Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you know any legit ''bad'' people

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    You 'll actually find most criminals suffer with complex issues such as mental health issues etc. Prevention is better than cure I'm afraid!

Most non criminals have mental health issues too. Knew people say therapy made them worse. Can easily happen. They get to indulge their litany of resentments and fears, this can bring up anger and hatred. Also how many people are 100% honest wkth a mental health professional?. Very very few.Preventenion certainly is better than cure, if it works!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

I used to give a guy a lift to football. Nice chap to talk to, good banter and generally we got on well at the time.

Things went quiet and I seen him on the paper convicted over multiple rapes. Havn't seen him since. You think you know someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭KyussBeeshop

Some of the worst things some people do, which collectively harm society overall on a scale far grander than any individual crimes, look almost victimless.

I look at rapists/murderers/abusers and gangland sorts etc., as relatively small-fry - the worst of the worst are people you'd never know are 'bad', whose actions would mostly indirectly (rather than directly) harm others - whose collective actions harm on a far greater scale, arguably contributing to the societal conditions that lead to much of the 'small fry' criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

tedpan wrote: »
    I know a girl with very similar traits. Absolute twat of a woman. She seems to be rewarded for her lies and laziness.

You know a girl who lied about having a big cock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

One person popped into my head whilst reading this thread.

I was having a few quiet ones one evening a few years ago.
    This middle aged man came in and sat near me at the bar.
    I got a bad feeling about him straight away.

Well he starts talking to me and he is OK. Nothing too out of order.
    He said he worked in a college and was unhappy with it.

I didn't want to be listening to someone whinge about their job so I let the conversation die out.

Then a few young ones come in and order their drinks near us.
    Once they leave he starts getting really strange and this speech becomes quietly aggressive.
    He starts telling me all these horrendous things he wants to do to girls like the ones that just ordered their drinks. He was going into it in detail before I stopped him.
    I kept him talking a bit after that though to get all the personal details I could off him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

There is definitely such thing as a "bad" person but no one is born bad; circumstance and conditioning make for bad people.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

222233 wrote: »
    There is definitely such thing as a "bad" person but no one is born bad; circumstance and conditioning make for bad people.

I don't really agree with that,some murderers/rapists ect.seem to come from lovely normal families.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭222233

Colser wrote: »
    I don't really agree with that,some murderers/rapists ect.seem to come from lovely normal families.

Conditioning and circumstance don't necessarily have anything to with the person's family.. it can be illness, events that occur in the persons life, social circle etc.

Your Face wrote: »
    One person popped into my head whilst reading this thread.

I was having a few quiet ones one evening a few years ago.
    This middle aged man came in and sat near me at the bar.
    I got a bad feeling about him straight away.

Well he starts talking to me and he is OK. Nothing too out of order.
    He said he worked in a college and was unhappy with it.

I didn't want to be listening to someone whinge about their job so I let the conversation die out.

Then a few young ones come in and order their drinks near us.
    Once they leave he starts getting really strange and this speech becomes quietly aggressive.
    He starts telling me all these horrendous things he wants to do to girls like the ones that just ordered their drinks. He was going into it in detail before I stopped him.
    I kept him talking a bit after that though to get all the personal details I could off him.

Why?!. You arent Tom Cruise and this isnt minority report.You cant be arrested for "thought crime".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Roy Keane
    Saipan
    Nuff said

Why?!. You arent Tom Cruise and this isnt minority report.You cant be arrested for "thought crime".

Good to know.

Your Face wrote: »
    Good to know.

Just curious why you think its relevant to note his personal details. Thinking bad stuff isnt a crime. Minority report wasnt a documentary!.

If it was we all be in the chit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

"How does one get put away for rape", "It's awful when classy looking scumbags have a terrible accent" - that guy is just quality!
    shamrock55 wrote: »
    For a country with such a small population I'm convinced ireland has the most scumbags per sq km then anywhere on earth
    I dunno. If that were the case we would all be living in fear at all times, whereas the majority of people here aren't. I think somewhere like a narco ruled Latin American country would be more of a match to your description. Ireland is overall pretty safe. We hear stories about scumbags which makes it feel less so, but in some countries you wouldn't even hear about these cases because they're not news.

