Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Any Jacob Rees-Mogg fans here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,707 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Anyone who names a child Sixtus deserves a good slap.
    'Tis a good Catholic name. Very Sistine. And what else would you call your sixth child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭AlphabetCards

ArtSmart wrote: »
    They don't mean to
    But they do

They fill you with the cash they had, and add some extra, just for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Bambi wrote: »
    As a british journo said hes catholic because protestantism is still a bit too nouveau for him

Actually the more likely reason is that he has a bit of Irish in him. :eek::eek:

His dad, the former editor of The Times, William Rees-Mogg was a Catholic because his mother was an Irish American (nee Warren) of the Old Faith.

I don't know how much further back his Irishness goes but the Catholic strain has remained intact.

Unless of course Anselm and Sixtus evolve into hedonistic drinking,drug taking, fightin' and shaggin' rebels in the fullness of time. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

He's a dapper gentleman, don't you know old chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Actually the more likely reason is that he has a bit of Irish in him. :eek::eek:

His dad, the former editor of The Times, William Rees-Mogg was a Catholic because his mother was an Irish American (nee Warren) of the Old Faith.

I don't know how much further back his Irishness goes but the Catholic strain has remained intact.

Unless of course Anselm and Sixtus evolve into hedonistic drinking,drug taking, fightin' and shaggin' rebels in the fullness of time. :)

With names like these, they'd have every right to. We can always hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Someone asked here does he ham up the poshness, of course he does. It plays well to the particular audience he speaks to, those that defer to the nobility. While the UK is a modern country, the class system still echos strongly through society and playing into this is what JRM does.

There is of course class here too, but it is less embedded, with most families only two or three generations from peasantry.

I can see however that JRM is a good orator and has a decent understanding of the policies he believes in. He is also excellent at avoiding tough questioning and his calm manner can dismantle angry opposition much more readily than thoughtful probing of his beliefs.

And it's his beliefs that are what are completely objectionable. He seems to promote a laissez faire attitude, prominent among the ruling elite in the 1850s, which was thoroughly discredited and the source of great misery in Ireland.

And his Brexit will bring hardship to many in the UK...

That opt out clause wasn’t invoked by Ireland either. Do you think it was politically possible at the time?

Probably not for us because we share a common travel area with Britain. However, unlike Britain England Ireland hasn't developed a powerful Europhobic political and media class that continues to successfully scapegoat the EU for homegrown policies such as that 2004 decision. Thank God for small mercies. Even the most obtuse Irish person can see that if the EU isn't there it's back to Ireland being at the mercy of England so Europhobia will find it difficult to take off among Irish nationalists (but easy to take off among British unionists in Ireland).

Despite the massive historical revisionism in Britain today, the British Home Secretary in 2004, Jack Straw, admitted this was the fault of British politicians like himself and not the EU - a reality which is totally buried in 2018 and the EU are scapegoated for this:

Jack Straw has admitted that opening Britain's borders to Eastern European migrants was a "spectacular mistake".

The former Labour Home Secretary said his party's decision to allow migrants from Poland and Hungary to work in Britain from 2004 was a ‘"well-intentioned policy we messed up".

It comes a day after David Blunkett, Mr Straw's successor as Home secretary, warned British cities could face riots as an influx of Roma migrants creates "frictions" with local people.

The last Labour government predicted that only 13,000 would move to Britain from Poland and other eastern European countries after 2004.

However, more than one million arrived in one of the biggest waves of immigration seen in this country.
    Almost every other EU state, apart from Ireland and Sweden, prevented migrants from working for the seven years permitted.

Mr Straw, who is MP for Blackburn, told the Lancashire Telegraph: "One spectacular mistake in which I participated (not alone) was in lifting the transitional restrictions on the Eastern European states like Poland and Hungary which joined the EU in mid-2004.

"Other existing EU members, notably France and Germany, decided to stick to the general rule which prevented migrants from these new states from working until 2011.

