Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin Bay North General Election 2019

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭antimatterx

bren2001 wrote: »
    FG transfer quite well to Labour and SD but transfers don't go the other way.

I don't understand how someone goes FG number 1 and a centre left party number 2.

I'm a big fan of COC. He does fantastic work locally

• Registered Users Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭Lavinia

Counts 2 received nobody passed the quota in this count

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭bren2001

I'm a big fan of COC. He does fantastic work locally

Politically and economic ideology they're miles apart. Voting center right 1 and then center left 2 just seems bizarre to me.

Of course, plenty of people vote on the candidate and not the policies of the party. It's just not something I quite understand.

Politically and economic ideology they're miles apart. Voting center right 1 and then center left 2 just seems bizarre to me.

Of course, plenty of people vote on the candidate and not the policies of the party. It's just not something I quite understand.

CR 1/2 and CL 3. I wasn't going to vote FF/SF

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

That's not the way it works in Ireland though. You may vote for FG to try and keep the current government. Your second option could well be to weaken FF and SF as much as possible. In that scenario a 1 for FG and a 2 for SD would be a perfectly logical thing to do.
    Or else you might think he is a good aul skin and deserving of a bit of encouragement and give a number 2. In Ireland we can vote against a candidate aswell as voting for them.
    FG are barely right of centre (if at all). If they were in the US they would be considered socialists.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    That's not the way it works in Ireland though. You may vote for FG to try and keep the current government. Your second option could well be to weaken FF and SF as much as possible. In that scenario a 1 for FG and a 2 for SD would be a perfectly logical thing to do.
    Or else you might think he is a good aul skin and deserving of a bit of encouragement and give a number 2. In Ireland we can vote against a candidate aswell as voting for them.
    FG are barely right of centre (if at all). If they were in the US they would be considered socialists.

Yeah, it's certainly a bit of a simplistic view on my part. I just went 1-18 in descending order of preference. CL at the top, FG (Bruton) at the bottom and you can see the slide across the spectrum as you go down. My 3-6 had and has little to no chance of getting a seat. I see why people would go FG -> SD, it's just not a logic I abide too or fully understand. The no hopers sometimes get in and I would like my vote to transfer to candidates of a CL ideology if possible. Putting the people you don't want at the very bottom of your ballot gaurantees a vote against them regardless of who is in the race.

FG would be democrats in the US but we're not in America. They're Centre Right here. In China they would be fully fledged capitalists. Neither are the political landscape here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,910 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yeah, it's certainly a bit of a simplistic view on my part. I just went 1-18 in descending order of preference. CL at the top, FG (Bruton) at the bottom and you can see the slide across the spectrum as you go down. My 3-6 had and has little to no chance of getting a seat. I see why people would go FG -> SD, it's just not a logic I abide too or fully understand. The no hopers sometimes get in and I would like my vote to transfer to candidates of a CL ideology if possible. Putting the people you don't want at the very bottom of your ballot gaurantees a vote against them regardless of who is in the race.

FG would be democrats in the US but we're not in America. They're Centre Right here. In China they would be fully fledged capitalists. Neither are the political landscape here.

Well when I voted I was thinking in terms of a possible coalition maybe FG, SD, Labour, Greens. Which would include a balance of centre right and centre left.

But the numbers did not work out like that.
    To be honest I think a lot a parties need to merge or fold. Too much spilts mean it is difficult to form governments.
    Maybe it would be better if Ireland moved to first past the post at this stage? More hope of a government at least.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Well when I voted I was thinking in terms of a possible coalition maybe FG, SD, Labour, Greens. Which would include a balance of centre right and centre left.

But the numbers did not work out like that.
    To be honest I think a lot a parties need to merge or fold. Too much spilts mean it is difficult to form governments.
    Maybe it would be better if Ireland moved to first past the post at this stage? More hope of a government at least.

I don't think there is much of an appetite for FPTP here. I'm a big fan of the STV system. Leads to coalitions and compromise which I believe it good.

John Lyons performing well in transfers. If he can stay ahead of Mulvany after the OBrien transfers. He has an outside chance of robbing the last seat. Haughey/Cian/Aodhan all still firm favorites from here though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Heney will get Haughey in unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,202 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I don't think there is much of an appetite for FPTP here. I'm a big fan of the STV system. Leads to coalitions and compromise which I believe it good.

