Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landlord in Cork in trouble for tenants house parties.

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 11,215 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

The university would be stepping into an argument between two third parties because one of those parties happens to be one of its students. I don't really see how that's reasonable tbh.

You're talking about basically requiring a university to take legal responsibility for the behaviour of its students, which is one hell of a stretch of responsibilities and also an enormous overhead to inflict on it.

Colleges have rules.
    Before the students agree to attend the college and pay whatever yearly fees for the privilege, they should be aware of the rules.
    If the rules are broken the college can take the appropriate action.
    Forget everything else that you are going off on a tandem about.

If that college has rules that they deem are being broken here, then they can take action. I would guess that there are a few rules that put the colleges name way above any students. I am not going to hazard a guess as to how many rules are being broken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭YellowBucket

That's all fine and well but if the rules are impacting someone's life to the extent that they may be denied an education, have their career disrupted or that it may result in a serious financial burden, then they're entitled to have due process and that would include seeking judicial review of any decision. Even without that they would have grounds for a judicial review of a decision if they felt that they had not been offered due process. All of that is extremely expensive and burdensome for any organisation.

They're also entitled to their good name. So, for example an accusation without proof could result in quite serious legal issues. Unless the university is operating a private police force with evidence gathering abilities, I don't really see how they could possibly be in a legally safe position to accuse anyone of anything.

It just seems like an enormous burden is being placed on a university for a situation that's completely beyond their control and is no different from a private club getting involved in someone's personal life.

I can fully understand why universities do not want to get involved in this kind of thing. It's an absolute legal minefield and Ireland is not the USA. Colleges do not run their own police forces and have most students living in on-campus accommodation and there is quite a different legal system in place here too around many things.

The fact that the civil authorities here aren't willing (or perhaps able?) to enforce noise pollution and public nuisance legislation does not mean that it should fall on private institutions who are 3rd parties to step in and fill that gap.

Ireland has a huge issue with public nuisance, public order and breech of the peace type issues being turned a blind eye to all of the time. Just look at any city or town on a typical (non COVID) Friday or Saturday night and compare it to anywhere else in Europe (other than the UK) or anywhere in the USA or Canada. We put up with shouting, roaring, crazy amounts of litter, street brawls, people urinating in gardens, you name it...

To me, the issue is one of a society that has a massive problem with alcohol fuelled chaos and is completely unwilling to even admit it, let alone face it down as it's just normalised.

• Registered Users Posts: 378 ✭✭newuser99999

Suckit wrote: »
    Colleges have rules.
    Before the students agree to attend the college and pay whatever yearly fees for the privilege, they should be aware of the rules.
    If the rules are broken the college can take the appropriate action.

As do employers lol.

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Crimsonred

That's all fine and well but if the rules are impacting someone's life to the extent that they may be denied an education, have their career disrupted or that it may result in a serious financial burden, then they're entitled to have due process and that would include seeking judicial review of any decision. Even without that they would have grounds for a judicial review of a decision if they felt that they had not been offered due process. All of that is extremely expensive and burdensome for any organisation.

They're also entitled to their good name. So, for example an accusation without proof could result in quite serious legal issues. Unless the university is operating a private police force with evidence gathering abilities, I don't really see how they could possibly be in a legally safe position to accuse anyone of anything.

It just seems like an enormous burden is being placed on a university for a situation that's completely beyond their control and is no different from a private club getting involved in someone's personal life.

I can fully understand why universities do not want to get involved in this kind of thing. It's an absolute legal minefield and Ireland is not the USA. Colleges do not run their own police forces and have most students living in on-campus accommodation and there is quite a different legal system in place here too around many things.

The fact that the civil authorities here aren't willing (or perhaps able?) to enforce noise pollution and public nuisance legislation does not mean that it should fall on private institutions who are 3rd parties to step in and fill that gap.

Ireland has a huge issue with public nuisance, public order and breech of the peace type issues being turned a blind eye to all of the time. Just look at any city or town on a typical (non COVID) Friday or Saturday night and compare it to anywhere else in Europe (other than the UK) or anywhere in the USA or Canada. We put up with shouting, roaring, crazy amounts of litter, street brawls, people urinating in gardens, you name it...

To me, the issue is one of a society that has a massive problem with alcohol fuelled chaos and is completely unwilling to even admit it, let alone face it down as it's just normalised.

I agree with a lot of what you are saying but if a student repeatedly breaks rules which he has been made aware of regarding anti-social behaviour off campus then he has nobody to blame for himself if his third level education is cut short as a result.

If UCC took a zero tolerance approach to this carry on with house parties then the message wouldn't be long going out that is not on and the local residents could have peace.

UCC already has a process in place to punish students who cause hassle but it needs to be made stricter because apart from this summer's problems there is still trouble every year with students from September onwards.

If there were a few significant prosecutions and perhaps a penalty like say community service for organising or hosting out of control, loud house parties it would end this very rapidly.

If you were prosecuted for something like that, then the university could reasonably take your ID card and ask you to leave.

