Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

22,698 people recovered in Ireland so far. But how many of them are 100% ok after?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭ShineOn7

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Cousin of mine contracted the virus at work - she's a HCW- in a community care hospital in Cork before the lockdown.

Sorry to hear

What age is she?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear

What age is she?

57. No underlying conditions.
    Physically very fit and active.
    Has a black belt in karate.

Seen on Reddit

Good comparison
    It would help to not think of being infected with Covid in terms of just fatalities. Think of it in terms similar to that of a traffic accidents. The outcome of an accident can range from a minor scratch/dent to death of multiple passengers.

And then there are outcomes that fall in between these two extremes.

Some can be recovered from, some has to be lived with for the rest of their lives. Another perspective to look at is, that death really isn't the worst outcome. There are things in life far worse than death.

Regardless of outcome, it is obviously best to avoid being in a traffic accident. You do that by following the rules of traffic. Even if do follow the rules, there is still a possibility that you would still get into one.

This obviously doesn't mean that we should all just abandon our cars and stay off the road. As with anything in life, there are no guarantees. The best you can do is, do everything that needs to be done, as best as you can, and hope/pray for the best.

Wear your mask. Wash your hands. Keep away from crowds.

Resident still feeling ill-effects of 'brutal' Covid-19 fight six weeks after all-clear

https://www.thenational.ae/uae/health/coronavirus-dubai-resident-still-feeling-ill-effects-of-brutal-covid-19-fight-six-weeks-after-all-clear-1.1043083

This part really stands out
    Doctors at Yale in the United States have estimated that 20 to 50 per cent of people who have had the virus are left with lasting health effects.
    A Dubai resident said she is still suffering the ill-effects of her "brutal" battle with Covid-19, six weeks after being given the all-clear.
    Eman Jamal, 35, said she does not know how she contracted the virus back in late April, which left her with pounding headaches and a cough which "ripped her insides apart".

She said her family took every precaution possible to avoid infection, including immediately changing their clothes after they came home from the supermarket and cleaning everything at a sanitisation station set up at the entrance to their house.

But despite all this, she and all five other members of the household still fell sick with Covid-19.

Ms Jamal, her mother and their nanny all developed mild pneumonia.
    “I was having extreme difficulty breathing, severe chest pain, bad headaches, a cough that ripped my insides apart and pounding body pains,” said Ms Jamal, who is Palestinian American.

“This virus is brutal. It made me feel like nothing I ever felt before. I would feel great for a few hours or even days and then out of the blue the symptoms will appear again, what a horrible feeling.”

Ms Jamal spent 18 days at Mediclinic Parkview Hospital in Al Barsha before being discharged on May 17 following two negative tests for the virus.
    Her husband became ill first with a bad headache, high fever and chills. Ms Jamal said he was barely able to move and lost his sense of taste and smell.

He went on to become seriously ill, developing double pneumonia, and required oxygen to help him breathe. He did not have any pre-existing conditions that put him at higher risk of complications.

The couple’s two children were also infected despite displaying no symptoms.

Six weeks on, while the rest of the household have fully recovered, Ms Jamal is still suffering.

She has difficulty breathing, tightness in her chest, unexplained headaches and tingling in her body at times.

Ms Jamal is one of a growing number of post-Covid-19 patients to experience lingering symptoms.

Doctors at Yale in the United States have estimated that 20 to 50 per cent of people who have had the virus are left with lasting health effects.
    She did not know anyone else who had the virus aside from her family, who did not suffer from the same effects.

And she got to the point she felt so lonely she sought out Facebook groups to reach other people like herself who are still feeling ill, long after they have officially recovered.

“There are thousands of members from all over the world. So that made me feel more like I am not crazy,” she said.

There is now a growing acknowledgement in the medical community that a significant number of Covid-19 sufferers have persistent symptoms.
    “A few weeks ago they used to say we can’t find out what is medically wrong with you. And now they tell me we know what you are going through is very real,” said Ms Jamal.

“We just don’t know what the cause is and we are trying to figure it out. On Thursday I am going to Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi. I will be seeing an immunologist and a cardiologist.”

Dr Srinivasa Rao, a specialist in internal medicine at NMC Specialty Hospital, Al Nahda, Dubai, did not treat Ms Jamal, but said most recovered Covid-19 patients he sees struggle with lasting symptoms.

“Most of the patients who are admitted to hospital and recover do have long term effects. Most commonly the patients have loss of smell,” he said.
    “Once the virus infects the epithelial cells, which starts in the nostrils, the nerve endings get damaged. And once the nerve endings are damaged, they cannot smell anything.

“People take sometimes six weeks or eight weeks to recover.”

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

20 - 50% with lasting health effects

Why aren't people taking things seriously? Packed streets with drinkers. Come autumn, pubs will be packed instead of the streets.

Form filling at the airport but you're actually free to do whatever you want.

