Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Can the book be beaten ...long term?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭del roy

4.15 Zamra 2pts e/w 6/1
    4.40 barley mo 3pts win 5/1

Fair balls to this kid, only 25 days left to call it a day and here he is risking 7pts, if it was me I would make sure I finished at least plus 100 pts and just have a few 2pt wins between now and 9th May.

I suppose if you are up nearly 12k what's another 2k.

Hey Kid take it easy I have my winnings to mind, :eek:

Only joking I would not have had it, had I not started this thread,
    In for a penny an all that.

Good luck for the next few weeks.

is she deffo out of the guineas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

I wouldnt think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Zamra's race was so effing close. Still no result.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

It's a dead heat!

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭bookman2

superb. thought that was beaten.

matthew8 wrote: »
    It's a dead heat!

better than a slap in the face with wet fish, :D

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭fatalll

Barley Mo unplaced :-(

half a winner and 1 loser. :(

4.25. Imperial leader. 2pts. e/w. 14/1. Laddies

Tomorrow 4.25. Imperial leader. 2pts. e/w. 14/1. Laddies

4.15 Zamra 2pts e/w 6/1 1st dh 13/2
    4.40 barley mo 3pts win 5/1 unpl

Bank +220.7pts
    Starting bank 100pts
    Profit +120.7pts

Started 9th December 2013

1/ 1.45 Vallani 8/1 2pts e/w 3rd
    2/ 2.00 Monsieur Jamie 1pt e/w 8/1 unpl
    3/ 7.50 Great Ability 12/1 2pts e/w unpl
    4/ 2.00 Module 3/1 5pts unpl
    5/ 3.15 mister dillion 2pts e/w 10/1 unpl
    6/ 8.20 small john 2pts e/w 7/1 unpl
    7/ 1.20 Riddleofthesands 4/1 2pts win unpl
    8/ 3.35 Irish saint 2pts e/w 20/1 unpl
    9/ 12.50 supreme carolina 1pt e/w 14/1 3rd
    10/ 2.35 mountainous 1pt e/w 20/1 1st
    11/ 3.30 vovalein 4pts win 7/2 2nd
    12/ 1.55 aureate 9/1 2pts e/w unpl
    13/ 9.15 sceilig 4pts win 2nd
    14/ 1.35 Milan flyer. 2pts e/w 8/1 unpl
    15/ 3.35 Saffran De Cotte 2pts e/w 14/1 unpl
    16/ 3.45 Archie rice 2pts e/w 8/1 1st
    17/ 2.40 Irish thistle 5pts win 7/4 1st
    18/ 4.00 lady bridget 1pt e/w 12/1 unpl
    19/ 4.10 Admiral Blake 2pts e/w 9/1 1st
    20/ 7.25 Ice apple 1pt e/w 10/1 3rd
    21/ 4.05 Keep kicking 2pts e/w 6/1 1st
    22/ 2.25 Irish saint 2pts e/w 8/1 1st
    23/ 3.45 True to form 1pt e/w 14/1 unpl
    24/ 2.30 fair comment 1pt e/w 8/1 unpl
    25/ 3.10 Midnight charmer 2pts win 5/2 1st
    26/ 3.00 Bennelong 1pt e/w 7/1 unpl
    27/ 4.10 captain scoopy 1pt e/w 16/1 unpl
    28/ 2.40 hunters lodge 1pt e/w 16/1 unpl
    29/ 3.15 noble deed 1pt e/w 16/1 unpl
    30/ 3.15 money spider 1pt e/w 33/1 unpl
    31/ 8.15 New Rich 2pts e/w 8/1 1st
    32/ 2.55 Mr Marker 1pt e/w 14/1 1st r4 10c
    33/ 2.30 ghost train 1pt e/w 14/1 2nd
    34/ 2.50 scruffy tramp 2pts win 4/1 unpl
    35/ 3.05 xaarcetet 1pt e/w. 14/1 unpl
    36/ 3.15 bygone sovereign 1pt e/w. 12/1 unpl
    37/ 1.45. Shan valley 3pts win 5/1 2nd
    38/ 3.55 Dundee 2pts e/w 9/1 unpl
    39/ 2.20 Vallani 2pts e/w 12/1 unpl
    40/ 6.50 Lisahane Bog 2pts e/w 12/1 unpl
    41/ 3.00 Profile Star 5pts win 5/1 2nd
    42/ 5.10 true to form. 2pts e/w 12/1 1st
    43/ 5.15 mikemccaan 3pts win. 3/1 unpl
    44/ 4.20 pass the hat 1pt e/w 14/1 1st
    45/ 3.20 Jezski 2pts e/w 9/1 1st
    46/ 5.15 Royal Vacation 1/2pt e/w 40/1 unpl
    47/ 6.15 Arabian Heights 3pts win 7/2
    48/ 1.30 Double Ross 1pt e/w 14/1 3rd
    49/ 2.05 Alaivan 2pts e/w. 14/1 unpl
    50/ 3.15 Bob tucker 2pts e/w 10/1 unpl
    51/ 3.45 Give me a break 1pt e/w 12/1 unpl
    52/ 3.35 You Know Yourself 2pts e/w 9/1 unpl
    53/ 5.00 Teide peak 3pts win 5/1 1st
    54/ 4.05 Brocklebank 3pts win 4/1 2nd
    55/ 3.10 Dundee 2pts e/w 12/1 2nd
    56/ 1.30 Bright Applause 2pts win unpl
    57/ 5.00 Brocklebank 2pts e/w 12/1 2nd
    58/ 4.40 Chaval rouge 2pts e/w 25/1 unpl
    59/ 4.00 hellbender 2pts e/w 15/2 unpl
    60/ 5.00 Perfect passtime 1pt e/w 16/1 unpl
    61/ 3.20 Pierrer Bounty 2pt e/w 11/1 unpl
    62/ 3.15 Jacks revenge 2pts e/w 16/1 unp
    63/ 4.45 Monetary Fund 2pts e/w 12/1 unpl
    64/ 5.25 Dr Finley 4pts win 3/1 9/2 s.p 1st
    65/ 4.15 Kings grey 2pts e/w 20/1 unpl
    66/ 5.15 spirit of shankley 2pts e/w 14/1 unpl
    67/ 4.50 Pass the time. 2pts e/w. 16/1 unpl
    68/ 4.15 One in a milan 1/2 point e/w 66/1 fell
    69/ 4.15 Hawkes Point 1pt e/w 40/1 unpl
    70/ 3.40 daring indian 2pts e/w 15/2 unpl
    71/ 2.30 Oliver's mount 4 pts win. 5/1 1st
    72/ 3.50 Godsmejudge 2pts e/w 16/1 2nd
    73/ 4.00 Cape breton 2pts e/w 16/1 unpl
    74/ 4.15 Zamra 2pts e/w 6/1 1st dh 13/2
    75/ 4.40 barley mo 3pts win 5/1 unpl

