Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Off-topic thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Grew up listening to this voice on the TV, have a great memory of this game too (although I think it was live on Sky Sports at the time).

Quote Gubba "Well, Bruce Grobelar, it's as if he didn't even make an attempt to save it, in fact he seemed to pull his hands back" :D:D

What a game, can still remember listening to it on radio 5 live in my bedroom while I was supposed to be a studying for my leaving cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

KingdomYid wrote: »
    Nice one, I stayed away from the fly. I did the paddypower offer and backed a few of the others, and got my money back anyway when Ruby won.

Yeah, Hurricane Fly was my main worry of the three. Though I used the Paddy Power offer to back a couple of the other main contenders so that I'd come out with at least something if he didn't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Yeah, Hurricane Fly was my main worry of the three. Though I used the Paddy Power offer to back a couple of the other main contenders so that I'd come out with at least something if he didn't win.

Pick 3 more winners today and I'll eat my hat :D

Hatch99 wrote: »
    Pick 3 more winners today and I'll eat my hat :D

I'll give it a go!

Today I'm doing an e/w Lucky 15 on these. A lot of very tough races to call. Here's hoping...

1.30 Tofino Bay - 9/1
    2.05 Rule The World - 6/1
    2.40 Goulanes - 13/2
    4.00 Bondage - 16/1

I'll give it a go!

Today I'm doing an e/w Lucky 15 on these. A lot of very tough races to call. Here's hoping...

1.30 Tofino Bay - 9/1
    2.40 Goulanes - 13/2
    4.00 Bondage - 16/1

You are now known as our resident tipster around here fella :rolleyes:

1.30 Tofino Bay - 9/1

Pipped on the line. Gutted!

Just did a placepot for the interest, 3rd in that one, yeah Nina pipped, Mullins flying

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Rule the World in 2nd in the 2.05, how does that leave ye DubPerryman?

Ponty chinned me nicely!

Rule the World in 2nd in the 2.05, how does that leave ye DubPerryman?

It leaves me 'ok' - I'd obviously would have preferred them to win, but if my other two horses at least place, I should get a nice pot back.

2.40 Goulanes - 13/2

Goulanes did me no favours there, I really thought he'd stay up the hill.

I need a massive run from Bondage in order to make any kind of profit! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

I had Boston Bob in that last race ... had a poor Cheltenham to date and thought my luck was to change ... unfortunately not ..

So if you take my advice and want to win avoid the following horses in the next couple of races :)

Mr Watson

Another Sensation

Briar Hill

Best of luck everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

I have a son due on Tuesday who will be called Mylo.

Horse running today called Milo Man - haven't bet in years but had to have a flutter on that. :)

You've inspired me. I'm on it too!! :D

Good luck and congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

Robxxx7 wrote: »
    I had Boston Bob in that last race ... had a poor Cheltenham to date and thought my luck was to change ... unfortunately not ..

So if you take my advice and want to win avoid the following horses in the next couple of races :)

Mr Watson

Another Sensation

Briar Hill

Best of luck everyone

Well I never Briar Hill only went and did it. That's brought me back in the profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

You've inspired me. I'm on it too!! :D

Good luck and congrats!

Sorry ! :(

They won the bumper too at a savage price, unbelievable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

I'll give it a go!

1.30 Tofino Bay - 9/1
    2.40 Goulanes - 13/2
    4.00 Bondage - 16/1

Can't believe Nina (tofino) got beaten that far ahead. Got some tips for you tomorrow lads, at your peril:
    Solwhit
    First Lieutenant
    Dynaste

They came from an owner of a horse running Thursday, I might drop Solwhit (big price) and take the other two in a double. Up to you.

At the risk of being abused!

I just laid €20 on Arsenal to win (evens) v Bayern (draw no bet).

Just a note, technically I'm not cheering for arsenal to win, more Bayern not to win!

At the risk of being abused!

I just laid €20 on Arsenal to win (evens) v Bayern (draw no bet).

Just a note, technically I'm not cheering for arsenal to win, more Bayern not to win!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

Can't believe Nina (tofino) got beaten that far ahead. Got some tips for you tomorrow lads, at your peril:
    Solwhit
    First Lieutenant
    Dynaste

They came from an owner of a horse running Thursday, I might drop Solwhit (big price) and take the other two in a double. Up to you.

Backed this for the craic. Two 2nd's and a first. 31 euro. Cheers for the tip! I never bet at all on racing....

Also hoped you backed Solwhit!

irishmover wrote: »
    Backed this for the craic. Two 2nd's and a first. 31 euro. Cheers for the tip! I never bet at all on racing....

Also hoped you backed Solwhit!

Good stuff, yep I also had Holywell @ 20's, and Celestial Halo e/w too! Tt's been a good few days!

Our Conor in the first today. "He cannot lose";)

good shout, hacked up

Some run, he launched up the hill! Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Followed you on this one, good stuff :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I was one short for a six fold today. Had 2 winners and 2 places till the second last.... I was really beginning to believe. To take the piss altogether then the last one won. I wouldn't dare work out what I would have won...

ziedth wrote: »
    I was one short for a six fold today. Had 2 winners and 2 places till the second last.... I was really beginning to believe. To take the piss altogether then the last one won. I wouldn't dare work out what I would have won...

Stop, I had a treble worth about €150 going on to Ruby in the Gold Cup and he fell two out.. Fcuk it!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

I heard on TalkShite that AVB is the youngest manager currently employed in the 5 top leagues of Europe, with Fergie being the oldest. Namely England, Italy, Spain, Germany and France.

Also the youngest manager ever to win a European title.

He's worth holding on to i reckon.

Charl ew in the golf :cool:

Must have a study of the odds, re-invest some of my winnings on the National last weekend. Had the 66-1 winner thanks to John Duggan on today FM :D

Didn't know Duggan tipped the winner, happy days fair play to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

BIUhao9CQAA-2NY.jpg

Bump. General off topic thread....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Soooo..... Syria or Miley Cyrus, what it gonna be? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

Both are equally frightening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,715 ✭✭✭golfball37

Both have been under the influence of chemicals lately methinks.

Fcuk Jim White, someone give me a good movie to watch tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 946 ✭✭✭oppiuy

Any spare tickets for the all ireland hurling on sunday. Desperately seeking 2 as a pressie for the inlaws...anywhere in the ground will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Just read that, wtf?

Strange on alright :D

So who'll win the fedex lads ?

Strange on alright :D

So who'll win the fedex lads ?

Tiger all the way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭bishopmuzorewa

I'm going for Scott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Special one not so special now is he

Tiger all the way :)

Yes Tiger will take a bit of beating alright, very short though

Guess who's back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Guess who's back

Jesus?

Guess who's back

The bloody Jacks am guessing :D

Take your pick from the top shelf gooch 😜

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Hotspur Related @HotspurRelated 3m
    Ex Spur Paul Gascoigne has given a account of his life as an alcoholic as part of a documentary to be screened on ITV on Tuesday. #THFC