Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Old Colonel is at it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

1984 BMW 635 E24 lots of mods £13995 ..

Don't normally give two hoots what colour a car is ..but this...bordeaux red or whatever it's called...this is just wrong, especially on a 6 series

(It was wrong in 1984 and it's even wronger now)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

For anyone who thinks £14k is too cheap for an E24....

https://oldcolonelcars.co.uk/listing/bmw-e24-m635i-csi-highline-manual/

///M635CSi, ///M engine and a manual gearbox. Incredibly rare car. Fair bit of mileage on that one though considering the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

///M engine635CSi, ///M engine and a manual gearbox. Incredibly rare car. Fair of mileage on that one though considering the price.

That is an absolutely immaculate example of an e24, colour scheme is lovely, everything is looking correct , literally the only thing that car needs is that awful early 2000's blaupunkt radio removed and a Becker cascade pro or Grand Prix to be OEM looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Absolutely stunning car and colour.

£43k though! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭tom petty

A bit less than the tongue in cheek figure put on it a couple of months ago.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-M635CSi-Highline-1990-E24-/292630903091?hash=item4422293933%3Ag%3AyD0AAOSwTfdbPxRr&nma=true&si=xJtrB5DQ6JckqihY7E9SorhOllM%253D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557
    It was sold for £25 K two years ago.

Incidently I know the guy who built that wine E24 ,which was a 628 . He sold it about 12 months ago for £4750.

Some of their cars are overpriced for sure, and they're not always in mint condition either. There was a 5 series recently and the bumper was a completely different shade of blue to the rest of the car.

But they do have some really nice yokes all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Agreed, I think this is another example, I can see a few external scuffs and the interior is far from mint; pictures also hide a multitude of sins. No one has mentioned the 153,000 miles either, for £43,000? Pie in the sky stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

pre delivery inspection mileage is 1159 :eek: wtf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭noelf

BMW E9 3.0 CSI manual £57995 .. restored in 2013 no other details only one photo..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

///M635CSi, ///M engine and a manual gearbox. Incredibly rare car. Fair bit of mileage on that one though considering the price.

I see it had some service work done in "Munich Ledgends!"

The Old Colonel has his own car for the last 4 years up for sale ..

BMW E30 325i sport £8995 .. thought that was cheap until I saw the
    mileage 204000 miles ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

noelf wrote: »
    The Old Colonel has his own car for the last 4 years up for sale ..

BMW E30 325i sport £8995 .. thought that was cheap until I saw the
    mileage 204000 miles ..

That mileage if genuine with a well documented history on a properly maintained and structurally sound E30 wouldn't put me off. It's a tech 1 thats 32 years old and would be useable without worrying about addingbmiles to it.

I would rather spend 8k on that than a £20k garage queen which yould be afraid to drive .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

Car99 wrote: »
    a garage queen which yould be afraid to drive .

My new years resolution was to stop looking at the BMW in my garage and drive it more often. Sod it, im enjoying it whilst its in my ownership. :cool:

These cars need to be driven, whats the point otherwise?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

I purchased a car from the Old Colonel....generally a good car but lets say he prices high and has excellent photography skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

I purchased a car from the Old Colonel....generally a good car but lets say he prices high and has excellent photography skills.

was it the 8 series? (just curious, hope you don't mind me asking)

No a e30 cab. A solid enough car, but the photos made it appear excellent when the reality was that it was ok, the car was also bodged with tape, and a check engine light blocked with tape behind the dash, and a few of the belts snapped. Car needed thousands in mechanical work. Trim replacement and bodywork to get to the standard I hoped I would be buying.

Now dont get me wrong, he was a good guy to deal with, and the car was within my tolerance level (especially as I was standing in a train station 50 miles from Luton with no other way to get home)...but I would warn anyone thinking from the quality of the pictures that the cars are absolute perfection to think again.

Not a diss, he has nice cars on the better end of the scale but not Munich Legends level of restoration.

No a e30 cab. A solid enough car, but the photos made it appear excellent when the reality was that it was ok, the car was also bodged with tape, and a check engine light blocked with tape behind the dash, and a few of the belts snapped. Car needed thousands in mechanical work. Trim replacement and bodywork to get to the standard I hoped I would be buying.

Now dont get me wrong, he was a good guy to deal with, and the car was within my tolerance level (especially as I was standing in a train station 50 miles from Luton with no other way to get home)...but I would warn anyone thinking from the quality of the pictures that the cars are absolute perfection to think again.

Not a diss, he has nice cars on the better end of the scale but not Munich Legends level of restoration.

Did he help with the repairs/final bill at all? Or was the price negotiated to reflect that?

miller_63 wrote: »
    Did he help with the repairs/final bill at all? Or was the price negotiated to reflect that?

I didnt bother him with it as I was doing a bunch of stuff for prevention and when you buy a 27 year old car you dont expect it to be perfect. Just letting people know that the cars may look better than they are. I have bought better from private sellers, the old colonels name does not guarantee a level of quality that a thread names as this is, would imply, but they are priced on the high end.