1000 Guineas Tapestery 3pts e/w 8/1 ?????
    The Oaks Tapestery 2pts e/w 12/1 ?????

Realdanbreen

If you think the Kid is bad have a look at the run poor run. old Tom is having.

April 16th (picked by Tom Seagal) Aka Pricewise

Parbold 1pt 5/1
    5th (second last) 4/1

Dorothy B 1pt 6/1
    13th (third last) 6/1 (Betfair SP 6.8/1)

Totals
    Loss 36.5 points
    Staked 128 points
    % loss on the year so far 28.52%
    120 bets. 8 won, 112 lost.
    Current and longest losing streak 38. Longest winning streak 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭mulbot

del roy wrote: »
    Realdanbreen

Parbold 1pt 5/1
    5th (second last) 4/1

Dorothy B 1pt 6/1

Totals
    Loss 36.5 points
    Staked 128 points

super stuff from the kid really-really happy ive followed this thread del-lets hope it keeps up:)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Realdanbreen

Parbold 1pt 5/1
    5th (second last) 4/1

Dorothy B 1pt 6/1

Totals
    Loss 36.5 points
    Staked 128 points

Always wondered what his strike rate was like. This is very helpful. The kids performance remains astonishing in my eyes. Fair play to him. Great to see.

Mulbot

Regardless what alot of people stated on the first few pages of this thread, I have to hand it to him, even today when he is
    so near the finishing line he risked 7pts and another 4pts tomorrow. Many people if they were doing this thread would be having a few blank days in fear of losing the few points and trying to finish with as many points as possible.
    Its one of the things that has impressed me, the other is his knack to leave horses he has backed before alone the next time they run, strange one that.

At this stage I am very happy with my winnings and as I said at the beginning of the thread if he finished plus 50pts I would be very happy. I wonder did the pressure of his selections going up here help or hinter him.

As I said before he reads this thread daily and is amazed how many views it has had but as I said to him
    Gamblers are a fickle bunch once you are winning they will log in but as soon as the winners stop........... you would be lucky to get 10 people a day checking the thread.

Lets hope Imperial Leader is at least placed tomorrow.

Bumper
    Don't forget poor old pricewise has to pick from the televised handicaps unlike the kid who can have a 2pt e/w in the 8.30 at wolverhamton on a friday night.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Bumper
    Don't forget poor old pricewise has to pick from the televised handicaps unlike the kid who can have a 2pt e/w in the 8.30 at wolverhamton on a friday night.

