Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ruining a wedding

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

whitey1 wrote: »
    Not a wedding, but a funeral

A distant relation (through marriage) of the deceased did 2 things in the run up to a funeral that caused so much tension that the ERU were activated. Cant go into too many details but one of the things involved a request for tickets for the All Ireland Final. I’ll leave it up to your imagination.

Get back here and elaborate!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

A distant relation (through marriage) of the deceased did 2 things in the run up to a funeral that caused so much tension that the ERU were activated. Cant go into too many details but one of the things involved a request for tickets for the All Ireland Final. I’ll leave it up to your imagination.

I'm going to suggest that lads were winding up a Mayo crowd.

• Registered Users Posts: 243 ✭✭md323

I'm guessing the deceased wasn't going to be using their ticket so someone asked could they use it?😬

• Registered Users Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

josip wrote: »
    If you want to know what a girl will be like when she's older, look at her mother :D

... Then get your brother to ride her, I guess

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭whitey1

md323 wrote: »
    I'm guessing the deceased wasn't going to be using their ticket so someone asked could they use it?😬

Correct-and the deceased’s family wouldn’t be needing theirs either and a not so subtle approach was made

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 22,303 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Correct-and the deceased’s family wouldn’t be needing theirs either and a not so subtle approach was made

What a legend

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,905 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

ontour2 wrote: »
    From behind the bar...

Possibly the most hideous wedding cake I have ever seen, it was 5 tiers with pink icing and pictures of the bride and groom printed in icing. Later in the evening it came to cutting the cake up to send out with the evening food. Bride had identified the tier that she wanted us to cut. Brought the cake in and started to cut it and inside was styrofoam. Went back to find a heavier tier and luckily found one, cut in and it was cake! However this cake must have been the subject of some science experiment as it was so dry that it could not be served, would have been easier to eat the styrofoam.

Time to consult with the mother of the groom as she seemed sound and we were fairly sure she did not make the cake. Luckily the hotel served a classic oxford lunch so 2 bar staff and the mother of the groom, transplanted the icing to the oxford lunch 'glueing' it with honey and sent it out. Some of the icing photos got distorted so we strategically cut the slices.

Next morning over breakfast the bride was raving about the cake that was ludicrously expensive and wanted the rest cut up and to give to guests before they left. Mother of the groom decided that the sham was over and told her new daughter in law about the disaster of a cake. She was polite about it but apparently she had offered to make the cake and that offer was rejected as the bride wanted the 'special cake'!

Bahahaha! My mother in law makes an absolutely savage chocolate biscuit cake and she offered to do it for our wedding but I said no because I felt bad giving her the trouble.

Apparently she had also offered to my brother in law and his wife for their wedding, and they declined because they wanted this specific cake maker etc. I mentioned their cake further up the thread but it was burnt and like in your case, the hotel luckily had cake on hand that they could serve up to the guests.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭Homelander

Trying to have class sounds very depressing, if a relative's fling can ruin your wedding. What did people think happened at weddings?!

A relative? That sort of trivialises it. It's not exactly unreasonable to be upset at your mother riding your new brother-in-law on your wedding day with the entire reception aware of it.

There's 30 thousand other days in your life where you can trot out the "it's a free world and my business is my business" spiel, but your daughter's wedding day is not one of them.

Homelander wrote: »
    A relative? That sort of trivialises it. It's not exactly unreasonable to be upset at your mother riding your new brother-in-law on your wedding day with the entire reception aware of it.
    I still think that's hilarious.

Let's leave mothers out of of this. If my Dad had been riding my girlfriend's sister, I genuinely think I'd find that funny. Why are we taking this so personally? It's between themselves. People have flings at weddings, that story is as old as the original testament.

Maybe it's because I'm not married that I cannot understand. I don't doubt this is offensive to some people, but it does kinda remind me of those kids who would throw a fit if something happened on their birthday that was not about their birthday.

I fully believe the disparagement is genuine, but personally it's a mystery.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭ontour2

From behind the bar....

A French bloke was at a wedding where his girlfriend was a bridesmaid. He got caught up in the wonderment of the Irish weddings and as the band were about to take a break, he borrowed the microphone, spoke emotionally for about 2 minutes about his amazing girlfriend and then proposed to her.

The crowd reaction could best be described as 'mixed'. His nationality saved him from getting lynched. All credit to the bride, I think she was more worried that her friend might say 'yes' to this eejit.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,028 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

From behind the bar....

