Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

RTE 1: 'Today' with Claire Byrne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

NIMAN wrote: »
    Ireland's worst ever Taoiseach.

Resting in my account has that prize.

"The dail is coming back next week, so what's the big deal?" Absolutely shocking.

That’s his frustration turning to temper. Never a good trait in a leader.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭khalessi

Lol, would be really bad if they were waiting for your questions..... good and all as I’m sure they are ��

Ah sure i know but heyho

ETA watching him on FB sweating like a mad thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,337 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So Covid-19 spreads between people apparently. That may be true but what a statement to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,337 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

"The dail is coming back next week, so what's the big deal?" Absolutely shocking.

It wasn’t really what he said it was how he said.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Is this the leader of the country I'm listening to? Jaysis...

Nervous laughter kicking in now

His hands will be exhausted with all the hand gestures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,521 ✭✭✭cozar

if only MM would quote a line from some movie we'd all have more confidence in him then.

Oh GAA who cares it's not the only sport ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,411 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Allowing schools to open will be a massive mix of people and close contacts, far more than would ever result in 200 people spectating at a GAA game, especially with that being outdoors. Does he think schoolkids arrive in a sealed cocoon to school?

To coin a phrase...

Oh he is bsing re LC results, terrible answering and body language

Car crash stuff this and Byrne's questions aren't even good.

We need an election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,086 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

That’s his frustration turning to temper. Never a good trait in a leader.

If I said "what's the big deal"? in a meeting in work I would get torn to shreds and rightly so.

For a politician he is not great at thinking off the top of his head.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

"its a leader Jim, but not as we know it"

cozar wrote: »
    if only MM would quote a line from some movie we'd all have more confidence in him then.

How about one of my favourites, “I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit. It’s the only way to be sure”?

Seems I am missing a bit of car crash radio here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,845 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Now he’s trying to be a hard man against the anti mask protests.

He’s been all over the place in this interview :/

Agree with Martin there. Absolute muppets at the protest. Societies degenerates

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Test For Echo

Just had a wee look on the RTE site - MM's body language looks like he's being interviewed by the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

I had it one for a min or so. Couldn't be listening to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭bureau2009

How on earth did RTE chose Claire Byrne for this programme????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Comhrá

I've heard more exciting interviews over on Lyric FM.

...go to sleep... go to sleep... go to sleep...

Rebrand as the Oireachtas Wedding Society. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭duffman13

If there was an election tomorrow, a whole heap of Fianna Fail voters would jump off at this point. MM is awful, bumbling and full of filler. Fianna Fail as a party are in tatters.

The carcass is still warm. The vultures, who have been circling , are about to land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭limnam

Ah,

Professionalism on the national airwaves restored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,704 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Claire should have picked up on his comment about mixed messaging.

Claire has been very poor this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,025 ✭✭✭duffman13

Infoanon wrote: »

Tends to stick to a question pack, not as natural as Pat at diving on a tangent on slip ups

M

Ffs, hand sanitizer is like a naggin of vodka? Good luck to anyone trying to drink it for fun.

Infoanon wrote: »

Off to a shocker. MM nervous as fcuk this morning and she just gave him a free run.

Bring back Sarah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,986 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Not one child would have even had the notion to try drinking their hand sanitizer.....until they hear this piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Cole

khalessi wrote: »
    Bring back Sarah

I didn't catch the MM interview, but not even an hour into her first show and we're back to Sarah again...she's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭Jizique

NIMAN wrote: »
    Not one child would have even had the notion to try drinking their hand sanitizer.....until they hear this piece.

My thoughts exactly - somebody is bound to have a go now

• Registered Users Posts: 845 ✭✭✭Denny61

A great leader and a great interviewer ....not !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Expunge

Comhra wrote: »
    I've heard more exciting interviews over on Lyric FM.

You must not have heard any of Marty Whelan's bland, vacuous yet hyper interviews with people from areas of music and the arts he seems never to have heard of.

This has not stopped him from having a career on lyric, amazingly.

The same will be the case with Ms. Byrne. All of the blandness, no hyperness.
    20 years of this coming up.

Thank you for your service, Noel Kelly.

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

bureau2009 wrote: »
    How on earth did RTE chose Claire Byrne for this programme????????

^^ Exactly this
    Jaysus, bring Sarah Mac back !

CB just hasnt got it. Very obviously eading prepared questions off her cards. Sarah MaC takes no prisoners. Excellent interviewer. In her bones. CB has shown her form (lack of) on tv

Now we have yet another reason to switch RTE Radio off forever. Best reasons so far are Turbidy, de D'Arcy, Duffy .. and no small number of others.

Have those responsible for hiring in RTE got an agenda to keep all the weak-hitters in these positions ?
    Are these radio jobs - for life ?

So much talent out there .. a real shame they can't exploit it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭limnam

john123470 wrote: »
    ^^ Exactly this
    Jaysus, bring Sarah Mac back !

Jaysis, No.

No squeaking this morning, no fumbling around unable to pronounce correctly half her words. Professional delivery.

While there might be better options than CB. She's miles beyond the college radio SM provides.

Silky smooth

Ffs, hand sanitizer is like a naggin of vodka? Good luck to anyone trying to drink it for fun.

It's reputed to be popular with de unwell outside St James.

Expunge wrote: »
    You must not have heard any of Marty Whelan's bland, vacuous yet hyper interviews with people from areas of music and the arts he seems never to have heard of.

This has not stopped him from having a career on lyric, amazingly.

The same will be the case with Ms. Byrne. All of the blandness, no hyperness.
    20 years of this coming up.

Thank you for your service, Noel Kelly.

NK = Establishment

M

Retiring at 55 is nice, not in any way sustainable but nice.

M

They should put injection centres in Foxrock and Malahide to see how great they really are.

Retiring at 55 is nice, not in any way sustainable but nice.

I was able to retire at 57, having started work in public service at 17; 40 years service. Very nice indeed! I could say like Pee Flynn, "try it some time". It was a real trial for a person with an imagination like myself wurkin in de public service, but there were some times (before modern H&S & procedures etc) when my abilities were actually made use of a d I found brief moments of great job satisfaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭hankless

They should put injection centres in Foxrock and Malahide to see how great they really are.

There isn't a problem with intravenous drug use in those areas.

Back on topic; disappointed but not surprised with the first show. Claire had big boots to fill and she is a size or two off. I thought the show would go down a light-hearted current affairs route and after this morning I think I'm right.

I will listen again for the remainder of the week but as of now, I'd be surprised if I keep it up in the coming weeks.

The bland leading the bland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

I was able to retire at 57, having started work in public service at 17; 40 years service. Very nice indeed! I could say like Pee Flynn, "try it some time". It was a real trial for a person with an imagination like myself wurkin in de public service, but there were some times (before modern H&S & procedures etc) when my abilities were actually made use of a d I found brief moments of great job satisfaction.

I have 2 sisters in a similar position, early 60's same job more or less all their lives. I remember the enthusiasm for change and to do something good they had in the early years and watched it slowly drain away to the point that they're just puttin in the time now to the finish line, and then they see the new recruits coming in full of the same enthusiasm till its knocked out of them by the "can't be done" rather than what should be a can-do attitude which seems to be prevalent here. Ti's just an observation (maybe inncorrect) from me looking in from the outside