Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cormac O hEadhra/ Saturday View RTE

• Registered Users Posts: 28,843 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

touts wrote:
    Strangely I don't remember the socialists winning the election. But hey democracy has never been the strong point of socialists.

I don’t think other ideologies have much interest in democracy either

• Registered Users Posts: 19,112 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

touts wrote: »
    Mick Barry already calling for people to take to the streets to demand socialist government.

Strangely I don't remember the socialists winning the election. But hey democracy has never been the strong point of socialists.

Barry just wants anarchy as a texter to the programme said.

Barely scraped in and he’s now telling us how to run (ruin) the country.

Complete useless load of negativity.

I have to say Helen McEntee was excellent on today’s show, put the woman who doesn’t have to breathe, Louise O ‘Reilly, firmly in her box.

For once she couldn’t talk over everyone, well done Helen.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

touts wrote: »
    Mick Barry already calling for people to take to the streets to demand socialist government.

what is a member of a party with 3% even doing on the panel ?

I have to say Helen McEntee was excellent on today’s show, put the woman who doesn’t have to breathe, Louise O ‘Reilly, firmly in her box.

For once she couldn’t talk over everyone, well done Helen.

ive always assumed that those who vote for louise o reilly are deaf ?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,511 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Mick Barry not contributing anything of any note to the show yesterday and I never knew he was in the Labour Party and was chucked out of it. It's telling when even Louise O Reilly was trying to avoid being lumped together with his protest against the democratic will of the people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭generalgerry

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    ive always assumed that those who vote for louise o reilly are deaf ?

I was actually very surprised when I saw her election poster, her with the most welcoming and friendly of smiles on her face. A complete contrast, I thought, to the sour face that I have seen for the last four years as she bitches and moans about everything. Rather like Ruth Coppinger.

Cullinane getting a new one torn out for himself today.

Getting pulled out from under their slates.

That idiot Shorthall is bleating about a vote for change?

News for you. FF FG SF. Neck and neck.

That’s not a vote for change.

Shorthall being clattered by FG and FF .... being pulled out from under her slate.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

That idiot Shorthall is bleating about a vote for change?

News for you. FF FG SF. Neck and neck.

That’s not a vote for change.

Shorthall being clattered by FG and FF .... being pulled out from under her slate.
    Shocking panel all round today.
    Simon Harris did the smart thing and kept his contributions to a minimum.

That high pitched "I'm an academic" woman was particularly annoying.

padd b1975 wrote: »

Absolutely, going top note very early and screeching about being an ‘academic’

I’d keep that qual. on the downlow if I was her.

Frikken waster.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,511 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

padd b1975 wrote: »

I don't know what in the name of jaysus she was going on about when she was talking about drew Harris but it sounded like Cormac get a word from the producer to clarify the point raised. She also didn't sound as non partisan as she claimed to be either.

If the soc dems don't want to be part of a potential FF FG coalition(but not ruling out being in government) that's fair enough, but you can't then turn around and say that two of the three largest parties need to form a government as you've limited your options then.

I hear the woman who doesn’t have to breathe in full flow on Saturday view.

Just starts and keeps going until she is stopped......

Fair play to Dr Motherway, RTE were hammering the PPE issue all along and poor Cormac seemed almost disappointed when told there wasn’t a shortage in Limerick.

Now not saying that Cormac was trying to up the ante,but RTE seem to have latched on to this issue on every program and seem to be flogging it to death.

Again well done the Doctor, for handling things calmly and clearly.

This lady is top class.

Tone it down RTE.

Fair play to Dr Motherway, RTE were hammering the PPE issue all along and poor Cormac seemed almost disappointed when told there wasn’t a shortage in Limerick.

Now not saying that Cormac was trying to up the ante,but RTE seem to have latched on to this issue on every program and seem to be flogging it to death.

Again well done the Doctor, for handling things calmly and clearly.

This lady is top class.

Tone it down RTE.

what is Cormac to do when " homelessness " outrage is on the back burner ?

he,s the jonathan healy of RTE

He heh won the bet in casa Brenno.

Louise had to be stopped on her first breathless foray into the debate by Cormac.

She leaves no space between sentences...

Heh heh

1-0

Louise...

2-0. Talked down two to get in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Jim “soft landing” Power shouldn’t be within a mile of the studio!

He was careful to be a vague as possible.

Hmmm..... Cullinane the ‘smash the Free State bastards’ and ‘up the Ra, or something to that effect lad from SF on today with Cormac.

Expected to hear him challenged robustly on those kind of comments....not a dickie bird. Nowt.

