Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do any careers still enjoy high social status in Ireland today?

• 30-08-2020 12:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭

Does your career affect your standing in society?

The traditionally high prestige and high earning professions (doctors, lawyers, judges, politicians, bankers .etc.) have taken a battering in recent years due to various scandals. Respect and trust in general seems to be at an all time low now.

Do any professions still get elevated respect from society, justified or not?

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

EU Commissioner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

Doctors still do IMO.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭JasonStatham

Sport maybe? Rugby, GAA?

IT is pretty solid here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭ThewhiteJesus

As long as you are not a straight white male you’ll do great these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Yyhhuuu

I find many doctors ( not all) are very greedy as regards money. There should be an NHS equivalent in Ireland. They dont have the prestige they once had. I know many of my family are medics.

• Registered Users Posts: 630 ✭✭✭COVID

Rose of Tralee escort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭.anon.

I suppose if you achieve nothing in life, you can always make yourself feel less inadequate by blaming it on the fact that you're not a black lesbian. It's a bit pathetic though, the whole "woe is me, I'm a straight, white male" act.

Since most folk do a trade or go to college there's little prestige in any career.

Teacher had an element of prestige decades back for example... So too AGS etc & as mentioned even bank clerks.

Judges, barristers & surgeons to a degree I suppose have but many reckon judges and barristers are part of the legal aid gravy train that doesn't benefit society so they're viewed as a pack of coconuts also. And surgeons / consultants are caught up in the public v private medical squabbles also .... Two tier health service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Imo there aren't any.
    To have any 'prestige' in my eyes you do your job honourably and efficiently.

We have teacher, garda I, judges politicians betc that have shown themselves to be a disgrace to their so-called profession.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Bank clerk used to be a very good job. A job in a bank was a job for life

Nowadays you would earn more and have better job security in a supermarket

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭smellyoldboot

Engineer. lmao. Try explaining to the average shmuck you have never touched a car engine or that fixing their computer/washing machine/boiler isn't what an actual engineer does at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Nurses, doctors, ambulance drivers and those in the fire service are the people I would have most respect for regarding their choice of career.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,653 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

mikemac2 wrote: »
    You make it wounds like a prison sentence!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

I've a few gay friends and they seem to be doing a lot better than the rest of our group but they have their head screwed on, so it's their own doing.

Women send us straight lads stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Eduard Khil

Union mafia jobs still held in high esteem by them themselves at least.

Anyone in the medical field is beyond criticism in Ireland. Particularly nurses.

• Registered Users Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

The playing field has levelled in recent years. The farmers (the ones with high acreage), doctors and priests were the big-knobs up to the late 1980s.

It was a horrible two-class society, I'm glad it's blurred somewhat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

No, I think people are not as awed by job titles anymore.
    That could be the result of people being given important-sounding titles for unimportant jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

GooglePlus wrote: »
    Women are responsible for issues with the intellect of straight males..?

I guess there are a lot more female teachers than males, but it's not the fault of women that more men don't become teachers.

I'm not seeing this one.

• Registered Users Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Sandwich Artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭Wompa1

No. As someone already suggested everyone gets at least a degree these days. Degree, Masters and PhDs have become more common so it makes less of an impression now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I respect anyone who goes out to work regardless of what qualifications they have or what job they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    Sandwich Artists.

My local place has ‘coffee consultants’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Yyhhuuu

mikemac2 wrote: »

Nowadays you would earn more and have better job security in a supermarket

That must explain why the calibre of bankers has decreased in recent decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

Social Influencers seem to be very important.

At least they claim they are when they demand free stuff from restaurants, hotels, shops etc or they will tell their thousands of followers. "Give me and my like 6 bbfs here a free meal or I'll tell my like 20,000 insta followers how like awful this place is". 30 years ago gangsters used to try that with the old "yuz got a lot of veby valuable gear in here. Twod be n awful shame if the place burned down".

20 years ago protection rackets were fraud but apparently now they are social marketing strategy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭touts

CEO of a charity seems to be a fairly cushy number that has a fair amount of respect. €150k salary on top makes it pretty much the best gig in town these days. That's why charities are spawning like rabbits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭gifted

I don't think people really care anymore what career a person has....most people realise that the vast majority of working people have the same problems as them regardless of what career they have........obviously a surgeon will make more than the average factory worker but I think people don't really care anymore.

As long as a person carries themselves well they'll be respected anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,527 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

touts wrote: »
    CEO of a charity seems to be a fairly cushy number that has a fair amount of respect. €150k salary on top makes it pretty much the best gig in town these days. That's why charities are spawning like rabbits.

We were always soft touches in this country, hence the success of the 'ah god luv dem' sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Feisar wrote: »
    Doctors still do IMO.

All the good doctors are emigrating. they are importing are ones who arent good enough to work in their own countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

touts wrote: »

For every 250 people there is a registered charity. Does that make you head spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

It's great to see Irish people become more and more educated/qualified. Education is key to balancing social inequality imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,467 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Dry your eyes ffs

Grow up

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    It's great to see Irish people become more and more educated/qualified. Education is key to balancing social inequality imo.

It isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,708 ✭✭✭Feisar

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I've a few gay friends and they seem to be doing a lot better than the rest of our group but they have their head screwed on, so it's their own doing.