"'But we thought that it would be good for Britain if these folk could come and work here from 2004.

"Thorough research by the Home Office suggested that the impact of this benevolence would in any event be 'relatively small, at between 5,000 and 13,000 immigrants per year up to 2010'. Events proved these forecasts worthless.

"Net migration reached close to a quarter of a million at its peak in 2010. Lots of red faces, mine included."

• Registered Users Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

'Tis a good Catholic name. Very Sistine. And what else would you call your sixth child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Probably not for us because we share a common travel area with Britain. However, unlike Britain England Ireland hasn't developed a powerful Europhobic political and media class that continues to successfully scapegoat the EU for homegrown policies such as that 2004 decision. Thank God for small mercies. Even the most obtuse Irish person can see that if the EU isn't there it's back to Ireland being at the mercy of England so Europhobia will find it difficult to take off among Irish nationalists (but easy to take off among British unionists in Ireland).

Despite the massive historical revisionism in Britain today, the British Home Secretary in 2004, Jack Straw, admitted this was the fault of British politicians like himself and not the EU - a reality which is totally buried in 2018 and the EU are scapegoated for this:

It's easy for Straw to hide behind the projections, but within a few months of accession it was clear the UK was proving to be a greater draw than that, so they could've acted then. Iirc, the UK economy was ticking along nicely at the time so they felt they needed the workers.

The UK was always going to be a massive draw when the other big European countries kept the restrictions.

Ireland didn't use the opt out for several reasons:
    The country was at near full employment and needed workers to control wage inflation
    Ireland needed to rebuild political capital with the accession countries and Europe in general after the rejection of Nice 1.
    The common travel area meant it would be difficult to police if immigration policy was out of step with the UK.

manster wrote: »
    Fun fact that I didn't know. He is a practising Catholic.

If they've any prominent position in British English society and they happen to be Catholic, the very first fact you will find out is their religious denomination.

Do a sample test of any random English Protestant and English Catholic in Wikipedia. How often do Protestant English people have their religious denomination mentioned in an article? Never? (outside Protestant religious figures)

Now, find a Catholic English person - "Duke of Norfolk" is the great 'Catholic noble' of English history - and search their article. It does give an insight into a still-current English cultural value that an English person's religion is deemed worthy of mentioning when they're Catholic but not when they're Protestant. There's no malice in it as such (I hope), but it's definitely noteworthy that their Catholicism is invariably important enough to mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,599 ✭✭✭✭elperello

That's what happens when you have a State religon.

Queen Elizabeth 11 is Supreme Governor of the Church of England.

If they've any prominent position in British English society and they happen to be Catholic, the very first fact you will find out is their religious denomination.

Do a sample test of any random English Protestant and English Catholic in Wikipedia. How often do Protestant English people have their religious denomination mentioned in an article? Never? (outside Protestant religious figures)

Now, find a Catholic English person - "Duke of Norfolk" is the great 'Catholic noble' of English history - and search their article. It does give an insight into a still-current English cultural value that an English person's religion is deemed worthy of mentioning when they're Catholic but not when they're Protestant. There's no malice in it as such (I hope), but it's definitely noteworthy that their Catholicism is invariably important enough to mention.

Why do you keep writing British and crossing it out? it looks stupid.

Aegir wrote: »
    Why do you keep writing British and crossing it out? it looks stupid.

Undoubtedly it does to a Unionist like yourself. Here's a helpful map for anybody who wants to equate the views of the majority of people in England on Brexit/English nationalist issues with the views of the majority in, say, Scotland or Northern Ireland. You keep propagating your "United" kingdom myths there, though. Division, everywhere. Just count the days until the English nationalists ditch British nationalists like yourself and the DUP. And they absolutely will. The Boris Johnson, Rees-Mogg etc types may still say "Britain", but it's becoming clear to everybody that they really mean "England".

image.png

Undoubtedly it does to a Unionist like yourself. Here's a helpful map for anybody who wants to equate the views of the majority of people in England on Brexit/English nationalist issues with the views of the majority in, say, Scotland or Northern Ireland. You keep propagating your "United" kingdom myths there, though. Division, everywhere. Just count the days until the English nationalists ditch British nationalists like yourself and the DUP. And they absolutely will.

image.png

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,407 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The same happens here for Protestants. I often hear that Sam Maguire was a Protestant, whereas the religion of prominent Catholics in the GAA is not remarked on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

What?
    Loons gonna loon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

He's a gowl.

