Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Worst thing that's happened to you after a night out?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I went for a pint once and woke up in a cheap hotel in New York two mornings later (this was before you had to book the visa waiver three days in advance). Vague memories of singing with an old homeless black man outside Penn Station after finding out I was too late to get the last train out to a relation’s house and then being ferried around by a taxi man running in and out of hotels after asking them the price for a night before he decided which one was good value.

I eventually stopped drinking.

I went on the beer one Good Friday and woke up in a cave three days later or some shiite like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Went out on a Friday at 20 years of age on a 2 day bender up to all sorts and on the Sunday at the depths of a session got a phone call of my brother to say my Mam had a heart attack and was in hospital, she then died that night basically and declared following morning.

3 weeks go by and decide to head to ibiza with my friends who all chipped in money to pay for me and felt it was best for me to take my mind off things.
    On the first night I was found on the beach unconscious in a pool of my own blood.
    Broken jaw in 3 different places and an operation required. Brain scans required due to possible brain damage but that wasn’t the case thankfully. (Never felt so relieved)
    I remember in the hospital I just started laughing to myself and thinking I’ve hit the bottom now how my life was falling apart as well as a friend thinking I tried to kill myself which I didn’t, that made me feel really bad.

Since then the party lifestyle has slowed dramatically over the years to almost a complete stop now.
    I had some good times but yeah that year was rough.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

I went on the beer one Good Friday and woke up in a cave three days later or some shiite like that.

It wasn’t a Good Friday :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,797 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Pursued and threatened by a Triad gang over a disputed bar bill in a back street club in suburban Shanghai. You've not lived till you've had blades and guns brandished at you at the same time.

Of course one of my Irish companions, out of his bin on top shelf Johnnie Walker decided to give it all Billy Big Balls, apparently imagining he was falling out with a few shams in Bundoran and not a dangerous crime gang 6,000 miles from home and began giving them serious cheek.

If was only the fact that even the english speakers among them couldn't understand a word he was saying that saves us from a hiding, or worse.

A sobering experience. And a free bit of advice, don't go to China, its as sketchy as ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Pineapplez56

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Sounds like your actions didn't have much impact really, think he would have just beaten you or somebody else up without much justification

You’re probably right tbh. Some people are just scumbags in general unfortunately. On the flip side my fake teeth look better than my old ones so gotta take the good with the bad..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Jim Gazebo

got into a drunken argument with a random lad in a pub in sallynoggin years ago bumped into him and spilled some of my pint onto his shirt I apologised but he was fuming and got very aggressive with me so I sort of got cheeky back to him saying something along the lines of look im trying to say sorry as he kept calling me a **** and all sorts saying he was going to hit me a smack I said do it then hard man, as he kept berating me I just kept laughing saying ok hard man he said ill see you outside later and walked off. me drunk as a skunk not thinking of it went back to my table with a few of my mates kept drinking and told them about the dude who I just had a drunken argument with. was almost forgotten about, I was leaving the place and having a fag outside on my own when a group of literally 10 or more of them surrounded me the dude there of course just hit me straight away and they all absolutely kicked the head off me knocked out cold, woke up they were still there gesturing that it was round 2 but luckily some of my mates had arrived by then from inside and bundled me into a taxi out of there full of blood, two teeth knocked out black eyes head thumping and confused as to what the f just happened and they explained that the group piled on me and knocked me out and kept kicking me in the face as I was out cold until the bouncers came over and broke it up. not a fun night. have many other weird and strange drug induced stories but that sticks out as possibly one of the worst due to the serious beating the **** gave me that night. be careful who ya get cheeky with in the pubs...

