Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin County North Event Thread - NO CHAT

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

Hello folks If your looking for a good night out and want to support a very worthy cause

Cystic Fibrosis Charity Night...
    for the opening night of
    "little Gem"
    at the
    Millbank Theatre Rush
    on
    Wednesday September 7th at 8.30pm.
    Tickets €15
    from Colm Leonard on 086 8092581
    or Deirdre on 086 3418970.
    Enjoy a great night out with your friends and support a great cause !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 lalasmam

Donabate Portrane Dramatic Society presents

The Real Inspector Hound by Tom Stoppard and supporting sketches.

Thurs , Fri 8,9 & 15,16 Sep at 8:30 in Keelings Little Theatre, Donabate. Tickets €10 on the door.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

http://www.rumbleinrush.moonfruit.com/rumble-in-rush-6/4549789353
    Mma event aka UFC style fighting is on tomorrow Saturday the 10th of September in rush, St Maurs Gaa club

Tickets only 25 euro and available on the door, full bar and doors open at 6.30pm, 1st fight 7.30

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 242 ✭✭kjbsrah1

Team of 4 persons, €5 per person, Proceeds in aid of the RNLI Lifeboat in Skerries. Quiz being held in O'Dwyers GAA Club in Balbriggan on Thursday 22nd September 2011 at 8pm. Up to 40 teams expected. ALL PROCEEDS ON THE NIGHT GO TO THE SKERRIES RNLI LIFEBOAT. Prizes for 1st, 2nd and 3rd teams donated by Tesco Balbriggan.

As the services of the Skerries RNLI Lifeboat was invaluable during the recent tragedy, your support would be greatly appreciated.

This event is part of Balbriggan Community Safety Awareness Week and is organised by Balbriggan Community Policing Forum. Any queries in relation to it please contact Louise Butler on 086-7716811 or check out www.cpforum.ie

Hope to see you there!

Balbriggan Gardaí are holding a late night football league community tournament in the Glebe North Football Club on Friday the 23rd of September 2011 from 9-11pm. This is open to boys and girls. There will be two age categories: 13-15 years and 16-19 years of age. Teams to be of 5 persons with 1 person spare (6 in total). If you don't have a team come along and join up with others that don't have a full team.

This is a one night event, not an ongoing league (this will be happening at a later date).

The prize for the winning team in each category is being brought by Balbriggan Gardaí to the Aviva for the Ireland v Armenia world cup qualifer football match. So if you know anyone from the Balbriggan area that would like to take part please encourage them to come along. Balbriggan Gardaí have visited every class in each secondary school within Balbriggan Town over the past week to publicise this event.

This event is part of Balbriggan Community Safety Awareness Week and is organised by Balbriggan Community Policing Forum. Any queries in relation to it please contact Louise Butler on 086-7716811 or check out www.cpforum.ie. Also please contact Balbriggan Community Gardaí on 01-8020510.

Hope to see plenty of people there. The Football league is always a massive success, so hopefully this will be too. Also it will keep all these youths off the streets potentially causing unease for others!

On Friday the 23rd of September from 9am-1pm, Balbriggan Farmers Market will incorporate stalls for 15 different safety organisations to showcase their services. These organisations will include Internet Safety, Farm Safety, amongst many others. I mention these two in particular as people often have questions but are unsure where to look for answers. The Internet Safety HQ which distributes information about keeping your children safe online (amongst other topics) will have a stall and will have a member of staff available to answer questions.

Also present on this day will students from a local secondary school choir accompanied by the Garda Band. Local schools in Balbriggan have been invited to look at the stands and engage with the different services that will be present on the day. Light refreshments and goodie bags will be available.

There will be a FREE Tea Party and everyone is welcome to this.

As the emphasis will be on safety, free personal alarms will be distributed to elderly persons. If you know someone who is elderly, who lives in the Balbriggan area, please encourage them to come to this event. The tea party will be a wonderful opportunity for them to meet other elderly persons, and it may well be one of a very small number of outings that person may have this year. If you are aware of any elderly persons who are unable to attend, please contact the Community Gardaí in Balbriggan Garda Station on 01-8020510 and leave your contact details and you will be contacted asap.