What I don't like about STV is the overly local and in-constituency competition it generates between TDs even within same party. But I would not like to lose direct constituency representative entirely. A list system is ultimately fairer at national level in reflecting % of support into seats.

May not be practicable, but I would like to see all constituencies redrawn as 4 seaters which elect 1 TD by STV. The other TDs are elected on a list system.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

You are probably right that her transfers with get Haughey over the line - assuming her vote was primarily party based and not personal.

Catherine Noone has been eliminated, along with her FG career...
    https://twitter.com/christinafinn8?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1226872698040655873&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thejournal.ie%2Fwhat-happened-in-irish-general-election-5000705-Feb2020%2F

You gave me a fright there I read as Haughey will get Heney in! :o
    Bruton has officially got the second seat now anyway.

It's hard to see Cian, Aodhan or Haughey being caught. I can't see a way for Healy to realistically do it. I'm not sure who will transfer to him in big numbers. Lyons and Mulvaney are too far back unless they transfer in huge numbers, >70%, to one another.

Agreed but Haughey needs about half of Heneys vote to stay in as I doubt Mulvany or Lyons distributions will be kind to him. They could be very kind to COC and Healy*.

* this may be my attempt to keep a bit of suspense in the game ;). Haughey out surprise of the day???

Agreed but Haughey needs about half of Heneys vote to stay in as I doubt Mulvany or Lyons distributions will be kind to him. They could be very kind to COC and Healy*.

* this may be my attempt to keep a bit of suspense in the game ;). Haughey out surprise of the day???

Jayus the media would love that. All I know is the poor fecker who misses out on the last seat will be sick - it is so tight.
    I had forgotten that Dublin Bay North was the last consistency decided last time.

I said to a friend last night that I thought Lyons would be elected*. Haughey needs a decent chunk of Heeneys transfers to be safe and you would expect him to get it. I suppose I wouldn't rule out Heeney transferring to Healy but nowhere near enough to get him in.

I think Lyons will run it close but come up a bit short. PBP missed a trick by letting him go, he really could have gotten a seat this time with some party name recognition. I don't know much about him policy wise but I wonder would SF be interested in trying to get him on board and heavily invest in Donaghmeade i.e. the Broughan vote. That's if he does align somewhat with them. Michael MacDonnacha never really lit the area up.

It is very very interesting.

*proof is available.
    Jayus the media would love that. All I know is the poor fecker who misses out on the last seat will be sick - it is so tight.
    I had forgotten that Dublin Bay North was the last consistency decided last time.

That was because Averil Power wouldn't accept defeat. I did a bit of work at that election, it was a long few days.

Wicklow looks like it will be last this time around. SF seem to be done at 37. No more in the running from what I can see. They could easily have picked up 10 more seats in hindsight.

Easy in hindsight isn't it? I wouldn't have thought Mitchell would do so well here in DBN. I thought there was 1 guaranteed SF seat but nowhere near a second. Poor vote management almost cost them the last time. Nobody would have suggested running 2 but she got the highest first preference count in the country.

Equally, Ellis in Dublin North West, there was rumors his seat was under threat. Romped home.

Poor Sean must be pooping his pants at the moment

Safely in. Cian should get over the line as well. Would be a big shock if transfers went against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

O'Callaghan jumped over O'Riordhan https://www.rte.ie/news/election-2020/results/#/national/dublin-bay-north but Haughey got in

Fair play to Cian. He deserves this.

O'Callaghan jumped over O'Riordhan https://www.rte.ie/news/election-2020/results/#/national/dublin-bay-north but Haughey got in

Cian got around 6k in transfers, Aodhan 3k. I think it shows you how toxic the Labour brand is.

This could be Haugheys last election. Squeaked over the line, I doubt he'll put himself through a difficult campaign. Could easily retire if the government lasts a few years. Bruton may step aside then too as he could end up in Haugheys position.

As a complete wild guess, I think they might parachute Kate OConnell in to replace him. High profile enough and could rack up a big vote. FF don't have anyone to replace Haughey. Daryl Barron? No chance. Rachel Batten? Nope. Tom Brabazon? Nope. They don't have a viable candidate.