Someone said nobody is born bad. I disagree. While certainly plenty of terrible people are that way because of a dreadful upbringing (and plenty of people from a dreadful background break the cycle) psychopaths/narcissists aren't made - it's innate. They lack boundaries in terms of what they do to others - they are entirely concerned with themselves only, and they don't see wrong in what they do. Savile was a good example I think.

Just curious why you think its relevant to note his personal details. Thinking bad stuff isnt a crime. Minority report wasnt a documentary!.

If it was we all be in the chit.

You re getting hung up on this Thought Police nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭Spider Web

He didn't just think it, he said it, and he may have been a danger

He didn't do anything though, so the guards wouldn't have done (or had cause to do) anything with his details.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Same as Omakereal I also work in a prison so know plenty of them. I have my own personal classification of prisoners though - Mad, Bad, Sad and combinations of all three.

Interestingly, a huge number of the junkies I'd classify as sad rather than bad. Some of their acts may be bad but once they clean up their act and get off the drugs they tend to be pretty normal people albeit in an environment where they have to keep their 'gameface' on.

There are a fair few seriously bad people out there as well though, some of whom should never see the light of day.
    jeanjolie wrote: »

We get classy attractive Irish women and men who walk among junkies and scumbags ready to attack them at any time. Even retreating to your posh house in South Dublin is no longer safe as scumbags can be living in council estates nearby.

Real scumbags are never defined by their address. They walk amongst you, even socialise in the same D4 pubs and restaurants as you. Many of those tracksuit wearing 'scumbags' that so many people like to deride have more empathy in their little fingers than some of the high-flying bank managers, financiers and politicians in the posh houses in South Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Some of the worst things some people do, which collectively harm society overall on a scale far grander than any individual crimes, look almost victimless.

I look at rapists/murderers/abusers and gangland sorts etc., as relatively small-fry - the worst of the worst are people you'd never know are 'bad', whose actions would mostly indirectly (rather than directly) harm others - whose collective actions harm on a far greater scale, arguably contributing to the societal conditions that lead to much of the 'small fry' criminals.
    Real scumbags are never defined by their address. They walk amongst you, even socialise in the same D4 pubs and restaurants as you. Many of those tracksuit wearing 'scumbags' that so many people like to deride have more empathy in their little fingers than some of the high-flying bank managers, financiers and politicians in the posh houses in South Dublin.

I agree with these posts. Some of the most dangerous people on earth are in high ranking positions of power which affect the world we live in every day. Unfortunately it makes perfect sense - the most ruthless, sociopathic and cut-throat people will climb over everybody by whatever means necessary to get to that level. Look at the worlds governments, multinational CEO's etc. What we know is just the tip of the iceberg.

fyfe79 wrote: »
    I agree with these posts. Some of the most dangerous people on earth are in high ranking positions of power which affect the world we live in every day. Unfortunately it makes perfect sense - the most ruthless, sociopathic and cut-throat people will climb over everybody by whatever means necessary to get to that level. Look at the worlds governments, multinational CEO's etc. What we know is just the tip of the iceberg.

Like ex British Prime Minister Ted Heath being a paedophile. Look up the Franklin cover up many very high up US politicans having sex with babies in the late 80's.
    Disgusting stuff. Or the Hollie Greig case in the UK judges,sargents, politicans etc involved in paedphile rings. Its all covered up.

World is run by sociopaths and paedophiles basically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Pat Hickey.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Growing up there was this guy who ever since a young age hated me for whatever reason... I'm talking as young as 3 (we were in the same montessori together). It never massively bothered me, though I could never understand the vitriol he had for me.

As a teenager in school, he was a horrific bully who spread misery. As an adult (18+), he was a psychotic freak, assaulting and attacking people for no reason when he drank. We had mutual friends who all said the same crap of "He's sound once you get to know him", but all I could see was the way he was with people, constantly pulling people down both physically and emotionally. Even now, at the age of 30, he's still a total pr!ck, and I've never been able to shake the thought that he's just an intrinsically bad person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭Benjamin Buttons

Maybe he bullied you for being a Readhairedguy?