This event is part of Balbriggan Community Safety Awareness Week and is organised by Balbriggan Community Policing Forum. Any queries in relation to it please contact Louise Butler on 086-7716811 or check out www.cpforum.ie

Balbriggan Garda Station is opening its doors on Saturday the 24th of September from 2-5pm. The Station will be open to the community and everyone is encouraged to come along and meet their local Gardaí. The day will consist of tours of the Station and its facilities and there will be an opportunity to engage with the local Detectives, Traffic Corp, Drugs Unit, Community Gardaí, Garda Reserves as well as to check out the Garda Vehicles.

Various other specialist Units will be present (Mounted Unit, Dog Unit, Sub-Aqua Unit, Public Order and Regional Support Unit) depending on their availabilty (no incident occurs that requires them to be elsewhere).

Children's entertainment and light refreshments will be available.

For children in particular, it will be an opportunity to mock handcuff their mum/dad, get their fingerprints taken, have their mugshot taken (and have as a souvenier), and look inside the Garda Car and Garda Van.

For adults, it will be an opportunity to speak with the Drugs Officers present if they have any questions or concerns. The Divisional Crime Prevention Officer will also be present to give advice and information in relation to Crime Prevention and to also answer any questions you may have about keeping your home/belongings/or self safe.

If you have anti-social concerns about the area you live in, you will have the opportunity to identify and speak with the Community Garda for your estate/area.

Come along and see for yourself how An Garda Síochána is making our community a safer place to live!

This event is part of Balbriggan Community Safety Awareness Week and is organised by Balbriggan Community Policing Forum. Any queries in relation to it please contact Louise Butler on 086-7716811 or check out www.cpforum.ie. Also you can contact Balbriggan Community Gardai on 01-8020510.

Every class in every school in Balbriggan was visited by the Community Gardaí over the past week and every child/student was given an information poster with full details to bring home.

On Sunday the 25th of September 2011, in the Church Carpark on Dublin Street, from 1-5pm, there will be a number of demonstrations taking place with the emphasis on Safety.

The Road Safety Authority (RSA) will have its shuttle bus and the Audi A4 Roll Over Simulator (test your skill behind the wheel in a driving simulator, check your brake response time, try a mock driving theory test, amongst other things). Also with the Roll Over Simulator, which is height restricted, you sit in (driver, front seat passenger, with up to 3 rear seat passengers), get strapped in with seat belts, and then feel what it is like to be in a car that rolls! The idea here is to get an idea of what it would be like to be in a car accident while NOT wearing your seat belt. This always proves to be a massive crowd draw at road safety events around the country.

Also on the same day at the same time, the Irish Coast Guard will present a demonstration on what they do, and will have many of their personnel and equipment present - water safety trailer, rescue jeep, cliff rescue team, lifejacket clinics and flare demonstrations, patrol boat and crew, the coast guard helicopter will perform a fly-over.

And the Dublin Civil Defence will be there too. They will have their fire appliances, incident command unit, hagglund all terrain tracked vehicle, water rescue tender, and their 4x4 Ford Ranger jeep.

And the piece de resistance!!! From 3-4pm the Dublin Fire Brigade will be doing a car crash rescue re-enactment. Experience the re-enactment of a rescue of car crash victims from an accident scene. This is usually a huge talking point and is massively impressive for those fortunate to see it - there will be casualties and usually this rescue will entail the cutting off of the top of a car - exactly like so many road traffic collisions where someone complains of a back or neck injury!

Hope to see as many people as possible there. A massive amount of organising has gone onto this long weekend of activities in an effort to make people think about different aspects of safety.

Rush Library Camera Group are holding its first exhibition to celebrate its first birthday.

The exhibition opens in Rush Library next Monday 3rd of October. There will be a lot of photos showing our various outings and trying to keep it fairly local- In Fingal Each member has put in photographs showing how the Group have developed their skills over the last 12 months. Its free in and some prints can bepurchased.

Rush Community Council are continuing their great work and have organised a great family fun run and walk

The Christmas Rush Fun Run
    Sunday 4th of December 12.00pm

All Christmas Costumes and Santa hats welcome.
    Please complete this form and return to Rush Community Centre or Iguazu Beauty Therapy with €10.00 entry fee. Entry fee can be paid by cash or cheque made out to Rush Chamber of Commerce. Thank you.
    We will also be taking entry’s on the day but time is limited. Please be at the Community Centre at 11.45 for briefing.

There are 4 catagories
    • 10k Run
    • 10k walk
    • 5k 5un
    • 5k walk
    So something for all the family and who knows you might your mug shot on here........