This all day. I've done a lot of work abroad and was on a night out in Newcastle... Was chatting to a stunning blonde in the smoking area, for about 30 seconds, as I was walking back to my group, this lad came over pushing me in the chest saying why was I chatting up his girlfriend.. she was the one that started talking to me and all we did was chat sh1t really, but I was pretty drunk. He kept saying he was going to smash my face in, I kept saying he was all talk and making that gesture with my hand over and over, like some sort of hard man.. he was getting more and more worked up when eventually the security came and threw us both out, no exceptions but they took us separate ways. Luckily I didn't see him again, but he was way bigger than me and I could have easily ended up like you. Amazing what you think you're capable of hammered.

Another one was in South America. I was quite young and enjoyed the nightlife there, out one night and the police where we were pulled us aside looking for passports which we didn't have. Got taken to the station! fully expected to be on banged up abroad at this stage. There had been a lot of arguments at this stage about us being taken there and the police were very adamant we'd done wrong but in reality they wanted money. We stayed stubborn about it and finally the next morning we were released. Another issue was it was now late morning, we were all missing from work now, and we were never supposed to be out in the first place as the work had a curfew for working down there. Only for the fact we were so far from home and replacing us would have been a logistical nightmare, they gave us all a severe bollocking and a final warning. Horrible night! Hadn't even the time to get drunk. Was convinced I was fired.

I also broke my arm one night at home drunk and was helped to a hospital by the Gardai :O that was a serious lesson and I don't drink as much now. The shame the next morning is huge with those ones.

Got locked into the RDS after a Christmas party, still don't know how I managed it or to climb the wall but I was found the next morning in my boxers having apparently stripped and gotten into bed that transpired to be the front garden.

No memory of a taxi but I must have just had enough in my wallet to pay for one. Lucky me!

Had some actual nasty incidents when drunk as a youth. Christ I really was a bad drunk. Thankfully one incident scared me straight and I'm sober as a judge now.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

First night in Vegas after an incredibly deleayed journey I woke up in a suite I didn't recognise. Thought, that's I'd barely spent time here before going out maybe I don't remember it right. Looked around at the after party carnage, people asleep everywhere. I take a bottle of water from the fridge and go onto the balcony for some air. Directly across the way from me is my hotel staring at me.
    Gather all my stuff up and sneak out of whoever's room this is.
    Back to my own hotel, have my key card but forgot my room number and my friend isn't answering his phone.
    Reception give me the number, up I go, by the time the lifts open I'd forgotten the number again.
    Back down, get the number, this time I take the wrong corridor, forget the room in a panic.
    Back down to reception, luckily i had my passport so they knew it was legit but they send out this massive security guard, biggest man I'd ever seen and they explain he'll escort me to the room.
    All apologies on the way from me but he was cool, saying it happens all the time and this is by far one of the better trips for him. I then fall asleep standing up in the lift and wake up at my door on the floor with him knocking on it. Not sure if he carried me or dragged me by the foot. I'm a tall guy but I must have looked like a child!

Anyway, Vegas + Drunk + Oxygen in casino floors + Hungover + "feeling ok" + jetlag coming in waves every 5 mins was not an experience I want to remember.
    Had 4 more nights of it and couldn't touch a drop for 2 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,149 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

PTH2009 wrote: »
    That particular story must be a urban legend
    I'd say it's a common enough experience tbh. While I didn't just "wake up" on the ferry, I once went on a session in Dun Laoghaoire that involved a few hours drinking in Holyhead before we got the ferry back home again.

The most memorable "worst thing" that happened to me while drunk was more of a really annoying thing: scuttered drunk at the San Fermin festival in Pamplona I passed out on a park bench and woke up having been clearly robbed. I was lucky enough in that I'd left my phone and wallet back in the campsite so didn't lose my cards or anything but everything else was gone including the pair of Quiksilver sun-glasses I'd spent the guts of €400 on just before the holiday. The annoying part? The sunglasses were prescription so they were utterly useless to whatever toe-rag nicked them and no doubt ended up in a bin somewhere. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭zanador

Jim Gazebo wrote: »
    This all day. I've done a lot of work abroad and was on a night out in Newcastle... Was chatting to a stunning blonde in the smoking area, for about 30 seconds, as I was walking back to my group, this lad came over pushing me in the chest saying why was I chatting up his girlfriend.. she was the one that started talking to me and all we did was chat sh1t really, but I was pretty drunk. He kept saying he was going to smash my face in, I kept saying he was all talk and making that gesture with my hand over and over, like some sort of hard man.. he was getting more and more worked up when eventually the security came and threw us both out, no exceptions but they took us separate ways. Luckily I didn't see him again, but he was way bigger than me and I could have easily ended up like you. Amazing what you think you're capable of hammered.

