostitution, nor did anyone pretend anyone didn’t exist. It depended upon their circumstances what anyone was or was not entitled to. People who are engaged in prostitution weren’t treated any differently to anyone and certainly weren’t abused and mistreated by Government. There were many who were abused by people who chose to exploit them though.

There was no pretending anyone doesn’t exist, there was no “give them nothing”, and people who engage in prostitution do have the same rights as everyone else in society, that’s precisely why the laws were introduced to protect people from being exploited by people who choose to exploit them. Far from being ignored and abused by the State, they are protected by the State the same laws which apply to everyone in Irish society. The State isn’t under any obligation to facilitate prostitution, which is essentially, exploitation.

That’s why the Gardaí raided the premises, not because some lad was having his arse whipped on stage while the audience looked on, but because the tenant was suspected of running a brothel which, under Irish law, is illegal. More and more, prostitution is being seen for what it is - modern slavery, exploitation, and no Government and no society is under any obligation to facilitate modern slavery and exploitation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

The state wants a cut of their action without affording them the corresponding protections that a pimp would.

s1ippy wrote: »
    The state wants a cut of their action without affording them the corresponding protections that a pimp would.

How do you make that out? The State isn’t interested in facilitating exploitation, and the only thing pimps are interested in protecting is their income. Pimps aren’t interested in protecting anyone else but themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

If the possibility of exploitation is your main gripe with sex work, would you'all think that a self-employed, safe, confident enterprising trade of sex work is perfectly OK?

There is a huge demand for it: always has been.

Why on earth pretend that it ain't so?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Day Lewin wrote: »
    If the possibility of exploitation is your main gripe with sex work, would you'all think that a self-employed, safe, confident enterprising trade of sex work is perfectly OK?

Because it makes the baby jesus cry.

Only speaking for myself, I wouldn’t be perfectly ok with it, I’d still see it as exploitation and facilitating prostitution as encouraging exploitation.

Why pretend there’s a huge demand for prostitution when there really isn’t? On any given day in Ireland there are about 1,000 people prostituting themselves, mostly women, touting for business from about 7,000 people, mostly men, who are looking to exploit them.

The only thing legitimising the industry does is lead to increased exploitation. Why pretend there’s a huge demand for prostitution when in all reality there isn’t? There’s a huge social stigma against it in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,048 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well, the landlord's entitled to set specific terms in the contract to what the space can and can not be used for, especially if it's a business or entertainement setting. May have their own beliefs or ethics codes or even just doesn't want the hassle of dealing with neighbours.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Only speaking for myself, I wouldn’t be perfectly ok with it, I’d still see it as exploitation and facilitating prostitution as encouraging exploitation.

Why pretend there’s a huge demand for prostitution when there really isn’t? On any given day in Ireland there are about 1,000 people prostituting themselves, mostly women, touting for business from about 7,000 people, mostly men, who are looking to exploit them.

The only thing legitimising the industry does is lead to increased exploitation. Why pretend there’s a huge demand for prostitution when in all reality there isn’t? There’s a huge social stigma against it in Ireland.

This is where regulation needs to also come in.

There are plenty of business ideals where exploitation is a risk - getting people to pick friut in farms is an exploitation risk - it just needs to be tightned up with sevear penalites for thos who abuse them.
    You can refer to them as “sex workers”, but in reality, they’re people who are engaged in prostitution. People who engage in prostitution aren’t being abused by the State, far too often they’re abused by the people who choose to exploit them.

Not to be pedantic, but the term "sex-worker" is much more varied. It includes web-cammers, professional dominas (boh online and in person), lap dancers and strippers, porn stars and so on.

A lot of it doesn't involve actual sexual intercourse.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Yes, you are demonstrating that stigma very clearly.
    Why, though? Just propriety? A little out-dated, isn't it?
    Of coyrse, a proper concern that workers shouldn't be exploited does you credit.
    Not being hidden from legal scrutiny would be a great first step!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,338 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

More and more, prostitution is being seen for what it is - modern slavery, exploitation, and no Government and no society is under any obligation to facilitate modern slavery and exploitation.

You just saying it is slavery or exploitation does not mean it is however. It is people selling a service, with people buying that service. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Now slavery and exploitation might happen WITHIN that service, but that is entirely different. You can have the same thing happen with Nail Bars for example. Where people could be shipped from other countries, and held as slaves, to work in those nail bars. That does not mean there is anything wrong with nail bars, or that service.

Or the fact children were used in child slave labour to produce clothes for example. That does not mean clothing production was child slave labour. Clothes production is one thing. The slavery that was conducted within that industry was another.

