Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My idea. Can a modern human survive in 10000 BC

124»

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Fourier wrote: »
    Wibbs any books you'd recommend on anthropology?
    Good question F, sadly not one I can give a good answer to. :o The field changes so bloody quickly for a start. Much of what I'd know would come from various sources down the years, books, popular science periodicals like Nature, Scientific American and the like, the interwebs too and not least academic papers for the more up to date stuff. Which were hard going as I don't have an academic background, though after a while reading them the meat in the sandwich of data started to become clearer as I got my eye in. They'd be a doddle for someone like yourself.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Life expectancy for people used to and born to that life was 30.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Nope. Common fallacy. Overall life expectancy was mid 30's when taking the entire population into account. What skews the stats was the truly awful child mortality rate.
    This. Thousands of years ago you might die by 30 either because you were a young male who had to go fight a war you had no part in starting OR you were a woman of childbearing age who died in childbirth OR you were a child and your chances of making it to adulthood were 50/50. If you survived all three then your chances of living a natural life were late 60's/early 70's.

This myth has persisted but it makes no sense. Let's say for arguments sake that it is true and the average person died at age 30. Evolution tells us that the most successful species are those who have the most grandchildren. By age 30 most aren't done raising their own children, never mind grand children. Even if you had a child at 15, by the time you reach 30 years of age, your child would only be 15.

There is absolutely no way we survived if people were only living until their 30's.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One huge problem is that no one knows how to make everything anymore.

Nice review of making a pencil http://freakonomics.com/podcast/i-pencil/

Original essay at the bottom of this page - https://fee.org/resources/i-pencil/

Ötzi the iceman had a lot of specialised kit. Including 18 different types of wood. That was about 5,300 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,560 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Transport me back almost 12000 years with my boards-acquired knowledge, and my PUA game would be off the charts.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭josip

Ötzi the iceman had a lot of specialised kit. Including 18 different types of wood. That was about 5,300 years ago.

And look where all that wood got Otzi.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Lads seriously. That sounds great and all but it's 10,000 BC. Staying alive was as good as it got back then. Ireland wasn't inhibited until 9,000 BC so god knows where we'd end up in a time warp. Being realistic it would be hard enough to get through the day without trying to further civilisation.
    Back in 10,000 BC sea level was lower.

You could walk to Souther Europe. Follow the coast surviving off shellfish and stuff from rock pools till you get somewhere warmer.

Use driftwood for fires and shelter.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

It would be very to difficult if you never had a bit of survival training. But on the plus side as the human population would have been low, there would have been plenty of fish , rabbits , deer etc Clean water wouldn't have been to hard to find as they hadn't yet polluted the planet , wild berries, nuts and fruit to pick . I'd say some country's might have been easier to live in if the weather wasnt as crap as Irish weather.
    It'd have been a hard life tho whatever way you look at it. My granddad was born in 1910 , they'd no car, running water , electricity, they grew there own food , killed animals to eat etc he'd have survived no problem .

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

It would be very to difficult if you never had a bit of survival training. But on the plus side as the human population would have been low, there would have been plenty of fish , rabbits , deer etc Clean water wouldn't have been to hard to find as they hadn't yet polluted the planet , wild berries, nuts and fruit to pick . I'd say some country's might have been easier to live in if the weather wasnt as crap as Irish weather.
    It'd have been a hard life tho whatever way you look at it. My granddad was born in 1910 , they'd no car, running water , electricity, they grew there own food , killed animals to eat etc he'd have survived no problem .

Not really. I know how to grow and produce food. Hunt where required. Have a good knowledge of wild plants and food sources. Also how to navigate cross country etc. How to filter water so it's fit to drink. No 'survival training' though. I grew up years after your grandad and things were not much different tbh. Real change has been urbanisation on the last 40 years imo ...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Good question F, sadly not one I can give a good answer to. :o The field changes so bloody quickly for a start. Much of what I'd know would come from various sources down the years, books, popular science periodicals like Nature, Scientific American and the like, the interwebs too and not least academic papers for the more up to date stuff. Which were hard going as I don't have an academic background, though after a while reading them the meat in the sandwich of data started to become clearer as I got my eye in. They'd be a doddle for someone like yourself.
    Thanks for the response. I know a few people who are quite knowledgeable in anthropology and they all say similar things. It moves so fast that you just keep drinking in stuff, but it makes it very hard to know what source you learned something from.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Skyrimaddict

gozunda wrote: »
    Not really. I know how to grow and produce food. Hunt where required. Have a good knowledge of wild plants and food sources. Also how to navigate cross country etc. How to filter water so it's fit to drink. No 'survival training' though. I grew up years after your grandad and things were not much different tbh. Real change has been urbanisation on the last 40 years imo ...

