Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2020 US Presidential Election (aka: The Trump Coronation)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

notobtuse wrote: »
    Didn't you know ANYTHING not fitting into the Leftist lexicon is classified as either racist, homophobic or xenophobic.

You don't understand what left wing is, if this is what you believe.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭MeMen2_MoRi_

I saw the briefing. Trump, many times, kept asking the science team if he was right in what he was saying on a number of things. If he was speaking incorrectly on a subject you think the team would tell him when he asked, and not have to correct it later.

If you seen it, why the fcuk you trying to defend him?

"That the poor man is just passing on information to give optimisim to the people"

How's about using that oh so smart brain he supposedly has to not talk about injecting disinfectant into yourself as some way to rid yourself of Covid19, to "clean out the lungs".

I don't take Trump as a person that would be kind to people who corrected him in such afront way, they usually end up out of a job.. they try to use their smarts to tell people that what he just said "is horsesh!t" don't listen to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭notobtuse

Why would Trump surround himself with such dangerously incompetent people? Wasn't he only going to hire 'the best people'?
    LOL... Last week your side was exclaiming 'Trump needs to listen to his science advisors!' This week they're incompetent. What will it be next week?

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Brian? wrote: »
    You don't understand what left wing is, if this is what you believe.

I don't think anyone knows what the left wing is anymore...except that it is drowning in identity politics in the US and Britain.

The stark difference between a leader and a many times failed businessman..

g87urh3p2ru41.png

Seems Durham has expanding his team looking into the soft coup against Trump by adding agents and a big addition to the prosecutorial squad. Interestingly, AG Barr said, regarding indictments, “You don’t indict candidates or perhaps someone that’s sufficiently close to a candidate, that it’s essentially the same, you know, within a certain number of days before an election,” Then Barr added “But you know, as I say, I don’t think any of the people whose actions are under review by Durham fall into that category.” So how long do you think it will take Brennan, Clapper, Comey and McCabe to sign onto Joe Biden’s campaign?

You can ignorantly accuse me of "whataboutism," but what it really is involves identifying similar scenarios in order to see if it holds up when the shoe is on the other foot!

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    So - Given the available evidence regarding income inequality , availability of affordable healthcare , The state of the environment and the general status of women and minorities in the US today , which viewpoint seems more likely to be accurate?

I nearly missed this one....what do you mean?

The stark difference between a leader and a many times failed businessman..

g87urh3p2ru41.png

Not all hero's wear capes....

Varadkar wouldn't last a month in the private sector...he is a career politician probably headed for a plum role in Brussels after this....he is a polished administrator, at best!!!!...he is no leader, he managed to lead his party to a disaster in his only election....barely scraped in himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,179 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Varadkar wouldn't last a month in the private sector...he is a career politician probably headed for a plum role in Brussels after this....he is a polished administrator, at best!!!!

unlike trump who couldnt borrow from american banks because of his terrible credit history and is an awful administrator.

Right...you know more than I do about his career....fair play to you...

• Registered Users Posts: 25,424 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

So Trump suggested it would be “interesting to check” whether a disinfectant injection could help combat coronavirus, and said researchers were looking at the effects of disinfectants on Covid-19.

[B[And the headline from the Independent is…
    ‘Under no circumstances administer into human body’: Dettol tells people not to follow Trump’s ‘dangerous’ recommendation.[/b]

Huh?

The job of the president is to report and provide optimism. If something might show potential promise, and is being researched, why not pass that information on? So this media entity thinks the president saying something would be interesting to check on and that researchers were already looking at it, is the same as a recommendation? I DON’T THINK SO! Perhaps Dettol should come up with some type of disinfectant to eliminate Trump Derangement Syndrome that this news site could use.

So the manufacturer of Dettol and Lysol feel they have to warn people that under no circumstances should they inject or inject their products.

They have done this because of Trumps idiotic comments last night yet here you are STILL defending him :pac:

Right...you know more than I do about his career....fair play to you...

the man who bankrupted a casino. has a history of stiffing his contractors. has a history of not repaying loans. great guy

So the manufacturer of Dettol and Lysol feel they have to warn people that under no circumstances should they inject or inject their products.

They have done this because of Trumps idiotic comments last night yet here you are STILL defending him :pac:

Oh will you cop yourself on....

Media companies rang them to get a statement off them....jesus christ, are you that niave....

I mean, do you think that Dettol and Lysol are the only companies on the planet who sell disinfectant...why aren't the rest of them making statements, do you think they are in on it? Maybe Trump is on commission....what do you think?