Another one was in South America. I was quite young and enjoyed the nightlife there, out one night and the police where we were pulled us aside looking for passports which we didn't have. Got taken to the station! fully expected to be on banged up abroad at this stage. There had been a lot of arguments at this stage about us being taken there and the police were very adamant we'd done wrong but in reality they wanted money. We stayed stubborn about it and finally the next morning we were released. Another issue was it was now late morning, we were all missing from work now, and we were never supposed to be out in the first place as the work had a curfew for working down there. Only for the fact we were so far from home and replacing us would have been a logistical nightmare, they gave us all a severe bollocking and a final warning. Horrible night! Hadn't even the time to get drunk. Was convinced I was fired.

I also broke my arm one night at home drunk and was helped to a hospital by the Gardai :O that was a serious lesson and I don't drink as much now. The shame the next morning is huge with those ones.

Am guessing knowing the police did stuff like that is why the work had a curfew?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Pulled this little fox of a thing one night, ended up back in her's. I won't go into details but it was nasty.

Next morning I was stirring and looking forward to a lazy round two. I said, jaysus xyz was pretty wild/out there/nasty. She replied, that's what you have to do to get boys to like you.
    Possibly the saddest thing I ever heard. Well apart from Kilkelly Ireland.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Motivator

I’m still embarrassed about this one 5 years later and I still get called “butters” by the people that were with me.

I was in California with work and our last day/night there we had a massive session all paid for by the boss of the office. There was probably 8 of us there in total and we gave it a right lash. We ended the night down on a beach with a load of bottles to watch the sun come up. We watched the sun come up, collected all our bottles and rubbish and were headed home. We stopped in to a bakery for breakfast and when I got my order they hadn’t put butter on whatever I had asked for. Stupidly/drunkenly I reached behind the counter and grabbed a knife to butter my food and I started gesturing to the girl behind the counter with a knife in my hand. Next thing, all I heard were screams of “drop it drop it drop the knife and get on the ground”

A cop had seen us dump our bottles in the bin and knew by us we were blind drunk. He watched us go into the bakery and in through the window he saw me grab the knife from behind the counter and decided to take action. I ended up being cuffed and arrested on attempted assault with a deadly weapon. It was a butter knife. The held me in the station for 4 hours until they came in and let me go. They pulled the CCTV footage from the bakery and thankfully it had sound on it. Probably the most mortifying thing I’ve ever experienced and it could have been an awful lot different if I had acted the bollocks with the cop.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Walking from a wedding to a nearby B & B. Pitch black, country roads and half cut.

I walked into a ditch and fell into a stream. Rolled around in the mud for a few mins before escaping, minus one of my shoes. Made it back to B & B but it cost me a few €'s in additional cleaning costs. The woman of the house showed me the trail of dirt leading from door to me room. It didn't help that I slept in the bed fully dressed (including the one remaining shoe)....

Oh, and once got arrested in USA while on a J1. I didn't think the guy who pulled up on a golf buggy was a real cop...started acting the eejit with him...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Fell asleep in Bilbao airport while waiting to board my flight, woke up to see the plane taxiing down the runway and taking off. Had to spend £199 for a new flight and wait in the airport for ten hours like a dope. Landed at midnight in Stansted and had to get back to North London, then had to be in work for 7am the next morning after three days on the absolute lash. Honestly wanted to die.