A Freelance Sex Worker is using parts of their body to stimulate parts of the body of the client. A Freelance Masseure is doing EXACTLY the same thing. Yet somehow magically one is slavery and exploitation while the other is just a person with a business.

Why? I do not know, but it appears the "why" is solely to do with YOUR hang ups about sex and nothing more. One is wrong and the other not solely because of how YOU view sex and sexuality and nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

You just saying it is slavery or exploitation does not mean it is however. It is people selling a service, with people buying that service. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Now slavery and exploitation might happen WITHIN that service, but that is entirely different. You can have the same thing happen with Nail Bars for example. Where people could be shipped from other countries, and held as slaves, to work in those nail bars. That does not mean there is anything wrong with nail bars, or that service.

Or the fact children were used in child slave labour to produce clothes for example. That does not mean clothing production was child slave labour. Clothes production is one thing. The slavery that was conducted within that industry was another.

A Freelance Sex Worker is using parts of their body to stimulate parts of the body of the client. A Freelance Masseure is doing EXACTLY the same thing. Yet somehow magically one is slavery and exploitation while the other is just a person with a business.

Why? I do not know, but it appears the "why" is solely to do with YOUR hang ups about sex and nothing more. One is wrong and the other not solely because of how YOU view sex and sexuality and nothing more.

How out of touch with reality must you be to equate a person being forced to have sex against their will, to a nail technician? Human trafficking of any kind is reprehensible but come on.

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    How out of touch with reality must you be to equate a person being forced to have sex against their will, to a nail technician? Human trafficking of any kind is reprehensible but come on.

We're talking human entrapment and slave labour here. Either's it's right or it's wrong. Scale doesn't come into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,671 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

A lot of men in positions of authority, Judges, Politicians, high ranking army lads seem to go in for the whipping. Just reminded me of a Dub lad I worked with once on the buildings related a story to me of how when he worked as a bus conductor he met an old Sargent major who he made a business arrangement to whipp with a belt for 5punts per time. No sex involved infact the Dub lad was straight as a dye. I can still hear his reply when we asked did he hit him hard.. "da more I belted the shire oura him da more he liked it, screeching like a hyena he was" How we laughed down a soaking wet trench somewhere outside Hemel hampstead back in the glory days

How out of touch with reality must you be to think that was the equation I was making?

I am not equating anything I am SEPARATING two things. I am separating an industry from the crimes that are committed within the industry. Whether that is clothes production, sex work, or nail bars. The point is the same for all of them.

Which is that crimes committed within the industry should not, on a mere whim, be used to indict the industry. Slavery is slavery. Force is force. Whether you are forcing people as slaves to do sex work, or forcing them as slaves to do nail bar work. It is still slavery.

That does not mean there is anything wrong with sex work. Or with Nail Bars. Both of those are services I see no problem with. If all the people involved, are involved willingly, then that is perfectly ok with me.

What SOME people (read:one) want to do is pretend the crimes within an industry.... one industry and not any others.... are representative of that industry as a whole. That type of conflation is agenda/bias driven and literally nothing else.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

We're talking human entrapment and slave labour here. Either's it's right or it's wrong. Scale doesn't come into it.

Scale does come in to it. Being raped numerous times is not the same as doing nails.

Pretending they are the same is completely disingenuous. Most people do feel differently about sex then other forms of work.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

How out of touch with reality must you be to think that was the equation I was making?

I am not equating anything I am SEPARATING two things. I am separating an industry from the crimes that are committed within the industry. Whether that is clothes production, sex work, or nail bars. The point is the same for all of them.

Which is that crimes committed within the industry should not, on a mere whim, be used to indict the industry. Slavery is slavery. Force is force. Whether you are forcing people as slaves to do sex work, or forcing them as slaves to do nail bar work. It is still slavery.

That does not mean there is anything wrong with sex work. Or with Nail Bars. Both of those are services I see no problem with. If all the people involved, are involved willingly, then that is perfectly ok with me.

What SOME people (read:one) want to do is pretend the crimes within an industry.... one industry and not any others.... are representative of that industry as a whole. That type of conflation is agenda/bias driven and literally nothing else.

Ehh or maybe I can read? "A Freelance Sex Worker is using parts of their body to stimulate parts of the body of the client. A Freelance Masseure is doing EXACTLY the same thing. Yet somehow magically one is slavery and exploitation while the other is just a person with a business."

If you can provide evidence to show that even 20% of the 'sex worker industry' have entered such arrangements willfully, without any means of exploitation, then maybe your argument will have grounds.

When the vast majority of the people involved in an 'industry' are dodgy/criminals/people being exploited, then it's only natural that reasonable people will condemn such practices.

