Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day Part 6

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ferris

I never saw more than 20mpg. Loved it though, actively regret selling mine.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭DonalK1981

rugbyman wrote: »
    Chaps
    I have wandered in and out of this site for years.am a def bangernomic fan,having had five years out of a 1000 euro matiz,5 more froma 700 starlet and four out of a 2300 Vectra

the purpose of tonights typing is to settle a small argument.
    my friend has the cleanest A6 petrol, 2006, sub 70 000 miles fsh (indys) new timing belt, new tyres and battery.

How much is it worth?

Link to your advert when you post it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-fit-auto-taxed-nct-/23243487

MzE2NTBkMjZiMmUzNTUzNzA5NDJlOWRiZTkzNmJmNDBnUdAVO44JU74GpAYUAUjaaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ1NTEyMjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Honda Fit saloon, NCT till August 2019, tax till November, €1250

Not much of a looker, but provided you could insure it easy enough it could be an okay buy at a grand or so if you needed a small auto.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-galant-nct-05-2020-taxed-11-2019/23237099

NDM3NmFhNDQ1MDE5OTJhZWFkMTI0N2U0NWUzNzRhZjIz6cpnECQ9AEPyCt7X7o6caHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ0OTc4ODd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Reasonable miles, 1 previous owner, NCT till May 2020 and tax till November, €600

Get it for 5 and you'd be doing well. Still a great looking car

• Registered Users Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I've always wanted one of them, think they look fantastic, not many left on the road these days.
    For 600 nearly be tempted just so I can tick it off the list, although really would want the twin turbo vr4 one :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-galant-nct-05-2020-taxed-11-2019/23237099

NDM3NmFhNDQ1MDE5OTJhZWFkMTI0N2U0NWUzNzRhZjIz6cpnECQ9AEPyCt7X7o6caHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ0OTc4ODd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Reasonable miles, 1 previous owner, NCT till May 2020 and tax till November, €600

Get it for 5 and you'd be doing well. Still a great looking car

Hard to believe that yoke is 22yo looking at it. Most charisma of any car they had then! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Even the triangle tyres on the rear? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Squatman

Top Dog wrote: »

whats the ratings on that model?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Even with a 325i badge on the back?

Missed that :o

But now that I'm paying more attention - wasn't the 320i a 2.2 litre 4 cylinder engine in the E46? I thought the 6 cylinder 2.0 died with the E36?

• Registered Users Posts: 272 ✭✭TommyGun2017

Another e46 in 6 cylinder guise at less than a grand. NCT until May 2020. Wheels are lovely

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/22955039

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Missed that :o

But now that I'm paying more attention - wasn't the 320i a 2.2 litre 4 cylinder engine in the E46? I thought the 6 cylinder 2.0 died with the E36?

No, the 2.2 was a 6cyl as well, 170bho. Same engine that was in the 520i E60

Another e46 in 6 cylinder guise at less than a grand. NCT until May 2020. Wheels are lovely

If that was manual I'd nearly buy it as a donor

That car is a bargain. Tax is a real killer, but otherwise it looks like a cracking example for not a lot of money.

I’d be surprised if it’s still for sale

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-2006/23193166

YmZjNDFkZWFhZWRmYjBhZDQwOWVlZmFkOGQ1NThmYjmO-KjxHNolx9ApkCKuv5ZhaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQxNjA0ODV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Clean looking hybrid Civic with NCT till July 2020, €1995

High enough miles though, but if there are no lights on the dash I wouldn't be concerned

I'd take a lot less for mine ;)

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-i30-1-6-crdi-premium/23258614

MDkyNDRiZDc3ZTI4OGNjZDFjZDQ0MzcwZjE2MjRiNzLb0VhocXOlqNdB9k3d2RrGaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ2NzgzMzd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT till January 2021 no less, looks in good nick, diesel

€1995 also. Great little cars these

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Hard to believe that yoke is 22yo looking at it. Most charisma of any car they had then! :P

Do I see what you did there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-i30-1-6-crdi-premium/23258614

MDkyNDRiZDc3ZTI4OGNjZDFjZDQ0MzcwZjE2MjRiNzLb0VhocXOlqNdB9k3d2RrGaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ2NzgzMzd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

NCT till January 2021 no less, looks in good nick, diesel

€1995 also. Great little cars these

What would the tax be on that?
    Are that dealer good to deal with?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭marko93

terrydel wrote: »
    What would the tax be on that?
    Are that dealer good to deal with?

