Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

A view from the boundary - off-topic discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,064 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

HonalD wrote: »
    http://www.thecricketmonthly.com/story/1124714/are-t20-leagues-making-money

Interesting article. International T10 is starting in UAE in late December with Eoin Morgan captaining a team. That's as far away from being selected by England for the Ashes as you can get!

Shame because he'd be no worse than what dross the middle order had been serving up for large parts of the summer.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Unbelievable catch in the Big Bash today.

https://twitter.com/BBL/status/955403552888832005

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,497 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Would have preferred it if he had got up off the floor and made the second catch himself!

T20 has brought a new dimension to catching though, and I've seen similar catches where the guy throws the ball up as he goes over the rope to come back into play and complete the catch. I'd never seen anything like that until the past couple of years or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

Mad under 19 game last night, Australia 127 all out. England 96 all out. Aussie leg spinner took 8-35, top score in each innings was 58. England were 47-0.

Winners of the most obvious fixers competition?

https://twitter.com/TheCricketPaper/status/958409362804019200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

That’s as blatant as you get for that level of cricket, just throwing their wickets away
    Disgraceful and really sad to see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

Seemingly it was an "unapproved tournament" which was not registered with the local cricket board (e.g. Cricket Leinster etc.) It was a privately run tournament and was telecast on Neo Sports in India and elsewhere and that's how there is footage of it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

HonalD wrote: »
    Seemingly it was an "unapproved tournament" which was not registered with the local cricket board (e.g. Cricket Leinster etc.) It was a privately run tournament and was telecast on Neo Sports in India and elsewhere and that's how there is footage of it.

It's a bit harsh to blame Cricket Leinster for this! I know they have their problems, but I don't see what they could do about this.

:D (for the hard-of-sarcasm).

As has been commented on in the tweet, not a bad knock even at that age group. Possibly a slight mismatch.

https://twitter.com/GlobalCricketer/status/962770581346234370

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,497 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Well at least they made a bit more of an effort in the 2nd innings

a great knock, poor sportsmanship in kids cricket

BBDBB wrote: »

Yeah, shame the teacher didn't act more responsibly. Could easily declare at three or four hundred. I imagine it was pretty soul destroying for the lads chasing the ball around.

Not sure - if you had a chance to make your first 1,000 run knock you might want to give it a go (I know I would, but then again getting into 2 figures was definitely a challenge for me!), particularly as time does not seem to have been an issue

Indeed and pretty boring for his teammates too

Beasty wrote: »
    Not sure - if you had a chance to make your first 1,000 run knock you might want to give it a go (I know I would, but then again getting into 2 figures was definitely a challenge for me!), particularly as time does not seem to have been an issue

To be honest Beasty Id argue the "chance" to get over a double century was pure indulgence at best let alone 5 times that.

Great we get it, you can bat, well done, what about the rest of the team? or the spectators, most likely parents and classmates of the losing team. Was it really worth rubbing their faces in it, is a question I think a fair one to level at an under 16 cricket match.

lol, thats the clip I immediately thought of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Well at least they made a bit more of an effort in the 2nd innings

Of that 52 all out, 42 came from a spirited 8th wicket partnership. Alas, Arya Gurukul were batting a man short in the second innings who might have made all the difference!

http://www.espncricinfo.com/series/958395/scorecard/958397/KC-Gandhi-English-School-vs-Arya-Gurukul-(CBSE)--Bhandari-Cup

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,655 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

To be honest Beasty Id argue the "chance" to get over a double century was pure indulgence at best let alone 5 times that.

Great we get it, you can bat, well done, what about the rest of the team? or the spectators, most likely parents and classmates of the losing team. Was it really worth rubbing their faces in it, is a question I think a fair one to level at an under 16 cricket match.

Agree 100%.

From my understanding of the match, the opposition consisted mainly of 13- and 14-year-olds, playing just to make up the numbers. I don't see the attraction of flaying them to all parts, and I completely agree that the teachers/coaches should have stepped in.

What a sensational T20 match that was. Reduced to 14 overs Lancs 175-2, Yorks fall one run short. May be disappointed with the result, but the match was fantastic nonetheless

damn, I was invited to go to that, (as designated driver!) so I made my excuses and chose not to

sometimes Im a real dope

Northants failed to defend 231 in twenty overs. Managed a draw though, which was their first point of the tournament. We really are dreadful this year, even by our usual standards, and t20 is usually the bright spot in our year.

Bowlers are all medium pace trundlers and we're getting found out, plus injuries, plus a captain who's lost the plot, last game before last night, the only bowler who was going for less than ten an over was the only one who didn't bowl out.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

Bairstow ticking along nicely for Yorkshire today. Great to have Williamson back, his 1 run over two innings could be the difference....

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭spud06

Gotta say surrey look very very good in the county championship at the moment. Yorkshire with the players they have should be doing better

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Ye should just make a county cricket thread lads, might get more posts then too

Good idea, though the season is a good way through (or already over if you're Northants).

Done: https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057895291/1/#post107615382

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

What a sensational T20 match that was. Reduced to 14 overs Lancs 175-2, Yorks fall one run short. May be disappointed with the result, but the match was fantastic nonetheless

Patto's drop of Liam Livingstone proved crucial. And it was definitely his catch!

Still, we stuffed them in the 4 day game. (At least it should have been a 4 day game but finished before lunch on day 3!)

Poor form, the bowler is well out of order
    You're on 98 and your team needs two runs for victory. A maiden century is yours for the taking.