For further information please contact info@rushcoco.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Dublin Mark

It is the 3rd annual Skerries Town FC comedy night Friday December 2nd at Blue Bar

Acts include:
    Headline Act - Andrew Stanley (Grabbed from the TV – RTE ‘I Dare Ya’ and performed at the Montreal, Edinburgh & Kilkenny Cats Laugh Festival)
    MC for the Night - Steve Cummins (Resident MC at Laughter Lounger and 'as seen’ on the wireless with 98FM, Last Word and Newstalk)
    Support from - Mark Cahill, Greg Marks, Geo and Special Guests..

Tickets €10 on the door

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

Friends of Autism and ADHD are delighted to be able to invite the
    community from the Fingal area to a showing of the film the Black
    Balloon.DECEMBER 8 ,6.30 BALBRIGGAN TOWN HALL

Thomas is turning 16. His dad's in the army and they've just moved to
    a town in New South Wales; his mom is pregnant; his older brother,
    Charlie, who's autistic, has his own adolescent sexual issues. Thomas
    finds Charlie an embarrassment in public, so when Thomas is attracted
    to Jackie, a girl in his swim class, Charlie presents any number of
    obstacles when she drops by their house, when the three of them go for
    a walk, and during a family birthday dinner. Can Thomas find a way to
    enter the world of teen romance and still be his brother's keeper, or
    is Charlie's disability going to prove more than Thomas can handle?
    THIS FILM IS CERT 15.

The event will be followed at 8 o'clock by an awards ceremony where
    local schools will be awarded funding. Also on the night Friends of
    Autism and ADHD will be launching the Fingal AED Program in
    conjunction with Lenster first aid, in memory of the late Derek
    Earley.

Members of the community will gain the opportunity to speak with Adam
    and get more information on or sign up for training the use of the
    defibulater .
    Refreshments will be served.Please confirm your attendance by
    contacting Bernie Hagen on 018020484 or adhdfingal@gmail.com

This Tuesday in Rush Community Centre at 8.30 the official launch of R.O.O.T.S. takes place
    What R.O.O.T.S. could do is
    • re Establish the farmers Market
    • Set up a community garden
    • Develop a small business centre
    • Establish a local skills network
    • Set up a food cooperative
    • Organise local food events
    Why bother
    • Kenure house gone
    • Derilict buildings
    • We have lived with Baleally
    • Have impositions from Eirgrid and Tesco in Town
    • The final straw could be the sewage plant
    Tuesday night 8.30 is your chance to play a part. So please put it in your diary and breathe more energy back in to Rush

Now its time we turned the tables and re-activate the community, YOUR COMMUNITY

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

just to let you know, local soccer team (to balbriggan and balrothery!) Ringcommon Wanderers FC have organised a 10km sponsored walk/run this weekend on sunday 11th December from Ringcommon Sports Centre to balriggan church and back.

The manager and some players who organised the event, will be involved. Also some members of the Reserve Defence Forces will be taking part and will run the distance on the day carrying weighted backpacks.

The whole thing is for a very good cause, Balbriggan Cancer Support Group.

If you are interested in supporting it, or taking part let us know.

You can contact the Balbriggan Cancer Support Group directly or myself as a member of Ringcommon Wanderers and I can give you all of the details etc.

We are looking for sponsorship too so donations would be gratefully accepted on the day.

At the very least come out and cheer everyone on :)

hope we get the weather for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭ac20

what time does it start at?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭Morpheus

12 noon out in ringcommons. Numbers actually doing it are low enough at the minute but the more the merrier :)

FREE INFORMATION EVENING FOR PARENTS

Anchor Childcare in conjunction with Fingal County Childcare Committee is facilitating a practical, information evening on Nutrition on Wednesday 14th December.

Gaye Godkin a Public Health Nutritionist will be visiting the centre to talk to parents from 6pm – 8pm about the importance of nutrition for growing children.

Topics discussed on the night will include:

Establishing positive behaviours

Mindful eating, Positive mealtimes

Essential Nutrients

Reading food labels

Food as nourishment (breakfast, snacks and main meals)

All parents are welcome to this FREE workshop. Places are limited so if you are interested in attending the information session please register your interest by ringing the manager Jean Melia or Ailish on 8399025

Kind regards

Jean Melia
    Centre Manager

Anchor Childcare Centre
    First Floor
    Racecourse Shopping Centre
    Grange Road
    Baldoyle
    Dublin 13

Phone: 01 8399025
    Fax: 01 8394937
    Email: anchorchildcare@eircom.net

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Alan Farrell

5th ANNUAL GOAL CHRISTMAS MILE5TH Annual GOAL Christmas Mile, Malahide Castle, Christmas Day 11am - 12pm.