Cian got around 6k in transfers, Aodhan 3k. I think it shows you how toxic the Labour brand is.

This could be Haugheys last election. Squeaked over the line, I doubt he'll put himself through a difficult campaign. Could easily retire if the government lasts a few years. Bruton may step aside then too as he could end up in Haugheys position.

As a complete wild guess, I think they might parachute Kate OConnell in to replace him. High profile enough and could rack up a big vote. FF don't have anyone to replace Haughey. Daryl Barron? No chance. Rachel Batten? Nope. Tom Brabazon? Nope. They don't have a viable candidate.

Cathal Haughey?

Didn't get elected in the local election but ran in the wrong constituency. He just has a big second name really. Granted, based on this election, you don't need to win a local seat....

A left wing lite - constituency now three left wing -

Left - SF
    Centre Left - Labour, SD

Only two right wing -

Centre Right - FF FG

Is Dublin Bay North going to be the new 'Dublin Mid-West' in a few elections?

SF could have got another candidate through here. The question is whether that would have taken the FF vote or the SD/LP vote.

A left wing lite - constituency now three left wing -

Left - SF
    Centre Left - Labour, SD

Only two right wing -

Centre Right - FF FG

Is Dublin Bay North going to be the new 'Dublin Mid-West' in a few elections?

I think there's space there for another CL TD but it would take cooperation between Labour, SD, and PBP.

I think Haughey will struggle in the next election. His support base is shifting and leaving him. He's vunerable and the right candidate could pick him off if the SF surplus can be targeted. That will leave quite a few votes in Edenmore/Raheny/Donaghmeade when you combine it with Broughans base. A CL candidate could do quite well here.

If Bruton steps aside, Aodhan is primed to take a lot of the Clontarf vote. FG need to bring someone through here and quickly. Kate OConnell would be who I would parachute in, get her in the Seanad and start the groundwork now. I think Aodhan is most at risk of not being relected.

Cian is benefiting off the transfer friendly nature of the Social Democrats brand. If he focuses heavily on Howth/Sutton he could be someone who is very hard to shift. I believe Noone was placed to try and get the Averil Power and Howth/Sutton vote. That backfired.

Depending on how Mitchell and SF perform in government, I doubt we will see such a landslide for a SF candidate again. I still think this is 1 seat constituency for SF. She borrowed a lot of votes, can she hold them? I don't think so, there is space there for a PBP candidate to sweep up. I think Lyons is the person who could have done it but he's left the party.

Good management between the 3 parties could see 3 elected with another SF and 1 other (FG/FF). Bit of a stretch but with luck and planning in the locals, it's plausible. However, it would require cooperation between parties that don't talk. I still don't understand why PBP ran two candidates or how they let Lyons go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The John Lyons running in DBN- is that the same John Lyons who won a seat for Labour in Fingal in 2011?

Muahahaha wrote: »
    The John Lyons running in DBN- is that the same John Lyons who won a seat for Labour in Fingal in 2011?

no its the one that ran for PBP that last time, and then he complains today about there being too many leftwing candidates, he means O'Brien and Mulvany, but he is the one that left the SP-PBP party without explanation.

I still don't understand why PBP ran two candidates

I was thinking about that . Could it be as simple as raising the profile for the PBP brand? Two candidates - more mentions. I doubt they thought they would seriously be in the running, especially with Lyons gone.
    To be honest when I saw Lyons, I assumed in my head that he was with the PBP.

I am not sure the PBP really suit DBN. With thier active protesting style and so on. Plus SF have cornered the left market. With Labour and SD getting the leftovers.

I was thinking about that . Could it be as simple as raising the profile for the PBP brand? Two candidates - more mentions. I doubt they thought they would seriously be in the running, especially with Lyons gone.
    To be honest when I saw Lyons, I assumed in my head that he was with the PBP.

I am not sure the PBP really suit DBN. With thier active protesting style and so on. Plus SF have cornered the left market. With Labour and SD getting the leftovers.