Not a mention of that that I heard anyway.

Very strange I thought,given that other parties have every word parsed and analysed.

Uhmmm..

Heh heh had to laugh a Pearse Doherty on the show today at the number of times he professed to be ‘clear’ on issues!

He was about as clear as a Mississippi bayou on anything �� .

Next time you hear him on the radio check the number of times he claims to be ‘clear’ on stuff.

Tell ‘em the Brenner sent ya

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

Michael McNamara...a couple of valid points re. the new face coverings legislation...but otherwise infuriating.

Cole wrote: »
    Michael McNamara...a couple of valid points re. the new face coverings legislation...but otherwise infuriating.

What were they,caller.

Cole wrote: »

I had to laugh at Michael McNamara admitting that while he doesn't often take public transport, he does sometimes 'look at the buses' passing Merrion Square, to survey how many people are wearing masks.

Overall though, he's one of the good guys. His heart is always in the right place, and he's got a healthy disrespect for authority without being far-left or engaging in Student Union type politics. A bit like our host, O hEadhra, now that I think of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭Cole

What were they,caller.

Publishing the regulations prior to them coming into force and having a clear definition of what a face covering is. Valid points because it might shut down some of the lame excuses coming from the numpties who are well able to wear a face covering but just look for a reason not to. But McNamara came across as someone making the points as an excuse not to comply.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Overall though, he's one of the good guys. His heart is always in the right place, and he's got a healthy disrespect for authority without being far-left or engaging in Student Union type politics. A bit like our host, O hEadhra, now that I think of it.

One of the good guys ? Everyone knows the principals behind wearing a mask but Michael Mc Namara wants to find loopholes in the rules - whats happened to you protect me and I protect you ?
    Michael then went on promoting different rules for Clare compared to the rest of the country and declaring that the Govt is treating the population like children - populist and opportunistic .

Infoanon wrote: »
    One of the good guys ? Everyone knows the principals behind wearing a mask
    We know the principles offered by the health authorities, but there's a principle in the criminal law that you should offer people clarity about what will, or will not, land them in prison.

I know that's an extreme possibility, but nevertheless, there should be legal clarity.

It's a bit like when the lockdown happened, the Government announced it on a Friday evening, but didn't bother publishing the law until the following week. That's just not on -- people weren't clear for a long time on whether they were essential workers or not, and stressed about meeting checkpoints and the like, on their way to work. I even heard of people working in homeless services being worried about handing out sleeping bags, because they were concerned it might have become illegal to be homeless. That's the level of shortage of information there was.
    We were temporarily relocating to another part of Ireland at the time, knowing the lockdown was coming, and there was absolutely no information whether this was legal or not.

It's unnecessary... just print the damn regulations so we have the information. They've been planning this for ages, I'm sure -- what possible argument is there against publishing the law?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭Infoanon

We know the principles offered by the health authorities, but there's a principle in the criminal law that you should offer people clarity about what will, or will not, land them in prison.

I know that's an extreme possibility, but nevertheless, there should be legal clarity.

It's a bit like when the lockdown happened, the Government announced it on a Friday evening, but didn't bother publishing the law until the following week. That's just not on -- people weren't clear for a long time on whether they were essential workers or not, and stressed about meeting checkpoints and the like, on their way to work. I even heard of people working in homeless services being worried about handing out sleeping bags, because they were concerned it might have become illegal to be homeless. That's the level of shortage of information there was.
    We were temporarily relocating to another part of Ireland at the time, knowing the lockdown was coming, and there was absolutely no information whether this was legal or not.

It's unnecessary... just print the damn regulations so we have the information. They've been planning this for ages, I'm sure -- what possible argument is there against publishing the law?

Michael Mc Namara issue was with there being a law in the first place - his arguing that legislation only signed last night has not been published a few hours later (on a Saturday ) is bordering on a farcical.

Cormac could have called him out on it though so farcical was his argument that it merited it no response.

Infoanon wrote: »
    Michael Mc Namara issue was with there being a law in the first place - his arguing that legislation only signed last night has not been published a few hours later (on a Saturday ) is bordering on a farcical.

Cormac could have called him out on it though so farcical was his argument that it merited it no response.

Have to agree there, I.

For fohherke sake every one has seen a mask by now, just wear the fcuking thing on public transport, for your own sake and others.
    Common sense, no issues, stop playing to the frikken gallery.

You are fooling nobody, Michael, only the tossers who want to be awkward and sock it to the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,704 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Cormac now MIA as well as Late Debate.

Not good enough RTE.