For the fifth year running I am arranging a charitable walk in aid of the charity ‘GOAL’ in Malahide Demesne.

The GOAL Mile is a fun way for local people to start off their Christmas Day whilst also helping a worthy charity. Participants are asked to walk, jog or run a one mile circuit which will be marked out in the Demesne.

These events are held by GOAL throughout the country and I can vouch that they are both enjoyable and very worthwhile. Both serious runners and those looking for an enjoyable Christmas morning stroll can partake in the event; last years the Malahide Mile attracted over 200 participants and since 2007 you have helped raise in excess of €15,000.

The event will take place between 11am and Noon on the morning of December 25th and will begin at the rear car park of the Malahide Castle, off the Back Road.

Donations can be made on the day, by requesting a sponsorship card or at http://www.goal.ie/

I very much look forward to seeing you on the day. May I also take this opportunity to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a peaceful & prosperous New Year.

PIETA HOUSE
    centre for the the prevention of suicide and self harm

CHARITY CHELTENHAM PREVIEW NIGHT
    The Strand Bar, Rush, Monday Feb 27, 8pm
    Admission: €10

Cheltenham Festival expert panel:
    Jockey Andrew Lynch, who won last year's Champion Chase on board Sizing Europe.
    Top trainer and TV sensation Peter Casey,
    Legendary Monaghan trainer Oliver Brady, Guarenteed crack with Mr Brady
    Leading Irsih and Local trainer Ado McGuinness,
    Top tipster Brian Flanagan from The Irish Daily Star
    with TV3's Denis Kirwan doing MC on the night.

A great nights entertainment in store whether you are a punter or not.
    The assembled panel are all terrific charachters and experts when it comes to horse racing.
    This is your oppertunity to rub shoulders with the cream of Irish racing and maybe get a few tips for the Cheltenham festival into the bargain.

LAST year top jockey Andrew Lynch gave lucky punters a 10-1 winning tip for Cheltenham and he’s coming back to Rush again on February 27!
    Lynch returns to the annual charity Cheltenham preview night in Rush’s Strand Bar, in aid of Pieta House, after tipping and then riding Sizing Europe to success at the Cotswolds 12 months ago.
    “I’m delighted to returning to Rush for the Cheltenham night and hopefully I can give the punters a few more winners,” said Lynch.
    “Last year was fantastic for me at Cheltenham and fingers crossed I have some cracking chances again this time with the likes of Rubi Light and Sizing Europe.”
    The Ashbourne jockey will be joined again by an all-star cast including Peter Casey, who recently became a Youtube sensation for his comments
    to Tracy Piggott on RTE.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

In preparation for the Skerries St Patrick's Day Parade...

Entry forms for floats and walkers should be handed in to Marion in The Shoe Horn or Paula in P.Marry & Associates by March 12th. There is an entry form in Skerries News and they are also available in the Shoe Horn and P.Marry & Associates.

Stewards for the parade are badly needed. Musicians for street performing before the parade are welcomed. Stewards and musicians should contact chamberofcommerceskerries@gmail.com.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Rumble in Rush 7 takes place in St maurs GAA club March 31st
    Mixed Martial Arts event featuring fighters from Rush, Lusk Skerries and from around Ireland

Tickets are on sale now through www.rushfightacademy.ie and the website to see who is fighting etc is www.rumbleinrush.moonfruit.com
    The last 6 have been very succesful and have gone down great with all in attendance so if you've never been to an MMA event get down to see what all the fuss is about..

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭Peckham

The Dublin Marathon committee have announced a new race as part of their race series leading up to the Dublin Marathon in October. Up until this year there have been 5 mile, 10 mile and Half Marathon races in Phoenix Park.

In 2012 this is now supplemented with a 10k race in Swords on 22nd July.

Email was sent to previous participants this morning, quoting the following:
    new event is added this year with a 10K in Swords on Sunday July 22nd. All other events will be held in the Phoenix Park starting at the usual time of 10am. The 5 Mile will now be held on June 30th, with the new 10K next on July 22nd, the 10 Mile is next on August 25th and the series will finish on September 15th with the Half Marathon

Short notice but anyway

Ward Union hunt host a Point to Point in Malahow House tomorrow Sunday 25th March from 9.30am.

Great day out with plenty of action over the jumps.

