Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The 'Old' V's 'New' no holds barred debate/arguement thread

• 28-01-2009 6:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭

Righty

I'm gonna give this a try. In this thread ye can debate/argue/the merits of old skool dance music v's newer dance music. I (and a lot of other forum users) are sick and tired of this coming up in thread after thread after thread. So heres the craic

- This thread will be unmoderated by the mods, in fact I'm hardly gonna even look at it. Ye can abuse each other and each others tastes as much as ye like.

- If the old v new thing appears on any other threads I'll just move the threads here. The same goes for any other snidey remarks about genre's

- If this thread doesnt work out or whatever I can always close it.

Hopefully ye can all virtually punch the $hit out of each other in here and leave everyone else in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i'm gonna come right out and say it. most 'old skool' dance music is music for the great unwashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Techno for the win! all other music blows chunks!! end of discussion :D

haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Dan Sanchez

Cant we all just... get along.

Remember it was all just rave to me. I love the old stuff, all this hard house nowadays just sounds the same... :)

Only joking I like it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Hardhouse sucks,slowed down gabba,predictable as fcuk,it has no soul:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

no moderation? on boards.ie?

well i never

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    Hardhouse sucks,slowed down gabba,predictable as fcuk,it has no soul:eek:

Hard house rools!
    It has never pretended to be anything more than fast, fun music that's absolutely perfect for getting wankered to. I love the stuff, and wish that people would broaden their mind to what's out there at the moment instead of just basing everything on a Lisa Lashes mix they heard 5 years ago...

Minimal sucks - slow as **** and just a few bleeps and bloops... It has no soul
    Drum & Bass sucks - just sped up hip hop and it has no soul
    Techno sucks - it's just percussion and stuff, wheres the ****ing bassline like??? it also has no soul
    Trance sucks - erm... It kind of does actually, this irony train had to end somewhere!:p

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

This is going to be hilarious...

I don't mind a bit of old skool now and again, I quite like a little nostalgia thrown in with new sets, but I spend very little time listening to it day to day.

What I just don't get is people who only like old skool. There is a limited amount - don't you like listening to new stuff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Here's an idea - preface your comments with your age and what you do for a living. Helps keep things in context :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

28 - Software Sales Specialist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Táck wrote: »
    no moderation? on boards.ie?

well i never

but if you say a bad word, your barred for 10 years :D

jimi_t wrote: »
    Here's an idea - preface your comments with your age and what you do for a living. Helps keep things in context :D

haha. indeed it will.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

46 - Coalman (part-time).

Can someone please define 'oldskool' & 'new school/skool' - does new avail of the 'skool' spelling too? :confused::D i.e. what is the year cut off for old, does it include all genres etc.

Deep House, Disco....
    Back to the roots...

36 - Mature IT Student & DJ the odd time these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭derra

jtsuited wrote: »
    i'm gonna come right out and say it. most 'old skool' dance music is music for the great unwashed.
    tman wrote: »
    Hard house rools!
    It has never pretended to be anything more than fast, fun music that's absolutely perfect for getting wankered to. I love the stuff, and wish that people would broaden their mind to what's out there at the moment instead of just basing everything on a Lisa Lashes mix they heard 5 years ago...

Minimal sucks - slow as **** and just a few bleeps and bloops... It has no soul
    Drum & Bass sucks - just sped up hip hop and it has no soul
    Techno sucks - it's just percussion and stuff, wheres the ****ing bassline like??? it also has no soul
    Trance sucks - erm... It kind of does actually, this irony train had to end somewhere!:p
    Zascar wrote: »
    This is going to be hilarious...

I don't mind a bit of old skool now and again, I quite like a little nostalgia thrown in with new sets, but I spend very little time listening to it day to day.

What I just don't get is people who only like old skool. There is a limited amount - don't you like listening to new stuff?