Our government letting the Americans and British in.

No mandatory masks.

20 - 50% with lasting health effects

Why aren't people taking things seriously? Packed streets with drinkers. Come autumn, pubs will be packed instead of the streets.

Form filling at the airport but you're actually free to do whatever you want.

Our government letting the Americans and British in.

No mandatory masks.

Don't usually agree with your post Fairies, but in this case I do

Eye opening video

Again, where is the talk in the Irish media about the long lasting effects of some of the "Recovered"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 917 ✭✭✭MickeyLeari

Know 5 people who tested positive and are all ok now 5 months later. All above the age of 45. But that does not matter.

It took them 5 months to recover Mickey?

Coronavirus: why are some people experiencing long-term fatigue?

https://theconversation.com/coronavirus-why-are-some-people-experiencing-long-term-fatigue-141405
    People who have been seriously unwell and treated on intensive care units can expect to take some months to recover fully, regardless of their ailment. However, with COVID-19, evidence is mounting that some people who have had relatively mild symptoms at home may also have a prolonged illness.

Overwhelming fatigue, palpitations, muscle aches, pins and needles and many more symptoms are being reported as after-effects of the virus. Around 10% of the 3.9 million people contributing to the COVID Symptom Study app have effects lasting more than four weeks.

Chronic fatigue – classified as fatigue lasting more than six weeks – is recognised in many different clinical settings, from cancer treatment to inflammatory arthritis. It can be disabling. If 1% of the 290,000 or so people who have had COVID-19 in the UK remain under the weather at three months, this will mean thousands of people are unable to return to work. They will probably have complex needs that the NHS is ill-prepared to address at present.

COVID-19 is not the only cause of chronic fatigue. Prolonged fatigue is well recognised after other viral infections such as the Epstein-Barr virus, which causes infectious mononucleosis (also known as glandular fever). Post-viral fatigue was also seen in a quarter of those infected with the original Sars virus in Hong Kong in 2003.

When it comes to treating chronic fatigue, the emphasis previously has been on effective treatment of the underlying disease, in the belief that this would diminish the fatigue. However, for most viral infections there is no specific treatment, and because COVID-19 is so new, we don’t yet know how to manage post-COVID fatigue.

What might be causing post-COVID fatigue?

Although we know that lasting fatigue can sometimes follow other viral infections, detailed mechanistic insight is, for the most part, lacking. An ongoing viral infection in lung, brain, fat or other tissue may be one mechanism. A prolonged and inappropriate immune response after the infection has been cleared might be another.

However, a previous study has given us some insight. When a chemical called interferon-alpha was given to people as a treatment for hepatitis C, it generated a flu-like illness in many patients and post-viral fatigue in a few. Researchers have studied this “artificial infection response” as a model of chronic fatigue. They found that baseline levels of two molecules in the body that promote inflammation – interleukin-6 and interleukin-10 – predicted people’s subsequent development of chronic fatigue.

Of particular interest, these same pro-inflammatory molecules are seen in the “cytokine storm” of severely ill COVID-19 patients. This suggests there might be a pattern of immune system activation during the viral infection that is relevant to ongoing symptoms.

Further support for interleukin-6 playing some sort of role comes from the successful use of tocilizumab – a treatment that lessens the impact of interleukin-6 and reduces inflammation – to treat severe COVID-19.

Irish teenager still dealing with effects after three Covid hospitalisations

Randomly seen this article from two days ago when I was reading the IT. The person in question is a healthy 19 year old Dubliner

What I have noticed though is that many of these severe cases of this seem to stem back to "the early days" of it, back in April mostly.

This quote stands out:

“It maybe won’t kill you, it may not even put you in hospital, but there is a chance this virus can have a severe and lasting impact especially on our young people.

“The last thing you want to do is contract this virus and end up having your fitness impacted to such an extend that you lose months.”

Full article here

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/covid-19-teenager-still-dealing-with-effects-after-three-hospitalisations-1.4341330

image.jpg
    Like many young people Molly Ryan did not think Covid-19 could happen to her.

Ryan (19) played hockey for Pembroke and ran for Blackrock Athletic Club.
    She was on a gap year before entering UCD to study commerce and working in a nursing home near her house in Blackrock, Co Dublin, when she developed a temperature.

It was at the end of March when there was less than 1,000 cases in the country. “I was naive. I thought, ‘I can’t have Covid-19, I am only 19.’ I was always so healthy. I didn’t have any health problems.”
    Twenty weeks, three hospitalisations and eight weeks of isolation later, Ryan is still suffering the after-effects of the virus.

She has a persistent temperature and a racing heart. She has to use an inhaler at times and suffers from fatigue, yet she says her health is better than it was.

It took two weeks for her to be diagnosed with Covid-19, by which time it was a foregone conclusion that she had the illness.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I fortunately only know a couple of people who contracted it, but for one of them he's had heart trouble afterwards, never had an issue before it

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

I fortunately only know a couple of people who contracted it, but for one of them he's had heart trouble afterwards, never had an issue before it

And I bet he's listed as "Recovered" right?

