Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange/eccentric work colleagues

• Registered Users Posts: 28,881 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

road_high wrote: »
    It’s the nature of it. Quite a macho high pressure environment. You’ll often get that, the personalities fit the environment

it definitely is a tough industry to work in, many things against those that find themselves in it, and it doesnt help having a political system, sticking its beak in either, many of those folks would have been ejected from our educational system early, outcasts...

• Registered Users Posts: 19,394 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Kylta wrote: »
    Pity I could've parked in your spot

Lol never really had a spot - those kind of things are inviting trouble!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,457 ✭✭✭✭Kylta

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    it definitely is a tough industry to work in, many things against those that find themselves in it, and it doesnt help having a political system, sticking its beak in either, many of those folks would have been ejected from our educational system early, outcasts...

Thats very perceptive of you. Your spot on though. The thing is that some have returned to education to be bosses etc. But a lot although not educated in the educated sense are highly competent and highly intelligent. Outcasts, I actually like the sound of that.

our educational system is academically biased, if you dont have that type of brain, you ll find yourself fcuked in it, fairly quickly, and ejected. society needs these folks just as much as the academically brained folks, without the trades, we d be simply fcuked. ive met some extremely intelligent trades folks, just geniuses at their jobs, id love to have their skills, probably should have gone into the trades myself

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    our educational system is academically biased, if you dont have that type of brain, you ll find yourself fcuked in it, fairly quickly, and ejected. society needs these folks just as much as the academically brained folks, without the trades, we d be simply fcuked. ive met some extremely intelligent trades folks, just geniuses at their jobs, id love to have their skills, probably should have gone into the trades myself

If never to late to learn anything in life

ive done a couple of days laboring, really enjoyed it, i ll certainly think about it

• Registered Users Posts: 4,315 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

TheW1zard wrote: »
    I had a colleague who we called Jurrasic Park, he kind of looked like the guy with glasses who stole the dna. So did his desk.

He'd work all hours, one night he shat his pants and used his shirt to wipe it up. Did a good job of cleaning but in the panic left it all on the another chaps desk.
    I came in the next morning, I saw the guys whos desk it was standing over this with a director. He had picked up the rag on his desk not realising what it was and got **** all over himself.
    There was a hilarious investigation carried out by Murray from Flight of the conchords. I was called down as a witness where he had drawn a plan of the office and lots of arrows with times of peoples movements. Obviously no one could prove what actually had happened.
    The ****ty top and paper was fished out of the bin and used as evidence, and someone recognised the top.
    Now we all guessed what had happened and the culprit was off that week (happened on a Saturday). Email went around about the 'investigation'.
    About Tuesday he comes in all flustered to suss the situation out, I asked him what hed been up to and he said he'd been working.

A few days later there was a bad smell and we found a load of ****ty paper hidden under another desk.

In the end the poor chap fessed up, he called us into a room describing how he had exploded and projectile ****ted all over the place.
    He was suspended for a week and sent to counselling.

I left the company a month later.

Have you crapped yourself in your new job yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Lad I worked with 20 yrs ago when he was in his late 20s and married with two children. He had a fixation with girls in school uniforms. Whenever we were in another town he always knew the filling stations, cafes and delis nearest to the secondary schools. He'd be in the middle of them chatting with a big sh1t eating grin on his face . Haven't seen him since 2001 but I heard, last year, he's driving a school bus now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭bobbyy gee

If you don't have one in work then it's you

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

I live next door to one of these nut balls.

No family or friends to speak of. Just a **** ton of cats.

Wil no doubt be found half eaten by said cats as some point in the near future

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

sligojoek wrote: »
    Lad I worked with 20 yrs ago when he was in his late 20s and married with two children. He had a fixation with girls in school uniforms. Whenever we were in another town he always knew the filling stations, cafes and delis nearest to the secondary schools. He'd be in the middle of them chatting with a big sh1t eating grin on his face . Haven't seen him since 2001 but I heard, last year, he's driving a school bus now.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

TBH I was probably considered odd in my last office job because I dont generally talk for talks sake, its a professional environment,colleagues aint your buddies, do the job you are paid to do and go home, wash/repeat.

It amazes me how many people consider this behaviour as odd or immediately class the person as a "weirdo" just because they don't want to talk about superficial ****e like The Kardashians, clothes or generally entertain small talk.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,294 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

jmlad2020 wrote: »
    It amazes me how many people consider this behaviour as odd or immediately class the person as a "weirdo" just because they don't want to talk about superficial ****e like The Kardashians, clothes or generally entertain small talk.