The missing link is a gap in policing.

Most cities in Europe for example would have local police who deal with petty stuff like this. We don't have anything like that.

You like to jump the gun a lot.

There has been no mention of what the punishment might be. It is also worth pointing out that this is not something that just happened last night, these have been partying during a global pandemic under lockdown, for long enough time that it got to this stage, potentially putting many peoples lives at risk. So they themselves would be responsible for ruining any 'good name' that they may have had. However, the college is also within it's rights to protect it's own name.
    It is not a legal minelfield for the college to take action.

In any case, they would not be 'denied an education'. Worst case scenario they would have to finish it elsewehere, and I would not pity them if they did.

As do employers lol.
    If you can't see the differences between a student/college relationship and that of an employee/employer than idk what to tell you.

Suckit wrote: »
    If you can't see the differences between a student/college relationship and that of an employee/employer than idk what to tell you.

If you can’t see that there’s no difference between an employer policing your behavior outside of work and a college policing your behavior in a private property off their campus while college is not in term then I don’t know what to tell you.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/Unruly-Cork-students-hit-with-11k-in-fines-for-anti-social-behaviour-f38ffe4c-2b04-4c8f-be41-f9dd8d64a0ad-ds
    Gary Mulcahy, UCC student services and community relations officer, briefed JPC members on how his office has been working with students to address the problem of student-related anti-social behaviour in and around the university precinct since 2018.
    He said a 10-point “standards of conduct” charter was introduced for students, including that the university is not brought into disrepute and that they show respect for local residents and members of the public.
    A “three-strikes” resolutions process was introduced for students accused of alleged breaches of those standards:
    Stage one, an informal resolutions process, provides for a warning or a €50 charitable contribution.
    Stage two is a formal resolution process and includes a fine of up to €1,000.
    But stage three, the final stage, deals with students on their “third strike”, or with the more serious alleged breaches, and involves decisions made by senior academics. The outcome can include fines of up to €5,000 or expulsion from the university.
    I would expect them to be on stage three.

https://www.echolive.ie/corknews/UCC-and-CIT-issue-joint-letter-addressing-anti-social-behaviour-row-in-student-housing-areas-25a43d46-3aac-4cfe-a8bc-c3b59245af29-ds
    https://uccexpress.ie/ucc-taking-hardline-approach-to-anti-social-behaviour-during-rag/
    https://www.thejournal.ie/cork-students-asked-to-sign-pledge-of-honour-in-anti-social-clampdown-612102-Sep2012/

The partying is continuing this evening around UCC, On Highfield Avenue, where one of the houses complained against is located, there are two houses where loud music is blaring out from, this I have on good authority.

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭CoffeeBean2

Crimsonred wrote: »
    The partying is continuing this evening around UCC, On Highfield Avenue, where one of the houses complained against is located, there are two houses where loud music is blaring out from, this I have on good authority.

Clearly there should now be a public flocking of the LL. After all, he was well warned to ensure it doesn't happen again and his hands were tied to stop him doing anything about it.

Given the Coronavirus situation can’t this just be shut down by the gardai?

Clearly there should now be a public flocking of the LL. After all, he was well warned to ensure it doesn't happen again and his hands were tied to stop him doing anything about it.
    I sympathised with the LL..
    I've read a bit more. I have less sympathy now.

<SNIP>

I would equate those having the parties, and the party-goers to be slightly less scum-baggy, but only slightly. I don't know how many elderly people live near that area, but trying to be intimidating to have a party while putting their elderly neighbours lives at risk, while also standing outside the house and telling them to turn the music up, as if to solidify the intimidation..
    Scum.

Given the Coronavirus situation can’t this just be shut down by the gardai?

If it's loud music blaring from the front of a house or from the garden but there isn't a large congregation of people present I am not sure what the guards can do.

From citizens information :
    Domestic noise
    The Gardaí have the power to arrest a person for breach of the peace in a public place. They may ask someone to lower the noise coming from a dwelling but they do not have the power to enter a dwelling with the intention of simply asking someone to lower the noise. If the noise is persistent, you may complain to the District Court – see Complaints under the EPA Act below. There is useful information in the leaflet on neighbour disputes (pdf) published by FLAC, the Free Legal Advice Centres.

Rented dwellings
    If the noise is coming from a rented dwelling and you don’t get a satisfactory response from the tenants, you can complain to the landlord – whether this is a private landlord, a local authority or a housing association.

People who are renting from private landlords or housing associations have certain obligations. These include not engaging in anti-social behaviour, which includes persistent noise that interferes with the peaceful occupation of other dwellings. You may complain to the Residential Tenancies Board (RTB) if a private landlord or housing association fails to enforce the tenant’s obligations in respect of noise.

Under the Housing (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009, tenants of local authority housing are obliged to avoid any nuisance (including noise) to the occupiers of any other dwelling. If the noise persists, the tenants are in breach of their tenancy agreement and the local authority can take steps to enforce the terms of the agreement.

