Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Sagan Thread

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,614 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK, I think we've strayed far enough off-topic now. Sagan did wrong, he's apologised. This thread is however about him, and not about sexism in cycling, so can we please now leave further discussion of that aspect out of this thread

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭Redmond101

Beasty wrote: »
    OK, I think we've strayed far enough off-topic now. Sagan did wrong, he's apologised. This thread is however about him, and not about sexism in cycling, so can we please now leave further discussion of that aspect out of this thread

Beasty

Thank you, now lets see some more pictures of Sagan doing some wheelies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

Yeaaah sexisim out sexiness in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

art-matthew-goss-620x349.jpg

D'ya reckon Goss just pinched his bum?

well thats that sorted so, flowers ftw :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Pincher Sagan later won De Brabantse Pijl in a sprint finish with Philippe Gilbert

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    Pincher Sagan later won De Brabantse Pijl in a sprint finish with Philippe Gilbert

was watching the race but had to leave towards the end :( he is some man for one man as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Just Peter Sagan being awesome!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

nut job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

I reckon there must have been some kind of small ramp in front of the car to allow Sagan to get the back wheel onto the bonnet - that bonnet is quite high so I can't see how he'd have managed to avoid the chainrings hitting it (and him stalling) without kicking the back wheel up and I can spot no obvious sign of him kicking it up in that clip. If there was a ramp then obviously someone removed it while the person holding the camera was getting out of the car.

Maybe I'm just being cynical though, it's still an impressive demo of bike handling regardless, I just find myself wondering how much that video is an off-the-cuff demonstration of skill and how much it is planned and staged. Not that it matters of course, I just find the impromptu demos more fun to watch, they seem much more in keeping with his riding style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭jinkypolly

Fantastic piece of skill from the video editors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,937 ✭✭✭fat bloke

doozerie wrote: »
    I reckon there must have been some kind of small ramp in front of the car to allow Sagan to get the back wheel onto the bonnet - that bonnet is quite high so I can't see how he'd have managed to avoid the chainrings hitting it (and him stalling) without kicking the back wheel up and I can spot no obvious sign of him kicking it up in that clip. If there was a ramp then obviously someone removed it while the person holding the camera was getting out of the car.

Maybe I'm just being cynical though, it's still an impressive demo of bike handling regardless, I just find myself wondering how much that video is an off-the-cuff demonstration of skill and how much it is planned and staged. Not that it matters of course, I just find the impromptu demos more fun to watch, they seem much more in keeping with his riding style.

Can it not just be a bit of craic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

fat bloke wrote: »
    Can it not just be a bit of craic?

I never said it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

931187_10151720282149467_776155244_n.jpg

New livery for his TDF bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,458 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

^^^
    that's pretty cool!

I did prefer the 'Tourminator' from last year though :P

NIK7361-661x440.jpg

NIK7373-292x440.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,558 ✭✭✭The tax man

931187_10151720282149467_776155244_n.jpg

New livery for his TDF bike

They captured his eyebrows quite well. They need serious working on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Cheesy as fook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Surprised noone put this up yet. Sagan doing a wheelie just before Mt Ventoux.

petersagan_original.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

According to Richard Moore Ned Boulting on his podcast, Dave Brailsford was not impressed with him possibly endangering the bunch.

The miserable pr*ck.

According to Richard Moore on his podcast, Dave Brailsford was not impressed with him possibly endangering the bunch.

The miserable pr*ck.

That makes me love Sagan even more, I'd piss Brailsford off all the time if I could :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭buffalo

Anyone got pics of the green goatee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,524 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

174170213-best-sprinters-green-jersey-slovakias-peter-gettyimages.jpg?v=1&c=IWSAsset&k=2&d=GkZZ8bf5zL1ZiijUmxa7QXJkzAJmNkJ3%2bOwTqsHa5FMfDlTGer%2bYILRzH0FZMoiDNoDPhpqa0tj7OyIwy7KWoQ%3d%3d

slide_309533_2722128_free.jpg?1374436170058

1339_539717729410944_807920946_n.jpg

Just doing what he does. With gorgeous women.

Just doing what he does.