Was demented drunk in Athens in the middle of the day and was getting a boat out to Aegina Island, as the boat comes into the harbour I decide to be Bertie Big Lad and jump off the side to swim to shore. I swam through a load of seaweed and clean into a jellyfish or pieces of one. Got stung to high heaven and I react badly to bites and stings. It's Sunday so the chemist is closed and I'm on the beach in a bad way with waitresses from a beachside restaurant pouring bottles of vinegar on me while everyone calls me a stupid drunk fool.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 OinkOink100

Shagged a homeless one. Got Aids.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Lockheed

I was on the long walk home up a hill, ****faced, and somehow started running. Didn't even notice I'd started running until I had picked up so much pace that I could not stop myself. It was on a road in a housing estate, no grass anywhere and I was desperately looking for a way to lose some of the velocity I had acquired. Eventually my legs just gave out and I fell literally head over heels, luckily I landed on my arm, wearing a heavy jumper I managed just getting off with a bad scrape. Going back to where I fell the next day I just couldn't cop how it happened, it was an uphill stretch of road and I was a terrible runner. Maybe it was just the drunkenness and not being able to judge my speed!! I still don't get what really happened there that night and I do think I could have easily broken an arm or something worse. I ached all over the next day

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

hezarkani wrote: »
    I know a female friend who got into a wrong car thinking it was a taxi but the guy forced her out. Could have been a very different story if he wasn't a genuine bloke.

That happened to me. And she wouldnt get out. I ended up driving to a police station.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,014 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Few years ago my mate had a spare ticket to work do at Leopardstown's Thursday night races and concert.

Few pints at the free-bar and headed into town afterwards. Don't remember getting back to where we were staying, only that apparently I wasn't allowed in the hotel so slept in the car instead which was parked in thre racecourse car-park.

I woke up in said car bulling for a ****e. Trying to figure out my surroundings I spotted a partially secluded knoll that looked like an ideal makeshift toilet, so armed with a towel from the boot, away I went. Little did I know that the racecourse is popular for dog walkers, and one or two yummy mummys got an awful fright while I was squatting in the bushes in plain sight, apologising as I strained.

I have been more hungover on occasion, but never as embarassed as that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

A friend’s grandfather went for a pint in Dublin one Friday evening... 72 hours later he woke up on a boat to France.. His drinking ruined the entire family.

What is the connection between your friend waking up on a boat to France and his grandfather going for a drink in Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Alkers wrote: »
    Drunk / slept walked out of a hotel room in just my boxer shorts when trying to find the (en suite) bathroom.

that happened to me too - just before last christmas, the only night i was out in that time. wasn't even that drunk, as it was the meal + drinks for the 2 hours and then back to the hotel. had a couple of drinks my room, was reading a book but fell asleep. woke up, went to the loo as i thought, closed the door behind me and then wondered why it was so bright. then realised i was locked out of my room.

then realised i was naked.

had to walk down 4 or 5 flights of stairs, luckily, there was a staff member hoovering at the ground floor corridor, so i didn't have to actually go to reception. after he stopped laughing, he told me to go back to room and security would be up to let me in.

went to the wrong floor on the way back, nearly got caught by 2 women, back to my room and feckin' security guard took ages to get to me. I was bursting, and approaching the point where the plant at the end of the corridor would have got watered.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Probably 1986 or '87, I was leaving a niteclub in Galway one night when it started raining.

I was starving but only had a fiver left, so it was a choice of either a taxi home or food followed by a wet walk home.

As I walked towards Eyre Square, I suddenly remembered that I still had a tenner in my bank account and my atm card in my pocket, so I made a beeline for Supermacs, and purchased a snack box and drink.

With the snackbox and drink clutched closely to my chest, I walked over to the Pass Machine in Eyre Square and carefully took out my pass card.

In those days, the atm's were protected by a sliding glass panel which would retract when a card was inserted, allowing access to the keypad.

I inserted the pass card, the glass panel retracted, and I placed the snack box and drink on the atm and entered my PIN.