BMW M3 E36 manual 111000 miles £13995 ..

https://youtu.be/VUU1bzJy7Ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

BMW M3 E36 manual 111000 miles £13995 ..

https://youtu.be/VUU1bzJy7Ew

Never clicked with the E36, but with that engine I could make an exception. E36 values are on the rise too.

I never really cared about them that much until I went in one last year and now I'm a convert. They have that lovely sporty sophisticated feel like any 80s or 90s BMW has, that's definitely a good thing in my book. Would love to drive one sometime, I've heard so much about how raw they are and how the E46 is a bit soft compared to them. I think the E46 is a superb car to drive, it does justice to the 'Ultimate Driving Machine' slogan with the way it involves the driver in every aspect of the driving experience yet at the same time it's still perfectly comfortable enough to be used as a daily driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I never really was a big fan of them until I went in one last year and now I'm a convert. They feel very like an E46, that's definitely a good thing in my book. Would love to drive one sometime, I've heard so much about how raw they are and how the E46 is a bit soft compared to them. I think the E46 is a superb car to drive, involves the driver in every aspect of the driving experience without being compromised for daily usage.

Such kind words... leave me sort out the rear bushes and we will arrange something..

Im seriously considering an E36 M3....moving the E28 M535i on. hmmmmmmm

Such kind words... leave me sort out the rear bushes and we will arrange something..

That would be great, cheers! I still owe you a drive of mine now that it actually works and drives like an E46 should!

miller_63 wrote: »
    Im seriously considering an E36 M3....moving the E28 M535i on. hmmmmmmm

I see the car is reserved ?? 👀

Not me! I much prefer the pain of a car hunt!

1999 Fiat Coupe 20V turbo 64000 miles 220 bhp £9995 ..

https://youtu.be/BJNGFThWQDw

BMW M535i E28 £15995 ..

https://youtu.be/uHXOWEDXe-s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭McCrack

BMW M535i E28 £15995 ..

Beautiful motor

BMW M535i E28 £15995 ..

Ive just spotted this Old Colonel special in Navan! Had a heart attack as its nearly the exact same as mine :D

Anyone on here the proud owner of this beauty?

qZvam7g.jpg

Post it over on BMWHAUS. They will likely know. A beaut..

Id say given the timeline its just landed in this country in last 48hours....

Love the E28.

I remember seeing my first one as a kid around 1982 parked outside Dun Laoghaire yacht club. Very rare sight in a depressed Ireland. Lovely olive green with beige interior, peered in the window and saw the futuristic "Check control", blew my little mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Miller63 is yours an 85 MH M535i? Must have a nosey for the one above!

Where you took that pic is where I failed my driving test the first time :p

Miller63 is yours an 85 MH M535i? Must have a nosey for the one above!

Where you took that pic is where I failed my driving test the first time :p

Yes, thats mines is 85MH. I was admiring the similarities on the Original for sale advert, and then for it to pop by me on the street here in Navan! I nearly did my errands this morning in mine....

nW7aCMel.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭tc20

I saw this one in greystones last year...(can't say if its from the Old Colonel though)

BMW 2002 M power S14 engine £25995 ..

https://youtu.be/4REOmSqe98Q

BMW 2002 M power S14 engine £25995 ..

https://youtu.be/4REOmSqe98Q

That will not hang around at all!!!! Its stunning.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I'd love to see a video of how it moves and hear the S14 roar!

BMW 325 e30 convertible 76000 miles £12995 ..

https://youtu.be/BUN-3S9W0gk

BMW Z3M coupe £39995 ..
    BMW E21 323i 43000 miles ..
    https://youtu.be/0_MyJHf2XSE
    https://youtu.be/Z_S9X0tcj4U

Porsche 944 S2 cabriolet £17995 80000 miles ..

Golf Gti mark 2 £11995 60000 miles fsh ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Absolutely beautiful golf

BMW E39 530 M sport auto 125000 miles FSH ..

Frank Keane BMW last entry in service history ..

Not the Old Colonel but exactly the type of car he would stock.

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/bmw/7-series/used-2001-bmw-7-series-728-i-e38-dublin-fpa-201910223563821

As a big e38 fan I went to look at this one. Beautiful exterior color and interior. Good service history and drove perfectly. Engine purred, gearbox shifted sweetly. No missing pixels. Alloys like new. No evidence of fuel tank leak.

While the photos look great there are problems. Rust on both lower wings and rear arches, trim loose from respray, boot struts don't work, glove box handle broken, bonnet release was not working, front window seals perished, rear lamps cracked. All usual E38 stuff, nothing major and to be expected. Throw €5k into it and it could be mint.

Would be lovey old bus for someone.

BMW 328 M sport E36 65000 miles £11995 .. https://youtu.be/KRaSFapEbt4

I wish mine was that clean. Someday maybe...

I thought you would be interested James .. hope I didn’t wake ye 😴