Can't speak for the dealer but the tax is a whopping 270 a year

marko93 wrote: »
    Can't speak for the dealer but the tax is a whopping 270 a year

Interesting. My missus Corolla is playing up a bit (another bangernomics special from here) something like that would be a nice replacement.
    Are they timing chain or belt?

What’s up with the Corolla? That seemed a lovely buy when you got it

Nothing major being honest, but we've spent 325 there recently on new rear discs and pads and handbrake kit and now the rear driver side caliper seems shot and theres a strong burning smell coming from there and a a lot of heat build up. We should really have got the calipers done with the discs but thought we'd get by without it. I reckon now that at least 2 if not all 4 should really be changed.
    It got thru the nct a month ago after the disc/handbrake work, after failing due to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,812 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Sounds more like a bearing issue tbh.
    Wouldn't buy another car based only on the above issue.

bear1 wrote: »

The calipers are very rusted, they were bad the day I bought it and I I thought it was still worth a punt at 1400.
    Agree, only thinking about it cos I've someone in work who'd like to buy it (obviously I'd get this issue rectified first)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

bear1 wrote: »

If it had recent pads and disks, it could easily be a damaged piston or seal after a ham fisted unwinding.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭dobman88

dobman88 wrote: »
    Hi guys.

The helpful folks here found me a car about 18 months ago and its still going strong.

The missus car died at the weekend and looking at a new engine among other things so not worth fixing.

Based in Ashbourne so somewhere in Meath or North Dublin preferably. Hatchback preferred as she doesnt like bigger cars. Year as new as possible, engine size doesnt really matter. Any help appreciated.

Apologies for long post.

So after the few helpful posts here. The missus ignored everything I told her and bought a car. A 2009 1.6 diesel focus hatchback for €1800. I thought it was a panic buy but I kept my powder dry and said nowt obviously.

Guy she bought it from said he only had it in the previous day and he needed to service it but she could buy it and take it and he would take the car on Tuesday and get it serviced and stand over anything it needed. Sounded too good to be true to me but she went with it..

Yer man true to his word, collected the car on Tuesday from her work, left a replacement car for her and rang yesterday to say it was ready.

She collected it today and yer man says, you're lucky you bought it as seen cos the service cos him €570 with a few bits and bobs needed.

Obviously after the fantastic experience we have had with him I'm here to recommend him. Its Naas Road Autos, just near the McDonalds on the long mile road.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-honda-civic-nct-10-20-very-low-mileage/23275212

N2RiOGQ1ZjMwNGY5YjA1NGNmNmU5MDk2MmFkZmU0MDd-01MN-1mLztzEjSMYjk4saHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ4MTE1MjB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

M2U1NGVhY2E5YjY0YTU3YWQwYzU4MDQxYzBiMzdiMTOHXzp08dZzLIO71Mia5HzQaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMzQ4MTE1MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Years test, bit of tax, very small miles, 1 previous owner, history etc etc - €1950

Pricey enough but this looks a cracker.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,895 ✭✭✭selectamatic

NTMx-Ym-Ex-YTBk-MWE0-Mm-Y0-MDUx-MWMz-YWIx-MGI1-ZTE3-ZTGux-Roy-Ge-Fsfhm1-Uvrz0-VG.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/scoda-octavia-2-0-diesel-2001/23251604

01 TDi Octavia wagon
    Test till April and tax till December
    5 owners
    same owner since July 2015
    towbar and roofrack
    looks a straight and honest car
    Asking €350

• Registered Users Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/07-honda-civic-nct-10-20-very-low-mileage/23275212

Years test, bit of tax, very small miles, 1 previous owner, history etc etc - €1950

Pricey enough but this looks a cracker.

Don't see anything wrong with the price if it's a straight car tbh. Wishing I went with one instead back when I got the S40.