But people will take his bullshhit seriously because sure tis all a big laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Undoubtedly it does to a Unionist like yourself. Here's a helpful map for anybody who wants to equate the views of the majority of people in England on Brexit/English nationalist issues with the views of the majority in, say, Scotland or Northern Ireland. You keep propagating your "United" kingdom myths there, though. Division, everywhere. Just count the days until the English nationalists ditch British nationalists like yourself and the DUP. And they absolutely will. The Boris Johnson, Rees-Mogg etc types may still say "Britain", but it's becoming clear to everybody that they really mean "England".

image.png

...and Holyhead, Anglesea voted 'Out'. Cutting off their nose to spite their face, comes to mind.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    ...and Holyhead, Anglesea voted 'Out'. Cutting off their nose to spite their face, comes to mind.

as did the majority of people in Wales Britain or should it be Britain Wales or maybe it should be England Britain Wales.

Its so hard to keep up with his ramblings sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 pen123

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

lol good f**k, Imagine around election time opening the door after hearing a knock and seeing that sort of scene

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

What?

Many rich, powerful English people view Scotland, Wales and N. Ire as essentially subservient quasi colonies of Britain who are there to contribute to Britannia, just not to be heard or paid attention to on what they want for Britain or for themselves.

They tend to have similar attitudes towards many poorer classes within England, but those classes often have a weird habit of falling in line and even enjoying and celebrating their subservience to their Lords.

Britain, England... call it what you want, it's all a bit messed up basically. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

as did the majority of people in Wales Britain or should it be Britain Wales or maybe it should be England Britain Wales.

Its so hard to keep up with his ramblings sometimes.

His post made perfect sense to me. The British Union isn’t united on the European Union, and the break away from the latter may cause the breakup of the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

manster wrote: »
    Fun fact that I didn't know. He is a practising Catholic.

Does that mean he can never be the Prime Minister?

Billy86 wrote: »
    Many rich, powerful English people view Scotland, Wales and N. Ire as essentially subservient quasi colonies of Britain who are there to contribute to Britannia, just not to be heard or paid attention to on what they want for Britain or for themselves.

They tend to have similar attitudes towards many poorer classes within England, but those classes often have a weird habit of falling in line and even enjoying and celebrating their subservience to their Lords.

Britain, England... call it what you want, it's all a bit messed up basically. :)

thank you for the education. You are obviously an expert on how rich, powerful English people think.:rolleyes:
    His post made perfect sense to me. The British Union isn’t united on the European Union, and the break away from the latter may cause the breakup of the former.

it didn't really though, did it, it was just more inane ranting from someone who presumed I am a northern unionist.

it was rather amusing actually.
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Does that mean he can never be the Prime Minister?

no, there is nothing stopping Catholics from becoming Prime Minister.

thank you for the education. You are obviously an expert on how rich, powerful English people think.:rolleyes:

I was simply explaining something to you that is very widely known as your were struggling to understand the other poster on it. No need to get tetchy and defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Why was it that Tony Blair didnt convert Catholicism until after he left office? He could have done it while in office surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

B0jangles wrote: »
    TM68kbt.png

Thats just an old photo of Dylan Baker and Dustin Hoffman.

Do I sense defensiveness on all things English again, Aegir? You've been told many times by many people that this is not good for you.

it was just more inane ranting from someone who presumed I am a northern unionist.