Neither Michael O'Brien nor Bernard Mulvany were close to being elected in the Local Elections in 2019. The only logical reason to try and raise the profile of both is to target the local election, gain two seats, start some groundwork. Realistically, neither of these candidates will ever be in Dail Eireann which means they would need to introduce a young, active, charismatic politician to capitalise on this groundwork. I don't know where he/she is.

I think John Lyons shows that there is a seat there for a PBP candidate. They missed their chance with Broughan stepping down. They need to develop a divide and conquer strategy and the locals can be used to help focus that. Build a profile in the Mitchell surplus areas (which I imagine are Donaghmeade i.e. the Broughan vote) and target the Haughey vote i.e. Edenmore/Raheny. Build from that and attack the SF vote as a "change" party assuming that they will struggle to retain their vote.

Edenmore is Haughey? I would never have put the 2 together.

I thought that would have been a SF stronghold myself. Maybe when FF were more populist back in the day?

I'd say if you could see the demographics on Haughey's vote it would skew grey...

From the 2016 election and the 3 Edenmore ballot boxes, the first preference votes went:

Lyons 203, Haughey 198, Bruton 151, MacDonnach 151, McGrath 114, Broughan 105, Mitchell 102. Everyone else was 51 or lower.

There's a very strong left vote in Edenmore. The MacDonnach vote is slightly candidate based and not party based so it's hard to read into SF's numbers there. This is a slightly lower return for Haughey than his historic share.

Similar is true for Harmonstown, very much Haughey/Bruton/Lyons (in that order). The Tonlegee road is where the vote moves towards Mitchell. MacDonnach has a good representation in Grange as well (opposite side of the Raheny road), which is a local vote for him as well.

The Bruton one baffles me for the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Dietmar Hamann

I think this could be Haughey's last time as a TD. Not going to have it any easier the next time depending on how a coalition goes.

No government out of this election means he will more than likely lose his seat in 6 months as SF will run 2 candidates in DBN with Mitchell's surplus.

Looking to the future it's difficult to see who will take his place on the FF ballot in future elections within DBN. Deirdre Heney is not up to it on a national level. Her GE campaign centered on local council issues. The other FF councilors aren't there either so it might be a case of someone from outside the area that needs to be parachuted in to try take the seat.

I think they should run 1 strong candidate next time and focus on guaranteeing a seat that way rather than trying for 2 and splitting the vote.

From the 2016 election and the 3 Edenmore ballot boxes, the first preference votes went:

Lyons 203, Haughey 198, Bruton 151, MacDonnach 151, McGrath 114, Broughan 105, Mitchell 102. Everyone else was 51 or lower.

There's a very strong left vote in Edenmore. The MacDonnach vote is slightly candidate based and not party based so it's hard to read into SF's numbers there. This is a slightly lower return for Haughey than his historic share.

Similar is true for Harmonstown, very much Haughey/Bruton/Lyons (in that order). The Tonlegee road is where the vote moves towards Mitchell. MacDonnach has a good representation in Grange as well (opposite side of the Raheny road), which is a local vote for him as well.

The Bruton one baffles me for the area.

Fair play, I did not know about any of these breakdowns/patch boundaries interesting stuff. There is a great mix of demographics in DBN plenty of chances of 'tugs of war' in the future.

I hope a new young vibrant, level headed, local independent emerges in the future - that looks after the local issues and can ignore party politics. There should also be one of them in my view!

I think this could be Haughey's last time as a TD. Not going to have it any easier the next time depending on how a coalition goes.

No government out of this election means he will more than likely lose his seat in 6 months as SF will run 2 candidates in DBN with Mitchell's surplus.

Looking to the future it's difficult to see who will take his place on the FF ballot in future elections within DBN. Deirdre Heney is not up to it on a national level. Her GE campaign centered on local council issues. The other FF councilors aren't there either so it might be a case of someone from outside the area that needs to be parachuted in to try take the seat.

I think they should run 1 strong candidate next time and focus on guaranteeing a seat that way rather than trying for 2 and splitting the vote.

I know this sounds crazy and goes wildly against popular opinion but I don't think SF can win 2 seats in DBN. Mitchell has borrowed a lot of votes from non-SF voters, I don't think she will retain them.