A French bloke was at a wedding where his girlfriend was a bridesmaid. He got caught up in the wonderment of the Irish weddings and as the band were about to take a break, he borrowed the microphone, spoke emotionally for about 2 minutes about his amazing girlfriend and then proposed to her.

The crowd reaction could best be described as 'mixed'. His nationality saved him from getting lynched. All credit to the bride, I think she was more worried that her friend might say 'yes' to this eejit.

So she declined?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

@ontour2..

I hope the book deal negotiations are going well!!

So she declined?

I think she declined to answer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

Toots wrote: »
    Apparently she had also offered to my brother in law and his wife for their wedding, and they declined because they wanted this specific cake maker etc. I mentioned their cake further up the thread but it was burnt and like in your case, the hotel luckily had cake on hand that they could serve up to the guests.

A cousin of my wife's who is very odd (the cousin, not the wife...), and whose husband visibly drools while he clearly leers at my wife, offered to make our cake as a wedding present / thank you for inviting them. Problem was we had no intention of inviting them... but the wife was too polite to say anything. Your man spent most of the evening telling me it was the best day of his life, and kept trying to hug me even though he was sweating from doing air guitar so much he looked like he had jumped into a lake.

I wouldnt go as far as ruin the day but I had an aunt annoy me, my wife, my mother and god knows who else wanting to see the table plan to make sure her 30 year old daughter was at her table and wasn't "with strangers" for about 2 hours between church and dinner. She was relentless. I had put the daughter at a designated "singles" table but her mother wasnt having it.

I was also called to intervene in a row at a table where 9 people were trying to sit where there were only 8 places. A cousin of mine was demanding to know who was there that shouldnt be. Turns out it was him; he never bothered replying to the invite, and just turned up on the day.

At the announcement / bit where the hotel manager welcomes you into the dining room, he got my wifes name wrong. He also was aghast that we weren't having the priest at the top table or saying grace, and asked the priest to do it over the microphone even though we told him not to. Priest told me afterwards he was happy to be down the back, he could have a drink without anyone watching him

• Registered Users Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Homelander wrote: »

There's 30 thousand other days in your life where you can trot out the "it's a free world and my business is my business" spiel, but your daughter's wedding day is not one of them.

A day that won't easily be forgotten, like so may other weddings at least.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,613 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Having a touch of class, or aspiring to, is never “depressing.”

It’s about being a decent human being, being respectful and considerate of others, being motivated to improve oneself and also showing others that you make an effort to look good and respect yourself.

Riding the mother of the bride at her wedding is as far from classy as you can get. To me it shows how little the mother of the bride really thought of her daughter and her big day. Drink is no excuse for such antics. There’s a thing called “delayed gratification” - mature adults understand and respect this concept.

From many of the posts here it seems many of these wedding disaster antics - some hilarious, some cringeworthy, some heartbreaking - were at weddings where class was very thin on the ground...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,028 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

JupiterKid wrote: »

From many of the posts here it seems many of these wedding disaster antics - some hilarious, some cringeworthy, some heartbreaking - were at weddings where class was very thin on the ground...
    I agree totally but the stories are great for our amusement :D

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭KevRossi

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭angeleyes

I photographed a Traveller wedding once (a friend asked me to do it as she was doing the album) but it was a wedding as well as a christening. I arrived at the Bride's house and one poor flower girl was crying as her feet were pushed into shoes too small for her. Both families were lovely and were so nice to me during the day. I got to the church wanting to get shots of the groom and his best man and the groom's son. The child was cute but had a black eye and would only do a boxing pose. I spent hours in photoshop "fixing" the black eye. The bridal party arrived and there had been a clothes collection - literally dropped at the entrance to the church and I moved as much as I could but I had to push the Bride and her dad right into the corner to avoid black plastic bags in the photo.. The musician and singer didn't turn up so the priest had to use piped music. The wedding was beautiful but when couple's baby was being christened I couldn't get any shots as I was edged out by guests with their phones. We got to the hotel and nothing was really laid on for them, they kinda had to sneak into the hotel which I thought was heart breaking. I was invited to stay with them for the meal, but I had to tear home as I was shooting another wedding the next day for the aforementioned friend and wanted to download the images. I would have loved to have stayed with them as they were nothing but nice to me. Actually once of the nicer weddings I've ever had to photograph.

From behind the bar.....

Very run-of-the-mill weddings with a two piece wedding band that had played many times and had a good reputation. One of the guests got up to sing and very unluckily tripped on some wires and went head first towards the keyboard player. Keyboard player managed to grab the keyboard but the guy falling used the stand to break his fall and the arm of the stand went straight into the keyboard player's laptop.