I generally find people who are don't talk to their work colleagues aren't really classed as a weirdo. They are generally considered very shy or rude and snobby.

Agreed and more often than not shy people are seen as being snobby. This correlation is definitely viewed negatively in the office environment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

I worked with a fella who plastered his entire cubicle with stock photo's of random dogs in human clothes. Not even his own dog, but looked like they'd been cut out of some random magazine, with a bulldog in a yellow raincoat, a Scottish terrier in a kilt and tartan hat etc

Another started behaving very erratically, withdrawn, aggressive and seemed to try and deliberately provoke people. Then it became a bit too much. He started wearing shades in the office, and then built a huge fort around his desk with whatever he could find, so books, folders, plant pots. I was approached by a couple of members of staff who asked me to intervene as people were genuinely scared. I'm in the US, and people are rightly nervous about mass shootings, so HR immediately intervened and he didn't show up for work again

The sad reality in some of these cases is, there's a possibility this chap was in fact experiencing the early stages of serious psychological distress, possibly a breakdown, and society doesn't react correctly, further complicating, and possibly further endangering those that find themselves in these situations, and possibly others to, and you d be wondering why America experiences so many gun crimes! I'd like to think he was sent for appropriate help, but that doesn't always happen, sometimes these folk are just sacked, and left to their own devices, which may not end well!

I worked for a large corporation for a while, a work colleague was showing signs of serious distress, another work colleague realised this, they were brought immediately to the doctor, this is how you deal with these situations, I realise this is easier said than done, but......

• Registered Users Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Or misanthrophic.

However I don’t understand why some people insist on having a rule that says “work colleagues can’t be my friends” and never socialise with them. I have met made some great friends through work.

• Registered Users Posts: 903 ✭✭✭angel eyes 2012

In my experience, it's even more expected to engage in small talk as a women. I worked with two women at one stage who constantly engaged in backstabbing others by talking about what they were wearing or blabbing on about clothes. At one stage they had a disagreement about the best way to clean a bathroom. Don't get me wrong, I can chat when the time is right and with people I get on with, but these two were a nightmare.

They didn't like it that I was getting on with work and the boss who avoided confrontation called me in to ask why I wasn't going on teabreak with Mary and Jane. Anyway long story short after a few months of forced teabreak, I put in for a transfer. Maybe I am wrong but I always felt if I was a man the manager wouldn't have forced me to sit with those two.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭Gervais08

My previous boss had a serious case of Narcissistic Personality Disorder.

Ugh he was vile - imagine if your boss asked you to do a job? You’d phrase it as something like “x asked me to do y”.

Not him. It was always “x has such faith in me that he has asked me to take the lead on delivering such an important and vital project that senior management will be aware of”. He even hired a total incompetent just because he was the same.

The **** was the Peter Principle in graphic effect. It was only fear of losing my house that kept me from smacking the loser and I’m three weeks out of the job and thank God I am.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,680 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

In my experience, it's even more expected to engage in small talk as a women. I worked with two women at one stage who constantly engaged in backstabbing others by talking about what they were wearing or blabbing on about clothes. At one stage they had a disagreement about the best way to clean a bathroom. Don't get me wrong, I can chat when the time is right and with people I get on with, but these two were a nightmare.

They didn't like it that I was getting on with work and the boss who avoided confrontation called me in to ask why I wasn't going on teabreak with Mary and Jane. Anyway long story short after a few months of forced teabreak, I put in for a transfer. Maybe I am wrong but I always felt if I was a man the manager wouldn't have forced me to sit with those two.

Thats the crucial difference beween men and women in the workplace, and something I have observed in all my jobs:

If 2 men dont like each other they just stay away from each other as much as they can. A few drinks at a party might loosen their tongues and there might be a bit of trouble but thats the end of it.

When 2 women dont like each other they put on a false smile and pretend that they do like each other. Insincere compliments about their clothes, commenting on facebook posts and all the while tearing the back off them to their other workmates and whispering and spreading gossip.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,938 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Thats the crucial difference beween men and women in the workplace, and something I have observed in all my jobs:

If 2 men dont like each other they just stay away from each other as much as they can. A few drinks at a party might loosen their tongues and there might be a bit of trouble but thats the end of it.

When 2 women dont like each other they put on a false smile and pretend that they do like each other. Insincere compliments about their clothes, commenting on facebook posts and all the while tearing the back off them to their other workmates and whispering and spreading gossip.

