Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
05-02-2020, 12:05   #16
shovel
Registered User
 
shovel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 358
Please could you copy the pm onto me as well
Thanks
shovel is offline  
Advertisement
05-02-2020, 12:07   #17
perrier
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 201
Can these be powered by the TV usb ports?
perrier is offline  
05-02-2020, 12:17   #18
jc77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaerobe View Post
Can sideload RTE player.
Any chance of a PM to point me in direction of doing this please? I attempted before, but failed miserably.
jc77 is offline  
05-02-2020, 12:23   #19
Mountjoy Mugger
Registered User
 
Mountjoy Mugger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 4,055
This is Bargain Alerts; not a hold my hand forum. Can ye not google this stuff?
Mountjoy Mugger is offline  
05-02-2020, 12:51   #20
brightkane
Brightane
 
brightkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by perrier View Post
Can these be powered by the TV usb ports?
Yes but in my experience with my tvs it was hit and miss. Got random shut downs and reboots and messages it wasnt getting enough power.
brightkane is online now  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
05-02-2020, 12:57   #21
jc77
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by perrier View Post
Can these be powered by the TV usb ports?
Firestick connects to HDMI port & has a microUSB port which is best connected to mains (cable & plug is supplied with the stick)
jc77 is offline  
Thanks from:
05-02-2020, 13:01   #22
muffler
Moderator
 
muffler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 36,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountjoy Mugger View Post
This is Bargain Alerts; not a hold my hand forum. Can ye not google this stuff?
You should change your user name to Killjoy Mugger
muffler is offline  
05-02-2020, 14:14   #23
OmegaGene
Registered User
 
OmegaGene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chesty08 View Post
Can you help me out here (sorry for being novicey)?

I suppose to kick things off ive always been restrictive on this things because my line speed is only 8mb & I cant get it higher due to distance from exchange. I tried IPTV but wouldn’t work, said I needed 10MB at minimum.

Anyways, why would you need 3?

I currently pay for NetfliX, Sky TV & Sports and have a smart Samsung 4K Tv.

I need to get something for kids tv & movies

Should I get one or is my line speed not worth it. I’m building house at minute & should be in & all by end of year. Line speed won’t be an issue.
Get one and try it, it’s easy to send it back or sell it on adverts for €60
Why would you need 3 ? Some people have more than 1 tv in their house, brother in law has 5 of them
OmegaGene is online now  
(2) thanks from:
05-02-2020, 14:15   #24
OmegaGene
Registered User
 
OmegaGene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by antodeco View Post
Any chance you can PM how to do this? Ive never used a VPN on the firestick so not sure what way it works!
Get a smart dns for bbc and itv player they are much more reliable
OmegaGene is online now  
Thanks from:
Advertisement
05-02-2020, 15:01   #25
mean gene
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 539
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffler View Post
Amazon have dropped the price of their 4k Fire TV stick to £34.99. Can't post a link as I'm on the phone but I'm sure you'll find it
got this for a non 4k tv doesn't work still in box
mean gene is offline  
05-02-2020, 15:04   #26
Berty
Registered User
 
Berty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23,101
Send a message via MSN to Berty Send a message via Skype™ to Berty
Quote:
Originally Posted by mean gene View Post
got this for a non 4k tv doesn't work still in box
I've 3 4K sticks , one on a 4KTV, 1 on a 1080P and the other on a 720P TV. No issues. Must be something else wrong on your end because the HDMI is generally universal and the OS is on the stick so the TV is just the display monitor essentially.
Berty is offline  
Thanks from:
05-02-2020, 15:08   #27
ablelocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountjoy Mugger View Post
This is Bargain Alerts; not a hold my hand forum. Can ye not google this stuff?
i'd rather learn from someone on boards who has experience and is willing to share than to trust the random paid for adverts masquerading as how to's that clog the search results.

nearly everything techie i've learned over the years has been from a boardsie kind enough to share their knowledge.

isn't that the whole point of this place?

anyway, i tried and didn't completely trust the process the last time i tried to set up and use a vpn so would appreciate some guidance too.

thanks for the BA
ablelocks is offline  
05-02-2020, 15:10   #28
OmegaGene
Registered User
 
OmegaGene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by ablelocks View Post
i'd rather learn from someone on boards who has experience and is willing to share than to trust the random paid for adverts masquerading as how to's that clog the search results.

nearly everything techie i've learned over the years has been from a boardsie kind enough to share their knowledge.

isn't that the whole point of this place?

anyway, i tried and didn't completely trust the process the last time i tried to set up and use a vpn so would appreciate some guidance too.

thanks for the BA
Boards is where we all learn
Getflix is who I use for U.K. streaming sites and also american amazon tv and Netflix it’s really is a solid service and they have a 2 week trial so it’s worth a try
OmegaGene is online now  
Thanks from:
05-02-2020, 15:30   #29
celticbhoy27
Registered User
 
celticbhoy27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berty View Post
Yes, it has more GB of RAM in it and has a volume button. Really handy being able to control the TV, with volume, with on/off functions with just the one remote.
I have the 2nd generation. It has the volume buttons. I can control tv via it
celticbhoy27 is offline  
05-02-2020, 15:33   #30
bromley52
Registered User
 
bromley52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kintarō Hattori View Post
For anyone on the fence, these are fantastic. They've revolutionized my TV viewing. You can use them for the following:

Netflix
Prime Video
BBC iPlayer
Channel 4 player
Channel 5 player
ITV player
YouTube

Obviously some of the above will require a VPN to access but that's easy to setup and use. I haven't used my Chromecast in a very long time.
To add to the above you can use your own TVs remote to control 99% of the firestick. Your TV needs to support HDMI CEC.
bromley52 is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet