Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anti Prostitution Radio Advertisements

• 05-03-2020 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭

This morning shortly after 8am this ad came on the radio, I was driving my 12 year old daughter to school.

Can’t see the rationale for ads like this on the radio never mind the time they’re broadcast at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭anewme

AmberGold wrote: »
    This morning shortly after 8am this ad came on the radio, I was driving my 12 year old daughter to school.

Can’t see the rationale for ads like this on the radio never mind the time they’re broadcast at.

Who is the ad from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭AmberGold

anewme wrote: »
    Who is the ad from

Couldn’t tell you tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Who is the ad from

Ruhama.

What did it say OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭perrito caliente

Don't worry, bro. Your kid can't hear the voices in your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭sugarman20

Heard them too on radio 1 this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

Targeting pervs driving around in their cars

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭BanditLuke

Don't see the issue in the evening time after 9 or so but ridiculous having them on that hour of the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

hurikane wrote: »
    Targeting pervs driving around in their cars

Is curb crawling still a thing?

First they came for the socialists...

BanditLuke wrote: »
    Don't see the issue in the evening time after 9 or so but ridiculous having them on that hour of the morning.

Sounds like it has had an effect. It’s stuck with people and now it’s being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,993 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

The add is man hating - to be honest, it takes two to tango.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭markfinn

Feisar wrote: »
    Is curb crawling still a thing?

Among people old enough to be listening to broadcast radio? Probably.

The add is man hating - to be honest, it takes two to tango.

I heard it, can’t remember any mention of gender? Was there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,517 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Weird funereal tone of it.

Maybe if we grew up as a country and realised it's not going away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,766 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

there was a line that went something like 'maybe you're wife won't mind, maybe she'll believe you only wanted the "girlfriend experience"...'

now, I don't know, but I don't think id be using that line if i was trying to explain it to the wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,592 ✭✭✭✭elperello

hurikane wrote: »
    I heard it, can’t remember any mention of gender? Was there?

Yes.
    Definitely aimed at male gender.
    Can't find a clip of it online maybe someone else can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭uch

can you imagine if they done it like the new anti smoking one,,, Anytime I hear an anti prostitution ad I just want to have one

Bless me father for I have sinned

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

'maybe you're wife won't mind, maybe she'll believe you only wanted the "girlfriend experience"...'

Haha, sounds like a Dave McSavage sketch :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,640 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I'll assume you didn't let her listen to the news then?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,310 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

there was a line that went something like 'maybe you're wife won't mind, maybe she'll believe you only wanted the "girlfriend experience"...'

now, I don't know, but I don't think id be using that line if i was trying to explain it to the wife

Probably because it was made by a group of auld ones who never had sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,671 ✭✭✭GarIT

Who is the ad from

Senator Ronan Mullen's charity. The guy is up for Seanad election soon, it won't do any harm to remember he campaigned for lenghtly prison sentences for prostitutes and against supports that may help them get out of prostitution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭Vic_08

GarIT wrote: »
    Senator Ronan Mullen's charity. The guy is up for Seanad election soon, it won't do any harm to remember he campaigned for lenghtly prison sentences for prostitutes and against supports that may help them get out of prostitution.

These lot may couch it in PC language and may even make it sound like men bashing but they are really just women haters using the topic as a way of furthering their Victorian style targeting of harlots partaking in unmarried sex.

Let's not forget that Ruhama are the modern face of the Magdalene sisters, this is just the PR front for their nasty agenda aimed at women they see as inferior to their catholic ideals, can't lock them in laundries and use them as slaves anymore but they have not given up the holy war.

Despite it being sold as being protection for vulnerable women the anti-prostitution legislation they pushed through has already seen several sex workers imprisoned in a country where you can get a slap on the wrist for throwing acid in someone's face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

GarIT wrote: »
    I'd just like to take this opportunity to remind everyone that the slimy little **** said this:
    “If there was abortion on demand [Savita Halappanavar] wouldn’t have been in the hospital because she wouldn’t have been pregnant and she wouldn’t have been having a miscarriage.”
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ronan-mullen-strongly-criticised-for-comments-on-savita-1.3262015

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

hey kids im off to court to get done for banging hookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,206 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's funny when you think about it because these Anti Prostitution ads are not gonna stop a thing. If someone wants to pay for it then they are gonna pay for it. These ads would only remind people of using a brasser :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭pgj2015

They should have another advert aimed at women who use prostitutes. its only fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,592 ✭✭✭✭elperello

https://wedontbuyit.eu/

This is a link to the website.

Supported by The Dormant Accounts Fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Do you have a driving ban, amoungst some other convections, OP?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Jane98

I heard it on Newstalk (I think) this morning just after 8am. I too think its a totally inappropriate time to air such an ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,918 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

It also states that it's a lie to believe that women do this by choice. The ad should be banned for not being truthful.

From their website:

Every day, all across the island of Ireland, up to 1000 vulnerable woman are trafficked and forced into prostitution

So it could be 1 or 1000.

Do you have a driving ban, amoungst some other convections, OP?
    Ye wha?

The only convection I have is out my rear end from time to time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,202 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Jane98 wrote: »
    I heard it on Newstalk (I think) this morning just after 8am. I too think its a totally inappropriate time to air such an ad.
    No but its the only time most people listen to the radio these days in their cars to work etc.

I think I agree with the previous poster we need to grow up and realize its not going away.

If a single guy wants to visit one that is between 2 consenting adults. If its a married man that is on him.

All the trafficking etc there is way more to that than prostitution. Its sexism poverty ..racism etc. It can't be tackled just by banning prostitution.

Plus its legal in most places in Europe anyway. Its collaboration we need to stop trafficking.

https://www.businessinsider.com/prostitution-is-legal-in-countries-across-europe-photos-2019-3?r=US&IR=T

Oddly Advertising Standards only handle complaints against commercial entities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,283 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Oddly Advertising Standards only handle complaints against commercial entities.

Yeah, it's the Broadcasting Authority that investigate radio adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Discodog wrote: »
    It also states that it's a lie to believe that women do this by choice. The ad should be banned for not being truthful.

From their website:

Every day, all across the island of Ireland, up to 1000 vulnerable woman are trafficked and forced into prostitution

So it could be 1 or 1000.

Do they just make up numbers in their heads? In all the pure rubbish spouted by Ruhama throughout all these years, I cannot remember even once using any sort of actual data to back up their claims. Human trafficking is probably the #1 most evil act human beings are capable of IMHO, but I don't subscribe to the idea that there aren't those that choose to have sex for money, nor do I believe that the majority who work as prostitutes are all forced against their will. I don't know what sort of figures we're talking about, but I for one would rather listen to someone who actually has direct and ACTUAL knowledge of how it all goes in this country rather than a bunch of malicious and bigotted old c*nts who have nothing better to do than force their prejudice down everyone's throats, especially seeing as Ruhama is headed by those responsible for the Magdalene launderies.
    Vic_08 wrote: »
    These lot may couch it in PC language and may even make it sound like men bashing but they are really just women haters using the topic as a way of furthering their Victorian style targeting of harlots partaking in unmarried sex.

Let's not forget that Ruhama are the modern face of the Magdalene sisters, this is just the PR front for their nasty agenda aimed at women they see as inferior to their catholic ideals, can't lock them in laundries and use them as slaves anymore but they have not given up the holy war.

Despite it being sold as being protection for vulnerable women the anti-prostitution legislation they pushed through has already seen several sex workers imprisoned in a country where you can get a slap on the wrist for throwing acid in someone's face.

^^^^^^^^^^

Harmonics wrote: »
    People actually believe women chose to be prostitutes?

Yes, I know some personally. Making as much if not more than the head of engineering at an IT company for a job that requires little skills or education is great if you have no feelings on sex that would make it a negative experience.

I know girls who can make $2k per day, or what they actually do is work 1-4 hours a week and make more than the average wage. Particularly in the kink community it's taking off often without actual sex involved.

And it's not the type of people you would think of either, look on tinder, at least one in 10 girls has something in their bio like "looking for a sugar daddy" or look at seeking arangements, loads of beautiful girls from rich families looking for a few grand a month to date you.

People actually believe women chose to be prostitutes?

It's because of gullible people like you that Ruhama get away with their bigotted vendetta. But go ahead, you believe what you're told by an organisation operated by the same filth behind the Magdalene laundries. I'm being uncharacteristically kind with my use of 'gullible' btw where people such as yourself are concerned. Same can be said for my use of 'people'.

Believe everything you read in the papers do you?

I think it's you that's gullible...

I won't call you gullible, but you're very narrow minded to think that no woman does this for a living. It's no different to porn and probably pays better. Just google Prostitute and Proud and you'll get the results.
    What will these girls do when their looks fade?

Retire and enjoy the massive savings from the massive amounts of money they made simply by having sex. Modelling is a hard industry to get into. Prostitution needs a hard industry, which is easier to come by. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Minime2.5

Cienciano wrote: »
    Probably because it was made by a group of auld ones who never had sex.

Or couldnt get it

Put it this way, I don't believe girls from places like Brazil or Ukraine, girls who look like models, dream of going to places like Amsterdam to get gang fcuked by drunk lads on stags for a living.

You might wanna look up the definition first.. .. ..

Yeah sure, Svetlana from the village always dreamt of sucking cock in a whorehouse in Dublin...and now she's doing it! You go girl!

What ever helps you sleep at night.

What helps me sleep at night is doing some research into something before I go running my mouth off about something that I know absolutely nothing about. Like Ruhama's true origin and their true intentions for example, despite the lies they spew which is lapped up by 'people' such as yourself.

No need for that level of anger. How many times do you need to be told? Beautiful girls from eastern Europe do not dream of being prostitutes in the west.

LOL, anger. No s*it Sherlock, point out to me where I said that or anything like it? The fact is that there are those, not just from S.American/E.Europe, that willingly have sex for money. If you can't accept that, then you're nothing but a lap dog for organisations like Ruhama, who absolutely do far more harm than good and couldn't care less about about genuine victims of human trafficking, the people they're supposedly there to help. Sometimes I'd love to be able to just believe everything I'm told and not dare question anything :pac:

Btw, is the planet flat? :D

Your rage in no way convinces me that prostitutes are doing it willingly.

Instead of raging at Ruhama you should get angry at the pimps and traffickers.

LOL, rage. Having a discussion = raging does it? LMAO. Only one raging here is you me thinks, given your penchant for somehow knowing I'm angry/raging :D I wouldn't bother meself trying to convince you the grass is green. If you want some evidence as to the harm that Ruhama and this very law has done and continues to do, then I suggest you do some research. SWAI, that should put you in the right direction champ :p

Here's a nice old quote for you (Die Hard) and amply illustrates Ruhama in a nutshell: "If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem".

Btw you didn't answer my question on whether you thought the world was flat?? ?? ?? :D Probably don't need to though!

God that's depressing.

Depressing to me is working an office job 9-5 Mon-Fri until rich people decide I'm old enough to retire (currently 67 and counting iirc), and then give me less than 50% of the Living Wage they spout as retirement.

If I could make money off having sex, I would. I won't say no-one, but a minuscule amount of women out there would willingly pay a 5'7" (I grew an inch! And no, the measuring was perfection and couldn't possibly be slightly out), slightly overweight balding big bearded ginger with not a lot of stamina.

What about all those women who use the internet to make money off their nudity/self pleasure? Webcams and the like. You know there are devices out there that you insert and they vibrate longer/harder depending on how much the viewer donates? Multiple people viewing at the same time, all donating at the same time. It's quite a site, and the women seem to love it, especially the money. Just Google "webcam sex", you don't even need to sign up/donate for most, because they'll only reveal or do more at certain milestones, so you can get all the fun without even paying, you just need patience.