What age is he?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

A friend of my dads is still dealing with chronic fatigue and minor breathing difficulties 4 months since he tested positive. He was never in hospital back then but he's been in for tests since as an outpatient. 51, no underlying conditions and before this was pretty fit and healthy, into cycling. Worst part is the doctors don't seem to have many answers for him in terms of whether this is his life now or if he'll get better at some stage. I know 2 others who tested positive and they both made full recoveries and are fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Virgin Media had a segment about this today

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1303376313126989824?s=20

s1ippy wrote: »
    Virgin Media had a segment about this today

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1303376313126989824?s=20

Just watched it

That young lad needing help to go to the bathroom after he'd "recovered". Fcuking hell

• Registered Users Posts: 7,244 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Anyone ever have a cough, flu or chest infection that lasted longer than 2 weeks?

I had a nasty cough that lasted 6 weeks.

But sure seems covid 19 is rammed down our necks everyday, why not start another thread to try scare us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

ShineOn7 wrote: »
    And I bet he's listed as "Recovered" right?

What age is he?

Only early 40s. Not sure what his status would be now.

Fcuk Putin. Glory to Ukraine!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,158 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Anyone ever have a cough, flu or chest infection that lasted longer than 2 weeks?

But sure seems covid 19 is rammed down our necks everyday, why not start another thread to try scare us all.

There's a difference between purposely trying to scare people and having a conversation about stuff that's actually happening. These cases are a small %. If the thread scares you don't read it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭owlbethere

From that clip:

'It effects everyone differently'

People who's not taking this seriously needs to cop on to fcuk and realise its not about themselves and themselves only. Its about everyone else around them too and spread of virus too.

The lad who needs help going to the toilet. Did I get his age right - 34? I doubt he's speaking out for the craic or to scare the population into compliance. These people are speaking out to warn others to take this virus seriously and follow the guidelines and minimise risk of exposure and infection.

Has anyone here had or know anyone who's had Pneumonia or a severe, severe Flu?

How were the lingering symptoms after compared to the two stories told by people in the Virgin Media clip above?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭paw patrol

i agree, the death rate has collapsed so now the focus moves to this concept of the walking dead post recovery. anything to keep the panic high

My kid was 7 when he had flu , real flu - influenza type A. he spent 6 weeks ill ,3 visits to temple street and for 3 weeks his temp didn't go below 40.
    after the 6 week (jan and feb) he went back to school but he wasn't right till may that year. He was listless and tired all the time and he was a strong kid and thankfully is fine now.

The media are acting the maggot in this because we all know that after a serious dose of anything even though you recovered the body takes time to heal.
    That isn't to say some people don't have lasting issues but covid is only in ireland 6 months, it's too early to make that call unless you were sick on 1st march.

paw patrol wrote: »

My kid was 7 when he had flu , real flu - influenza type A.

You can't really compare a kid's immune system to an adult's. Most of them are practically bullet proof to Covid and they bounce back fast
    The media are acting the maggot in this because we all know that after a serious dose of anything even though you recovered the body takes time to heal

Why then, 6 months on, are previously fit and healthy and under 50 years old people still in bits with it?

A friend in his early 40's got it near the beginning. Got over it fairly quickly with mild enough symptoms. Now he loses his breath if he talks for too long. Forget about exercising. Latest statistics say a person in their 30's has a 1% chance of developing long term effects.

yeah had a whopper back in January and it lasted weeks but as you said, it was just that. I agree, sure Doctors will tell you that you "picked up a virus" anytime you present and they cannot figure it out as all usual vital signs are seemingly ok.
    Now all of a sudden its "you must have THE virus"

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭nannerbenahs

Less hand wringing ...time for science and statistics

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UvF...ature=emb_logo

Less hand wringing ...time for science and statistics

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8UvF...ature=emb_logo

Don't suppose you can give us some context before we click? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 26,103 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

I'm getting a "video unavailable" message.

Don't be coy, nannerbenahs. Who put out the video and what does it say?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

MadYaker wrote: »
    A friend of my dads is still dealing with chronic fatigue and minor breathing difficulties 4 months since he tested positive. He was never in hospital back then but he's been in for tests since as an outpatient. 51, no underlying conditions and before this was pretty fit and healthy, into cycling. Worst part is the doctors don't seem to have many answers for him in terms of whether this is his life now or if he'll get better at some stage. I know 2 others who tested positive and they both made full recoveries and are fine.

There are already a number of people who are developing M.E./CFS after covid. Check the M.E /CFS sites and forums.

Many of us with M.E, myself included, developed it after and via a flu virus and literally never recovered.

So this is to be expected unfortunately .

There is excellent info and support on the M.E sites. ( cannot post links)