True that but god damn them curves...

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

For every 250 people there is a registered charity. Does that make you head spin?

Government spends 5.5bn a year handing out cash to them. They are all part of massive clique.

Spunout.ie sums it up. A website Founded by a guy call Ruairi Mckiernan, who weaseled his way onto the Presidents Council of State. Chairman of the Board - Chris Donoghue, formerly of Newstalk and now working for Simon Coveney. Their twitter page get f**k all interactions. The same person liking and retweeting the posts (he just happens to work there)
    https://twitter.com/SpunOut?s=09

Over 80% of their funding comes from Government (over 500k), from 3 different departments. Wages account for 63% of their spending (420k). All that for a website and twitter page that nobody looks at.

There are tons and tons of Spunouts floating about. And the same names and office addresses seem to pop up all of the time. They'll say their CEO only earns 60k or so but you can bet your bottom that the CEO has their fingers on a second or third NGO/Charity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hijpo

To be fair, poster has a point. Straight white males are un-balancing diversity and inclusion.
    Who has ever heard of the bad ass straight white working father who has the power and confidence to run the world no matter what he wears, how he looks or what gender they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,095 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Lidl cashiers were lauded as the greatest heroes in society there for a while, but I don’t think it lasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Carers spring to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,479 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Imo there aren't any.
    To have any 'prestige' in my eyes you do your job honourably and efficiently.

We have teacher, garda I, judges politicians betc that have shown themselves to be a disgrace to their so-called profession.

There are bad apples in every profession. you are taking about a tiny number of bad apples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,479 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Nurses, doctors, ambulance drivers and those in the fire service are the people I would have most respect for regarding their choice of career.

In my experience most doctors become doctors for the money and status.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

The good old road frontage seems to be back in fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

pgj2015 wrote: »
    In my experience most doctors become doctors for the money and status.

I think they exchanged personality types with Dentists. Dentists used to have the bad rep for status and money.

From my experience, my dentist is pretty flexible in that if she thought the job isn't wasnt as big as she thought, she wouldn't charge the price advertised. Whereas if I went to my doctor with a cold and all I wanted was a sick note for work and for him to tell me what I already know, a bit of lemsip, vitamin C and some rest, I'm still getting charged that €60.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,770 ✭✭✭GT89

I have respect for anyone who their job to the best of their capabilities

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Maybe vets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Feisar wrote: »
    Doctors still do IMO.

I read these two posts and thought what about all those doctors who are from the Indian sub continent in Ireland, or who have parents from that sub continent?

https://www.tuh.ie/Consultants/Dr-Karthikeyan-Srinivasan.html

Plus Leo Varadradkar became Taoiseach how can anyone ignore that!

Plus Rotimi Adebari (from Nigeria) was elected Mayor of Portlaoise in 2007.

Also Ireland has had Jewish TD's Briscoes, Shatter and so on throught the history of the state .

Ireland has top class lecturers from places as varied as Sudan.
    Like Abdullahi El-Tom who lectures anthropology in Maynooth university

https://www.maynoothuniversity.ie/people/abdullahi-el-tom

Plus only recently we have seen Hazel Chu elected Lord Mayor of Dublin

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/green-party-s-hazel-chu-elected-lord-mayor-of-dublin-1.4291870

I believe 'straight white male' myth is an American construct which has seeped into the English speaking worlds lexicon without any real thought.

As regards as what career as social status (the OP's question), yeah you could say Law, Medicine, Science, High End IT.
    But I honestly think social status is really high in those who have to work thier way up from nothing, these days. As those who were born into status only seem to have reflected glory.
    Another factor in high social status is the contacts people make.

So if you take all these things together:

1) Working in a top field such as Medicine
    2) Coming from nothing and being a success
    3) Being an emigrant or children of an emigrant in Ireland
    4) Many high profile contacts made in both personal and professional life

If you have all of these four criteria you will have the ultimate social status, and more importantly respect in Ireland.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Antares35 wrote: »
    Maybe vets?

Getting harder to find vets who want to work with large, sometimes dangerous, farm animals.
    The money is in looking after people's pets, cute kitties and chihuahuas.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Getting harder to find vets who want to work with large, sometimes dangerous, farm animals.
    The money is in looking after people's pets, cute kitties and chihuahuas.

True. Find them more expensive than human doctors at times! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,517 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Engineer. lmao. Try explaining to the average shmuck you have never touched a car engine or that fixing their computer/washing machine/boiler isn't what an actual engineer does at all

When I started Mech Eng in the introductory lecture thing the head of the course said 'I hope none of you think you're here to learn how to fix cars'. A guy got up and walked out and was never seen again.

kowloon wrote: »
    When I started Mech Eng in the introductory lecture thing the head of the course said 'I hope none of you think you're here to learn how to fix cars'. A guy got up and walked out and was never seen again.

Eejit should have known that before he ever walked in the door.

kowloon wrote: »
    Eejit should have known that before he ever walked in the door.

A chap I went to school with started mech eng in college, he did a year or two of it, might have gotten a cert ..... anyway he was always complaining how it wasn't practical enough. Not, not practical enough for him, but as a course .... as in there was something fundamentally wrong with the curriculum. He went off and became a mechanical fitter.