Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cat chat: general off topic discussion.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Went cycling training in full summer gear this evening as it grand when I left, queue seven o'clock and an it opens up, brrrrrrr, 2 hours in the rain.

Soon, I'll be easily recongnisable as I've two sets of boards.ie cycling gear ordered :D

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Was on Google Earth there and looked at Kilkenny, here are some of the images:
    picture.php?albumid=1042&pictureid=6386

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Lord ButterSlip

Was on Google Earth there and looked at Kilkenny, here are some of the images:...

Wow theyre pretty good!! Presumably users make them and add them to google earth? Or maybe google makes them I dont know to be honest....

How recent are the images? ie does it have new buildings: Courthouse McDonagh etc

Wow theyre pretty good!! Presumably users make them and add them to google earth? Or maybe google makes them I dont know to be honest....

How recent are the images? ie does it have new buildings: Courthouse McDonagh etc

No courthouse or MacDonagh. Don't really know how they did it but I suspect it may have been the streetview thing they had driving around. You can see a car as part of the wall of the Post Office. Has to be recent with the 300years on the Brewery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

anybody going to any gigs this weekend?

Looking for a couple of volunteers tomorrow evening for about an hour if anyone is willing to help. Duties are to stand on a corner for 15-30 minutes wearing a hi-viz jacket and watch a few cyclists out near Kilmanagh, if anyone can help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

This seems to be the site by the person/people who are doing them up. Seems Google has a program called Sketchup for making them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Firetrap wrote: »
    This seems to be the site by the person/people who are doing them up. Seems Google has a program called Sketchup for making them up.

I've used Google Sketchup before - It's fairly intuitive but to get that level of detail takes a lot of time. Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭spikeprint

They could do a sketch of Tootsie.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Threadhead

He's pretty much everywhere at the moment.

If there's one thing the good weather will do it's bringing out Tootsie in grand wheeling fashion.

Oh Tootsie, what hijinks will you get up to next?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

His whimsical skulduggery will get him clamped one of these days, mark my words.

Tumbleweed on the boards today. Is everyone making the most of the good weather? Is anyone going to the pump house later? Haven't heard the barflies in a while.

Can somebody go out and shoot those boy racers, I want to go to sleep now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

http://url.ie/6m6g :D

I wouldn't mind using one or two of those but of course I'd be the one up in court for endangering those morons :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Its usually when they're moving that the problem is . . .back to shooting them so!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Think they might have beat you to it, heard from a reliable source that one of little sh1ts were going around town a few days ago shooting randomly at people with a bb gun from his modified dirt boxes. Feckin law unto themselves :mad:

On a completely different note, whats the story with the new glass building on the back of the Court house? is it an extension to the existing court house or is it going to be used for something else?
    Haven't been in town in ages and was suprised to see it completed, they'd only started on it last time I was in.

There's a Dunne's Stores going in there.

As some of you guys know, I cycled over to Moret sur Loing last week for the Susie Long hospice. On the way there I took some snaps and a loads of videos and put them into this one 10 minute video with a soundtrack. Of five hours of video I managed to take a minutes worth out of it :(

Nice one. Have you recovered from all that cycling yet?

Firetrap wrote: »
    Nice one. Have you recovered from all that cycling yet?

Yeah, I was out with the club again on Monday. I covered 1,200kms in eight days :)

Bit of one way traffic in the minor, hopefully the seniors will take a similar score line :) (doubtful though). If Cork win, I'll never hear the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Bit of one way traffic in the minor, hopefully the seniors will take a similar score line :) (doubtful though). If Cork win, I'll never hear the end of it.

no danger of you having to listen to any cork people after that display!!!
    what a performance.

hard to see anyone stopping them now. minors were excellent too

My tiny body has huge pain. I don't know how someone so small drank so much last night. Went to Morrisons for the first time in a year, still the same tunes (but the are good). Have to admit, I now understand completely why I stopped going out, doesn't help my single status but meh. Anyway, back to dying in the corner.

Pretty sure I seen captain Havoc today...actually the boards.ie gear pretty much means it was. Yer man leading ye was sweating like a paedophile in a playpen! must of been nearly finished the cycle.

Doubt it was me, I was cycling up the Wicklow mountains/ Dublin today. I can't actually think of who it could be unless Cabaal got his gear which I don't think he did. Could be Waterford or Carlow clubs. Post your sighting here :)

how about yesterday, black and orange it was?

Very possible it was me yesterday, I was wearing the old jersey, it's navy and orange. Here's a load of the guys wearing them:
    4679_1184953983430_1215676727_30525564_7073646_n.jpg

The normal etiquette when you see a boards jersey is just to shout boardsie :)

yup thats the one! Pfffft and make it seem like I was a poor stalker! I prefer to come post about it online *stalk*

J/k

There's four from our club who post regularly in the cycling forum and there was also another regular from this forum there with me yesterday. The reason why the lead guy would have been sweating like a paedo in a creche is because the front guy does more work than those behind because he's taking the wind resistance and those behind would be in his slipstream thus not having to work as hard, which is why cyclists will always try to be in a group.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,510 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Doubt it was me, I was cycling up the Wicklow mountains/ Dublin today. I can't actually think of who it could be unless Cabaal got his gear which I don't think he did. Could be Waterford or Carlow clubs. Post your sighting here :)

Well it wasn't me anyway, I have the new boards.ie cycle gear on order but won#'t haqve it for weeks yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭KatCookie

Whats the story with Magnums? I heard an asset recovery agency had came in because workers werent getting paid? Heard lots of rumours but havnt been in Kilkenny lately, has it closed?

This thread has gone awfully quiet over the last month . . .:pac:

Tumbleweed.gif

Anyone heading out tonight? Where do ye go in KK on a night out?

Apart from the 'I dont associate with other people and prefer to sit at home on my own and drink some cans of cheap 'superior' beer from lidl' people, obviously.

Pizza and football for me this evening. Off Monday so it'll be the Pump House for me tomorrow.

ft9 wrote: »
    Anyone heading out tonight? Where do ye go in KK on a night out?

Apart from the 'I dont associate with other people and prefer to sit at home on my own and drink some cans of cheap 'superior' beer from lidl' people, obviously.

Boards is full of that type of person . . .

Are you one of these people?

ft9 wrote: »
    Are you one of these people?

No!!!

just checkin:D

I am, except I get my superior beer in The Wine Centre.

Theres always one...

Check out the sexy dude :rolleyes: in the boards.ie gear:

I'm wearing the boards gear at the moment as my club gear doesn't fit me currently (but I still wear it racing), I actually bought the helmet and glasses to match my club gear.

Are we going to attempt to have Christmas beers this year?

probably not, People never agree to drink in the same pub

Are we going to attempt to have Christmas beers this year?

Start a thread about it!!!

I organised last years mega savge session, I think it's someone elses trn this year

Where did ye go?

BTW i'm not offering to organise anything . . .

Over in the new lidl today (I realised I didn't have a wheel brace for the car last week), it was packed. They're doing a spend €50 and spin a wheel where you can win a 4 pack of chewits, Belgian chocolates, a key ring or €50 voucher for LIDL (there isn't a snowballs chance in hell of getting this one), also they have like a special reduced section with hands free for €10 which I bought, remote control cars for €25, a circular saw for sfa and a couple of other things. I'm pretty happy that LIDL have come over to this side of town.

Happy Christmas everybody