I worked in a canteen for a short while in 2000. Mostly women and virtually all of them smoked at lunch break (pre smoking ban). I was one of two non smokers, both fellas. One of the women was trying to give up smoking and when she wasnt there this other complete weapon was bitching about her and I remember her saying "see yer wan trying to give up the fags, who does she think she is?".

I can imagine yer wan said that In a thick inner city Dublin accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Agreed and more often than not shy people are seen as being snobby. This correlation is definitely viewed negatively in the office environment.

Yeah kinda, I have often been considered as such which is... whatever.

I'm trying to focus on the task at hand, I don't have time for nonsense talk and gossip at the best of times. It helps if I think you are sound and genuine though.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I once worked with a guy who got a kick out of ringing the Gardai anonymously telling them that there was a lad going around town selling drugs out of a car the exact same as his just to see what they would do. He did it once before he left work saying that the car would be on the motorway at a certain time and told us the next day he was pulled over and the whole car searched on the motorway. We never knew what to make of it or of him.

Another guy used wear a nitrile glove while having a smoke to keep the smell off his hand.

Had a guy who would only have his coffee in the canteen. He would never bring it into his office and wouldn't like if you went into his office with a cup of coffee in your hand. He would have 5 or 6 cups a day, all in the canteen which was quite a waste of time each day.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

I once worked with a guy who got a kick out of ringing the Gardai anonymously telling them that there was a lad going around town selling drugs out of a car the exact same as his just to see what they would do. He did it once before he left work saying that the car would be on the motorway at a certain time and told us the next day he was pulled over and the whole car searched on the motorway. We never knew what to make of it or of him.

Another guy used wear a nitrile glove while having a smoke to keep the smell off his hand.

Had a guy who would only have his coffee in the canteen. He would never bring it into his office and wouldn't like if you went into his office with a cup of coffee in your hand. He would have 5 or 6 cups a day, all in the canteen which was quite a waste of time each day.

I think all posters could add to their posts by putting the profession they work, or worked, in. :)

In work at the moment, watching this guy have a mental breakdown over the boss not answering his phone about the job were on, the screaming at the swearing at the phone has just stopped. (This is funny because its actually stupid, and as much as I like to film it, I won't). Whoa he just fu¢ked his own phone into a field. Gotta go folks the guy in full breakdown mode now. Its great to be alive..

alls well that ends well, he just hates the boss now instead of wanting to kill him (sometimes venting clears out the system). He got he's phone from the field and its a bit manky but ok. The main thing is he's calm down.

In work at the moment, watching this guy have a mental breakdown over the boss not answering his phone about the job were on, the screaming at the swearing at the phone has just stopped. (This is funny because its actually stupid, and as much as I like to film it, I won't). Whoa he just fu¢ked his own phone into a field. Gotta go folks the guy in full breakdown mode now. Its great to be alive..

phones suck balls!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,804 ✭✭✭take everything

Some of these stories are hilarious.

You actually couldn't make most of this stuff up if you tried. Its the unpredictably and how quickly people change some become sulky and moody, others explode like volcanos. Some people plod along in their own little eccentricities oblivious to what other people think (which I personally think is a good thing as long as its not harmful to the individual or others). And always remember that nobodys perfect (except me) so when your looking at other peoples quirks, their most probably looking at yours!
    The old mind it can be a minefield of mayhem at the best of times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 158 ✭✭Zebrag

I currently work with a woman who genuinely believes the company will shut down if it wasn't for herself.

If you're that lucky sod that got landed on the same table with her for lunch, be sure to walk away knowing her family background and why her daughter in law is now her ex daughter in law, Why her husband and ex husband don't talk to each other and why her grand-children should be in the smarter classes in school (?)

She is on the same pay roll as me and we have the same contract so nothing more or nothing less is expected from us but she's one of those people that she will somehow make her role important. Honestly it amazes me how she makes a piece of paper seem so interesting when the words haven't moved all day and it's the same pieace of paper she has been holding all...day....long.

She isn't a supervisor, a manager or anything above or below me and has tried to direct me on how to do my job which is fine if I asked but I'm in the same company nearly 10 years and she only started 3 years ago so my days of learning and wanting to expand my career is long gone. I'm more than happy to do the bare minium, get paid and off I go. Think The Office but in the form of Retail.

It's not that she's eccentric but I think she doesn't have much of a life outside of work so she gets all the hours she can and pretty much runs around the shop. It's sad but at the same time she really doesn't help herself whatsoever