In fairness, you have all the triggers of a Unionist alright, but more like the, em, Fratton Fred English brand of the beast. Remarkable similarity in temperament and posts, actually (even including the Seán Russell rant). Perhaps Nodin can come back and mention your gulags in Kenya or concentration camps in South Africa and test it? You definitely get very, very upset when the Irish don't accept your whole poppy pushing/war glorification of the thugs of the British Empire.

Billy86 wrote: »
    I was simply explaining something to you that is very widely known as your were struggling to understand the other poster on it. No need to get tetchy and defensive.

Widely believed I think the term is.

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Why was it that Tony Blair didnt convert Catholicism until after he left office? He could have done it while in office surely?

iirc, he didn’t want to make a song and dance of it. There was no reason he couldn’t have done it whilst in office, but there are a couple of roles the PM has traditionally done, like advise on the appointment of CofI bishops etc. that a catholic cant do. These roles have only traditionally been carried out by the PM and do not need to be.

Do I sense defensiveness on all things English again, Aegir? You've been told many times by many people that this is not good for you.

In fairness, you have all the triggers of a Unionist alright, but more like the, em, Fratton Fred English brand of the beast. Remarkable similarity in temperament and posts, actually (even including the Seán Russell rant). Perhaps Nodin can come back and mention your gulags in Kenya or concentration camps in South Africa and test it? You definitely get very, very upset when the Irish don't accept your whole poppy pushing/war glorification of the thugs of the British Empire.

And he’s off again.

You’ve already made a fool of yourself, why are you carrying on?

It’s not clear. The queen or king can not be advised on the selection of bishops and some other acts by a catholic.

Nodins already here.

It’s not clear. The queen or king can not be advised on the selection of bishops and some other acts by a catholic.

But it doesn’t have to be carried out by the PM.

Nodins already here.

I wondered where you’d gone :-)

The likelihood of anybody on Boards making a fool of themselves responding to your lamentable twaddle is, at best, very low.

You’re avoiding answering my question Fuaranach.

Nodins already here.

Yeah, I know but I have some fond memories of the old Nodin's Kilmichael Ambush-style attacks on Fratton, Lord Sutch and the rest of them.

I wondered where you’d gone :-)

Not me. Similar sounding name to Nodin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

And he’s off again.

Alright lads, stop with the regurgitated shite that we've all heard a centillion times (thanks, I Didn't Know That thread!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Like something out of the Handmaid's Tale

fUDoL9I.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Wheres Me Jumper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

iirc, he didn’t want to make a song and dance of it. There was no reason he couldn’t have done it whilst in office, but there are a couple of roles the PM has traditionally done, like advise on the appointment of CofI bishops etc. that a catholic cant do. These roles have only traditionally been carried out by the PM and do not need to be.

Possibly CoE bishops, but the British PM would have nothing to do with appointing CoI bishops, including the 5 based in NI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

Never once seen him even close to being rude or name call, which is more than I can say for 90% of the initial posters I bothered to siphon through in this thread. I think people hate him because on an intellectual level they know they can't compete with him

2 Scoops wrote: »
    Never once seen him even close to being rude or name call, which is more than I can say for 90% of the initial posters I bothered to siphon through in this thread. I think people hate him because on an intellectual level they know they can't compete with him
    Or some people in this thread value Ireland above their sports political "team".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

He's a typical deluded old style Tory, who still fully believes in the old rule Britannia ****e. Unfortunately for him Britain ain't the major power it once was, Britain needs the EU far more than the EU needs it. Not saying a hard Brexit is good for Ireland but in time the UK will come to find out just how bad it is for them. I can't believe some of the delusion by Brexiteers. They actually thought they could get a good deal, why on earth would they get a good deal, they basically have no real cards to play and the EU was always going to want to make it harsh to discourage others from leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,738 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

flat,1000x1000,075,f.u1.jpg

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Seems like mogg will benefit kindly from brexit. He did however say it would take 50 years for Britain to recover financially from it. So he does sometime think of the people.