Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WIN 2 Night Romantic Break for two at the Maritime Hotel on the Wild Atlantic Way

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

She bought me an XKCD poster. It was much better than it sounds.

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭cbee20

Being whisked off to Paris as a surprise birthday present.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

One of our first Valentine's days together I came out of college after a long lab with my friends and my boyfriend (now husband) was standing there with a rose - I pretty much melted on the spot!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Planned a treasure hunt style birthday for my OH

Started with mini cosmetics, leading to beauty treatments
    then knife and fork for lunch
    then monopoly money for shopping
    Then a clown symbol for the theatre.

All on the day Ireland won the Grand Slam in 2009, had to listen to that on the radio!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

Proposed to my girlfriend (now wife) using Alice in Wonderland style notes on multicoloured post-it's.
    When she got home from work, I brought her out to the garden - 'read me' a love letter I wrote to her, then I told her I had a surprise for her and led her to the living room and placed her in front of 'press me' a button to play our favourite song on the stereo, turned her around where there were 2 dozen roses with 'look behind me' behind was a box with a note saying 'open me'. she opened the box with the engagement ring inside along which with a note that said 'marry me!'

Luckily she said yes, where I pulled out 'kiss me' from my pocket and we had some champagne to celebrate, appropriately tagged with a 'drink me' note!

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭blueberrypie

I had just started going out with my college boyfriend my now hubby.
    He wanted to impress me by using a straw to feed me malteasers just like the ad on tv at the time. (2001)
    It still makes me giggle today.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭Dancor

I proposed on Christmas Morning.

My GF, now fiance, woke up expecting a usual Christmas present. Instead I sent her on a treasure hunt around our home with Christmas themed envelopes sellotaped to the back of all the doors upstairs, inside all the envelopes were story's and photos from the past 8 years of our relationship and clues to where the next envelope was. The final clue was to come downstairs to the living room where I was waiting on bended knee with the instrumental of Bruno Mars's song ''I think I want to marry you'' playing in the background. :p

It took me a while to plan it all and keep it secret but it all went brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭swpb

Gave birth to our baby boy on our 7 year anniversary ..... i think thats pretty impressive lol

• Registered Users Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭Tefral

I was going away for a few days so the morning I got up to go I got out the sticky note pad and left little notes around the house for her to find, like in the fridge when she went to get milk!

• Registered Users Posts: 500 ✭✭✭warrenaldo

Brought my Girlfriend to Paris and proposed.

• Registered Users Posts: 116 ✭✭lilsparkle69

On our first year anniversary my boyfriend took me by surprise to a jewellers whilst on holiday and bought us matching promise rings. I felt so happy and special. I didn't expect anything like it. We then went to a nice little restaurant and had a lovely romantic day :) Still with him after 5 years and love him so much :)

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭samsausage

queued for hours for Garth Brooks tickets for herself and her sister.. that didn't really work out!! this would be nice to make up for it

• Registered Users Posts: 337 ✭✭Straylight

One day in work a package arrived addressed to me. I wasn't expecting anything, but when I unwrapped it I found it was a box filled with all sorts of treats and presents, and an amazing letter from my girlfriend. I made sure she wasn't going to stay my girlfriend for much longer, and we've now been married for a little over two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭jonnygiles

surprised my long distance girlfriend with a hotel night break in the carlton hotel break and then surprised her again by proposing to her as we entered the hotel room.I picked the ring out of my bag as I was pretending to look for some bacon fries for us lol!

She planned several nice occasions for me also, went to see a baseball game in Minneapolis and she took me to a casino to feed my gambling addiction:p. Looking forward to getting married to her next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

An old boyfriend and I had been watching one of those 'survival in the deep dark woods' type of shows on television one afternoon. I casually mentioned that I liked the stainless steel coffee mug the host was drinking out of.

The next week my boyfriend presented me with one. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 466 ✭✭imfml

The first time I had breakfast in bed! We were about a week in a new house, and I'd never had breakfast in bed before, I thought it was the most romantic thing ever. Now we take turns to surprise each other every so often with breakfast in bed :)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I got all romantic one year, instead of the annual commerative handshake for our anniversary, I got Mrs. Bap a set of wiper blades and 2 new tyres for her car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Took a girl on our first (and last) date to see Northampton Town FC play at Exeter City FC

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭Virtual

Moved to Ireland to be with her. Does that count ? :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Garrigai

Took a girl on our first (and last) date to see Northampton Town FC play at Exeter City FC

Took the girlfriend (still together) to Shamrock Rovers v UCD on her 21st Birthday

• Registered Users Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Simple really my wife did me the honour of marrying me

• Registered Users Posts: 10,299 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I proposed, she said yes. That covers it both ways really...

Oh and on our first anniversary (of dating, not yet married) the future Mrs. Dulpit made a quiz book all about me. Which was class.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Monsieur Folie

When my GF was leaving for a two week trip to America we were both having a bit of separation anxiety having not been apart very much since we got together two years prior. The week before she left I presented her with a little box and within it were letters I'd written for her, one for every day of the trip, so that she could bring a little piece of me with her every day.

Seems a little over the top now, maybe, but we were young and in love (still are!) so it seemed like the right thing to do. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭YeAh!

After a 12 hr shift my partner had 3-course dinner made for us, candles lighting n' all. And a relaxing bath to top it off. So rosemantic

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Bannergal

I was always giving out to himself that he was never romantic and never did anything for me. One evening I came home from work and inside the door leading to the bathroom was a trail of rose petals and the bathroom was filled with lighting candles with the bath filled to the top with loads of bubbles and covered in rose petals and a glass of wine waiting... oh what a treat..and such a thoughtful and romantic gesture xxx

• Registered Users Posts: 2 upstyle

......... Beg.......... unfortunately this year we were unable to get a break, money too tight!!! I would love to suprise her with a beautiful weekend away in the Maritime Hotel, I have seen her looking at this hotel on internet on more than one occasion - dreamingly!!

In addition, I am going to tell you all out there how wonderful she is and how much I love her - so there you go - heart on sleeve

• Registered Users Posts: 14 ladyking85

During my pregnancy, i suffered with SPD. I was in constant pain. I came home one day from work, my hubbie had a bath filled, candles lit and non-alcoholic wine waiting for me. That same night, i had a serious craving from mighty munch crisps. At 1am he drove to the nearest shop (24 hr petrol station) and got me some.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 dhegarty

Being a loyal Cork City Football Club Supporter I took my girlfriend on a romantic weekend to Paris for her Birthday the same weekend Cork City FC best Shelbourne in Dalymount Park and became Division 1 Champions, 29th October 2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Picnic.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

I think the most romantic thing my husband has done is all the little things he is doing/has done this year as I struggle to come to terms with a newly diagnosed chronic illness. He has taken a backseat and has made sure I haven't had to lift a finger and has given me bundles of support and encouragement :)

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.