I saw one there recently and the lady had to stop mid performance because she was so happily shocked that someone had just donated $10000 to her. In a split second she was up $10k simply for masturbating. Who wouldn't want that? Sex is just another version of it, and while I've no doubt there are many forced into it, there are also those who willing partake.

I don't believe the world is flat and I don't believe women willingly want to be prostitutes. I don't believe beautiful young women want to have sex with random men in brothels.

But hey keep telling yourself she's enjoying it just as much as you are...

Ah your ignorance truly is bliss. I don't see what is actually factual about your 'beliefs' though.. .. .. Food for thought.

A personal incident on a stormy wet night demonstrated to me that there is a serious issue with people trafficking and crime in this Country. It does not impact any of us on a daily basis, so it's easy to deny it is there.

So you belive young women want to be fcuked, day in, day out by random men?

Not day in, day out. The women who voluntarily do this, as explained, work for maybe a few hours a week to get more than what we work 39+ hours for in the same week. So it's not day in, day out. And to some people, shock horror, sex is just sex. Nothing more.
    I'll take the 9-5 day job over being a whore. Also, if you want to do sex work, why not get into the gay porn industry?

Because I'm not gay.

No not true. Young women love having sex with dozens of random men, every day. Stop being so old fashioned

I am sure there are women who do make a choice of it. But there are many who don't. There are many layers to the industry from high end escorts to people paying to abuse women, low quality people. I dont know anything about Ruhama really, people here seem to say they have their own Agenda. But there are people living in dangerous circumstances afraid to speak out and sometimes not able to even speak our language. They live among us, but we don't see them, or dont want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I'll take the 9-5 day job over being a whore. Also, if you want to do sex work, why not get into the gay porn industry?

Maybe women who choose to do this work - they do exist - would be more open if they weren't judged for it and called pejorative words like whore.

So you belive young women want to be fcuked, day in, day out by random men?

I'm actually facepalming at this point. Where did I say that? "F*cked day in day out". Do you think women that are actually choosing to have sex for money have sex with dozens of guys every day? Do your research and stop being such an ignorant little troll. The FACT is that human trafficking and consensual sex workers are NOT mutually exclusive, i.e. they are NOT one in the same thing, they are independent from one another. There are those that are forced to have sex for money against their will, forced to live in horrible conditions and are quite LITERALLY slaves. It is IMHO the most disgusting crime human beings are capable of. YES IT HAPPENS IN IRELAND. But this law has made sweet f*ck all difference in thwarting that! And anyone who knowingly has sex with someone like this is as bad and as sick, IF NOT WORSE, than those committing the trafficking in the first place!

And regardless of whether your tiny little mind chooses to believe it or not, there are women who choose to have sex for money. They're not forced into it. No one profits from them but themselves. Why they do it is their business and only theirs. And despite what the media tells you, they aren't uneducated, drug dependent, and riddled with diseases. If you bothered to spend even 5 minutes looking up some of the work the Sex Workers Alliance Ireland have done, then maybe you'd be a bit less ignorant towards the whole thing. I highly doubt it however.

Get your head out from under your ass and don't believe everything you read in the papers. And yeah, NOW I'm angry, because I have exactly ZERO tolerance for sheer ignorance like yours.

Amnesty International, you know of them I assume? Your head isn't that so far under the ground? They opposed this law you know, and actually supported the idea of decriminalisation and regulation. But I guess they don't have a clue what they're talking about eh? It's not like the idea of humans rights has anything to do with them.. ..

Put it this way, I don't believe girls from places like Brazil or Ukraine, girls who look like models, dream of going to places like Amsterdam to get gang fcuked by drunk lads on stags for a living.

No not true. Young women love having sex with dozens of random men, every day. Stop being so old fashioned

They don't love or dream of working in Aldi or Lidl either but they do it. The good looking ones can chose their clients and set very high prices. I know one girl, from Kildare who's career is now to travel the world and sunbathe on yachts owned by rich men. There is likely more expected of her but she doesn't make that public.