Everyone was fine, however laptop was dead and we all soon realised how much of the music was the backing tracks or whatever else the laptop was doing connected to the keyboard. In fairness to the two lads they tried but is was like watching a balloon deflate, atmosphere was lost. And no disco/ dj as it was also on the laptop. Even their light sequences ran off the laptop.

... I am sure some people had very nice conversations with relatives they have not seen in a while....... ( attempting a positive spin...)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,740 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

nd no disco/ dj as it was also on the laptop. Even their light sequences ran off the laptop.

No backup is shocking

A DJ solely relying a laptop is a risk, particularly for a wedding - ideally, it should just complement turntables / CDJs.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭KevRossi

5906gr.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,664 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

From behind the bar.....

Very run-of-the-mill weddings with a two piece wedding band that had played many times and had a good reputation. One of the guests got up to sing and very unluckily tripped on some wires and went head first towards the keyboard player. Keyboard player managed to grab the keyboard but the guy falling used the stand to break his fall and the arm of the stand went straight into the keyboard player's laptop.

Everyone was fine, however laptop was dead and we all soon realised how much of the music was the backing tracks or whatever else the laptop was doing connected to the keyboard. In fairness to the two lads they tried but is was like watching a balloon deflate, atmosphere was lost. And no disco/ dj as it was also on the laptop. Even their light sequences ran off the laptop.

... I am sure some people had very nice conversations with relatives they have not seen in a while....... ( attempting a positive spin...)

I've witnessed so many of those 2 man bands, and tbh, all but one would've been better with just the machine doing its thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,694 ✭✭✭ablelocks

**** sake - went to a lovely ceremony in Armagh today - arrived back to the reception and the marquee has been taken down, gardai everywhere and all dressed up with nowhere to go now...

Wedding, ruined.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,435 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

ablelocks wrote: »
    **** sake - went to a lovely ceremony in Armagh today - arrived back to the reception and the marquee has been taken down, gardai everywhere and all dressed up with nowhere to go now...

Wedding, ruined.

I hope you at least admired the false tan and distinctive attire. :D

There might even have been a few attractive guards to distract you.

Wedding, ruined.

Ah but the good news is that it was only the decoy marquee to round up all the Gardai!
    3 miles down the road there are currently 400 guests in a proper size marquee singing along to Christy Moore performing 'Ride On'.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭Be right back

Wedding, ruined.

The poor bride and groom. Are they holding up ok?? The guards are such spoilsports.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Wedding, ruined.
    Who Lernt Ya 2 Rite Like Dat? U Wanabee Country Person.
    Gwan away n do sum Homewrk 4 ye;

This Is For The Blonde Bimbo With The Nits crawling around her roots Layin little ****ty nit babies to crawl all around her skull ****in tramp side show bob I'm gona make an example of ya u horrid filthy animal whores **** , You've a face der like like u got trampled on by a horse up der in Ballinasloe, atein d tablets U ugly junkies deseased pest of a young wan Gwan away n get a nose job for urself it's like a god dam curly wurly...you've more mileage on ya than a Dented Ford Escort. Your not even wort the status but I said I'd write it anyway for the sneer now **** off u ram your like a belted lizard roaming through the desert looking for shelter but u Hav it wit the nose on ya !!!! Now go back to ur carving of tomb stones u freak

(from the dumb Facebook thread.)

Who Lernt Ya 2 Rite Like Dat? U Wanabee Country Person.
    Gwan away n do sum Homewrk 4 ye;

This Is For The Blonde Bimbo With The Nits crawling around her roots Layin little ****ty nit babies to crawl all around her skull ****in tramp side show bob I'm gona make an example of ya u horrid filthy animal whores **** , You've a face der like like u got trampled on by a horse up der in Ballinasloe, atein d tablets U ugly junkies deseased pest of a young wan Gwan away n get a nose job for urself it's like a god dam curly wurly...you've more mileage on ya than a Dented Ford Escort. Your not even wort the status but I said I'd write it anyway for the sneer now **** off u ram your like a belted lizard roaming through the desert looking for shelter but u Hav it wit the nose on ya !!!! Now go back to ur carving of tomb stones u freak

(from the dumb Facebook thread.)

'... you've more mileage on ya than a Dented Ford Escort.'

• Registered Users Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I've heard of a case some years back where two weddings were ruined where both Bride and Groom walked out on their wedding day. The other Bride and Groom were left at the Altars so to speak.

The Bride and Groom that left their weddings married each other!