Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The best and worst Irish websites?

• 11-08-2015 10:36pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 654 ✭✭✭

Best:

Waterford Whispers News

Breakingnews.ie

Broadsheet.iie

Worst:

Joe.ie. Absolute clickbait bollix of the lowest order.

Thejournal.ie. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Copy and paste. Repeat .

Somewhere in the middle:

Boards.ie

Reddit Ireland.

Whats yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Breakingnews.ie is nearly as bad as thejournal.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 10,222 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I'm not just sucking up but Boards.ie is up there with the best. Broadsheet is pretty good too and fair play to them for their campaigns, especially the not backing down to Denis O'Brien.

Joe.ie is fcuking awful, as is the Journal and I've never seen a link to Her.ie that wasn't willfully misleading.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

rte sport is a horrific website.

Theyre still waiting on the results of the 1982 world cup

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

best : don't really like anything

worst : Joe.ie

most overrated: WWN. the headlines can sometimes be worth a chuckle but the satire itself is very weak. think the guy who runs it is pretty clever in an opportunistic sense though

• Registered Users Posts: 10,575 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

The Emobile top up site...

Fcuk me, it's like a Java scripted horror film!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Gerry Rio

Breakingnews.ie is nearly as bad as thejournal.ie

Ive never found them to copy as much stuff as The Journal. And if they do at least they get there first. Hence their name I suppose.

Birneybau wrote: »

Joe.ie is fcuking awful, as is the Journal and I've never seen a link to Her.ie that wasn't willfully misleading.

Joe and Her have the same owners. Both are equally horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The Journal have a story tonight about blu tac bandits that's so bad it's hilarious.

Gerry Rio wrote: »

I'm well aware. This chancer:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niall_McGarry

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057464614 (Actually, that's one of your threads :))

Was it powercity.ie that was once voted the worst in Ireland back in its dayglo late 90s and early 00s look?

They have certainly cleaned up their act since.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Best:boards.ie

Worst:boards.ie(especially when I wake up to a previous nights drunken posts)

Does Aine Chambers have any site?

That would be the best.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭cml387

I'm well aware. This chancer:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niall_McGarry

Looks to me like an entry well overdue for an edit, or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭Joziburg

RTE.ie needs a revamp imo

cml387 wrote: »
    Looks to me like an entry well overdue for an edit, or two.

By not him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

I absolutely detest joe.ie, but if there is one Irish website that is even worse, it's her.ie. Nothing but poorly written, cringey, "girlz klub!", horsesh*t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Good grief!

There's nothing as pathetic as someone who has very obviously written their own Wikipedia page

• Registered Users Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

From a content point of view, the entertainment section of RTE.ie is horrible. Movie reviews are usually 3/4 plot summary followed by a small opinion, usually written by someone who hasn't a clue how to properly critique a movie. Pretty much all the regular posters in the Film forum of boards write better critiques. Also, their news stories almost always have spelling and grammar mistakes when they are initially uploaded, and sometimes corrected with a new version.

I love WWN, although I guess that depends if that is your type of humour. Boards is pretty good too as a national online forum. It seems pretty rare for a forum site to be country specific that spans a huge variety of topics, rather than a forum site for a specific topic. Is there a Boards equivalent for other countries?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Her.ie :rolleyes:

Look, our font is pink! That's cos it's fer girls.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Best: escorts Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Joe.ie is p*ss poor 90% of the time. Not a big fan of the 42 either, the c*ck sucking they give Conor McGregor is horrid. The comments section is a war zone too and ruins everything

Balls.ie is decent though, much prefer that. Boards is an obvious pick.

Forgot two.

Good:

Daft.ie. Maybe the best run business website in the country?

Somewhere in the middle:

Entertainment.ie. If I have to read entertainment type stuff then its usually on this. The original of the species.

broadsheet is pretty shit these days too.

You do realise you're just sending traffic to this sh*te right? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Boards is the best,
    gaa website was made by a 5 yr old its absolute muck

You do realise you're just sending traffic to this sh*te right? ;)

Have deleted it, was trying to show how leading their headlines are but the bloody short URLs were coming up.

Pity we can't post pictures in AH :)

keith16 wrote: »
    broadsheet is pretty shit these days too.

Not really. Its just as good as it was three years ago and they stood up to DOB in spectacular fashion.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

Have deleted it, was trying to show how leading their headlines are but the bloody short URLs were coming up.

Pity we can't post pictures in AH :)

wouldn't worry about it, couple of curious haters is a drop in the ocean anyway, this crap is always going to have an audience and it's not going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,275 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Was it powercity.ie that was once voted the worst in Ireland back in its dayglo late 90s and early 00s look?

They have certainly cleaned up their act since.

That revamp is quite recent because I looked at the Power City site only a month or two ago and it looked like something that even Geocities would have rejected for looking too crap.

Not really. Its just as good as it was three years ago and they stood up to DOB in spectacular fashion.

It's the same old crap all the time tho

"Shure where would ya get it"

People sending in photos of when the sun comes out for 5 mins. I'd tell you where you would "get it", almost anywhere other than Ireland.

"Da Papers"

"We don't normally do this"

People sending in photos of their **** bikes with a message "I bought this bike for 5 grand 2 weeks ago and it was nicked from outside a pub in Cabra. I only went in for 5 mins"

"Ah Here"

etc. etc.

And then below the line the same 10 to 15 posters who are permanently angry and just complain about whatever it was that has just been posted.

I doubt DOB is losing any sleep over them tbh.