Things like this would make me think some folks would be fine.
    Simple stuff like more robust building methods of even logs or stone would mean better shelter.
    Ability to make damns for fish or simple things like a small slingshot.
    Even or modern understanding of things like levers and counter weights for lifting, using simple logs etc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

As people today are more intelligent on average, I would say yes assuming they were not planted in very hostile climates

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

The best option would be living by the sea.

Clare or Kerry would be the most neutral spots with their warmer water's and

The beaches would be full of turbot, flounder's,dabs and plaice.
    Bass and round fish would be harder to spear...
    The flat fish are quite easier.

All you'd need is a sharp stick to spear them, plenty of shell fish too, clean running streams into the sea...trout eels and salmon in abundance.

Being on a headland or near the coast gives you more protection from Bears and wolves etc

• Registered Users Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

Can't see how since the world is less than 7000 years old. Fact!

(Not a fact)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Piece of piss, you know the outcome of history so just pop into the local bookies

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Has anyone seen this Primitive Technology guy on YouTube? He'd be the guy I want with me. He makes stuff from scratch, strictly using only what he can find in the forest.

I could watch his videos all day, fascinating. It's almost as if watching this stuff fires up some long-lost primal instinct.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Akabusi

I'd survive just fine, If any one attacked me, I'd use the MMA skills I've acquired through watching McGregor - hey look over there - sucker punch to the side of the head.
    If a tribe was friendly and took me in, I'd invent the Olympics and become the 100 metre world record holder, although they'd probably beat me at the javelin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

I know how to and have made long bows and arrows in the past. Although I didn't be make own string so that would take a bit of trial and error. So that would help me as you can use a bow to make a fire by using it as a drill. Snare traps are also handy enough to make and should net you some decent small game.

Id survive for awhile maybe but not very long without the help of others.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,092 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nettles are a good source of long fibres for string

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Nettles are a good source of long fibres for string
    And tea, unless you want to walk to south east Asia where's there's lions and tigers and bears.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,124 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

nthclare wrote: »
    The best option would be living by the sea.

Clare or Kerry would be the most neutral spots with their warmer water's and

The beaches would be full of turbot, flounder's,dabs and plaice.
    Bass and round fish would be harder to spear...
    The flat fish are quite easier.

All you'd need is a sharp stick to spear them, plenty of shell fish too, clean running streams into the sea...trout eels and salmon in abundance.

Being on a headland or near the coast gives you more protection from Bears and wolves etc

Don't forget you could try your hand at bowfishing.

It kind of amazes me that seemingly from the archaeological evidence, archery was widespread at the time in Ireland.
    And then it was seemingly given up. Probably because of a transition to farming or more woodland encroachment or whatever.

But the Irish and archery just in modern look backs at history just never quiet run together. We've no Robin Hood or William Tell like other countries.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Standman wrote: »
    Has anyone seen this Primitive Technology guy on YouTube? He'd be the guy I want with me. He makes stuff from scratch, strictly using only what he can find in the forest.

I could watch his videos all day, fascinating. It's almost as if watching this stuff fires up some long-lost primal instinct.

I've watched a dozen of his videos since you posted this. Very good stuff, alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

I've watched a dozen of his videos since you posted this. Very good stuff, alright.

What's great about him as well is that he does everything in silence. Straight into the action, none of this "Heyyy, what's up you guys?" craic that's so common on YouTube.

A tip though, if you fancy knowing more about what he's at, turn on the subtitles on YouTube and it describes what he's doing at each step. Although I do prefer just watching him make stuff undistracted, it's nice to watch back later with the subtitles to get more info.

Really want to learn how to make fire with a couple of sticks, he makes it look so easy! Although how fire-making would possible in a wet country such as ours is really beyond me.