Or is it?

Club cricketer Jay Darrell found himself in exactly that situation on Saturday - and what happened next has caused a fair bit of controversy in the Somerset Cricket League.

Instead of delivering the ball, a Purnell Cricket Club bowler chose to send it to the boundary to give away four runs and one for the no-ball - thus denying Minehead batsman Darrell his century.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/45075013

Skid X wrote: »
    Poor form, the bowler is well out of order

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/45075013

Club cricket is full of self important idiots, not surprising really, 99% of players are not self important idiots, but the 1% ruin it

Played against a bowler once, headband and wristbands, about 60, medium pace tripe, loved bowling bouncers to 12 year olds. Used to slog him nearly every ball, didn't care if I got out,he thought he was Dennis Lillee

I see the Stokes trial is going on at the moment, he does not come off well from the reports

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-bristol-45097840

I see the Stokes trial is going on at the moment, he does not come off well from the reports

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-bristol-45097840

He comes across as a nasty thug, which is of no great surprise.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Slim Charles

Backed Surrey Stars to in the KIA Super League so very happy with todays outcome. Managed to watch their innings in work, and caught the final half of Loughboroughs when I got home.

Big gap in the Sunday schedule following England's defeat today.

2 x BBL, then United at Leicester. Guess I can then watch City against Arsenal. But what can I now do until the 6 Day Cycling kicks off? Obviously the SuperBowl will follow the cycling

Maybe I'll have to go in the garage to do a bit more cycling training. I did that today but could entertain myself with the Rugby. The only stuff on terrestrial TV is the SuperBowl I think (don't have Sky in the gym:(), but that's on a bit late....

https://twitter.com/TheCricketerMag/status/1091364703962652679

Another angle here, how the hell did he make that stick

He made it stick and still was thinking about twisting to avoid the boundary board

I saw it shown on the BBL game yesterday and did a search for it online. There's a hell of a lot of brilliant catches by Roy. The game has clearly changed with the rewards of the IPL and the like and so much to be gained by saving single runs. Surely Roy could be made England's 4th Wicketkeeper/Batsman :pac:

This might be the next big fix scandal!

https://twitter.com/TheCricketGeek/status/1092376211622428674

There are no easy games in International Cricket anymore ...especially for the Mali Women's T20 team who have scored totals of 6, 11 and 10 in their most recent matches

https://www.espncricinfo.com/scores/team/1188771/mali-women

Mariam Samake anchoring the innings in that 6 all out against Rwanda with a high score of 1 (5 extras)

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/19349/commentary/1188785/rwanda-women-vs-mali-women-2nd-match-kwibuka-womens-twenty20-tournament-2019?innings=1

Skid X wrote: »
    There are no easy games in International Cricket anymore ...especially for the Mali Women's T20 team who have scored totals of 6, 11 and 10 in their most recent matches

https://www.espncricinfo.com/scores/team/1188771/mali-women

Mariam Samake anchoring the innings in that 6 all out against Rwanda with a high score of 1 (5 extras)

https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/19349/commentary/1188785/rwanda-women-vs-mali-women-2nd-match-kwibuka-womens-twenty20-tournament-2019?innings=1

They made 30-9 today, chasing 247

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Portsalon

Cricket Leinster have published their disciplinary report for the season.

https://www.cricketleinster.ie/news/disciplinary-cases-2019

Anyone know what Longford CC got up to on 7th July? Mega suspensions handed out!

A nice little melancholy film about what happened to Colin Milburn, a larger than life cricketer in the late 60s, after he lost an eye. Never saw him play but my dad always raved about his batting, and ability to put away the pints. Still have a suite named after him at Northants.

https://player.bfi.org.uk/free/film/watch-colin-milburn-1977-online

Tonight (Monday) RTE1 7.30pm Cricket's Irish Roots

https://twitter.com/Irelandcricket/status/1346089169802698753

This was some catch from the NZ Twenty 20 comp.

https://twitter.com/btsportcricket/status/1347827787575472128?s=20

Warriors knock off the 98 required in four & a half overs in the Abu Dhabi T10...

Was going to come on here a couple of days ago to say Chris Gayle is finished, would have been sensational timing in view of his 84* today off 22 balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,792 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Watching a replay of the hundred final on sky...listening to an established cricket commentator... Nasser Hussein, referring to Moeen Ali as... ‘the batter’....ffs batter is something you have on your fresh cod..

are people so easily offended now that it was thought needed to think up a new ‘all inclusive’ non ‘gender specific’ definition of a sporting position in a sport that was invented in the 18th century and to my knowledge no cricket governing body or broadcaster has successfully ever had a lawsuit aimed at it or anybody associated with calling a man playing cricket, a ‘batsman’...

i can see why it’s not going to be well received calling somebody a ‘batgirl’ but if the girls and ladies want to be called ‘batters’, no probs but I see there is more...

wickets could become... outs

https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/indians-slam-cricket-name-changes-as-batsman-becomes-batter/news-story/97a823ac087a988b3b2ed180d03b27a7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Third instead of saying third man and droping man to say just 12th. Cricinfo are all over this as are Wisden and nearly all cricket media. George Dobell says it's very important. A lot of white knights cover cricket.

Batter just sounds horrible to me and is a baseball term. Unless a male cricketer asks specifically for it I'm sticking with batsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,792 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Anybody getting in BT Sport for the ashes ? I’m reading conflicting info as regards cost with sky and they never replied to my message enquiring about it although that was this day last week....