Growing up there was this guy who ever since a young age hated me for whatever reason... I'm talking as young as 3 (we were in the same montessori together). It never massively bothered me, though I could never understand the vitriol he had for me.

As a teenager in school, he was a horrific bully who spread misery. As an adult (18+), he was a psychotic freak, assaulting and attacking people for no reason when he drank. We had mutual friends who all said the same crap of "He's sound once you get to know him", but all I could see was the way he was with people, constantly pulling people down both physically and emotionally. Even now, at the age of 30, he's still a total pr!ck, and I've never been able to shake the thought that he's just an intrinsically bad person.

Just sounds like an alcoholic. Or maybe he's gay and fancies you and playing hard to get.

http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/the-franklin-cover-up/

Good documentary on the Franklin cover up re politicans paedophile ring in the USA.

The world is controlled by very very evil people.

All the stuff people mention on this really really pales to what the big boys who pull the strings in this world do.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

We had mutual friends who all said the same crap of "He's sound once you get to know him", but all I could see was the way he was with people, constantly pulling people down both physically and emotionally. Even now, at the age of 30, he's still a total pr!ck, and I've never been able to shake the thought that he's just an intrinsically bad person.

I usually find statements like "He's sound once you get to know him" better translates as "He's an asśhole but you'll sort of get used to him"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

Just sounds like an alcoholic. Or maybe he's gay and fancies you and playing hard to get.

I'd say if that's the case, he's so far back in the closet, he's practically in Narnia.
    I usually find statements like "He's sound once you get to know him" better translates as "He's an asśhole but you'll sort of get used to him"

Or "he's great craic once he stops giving you crap and moves on to someone else"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

If it was going on from when he was 3 though there could be some psychological reason for it all.

3 year olds aren't evil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

There was a man who was in a relationship with a relation of mine a few years ago. He was always trying to get money from her and even stole from her.
    I don't know about evil but he did other things which showed just a really bad character at the core and she really didn't need that at the time.

Also had a friend as a child who's parents were really selfish, awful and neglectful people and I myself was exposed to a lot of their crap which I never saw at home. I felt a lot of guilt knowing my friend had to live with them too.

Some of the people that I might have said were "evil", I think were just selfish and out for themselves really.

pilly wrote: »
    If it was going on from when he was 3 though there could be some psychological reason for it all.

3 year olds aren't evil.

Psychopaths tend to be born.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

One woman in particular..she has to be the most vilest,wretchy individual I've ever come across

So you know my mother in law?
    Only joking she's pretty sound strangely enough. I've seen that doc on Netflix over the weekend about yer man Joe Fritzl. Jesus christ he was some bollocks. The one about the Natasha Kampuch case is there too, but I haven't got round to watching it. For some reason I always thought that the two cases were one and the the same but their not. They did occur in the same neck of the woods all the same,well kinda. Then there that fella Mark Dutrux in Belgium a few years back. He's probably the worst c*nt of them all. The Belgians breed proper psychos.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I'm not sure what the definition of a "bad" person is, but I've known only one person in my life that I found to be without any apparent conscience or scruples. He was possibly the most intelligent person I've ever met - extremely well educated, and had a genius for mathematics. He had no friends as far as I could see, and was married to a woman who was visibly terrified of him. I worked with him for about six months before I realised, by accident, that he seemed to completely lack any kind of morality whatsoever. He wasn't evil as such, he just had no care whatsoever for anyone bar himself. He was materially successful (and still is), but nobody hung around him any longer than they had to, even if they didn't know what he was really like - he exuded coldness in a way that is hard to explain. He is probably the only person I ever met that I was afraid of - not physically (he was a big fat weakling who was terrified of pain) but after spending some time around him, I knew that if he took the notion into his head to do someone harm, he would plan it meticulously, and would carry it out without any qualms. I couldn't get out of that company quick enough.