Scale does come in to it. Being raped numerous times is not the same as doing nails.

Pretending they are the same is completely disingenuous. Most people do feel differently about sex then other forms of work.

Exactly the point I made in my first point above. People FEEL it is different, so they act like it actually is different. But aside from Da Feelz, what actual differences can we lay out. I am sure someone held against their will and forced into slave labour is dreaming of freedom rather than simply saying "Ah sure, at least its not sex work".

The fact remains that in BOTH cases they are being held against their will and forced to do work as slaves. And in BOTH cases I would do everything in my power to free them. As I hope we all would.

What I would not, and will not ever, do is pretend that in one cases it says nothing about the industry, but in the other case it means the industry itself is by definition exploitation and slavery. If exploitation and slavery happens within any industry then THAT is bad. And it is enough that that is bad. We do not need to conflate it with the industry itself.
    Ehh or maybe I can read? "A Freelance Sex Worker is using parts of their body to stimulate parts of the body of the client. A Freelance Masseure is doing EXACTLY the same thing. Yet somehow magically one is slavery and exploitation while the other is just a person with a business."

Maybe you can read. Maybe you can also shift goal posts. Because in the first post you referred to the part of my post about sex work and nail bars. In THIS post you are quoting and referring to an entirely different part of my post which was making an entirely different point to the other part of my post.
    If you can provide evidence to show that even 20% of the 'sex worker industry' have entered such arrangements willfully, without any means of exploitation, then maybe your argument will have grounds.

Why should I have to? I believe in, and live in a society with a social justice system partially predicated on, the concept of "Innocent until proven guilty". It is not for me to provide the statistics on slavery and rape here. It is for the people indicting the industry of sex work.

However I am not sure why any particular % is relevant here? 20 seems random and arbitrary. Why not 10? Why not 70? My point would remain the same either way. If slavery happens in ANY industry.... that slavery is a bad thing. That does not automatically mean the industry itself is a bad thing.

Slavery, rape, and abuse happens in the world of sex work. I know this. You know this. It's a terrible thing. And we should do anything in our power to reduce that, preferably to zero. But that simply does NOT mean that sex work in and of itself is a problem or the problem.

I trust you think Freelance Massage is ok? If you don't then we need to have a different conversation. But assuming you do think it is ok..... would it suddenly not be ok tomorrow if the market was flooded with slave workers tomorrow? Or would the slavery itself not be the problem, rather than massage????
    When the vast majority of the people involved in an 'industry' are dodgy/criminals/people being exploited, then it's only natural that reasonable people will condemn such practices.

As if "only natural" means it is a good thing, or the right thing, to do. However you have yet to substantiate the idea that the majority of the people involved fit that description, have you?

Again though, even if that was true it STILL does not indict the industry. Just the practices within it. Take another example. The meat industry. Some people think eating meat is a bad thing. That is one conversation. Other people think that eating meat is ok but how we treat our animals at this time in inhumane. THEY can see the same difference I am trying to explain to you. That the industry itself (the production and consumption of meat) is separate from the practices within that industry. And if we could clear up the malpractice and inhumanity of the current system..... then that is enough.

I would say the same of sex work. There is NOTHING wrong with sex work that I can see. If there are inhumane and awful practices within that industry at this time however, then we very much should try to clean that up.

The issue for ME is that most people can see everything I just said clearly and honestly and openly. UNTIL it suddenly comes to an industry THEY do not like. And whether they are against sex work, or eating of meat, or whatever.... they will suddenly based on their bias alone happily conflate the two things they would separate in any other conversation.

Yes, you are demonstrating that stigma very clearly.
    Why, though? Just propriety? A little out-dated, isn't it?
    Of coyrse, a proper concern that workers shouldn't be exploited does you credit.
    Not being hidden from legal scrutiny would be a great first step!

Nah it’s not propriety or anything else, it’s simply acknowledging that prostitution is a social ill which is inherently exploitative. That’s why there’s a stigma against it, because the people who indulge in it are perpetuating that same exploitation. I have no interest in contributing to or facilitating what I see as nothing more than exploitation.

Even if it were regulated in Ireland there would still be “the tip of the iceberg” effect where less than 1% of it would be a legitimate and visible business, and the 99% of it would still be conducted illegally because it’s simply more profitable than going legit.

And it’s true that everyone is aware of exploitation in other industries, but that exploitation too is regarded by most people as immoral.

You can’t get AIDS from giving someone a massage (or syphillis, or herpes etc)

You can’t get pregnant from giving someone a massage.

Violence and rape against masseurs is not a common problem.

Pretending they are the same thing is disingenuous in the extreme.