I see no wheelies. Disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

He The Man!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Gas character, breath of fresh air .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

A better view than the one I had seen previously. Apologies if already posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭AnotherView

David Millar ‏Tweet - (mad me laugh)
    "Just spotted @petosagan walking through the car park, @ryder_hesjedal said, "Oh mannnn, he got a WHITE cowboy hat?!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Interesting thoughts on his cornering ability.

http://stevetilford.com/2013/09/10/peter-sagan/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I hadn't seen this one before - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=St1VXFYEQxs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

quozl wrote: »
    I hadn't seen this one before - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=St1VXFYEQxs

Big discussion on here before about that clip, did or didn't Sagan have a ramp at the front of the car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Big discussion on here before about that clip, did or didn't Sagan have a ramp at the front of the car?

Ahh, how had I missed it :)

Looks like Sagan is going to Tinkoff-Saxo for the 2015 season!

From cyclingnews:
    Peter Sagan has reached an agreement to ride for Tinkoff-Saxo in 2015, according to a report in Thursday’s edition of Gazzetta dello Sport. The Slovak’s contract with Cannondale expires at the end of this season, and Gazzetta reports that the deal will see Tinkoff-Saxo ride on Cannondale bikes from next season.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

cddf128ea12711e28ddc22000a9f15db_7.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Tinkov-Cannondale in 2015 ???

Saxobank are most likely out of cycling

That means a lot of riders will be on the market again if two teams merge

And Contador ?? He has an pesonal contract with Specialised who pay most of his wages.....IF Tinkov move to Cannondale then Contador would lose his sponsorship

With Sagan I think Tinkov will dump Contador

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭drogdub

MPFG wrote: »
    Tinkoff-Cannondale in 2015 ???

Saxobank are most likely out of cycling

That means a lot of riders will be on the market again if two teams merge

Maybe and allows Alonso to buy the pro tour license owned by Cannodale. Who might sign Contador with his Specialized contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

drogdub wrote: »
    Maybe and allows Alonso to buy the pro tour license owned by Cannodale. Who might sign Contador with his Specialized contract.

Exactly what I think will happen.

Spot on yeah. Hopefully means Nico moves further up the food-chain :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,452 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Spot on yeah. Hopefully means Nico moves further up the food-chain :)

Is Nico not out of contract in 2015...............or was it a three year deal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

TheBlaaMan wrote: »
    Is Nico not out of contract in 2015...............or was it a three year deal ?

Nico has a two year contract 2013-2014...so out of contract at the end of this year

Tinkov is a big fan of sprinters, having been one himself and even though he says Contador is the only one who can beat Froome I don't think he believes Froome can be beaten.....and he can't buy Froome

So my guess he will build a team that supports Sagan to win lots of stages of the Tour de France and lots of classics races .....a team more like OPQS
    That means the older mountain helpers better start looking now
    I am sure he would like to keep and support riders Mijka for Giro/Vuelta but as he said himself his team is in transition and IMO the emphasis on the Tour GC will go with Contador

Tinkov only likes wining ..so if he cannot win the Tour he is not interested in top 5's ....better have sprinters and classic riders who can win lots of stages and lots of other races.

How Nico & Kreuziger like that I am not sure as you need a strong team of climbers for a Grand Tour GC result

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

MPFG wrote: »
    Nico has a two year contract 2013-2014...so out of contract at the end of this year

Tinkov is a big fan of sprinters, having been one himself and even though he says Contador is the only one who can beat Froome I don't think he believes Froome can be beaten.....and he can't buy Froome

So my guess he will build a team that supports Sagan to win lots of stages of the Tour de France and lots of classics races .....a team more like OPQS
    That means the older mountain helpers better start looking now
    I am sure he would like to keep and support riders Mijka for Giro/Vuelta but as he said himself his team is in transition and IMO the emphasis on the Tour GC will go with Contador

Tinkov only likes wining ..so if he cannot win the Tour he is not interested in top 5's ....better have sprinters and classic riders who can win lots of stages and lots of other races.

How Nico & Kreuziger like that I am not sure as you need a strong team of climbers for a Grand Tour GC result

The only thing I'd disagree with it is that I don't think Tinkoff will give up on Tour glory. If he doesn't think Contador can beat Froome, he'll get someone else in; Quintana or Nibali.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

sagan.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

They really could have made an effort to photoshop out his auld sausage for the promo pictures.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Zyzz wrote: »
    They really could have made an effort to photoshop out his auld sausage for the promo pictures.. :pac:

Seriously? I think they should have made it bigger.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,184 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Guy second from the left has jealousy face going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Party Bus this way --->

ah jaysus that should be NSFW! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

Great vid of him on a mountain bike!