The course is situated between Nags Head and Garristown and sign posted from old Dublin Belfast Rd.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Hi folks:

I've been following the trial & tribulations, & more recently the amazing progress of little Elie. She's been in the wars to say the least. If you have a few minutes read this. tl;dr? - She's had to undergo many major surgeries for to fix Tracheo-Oesophageal Fistula with Long Gap Oesophageal Atresia.

Anyway, there's an Operation Elie Golf Classic on April 14th in Swords Open Golf Club. If you know people who love a round of golf then please get them to participate in what will be a fun day.

Phil Conway is organizing the golf tournament in Swords. The details are as follows...

If you can get a team together, just send your information to Paula or Philip (details below) and they will set you up with your tee time. Alternatively, if you’d like to take part and haven’t got a team, send in your name and teams will be made up of the separate entrants.

Philip Conway - philip.conway1@gmail.com
    Paula Coghlan - ptcoghlan@gmail.com
    http://www.eliemadden.com/Site/Events.html

Thanks,

tHB

Play by DRAIOCHT "When the Cats Away"
    at Loreto Convent Balbriggan, in aid of ADHD Thursday 26th April , admission €10 pay on the door or tickets available from Friends of Autism and ADHD, Skerries and Balbriggan.

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭midonogh

Skerries is hosting the final stage of the An Post Ras for the seventh time on Sunday 27 May. The Blackhills and lanes around Ardgillan make for great spectator points, but for the real atmosphere come down into the village where we hope to have upwards of 3,000 people on Strand Street again.

Its not just about the bikes, there will be something for all the family as Strand Street comes alive at 12.30pm when the Street Party begins. Clowns will entertain the crowds with balloon modelling and magic tricks galore. There will be bouncing castles, face painting, street games and funfair stalls and a wide selection of street party food to tempt your taste buds. There will also be a play area for toddlers. The Skerries Craft Market will display an array of goods, all made by local craftspeople. These are just some of the activities planned to delight the crowds before the main attraction commences at around 3pm when the cyclists begin to speed into town.

Check out our Facebook page
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/An-...72855439428127

Hopefully we will see a few of you there
    Cheers
    midonogh

Mods I could not find the events thread, you might move this post to there if that is appropriate - thanks

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,570 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

midonogh wrote: »

Mods I could not find the events thread, you might move this post to there if that is appropriate - thanks
    Page 2;)

Threads merged

Beasty

This week end will see 7 lads from NCD play in All Ireland U/21 Football final for Dublin v Roscommon in Tullamore.

Danny Byrne, Luke Fletcher and Ciaran Reddin St. Maurs
    Jack Smith and Harry Dawson Skerries
    Gary Seeaver Ballyboughal. There is also Gary Sweeney from St Sylvesters

Its a far cry from the days when no players from out this far were even considered so good luck to them all.

The pitch it Tullamore is about a 1 1/2 drive and hopefully a big crowd from N.C.D will make the trip

I may have missed another lad from St Sylvesters so please let me know

FRIENDS OF AUTISM & ADHD

Aspergers Teacher Training Course
    2 Day Course
    12th May & 19th May 2012 10am to 4pm
    Town Hall Balbriggan

This training is open to all teachers, SNA,
    childcare workers. Limited places are available.

Themes Covered:
    History of Asperger’s Syndrome
    Asperger’s Syndrome as a medical condition
    Recognising Asperger’s Syndrome in the classroom
    Problems in the areas of English, Mathematics, History Geography, Religion.
    Using S.P.H.E. in the education of pupils with
    Asperger’s Syndrome
    Strategies to use in the classroom
    General problems in social situations
    General provision in education for pupils with
    Asperger’s Syndrome
    Understanding and working with parents of a child with
    Asperger’s Syndrome
    Recent legislation

Ph Bernie Hagen or Katherine Mooreland to reserve a place 018020484
    FUNDED BY FRIENDS OF AUTISM AND ADHD

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Fingallians GAA Club ground has been chosen for the open training session for Dublin’s senior footballers and hurlers on Friday, May 11 from 7-9pm.

Itinerary: Dublin GAA Open Training and Media Event.
    Fingallians GAA Club Friday 11th May 2012
    7.30pm – 8pm: Players and Management meet and greet with the Media.
    Fan pictures with the Sam Maguire with Dublin backdrop

8pm – 8.30pm: Fun training session with the Dublin Senior Footballers and Hurlers
    6 Stations: 3 hurling & 3 Football

8.30pm – 9pm: Crossbar Challenge - hurling and football to be judged by players