Don't wanna influence another YouTube thread here, but some are saying this is $hit and this is great :confused:
    At least post a video or something in a post that defines what genre(s) you like now. With so many genres i am getting confused to which is which :confused:
    At least then another user can reply with a video and state their
    arguments why which is better than the other in there opinion:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

I dont mind the old school stuff but its the claims of "still sounds fresh,just as good today as it was back then bla bla bla.
    it doesnt sound as good,it sounds old and dated.
    also the popularity of the oldschool thread isnt as fantastic as you would let people believe.it mostly made up of people either asking for old tunes or posting up youtube links to old school tunes they like.
    if everyone who listens to current dance music posted up and talked about the new tunes they like the thread would be epic but we dont.we know next month there will be new tunes to get excited about so we dont bother,unlike the oldschoolers.
    also if a remix comes out,we dont need to be reminded of the older"better"version.
    same for the old school djs.dont claim there at the the top of there game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 224 ✭✭The G Child

Old skool v's New school. They both have their advantages and disadvantages. Some old dance tracks are savage and some that have been called "still fresh today" are muck. The good thing about the old stuff is that it was all just "rave" music. Nowadays there are so many genres that I don't know half of what is what. These days you get classed a knacker 17 year old if you like anything Trance related, a steamer if you like funky house, and a music snob if you like minimal.

The thing that annoys me the most is people who run down others for their taste in music or for not loving what's new and cool.

Me personally, I like bits of all genres, from House, Tecnho, Trance, Hard House, Old Skool, Minimal. Each one has good elements and bad. I don't want to knock any particular taste because as far as I'm concerned its each to their own. I'm 30 years old and therefor old enough to remember a lot of the older stuff. I just class myself as a "Raver" who likes a bit of everything .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

also the popularity of the oldschool thread isnt as fantastic as you would let people believe.it mostly made up of people either asking for old tunes or posting up youtube links to old school tunes they like.

I was gonna say this in the other thread before it was locked. Half of the posts are people with 4-5 posts asking for tunes.

I actually like some old skool tracks, I'd never specifically go to a night out of it but I recognise that it has its place. What annoys me is some of the attitudes people have who like it. The whole "its so much better than anything these days" tripe gets really boring reading it in every 2nd thread.

This whole debate is kinda nonsensical. Some old skool stuff was fantastic, some was crap, some tunes in the past few months were fantastic, some were crap and so on. Do Irish music sites have a Stockton's Wing v Sharon Shannon stand off? On the classical music sites, do people who like Bach scrap it out with Stravinsky fans for the title of best music?

I'm like G Child, I can hear an old skool tune with breakbeats and hoovers and the works and think it great. I can also hear a minimal electro tune from last year and wonder where it has been all my life. I think I am much more familiar with old skool, because I was in my late teens when hardkore rave was in, whereas now I'm not really one for sitting down and catching up with all the latest releases. But when I do hear the latest stuff, I can find it just as exciting as I found rave.

jeepers i thought we were gonna hear all this 'back in the day' nonsense. I can understand people liking old tracks but to make out that dance music peaked in it's infancy is simply ludicrous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Music is like a fine wine,it gets better with age,and in the case of oldskool that is the case,If you know me,you know that oldskools my thing but I do have a fondness for new stuff particulary electro and progressive house,but I find new stuff doesnt make the cut in comparison to oldskool,not only are the tunes better,oldskool has a nostalgia and scene that cant be beat,it has this energy and an uplifting vibe about it that 'new-skool' hasnt got no matter now much it tries,it to me is very cold,sterile and lacking any emotion,not all oldskool sounds as fresh as it did back in the day I'll admit,like the old hardcore stuff and early 91-93 breakbeat,it has dated,but last night was listening to the early asylum style stuff,old hard trance like Rob D-Hard times,DMB-if we lose our loving and DOP-Lion,and it still sounds amazing,gives you this energy that cant be explained,and the Olympic stuff,such upbeat uplifting tunes,new tunes while alot of it is good,it just lacks the essence of dance music,which is to have a good time and enjoy yourself,I think new stuff takes itself too seriously,and what about every newish producer and DJ ripping off old tunes and mutated them into sh*t ****y house and electro,how come they cant do anything original,just goes to show oldskool is still the benchmark

I can understand a lot of the reasoning from the old skoolers why they think that you'll never recapture the glory days of the early 90's. The scene was new and fresh back then. They were fully immersed in the scene and everything that went with it. They're entitled to that.