It was the wrong PIN, so I tried again. Wrong again! The third time I again entered the wrong PIN and the atm swallowed my card and the glass panel suddenly slides back down.

With my snack box and drink still inside!

Had to walk home in the rain still starved :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Think I was around 19/20 at the time

Got bollocked drunk, legless, booted out of a local pub and a nightclub and stumbled home taking a bad fall smashing my face to bits, honestly looked like I had been bottled, all I remember is being patched up at home by some buddies who found me on the way,
    Still have a slight scar to this day on the bridge of my nose, foolish carry on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Motivator

dilallio wrote: »
    Probably 1986 or '87, I was leaving a niteclub in Galway one night when it started raining.

I was starving but only had a fiver left, so it was a choice of either a taxi home or food followed by a wet walk home.

As I walked towards Eyre Square, I suddenly remembered that I still had a tenner in my bank account and my atm card in my pocket, so I made a beeline for Supermacs, and purchased a snack box and drink.

With the snackbox and drink clutched closely to my chest, I walked over to the Pass Machine in Eyre Square and carefully took out my pass card.

In those days, the atm's were protected by a sliding glass panel which would retract when a card was inserted, allowing access to the keypad.

I inserted the pass card, the glass panel retracted, and I placed the snack box and drink on the atm and entered my PIN.

It was the wrong PIN, so I tried again. Wrong again! The third time I again entered the wrong PIN and the atm swallowed my card and the glass panel suddenly slides back down.

With my snack box and drink still inside!

Had to walk home in the rain still starved :(

Hmmm, I’ve heard that story happen to someone in Cork, Limerick and Dublin too. Unless you’re so unlucky to have it happen on 4 or 5 occasions? 🀔

• Registered Users Posts: 37,770 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

They had ATMs in the 80s ? learn something new everyday

Remember i fell asleep in many a nightclub/pub toilet and security/staff taking me out. You need that power snooze during a heavy session

• Registered Users Posts: 9,964 ✭✭✭cena

A former friends top slipped at the end of the night. Boobs showing to everyone. I had to help her after she had one drink too many

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭tjc28

broke my ankle hopping over a fence a week before going to Glastonbury. went anyway on crutches but mud and crutches dont mix. left after day. I did not enjoy watching it on bbc

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭Jacob13

Genital warts

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭JeffreyEpspeen

I laid down on the middle of the road on a bend.

I also laid down in a ditch once and ended up in a stream somehow.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,149 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

We did, and Ireland were actually world leaders in the technology at the time! Bank of Ireland actually opened its first ATM back in 1980 in Stillorgan.

My Dad worked on the tech side of things so I got a tour of the (literally bomb-proof) bunker that hosted the mainframe the system ran on in the late 80s. I remember being most impressed at the time with a map on the wall that they'd wired with LEDs to indicate every pass machine in the country where the lights would change colours if any machine had a fault or ran out of cash. Another interesting thing about the tech at the time was that one of the lead developers responsible for the software it was running on was totally blind: he coded on a braille keyboard. Debugging code is hard enough when you can read it, must be a bloody nightmare relying on a screen reader!

I remember thinking I was going to be rich when call-cards became a collectible as in the early 90's my Dad had gone over to some Phillips R&D department in Sweden on a technology exchange program a few years earlier and had brought me home some prototype Chip & PIN cards. Surely if the Goldeneye Call Card I had was worth £20, one of these must be worth a fortune! :rolleyes: It's mad to think though, that at this time Ireland's banks IT departments were actually ahead of major tech companies! It's all changed since they out-sourced everything but they used to be literal world-beaters at tech.

A customer information system they developed which my Dad was involved with the testing of was in service for almost two decades without a single bug ever being experienced and only needed a handful of patches in that time (one of them being to allow for longer telephone numbers iirc). That kind of thing is practically unheard of in todays world of Agile Software Development...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,160 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

They first appeared about 1979. Then there was a strike by bank staff and they couldn't be used for months.