True to be fair, forgot about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Bumper

Id rather be picking the big handicaps on a Saturday. In fairness to pricewise a loosing run of over 30 can be expected at an average odds of over 10/1 fairly regularly and he has been profitable even to bsp every year for years. Its all about ROI really over the long term.

aidankkk wrote: »
    Id rather be picking the big handicaps on a Saturday. In fairness to pricewise a loosing run of over 30 can be expected at an average odds of over 10/1 fairly regularly and he has been profitable even to bsp every year for years. Its all about ROI really over the long term.

Surely it is better to pick in races where you feel you have an edge rather than the editor saying you have the 3.10, 3,35,and 3.55 thats it.

Also I am not sure he (Tom Seagal) is that profitable, (see website) if he was the racing post would have kept a p/l and shouted it from the roof tops, thats why most people do not keep one, reminds them of how much they are losing. :D
    Seem to recall a few years ago all the R.U.K racing presenters started recommending 1pt win and 2pts win while keeping a p/l but it was dropped very quickly after it became apparent they were sh1te tipsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Seem to recall a few years ago all the R.U.K racing presenters started recommending 1pt win and 2pts win while keeping a p/l but it was dropped very quickly after it became apparent they were sh1te tipsters.

Similarly to Channel 4's betting coverage

Their betting shows used to show the on course bookmakers over round. When the bookmakers started to pretty much run the sport this was mysteriously dropped. It also coincided with a new SP system that saw over rounds increase........

• Registered Users Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Mulbot

Regardless what alot of people stated on the first few pages of this thread, I have to hand it to him, even today when he is
    so near the finishing line he risked 7pts and another 4pts tomorrow. Many people if they were doing this thread would be having a few blank days in fear of losing the few points and trying to finish with as many points as possible.
    Its one of the things that has impressed me, the other is his knack to leave horses he has backed before alone the next time they run, strange one that.

At this stage I am very happy with my winnings and as I said at the beginning of the thread if he finished plus 50pts I would be very happy. I wonder did the pressure of his selections going up here help or hinter him.

As I said before he reads this thread daily and is amazed how many views it has had but as I said to him
    Gamblers are a fickle bunch once you are winning they will log in but as soon as the winners stop........... you would be lucky to get 10 people a day checking the thread.

Lets hope Imperial Leader is at least placed tomorrow.

Fair play to the kid. I knew all along that I had to give him some tough love to keep him focussed. So I guess you could say that between the two of us we have been very successful.

Dan :D:D:D:D:D

Dan don't tell us you had a ton on all of them at the best prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

Surely it is better to pick in races where you feel you have an edge rather than the editor saying you have the 3.10, 3,35,and 3.55 thats it.

Also I am not sure he (Tom Seagal) is that profitable, (see website) if he was the racing post would have kept a p/l and shouted it from the roof tops, thats why most people do not keep one, reminds them of how much they are losing. :D

Most are sh**e thats true but there are a few independant sites keeping stats on pricewise and altough he is poor at the moment he has been profitiable every year. I prefer the big races as i dont have time to look at form that much and ill know most of the horses in the big races. I havnt the heart to look at poor quality races so fair play to anyone who can make something out of them.

The presenters tips are laughable, but sure if you look at any of the sites keeping stats on all these newspaper tipsters 75% of them are consistant loosers.

Keep up the good work and its easy see from his selections that there is some decent thought and effort going into it with some shrewd selections and that is always appreciated..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭mulbot

I joined in a bit after this had started, even so, my profit is way beyond what I thought I could have over such a short time, whatever way the kid does it it works, far better than trying to follow "tipsters" from paper, telly

aidankkk wrote: »
    Most are sh**e thats true but there are a few independant sites keeping stats on pricewise and altough he is poor at the moment he has been profitiable every year. I prefer the big races as i dont have time to look at form that much and ill know most of the horses in the big races. I havnt the heart to look at poor quality races so fair play to anyone who can make something out of them.

The presenters tips are laughable, but sure if you look at any of the sites keeping stats on all these newspaper tipsters 75% of them are consistant loosers.

Keep up the good work and its easy see from his selections that there is some decent thought and effort going into it with some shrewd selections and that is always appreciated..

Yes I agree aidan most are rubbish but if they are free what do people expect however there are some really expensive con artists out there who are very clever at avoiding/stating their p/l.
    As I said on here earlier on I was a member of both Isiris/Winningline whom were both expensive (mad money now) but very successful. Only problem back then was yes you guessed it....getting on. As soon as the bet was released the odds would half straight away :mad: so you had about 10 minutes to put the phone down and get on.

Lads, are there non runners in the 4.25 now.

imperial leader 9/1 now.

sorry I cannot get any racing sites to check myself.

sorry got atext 30 minutes ago stating above.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Upswing non runner, didnt see what price he was but he would have been favourite or close to it, mccoy/mcmanus etc

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Taff

looking at a 10p Rule 4

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭bgrove

Match betting....cheers kid.