The same way someone younger can appreciate minimal more than some of the older heads. It's the music that is out now and a lot of clubs are playing it. If your getting into the dance scene now, you are going to be heavily influenced by whatever is out now. Therefor Minimal isn't going to sound as alien to you as it would for someone who went through the whole rave scene.

It's different Horses for different courses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

I'll be taking no part in this thread and i must say i am surprised at the moderators for allowing such a thread which is only going to encourage aruguments and slagging (especially the usual suspects) i sorry i find this thread to be somewhat silly and nonsensical, as Conor said you don't have threads like this on the other music forums on boards.ie like classic rock v modern rock or the likes thertefore i think this should be locked or deleted, it's asking for trouble posting something like this.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

I dont know. I just think its sad that dance music was always about looking forward and its got to the stage now where a sizeable amount of people have started looking backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

jtsuited wrote: »
    I can understand people liking old tracks but to make out that dance music peaked in it's infancy is simply ludicrous.
    But that's just people for ya.
    I have a friend that's mainly mainly into rock music and he doesn't listen to newer stuff preferring to listen to the "classics" instead. There'll always be people that prefer the tried and tested but that's their decision and more power to their elbow.

Personally I don't give a sh1t what other people perceive to be cool or uncool, I know what I like and what I don't like and that's all that matters to me. Some people worry too much what others are up to or into.

jonny68 wrote: »
    I'll be taking no part in this thread......
    Eh, you just have...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Miss C

The thing with "old-skool" was it was not just about the music, it was the start of a whole new revolution in culture full stop. (even though the term old-skool actually refers to the hip hop movement of the early eighties in brooklyn, but we will forget about that for now) It brought abough something that was last witnessed in the sixties and the "summer of love" It was something that was meant to be a passing phase, yet here we still are 20+ years later and dance music is still going in the infamous words of robert owen "It's not just boom boom boom. They're telling me something here. Something I can dance to and learn from. I can see house music becoming universal one day. It'll just take time for people to receive it." I think that the proof that old still holds it's own above new is the fact that a portion of the new stuff being put out is either another remix of an old tune, or it contains samples/riffs of old dance tracks

jonny68 wrote: »
    I'll be taking no part in this thread and i must say i am surprised at the moderators for allowing such a thread
    lol. i'm surprised you haven't noticed it was actually started by a mod!

ironically you have me on ignore, so once again you miss out on useful information that could help you due to the chip on your shoulder.

I'm sure it's not the first time that's happened in your life.

New dance tunes may be sampling old dance tunes, but lets remember that most old skool songs sampled other mainstream tracks. Dance music in general, wether it be old or new has always sampled older tracks.

New re rubs of old tunes are pretty much always a pile of ****e. I think both sides of the argument can agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I agree the whole debate is nonsense. I'm also sick to the back teeth of it taking over thread after thread. From now on all of the old v new stuff will be dumped in here

why do the oldschoolers claim theres no originality in new producers.look at the hundreds of new tracks released every week on download sites.are you seriously going to say that they all rip off oldschool tracks.of course not,you cant claim that theres no creativity out there but not acknowlege all the original tracks being released.
    as for everything else raverro808 about uplifting energy not being in new tracks,you talking out your arse mate.oldschool being the bench mark!!
    half the tunes used presets that came with the synthesizers.
    this is the point that irks me.by all means listen to the stuff but dont try and pass it off as the superior form of music it never will be

seannash wrote: »
    why do the oldschoolers claim theres no originality in new producers.

Nash, I'm the dmi rep round these parts, this board aint big enough for the two of us.

It's so strange to have a dance site not talking about 'the split'...

Nash, I'm the dmi rep round these parts, this board aint big enough for the two of us.

It's so strange to have a dance site not talking about 'the split'...

ha ha,hey conor did I ever tell you I live in new York :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

conor im also in here with the DMI massive. or is that DME.