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/environmental_protection/noise_regulations.html

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭LeineGlas

DubCount wrote: »
    Maybe they could reduce their grades, or suspend them from their courses, or stop them sitting their exams, or kick them out of their college. They are probably better placed to impact the misbehaving children in their care than the landlord.

UCC cannot do anything unless it is on their facilities like in Castlewhite or Victoria Cross.

"Local" residents won't allow any more of these facilities to be built because they want to keep their property values high and be able to pull in rent money themselves.

Can't have it both ways I'm afraid.

LeineGlas wrote: »
    UCC cannot do anything unless it is on their facilities like in Castlewhite or Victoria Cross.

"Local" residents won't allow any more of these facilities to be built because they want to keep their property values high and be able to pull in rent money themselves.

Can't have it both ways I'm afraid.

Local residents support student accommodation as part of the solution to the ongoing problems, as for property prices, ironically enough if you were trying to sell your house in the area near UCC your best chance of selling it is to a landlord who wishes to put in students, owner occupiers will not buy houses in that area.

There are major developments for student accommodation being built in the area at the moment and there are others on the way.

Local residents support student accommodation as part of the solution to the ongoing problems, as for property prices, ironically enough if you were trying to sell your house in the area near UCC your best chance of selling it is to a landlord who wishes to put in students, owner occupiers will not buy houses in that area.

There are major developments for student accommodation being built in the area at the moment and there are others on the way.

Local residents object nearly every single student accommodation that goes up or is planning to go up. If you don’t want them in private houses and you don’t want student accommodation blocks where do you want them to go?

Your best chance is selling a house to a landlord you’re right. Because the houses in that area haven’t been renovated in years, have poor BER ratings, and are very overpriced. What family would want to move into one???

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭LeineGlas

Local residents object nearly every single student accommodation that goes up or is planning to go up. If you don’t want them in private houses and you don’t want student accommodation blocks where do you want them to go?

Back to "where they came from" when you listen to the phone-in radio stations, and Mayor Finn a few years ago.

They're happy for 'non-locals' to pay rent, spend money in locals shops and businesses, work the minimum-wage jobs in the area, look after their sick relatives in CUH - they just don't want them to live in the area.

Your best chance is selling a house to a landlord you’re right. Because the houses in that area haven’t been renovated in years, have poor BER ratings, and are very overpriced. What family would want to move into one???

That isn't entirely inaccurate, the people next to a proposed development may object but the long suffering residents on roads like Highfield Avenue would welcome anything that would take students out of private houses.

Any development in an urban setting is going to have some objections in fairness.

There are already student accommodation complexes in the area, more are needed but in the meantime if students or whoever is renting these houses at the moment would ease off with the parties and loud music peace would be restored.

LeineGlas wrote: »
    Back to "where they came from" when you listen to the phone-in radio stations, and Mayor Finn a few years ago.

They're happy for 'non-locals' to pay rent, spend money in locals shops and businesses, work the minimum-wage jobs in the area, look after their sick relatives in CUH - they just don't want them to live in the area.

These students who as you say pay rent and but their alcohol in the local off licence are of no benefit whatsoever to local residents but they are welcome to live there if they behave in a considerate manner.

The landlord who is up in court at the moment lives on Model Farm Road, a safe distance from any student related noise issues.

I very much doubt that any student landlords live in the area near UCC themselves.

That isn't entirely inaccurate, the people next to a proposed development may object but the long suffering residents on roads like Highfield Avenue would welcome anything that would take students out of private houses.

Any development in an urban setting is going to have some objections in fairness.

There are already student accommodation complexes in the area, more are needed but in the meantime if students or whoever is renting these houses at the moment would ease off with the parties and loud music peace would be restored.

There’s plenty of articles available where you can see local residents objecting to the building of student accommodation blocks. Even the Lord Mayor has objected to them.

There’s no area near Highfield Avenue to build one so obviously the residents of that area don’t have a vested interest to object the ones built on Bandon Road etc.

Hopefully the guards will be able to issue on the spot fines regarding noise complaints and large parties. Until then nothing will change.

There’s plenty of articles available where you can see local residents objecting to the building of student accommodation blocks. Even the Lord Mayor has objected to them.

There’s no area near Highfield Avenue to build one so obviously the residents of that area don’t have a vested interested to object the ones built on Bandon Road etc.

Hopefully the guards will be able to issue on the spot fines regarding noise complaints and large parties. Until then nothing will change.

I would argue that local residents have a vested interest in the developments going ahead, the objections to the one on Bandon Road I think were because of increased traffic and even the spoiling of the view from the Lough! anyway, the foundations are in place so that one will probably be taking in students in 2022.

I agree that you can't have it both ways, purpose built student accommodation is the way to go long term.

Sorry to revive an old thread, and not so much to do with renting, just that it may be a continuation of sorts..

https://www.rte.ie/news/2020/0928/1167941-cork-covid19/
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40056104.html
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40055969.html