Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great British Bake Off 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

I was also sceptical when the new line up was announced by C4, but Sandi and Noel made an amazing team.
    Funny without being try hard, but also so warm and seemed to genuinely care about the contestants.

I really hope Noel doesn’t leave :(

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭aoh

I was also sceptical when the new line up was announced by C4, but Sandi and Noel made an amazing team.
    Funny without being try hard, but also so warm and seemed to genuinely care about the contestants.

I really hope Noel doesn’t leave :(

Me too on all counts. Woukd hate to see Harry Hill in the mix. He was OK with the kids but GBBO isn't kids humour

• Registered Users Posts: 1,423 ✭✭✭Harleen Quinzel

aoh wrote: »
    Me too on all counts. Woukd hate to see Harry Hill in the mix. He was OK with the kids but GBBO isn't kids humour

I really can’t take to Harry Hill at all.
    I find myself cringing.

I would genuinely struggle to watch if he gets promoted.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,968 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Hope not, I can’t stand Harry Hill.
    I loved him on junior GBBO, but then again I am a fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,259 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Nadiya Hussain back as host?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Jo Brand to the main show and let Tom Allen host extra slice.
    Or have Tom and Noel present main show.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,853 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Jo Brand to the main show and let Tom Allen host extra slice.
    Or have Tom and Noel present main show.

Jesus, no!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,595 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Nadiya Hussain back as host?

No she’d be too serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭threetrees

Sorry to see Sandi go, they could get Liam maybe? He was quite good on the junior bake off as a judge.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,077 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

threetrees wrote: »
    Sorry to see Sandi go, they could get Liam maybe? He was quite good on the junior bake off as a judge.

I had to mute him on Junior, I thought he was a dreadful presenter .

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,018 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

It'll be interesting to see who they go for, another comedian or funny type I presume. I find Sandi and Noel likeable but a lit of their jokes were getting old, the silly dressing up and the 'Sandi is so small' jokes.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,375 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I hope Jo Brand gets it, she's good craic and doesn't take herself seriously. Nadiya would be fine as a judge but not a presenter.

Richard Ayoade would also be brilliant, doubt he'd do it though
    threetrees wrote: »

He's a really, really bad presenter.

He's completely out of his depth on Professional Bake Off

Gbbo stand up to cancer on now!
    Louis Theroux is on it!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,078 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

gmisk wrote: »
    Louis Theroux is on it!

Russel Howard is making a complete balls of this! Surely you would do a bit of practice before you go on it!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭dinorebel

gmisk wrote: »
    Louis Theroux is on it!

Louis The-Roux

• Registered Users Posts: 3,223 ✭✭✭jellybear

Loved Louis Theroux, he actually did so well!

Anywho, Matt Lucas has been announced as the new host of Bake Off. Think him and Noel will be a good combination :)

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-8099559/Great-British-Bake-Matt-Lucas-announced-new-host.html

jellybear wrote: »
    Loved Louis Theroux, he actually did so well!

Anywho, Matt Lucas has been announced as the new host of Bake Off. Think him and Noel will be a good combination :)

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-8099559/Great-British-Bake-Matt-Lucas-announced-new-host.html
    Oh now I like him! That could really work :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

I'm re-watching old seasons of ggbo on Netflix. In season 3, episode 1 every second baker cut their hands/fingers with the super sharp knives they were given in the tent. Wusfhoff (spelling?) knives is the way to go!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I thought last nights episode was a bit dull but there was no doubt that Tan deserved to win!
    They were much better bakers than the usual celebrity standard.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Tan could arguably have been in an actual bake off show. Also given one of them was a comedian there was surprisingly little bants or craic.

5 minutes in and we've got a fainter!! ��

Dovies wrote: »
    5 minutes in and we've got a fainter!! ��

Jaysus, I know he's skinny, but seriously!!!

Alison Hammond drives me NUTS, this is going to be a long one....

Love Alex Jones, on the other hand - I could listen to her talk all day long!

Oh man.... those Yorkshire puds look FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!!

I'm slavering here.

And made the fatal mistake of eating too early so have nothing to nibble on while watching (forgot it was on at all, if I'm honest!)

The judging of the YPs has me in stitches here! :D:D:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,533 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

It was a great one this week- lots of fun. :D

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

And made the fatal mistake of eating too early so have nothing to nibble on while watching (forgot it was on at all, if I'm honest!)

WHAT??? Do you not get your TV mag on a Sunday and highlight all the programmes for the week?? Just me then :eek:
    I need to get out more - oh wait! :D:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

They were all super confident this week. I wonder do the producers ask them to put on a certain way.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

Alison was hilarious.

Postgrad10 wrote: »
    Alison was hilarious.

Noooooooooo she wasn't :(

The rest were great though!

Dovies wrote: »
    WHAT??? Do you not get your TV mag on a Sunday and highlight all the programmes for the week?? Just me then :eek:
    I need to get out more - oh wait! :D:rolleyes:
    Haha, I usually do exactly that, plus I set everything to record anyway - but this one slipped through my net!