Oh yeah, it IS dme actually come to think of it.

I think I became almost a cause celebre on both sites there for a few hours. You see Sean, you don't have to trot the globe to earn respek!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 smick

"This thread will be unmoderated"

****ing gallus! beezer. lets go, lets go, lets go ****ing mento!

edit, hahaha it blanks out my swear words.

**** **** **** a **** tit munch cock sandwitch ****

dis place is da bizniz

edit again. it doesnt blank all swears

only **** and ****. what about...

arse

henry sprinkler

langer

fanny

smick wrote: »

dis place is da bizniz

arse

henry sprinkler

langer

fanny

post of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,578 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

smick wrote: »

dis place is da bizniz

arse

henry sprinkler

langer

fanny

lol touché sir. Original post updated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭senan s

Nash, I'm the dmi rep round these parts, .

wtf is "dmi"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Dangly Male Implants

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Yeah a ridiculous debate, always has been. As has been said, horses for courses etc... and a very valid point a couple pages back re the different eras.

I was part of the early to mid 90's scene and loved every minute of the freedom, being a teenager and on in to my early 20's basically having a great time with drugs, music, clubs, women, parties, drugs and eh, drugs + music. But it got out of hand and had to end for various reasons.

The music and memories have remained special to me but unfortunately my work, family and lifestyle has had to change with age so those amazing times can only be memories now which from time to time are rekindled by way of the music from that time. I remain a music lover though and love music of all varieties from classical to techno, be it acid, minimal or whatever the fck and expect that to be the case till I die. I buy music from then, music from now and simply fkcin enjoy it without sticking an 'era', 'cool', or otherwise label to it.

Just enjoy the music, man. :pac:

seannash wrote: »
    ha ha,hey conor did I ever tell you I live in new York :D

New York and America experienced a very different dance music scene in the early days then we had here,different tunes,different scene,even in England accross the water from here,there was different scene,the legacy of the scene here has left us with the amazing tunes of the day,its a unique Irish thing,you wouldnt get it in New York,so you have no frame of reference my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Felixdhc wrote: »

Just enjoy the music, man. :pac:

Here, here I never really got any debate on any type of music the idea of debating someone else's musical taste seems completely absurd.

by all means if you want to discuss the technical merits of particular track/tune/riff whatever but to completely ignore genre's etc and brandishing a genre sh|te like funky house etc is just down right retarded.

if it sounds good/makes you feel good/ then it is good be it the venga boys, some spicy funky house track or some obscure experimental abstract pot banging number.

I just can't wait to hear more about that **** degree in music and how we're all musically retarded because we don't have one

can we have more of him please.

There is plenty of music that I don't particualarily like - but would not have anything bad to say about it - it just does not fit my taste - like DnB for example - musically I'm sure its excellent etc but I just don't warm to it.

However then there is the complete sh1te like nasty eurotrance and fcuking muppets like basshunter and "The Donk Song". I mean seriously - how the hell can anyone like that?

Zascar wrote: »
    There is plenty of music that I don't particualarily like - but would not have anything bad to say about it - it just does not fit my taste - like DnB for example - musically I'm sure its excellent etc but I just don't warm to it.

However then there is the complete sh1te like nasty eurotrance and fcuking muppets like basshunter and "The Donk Song". I mean seriously - how the hell can anyone like that?

You shut up and 'put a donk on it',lol

There's never a bad time for a DONK!

Oh Jeasus your mans accent is just priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭FLYNN-DOG

Wouldn't actually consider any1s views on dance music who listen primarily to trance or hardstyle or hard trance or whatever.......

Kinda me too, however i do know a few people who's opinion I respect that are big trance lovers... However they would be into the more refined types of trance and not the commercial shyte many of us love to hate so much.

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    you wouldnt get it in New York,so you have no frame of reference my friend

Whoah there.

Sorry raver, the New York thing was an in joke amongst those who contribute to dancemusiceverywhere.com, pretty sure sean wasn't making a point about the music differences between the Tunnel in NY and the Hacienda in mancunia.