That is assuming that Michael MacDonnacha gets the nod as her running mate (no reason he wouldn't). Pure speculation on how I believe SF will perform in government i.e. not well. I believe a lot of their vote in DBN is young people trying to get house. If they don't get them, SF are out. If they do get them, eaten bread is soon forgotten. Mitchell isn't overly active or loud outside of Priorswood/Darndale and I believe that will cost them.
    Fair play, I did not know about any of these breakdowns/patch boundaries interesting stuff. There is a great mix of demographics in DBN plenty of chances of 'tugs of war' in the future.

I hope a new young vibrant, level headed, local independent emerges in the future - that looks after the local issues and can ignore party politics. There should also be one of them in my view!

I agree but I can't see any independent taking a seat next time out. Hard to see Lyons make it over the line. There is no other viable candidate e.g. Gilroy, Garrigan etc. Aodhan breaking away from Labour is the only plausible route to an independent TD in the area and that's unlikely.

• Registered Users Posts: 142 ✭✭Dietmar Hamann

I know this sounds crazy and goes wildly against popular opinion but I don't think SF can win 2 seats in DBN. Mitchell has borrowed a lot of votes from non-SF voters, I don't think she will retain them.

That is assuming that Michael MacDonnacha gets the nod as her running mate (no reason he wouldn't). Pure speculation on how I believe SF will perform in government i.e. not well. I believe a lot of their vote in DBN is young people trying to get house. If they don't get them, SF are out. If they do get them, eaten bread is soon forgotten. Mitchell isn't overly active or loud outside of Priorswood/Darndale and I believe that will cost them.

Completely agree with you on their performance in government I don't think they will do well. This should then result in them losing the current seat they have in DBN.

One of FF/ FG need to take a bullet for the good of the country and go into a coalition with SF and give them the basket cases ministerial roles (Health) to see how they get on. I can't see them sorting them out so then that will be the end of them and the status quo will resume.

I don't think I have seen Mitchell in the Artane/ Clontarf end of the constituency at all apart from leaving a flyer in my letterbox so would be interesting to see a more detailed breakdown of her votes by area.

Labour and the Greens have a few strong candidates there. The rest is very slim pickings indeed.

Mary Fitzpatrick is quite good for FF and was unlucky in Dublin Central, she could be moved to DBN but she probably I can't see her moving.

Locals are another example of FF's strong base in Donaghmeade/Edenmore/Raheny. Tom and Daryl both elected [Tom was no surprise, well known. I thought Shane Folan would pip Daryl easily but that didn't happen].

Who took those photos for Howth \ Malahide ... everyone (regardless of party, age or gender) in them looks like they are trying to put on a smiley face to make a 3 year old laugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 31 R3_Regera

I'd say more Donnycarney than Edenmore, he (Charlie) lived in a house on Belton Road for years.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

R3_Regera wrote: »
    I'd say more Donnycarney than Edenmore, he (Charlie) lived in a house on Belton Road for years.

The house on Belton Park Road was Charlie's family home - it was only sold a few years ago when his last surviving sister died.

Let's assume there is another election and SF run 2 candidates. Both would seem likely to be elected. Who loses out? COC?

Also would FF/FG run Heney/Noone again or try new candidates? Neither likely to be elected but an increase in profile for a new candidate at this point would be useful (particularly for FG as I cannot see a future for Noone)

Let's assume there is another election and SF run 2 candidates. Both would seem likely to be elected. Who loses out? COC?

Also would FF/FG run Heney/Noone again or try new candidates? Neither likely to be elected but an increase in profile for a new candidate at this point would be useful (particularly for FG as I cannot see a future for Noone)

I think they would struggle to get 2 over the line. I believe if the election was run again in 3 months or so, the same 5 people would be elected. I don't believe the people who voted for SF this time will necessarily vote for them again. It would be close for them however.

FG: They would run two candidates. I don't believe the second would be Noone, her career is over. That candidate would have to be the person they see taking over from Bruton.

FF: Heeney would run again. She has decent support locally in FF. It would be hard to oust her.

If someone was to miss out, it'd be Aodhan or Cian. I'd worry for Aodhan, if he doesn't get the 1st preferences, Labour are a bit toxic transfers wise.