The Russians possibly own disinfectant plants, Trump is a Russian agent...maybe that is it!!!

I'm sure someone smarter than me will figure it out!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

So Trump suggested it would be “interesting to check” whether a disinfectant injection could help combat coronavirus, and said researchers were looking at the effects of disinfectants on Covid-19.

And the headline from the Independent is…
    ‘Under no circumstances administer into human body’: Dettol tells people not to follow Trump’s ‘dangerous’ recommendation.

Huh?

The job of the president is to report and provide optimism. If something might show potential promise, and is being researched, why not pass that information on? So this media entity thinks the president saying something would be interesting to check on and that researchers were already looking at it, is the same as a recommendation? I DON’T THINK SO! Perhaps Dettol should come up with some type of disinfectant to eliminate Trump Derangement Syndrome that this news site could use.

So now your president can’t even understand a simple briefing and as I said before he has followed stupid enough to believe this could work and try it. The guy is a complete moron simple as. Again imagine if Obama said this imagine the melt down at Fox

the man who bankrupted a casino. has a history of stiffing his contractors. has a history of not repaying loans. great guy

It's impressive that you know so much but why are you telling me...I'm Irish I can't vote for him....in fact as an Irish man he is a threat to American FDI in this country which we are heavily dependent on....because we can't build indigenous companies of our own in any meaningful way...because our leaders more often than not are merely administrators....who between them have created on of the most geographically imbalanced and heavily indebted economies in the OECD...because of our inability to elect leaders we live in a very dysfunctional country once you scrape beneath the veneer of normality.

Varadkar wouldn't last a month in the private sector...he is a career politician probably headed for a plum role in Brussels after this....he is a polished administrator, at best!!!!...he is no leader, he managed to lead his party to a disaster in his only election....barely scraped in himself.

And trump can? If he invested the money his father gave him in the s&p500 he would be richer today. Says all you need to know his business sense. A tiny desperate company would not even let him be their ceo as they’d know where it would go.

It's impressive that you know so much but why are you telling me...I'm Irish I can't vote for him....in fact as an Irish man he is a threat to American FDI in this country which we are heavily dependent on....because we can't build indigenous companies of our own in any meaningful way...because our leaders more often than not are merely administrators....who between them have created on of the most geographically imbalanced and heavily indebted economies in the OECD...because of our inability to elect leaders we live in a very dysfunctional country once you scrape beneath the veneer of normality.

and what does that have to do with trump being a terrible businessman and an even worse administrator?

kilns wrote: »
    And trump can? If he invested the money his father gave him in the s&p500 he would be richer today. Says all you need to know his business sense. A tiny desperate company would not even let him be their ceo as they’d know where it would go.

For what it is worth...I have no time for his personality, he strikes me as a crass reality tv star...and the fact that he is a reality tv star, I'd imagine he is no where near as successful as he likes to present....remember our own TV Dragons, most of them didn't have a pot to piss in...

But...he managed to get elected first time out to the highest position on the world...now, maybe, just maybe, he is not as thick as he seems....

And maybe, just maybe, the fact that he followed a number of completely ineffectual presidents allows him make changes that have a very real impact in the lives of ordinary Americans....and maybe, those ordinary Americans are willing to vote for him again...

Maybe, just maybe, you are suffering from Trump derangement syndrome...if the only reason you can think of to reason why a reality tv star like Trump got elected is to assume that 60 million Americans are thick then you need must think that Irish people including you are the stupidest people on this plant based on who we elect.

and what does that have to do with trump being a terrible businessman and an even worse administrator?

Because you compared him with an Irish politician....Kenny, Cowen, Ahern, Raynolds, Haughey....are we in any position to navel gaze?

For what it is worth...I have no time for his personality, he strikes me as a crass reality tv star...and the fact that he is a reality tv star, I'd imagine he is no where near as successful as he likes to present....remember our own TV Dragons, most of them didn't have a pot to piss in...

But...he managed to get elected first time out to the highest position on the world...now, maybe, just maybe, he is not as thick as he seems....

And maybe, just maybe, the fact that he followed a number of completely ineffectual presidents allows him make changes that have a very real impact in the lives of ordinary Americans....and maybe, those ordinary Americans are willing to vote for him again...

Maybe, just maybe, you are suffering from Trump derangement syndrome...if the only reason you can think of to reason why a reality tv star like Trump got elected is to assume that 60 million Americans are thick then you need must think that Irish people including you are the stupidest people on this plant based on who we elect.

nah. we're not thick enough to elect an idiot like trump. and he is an idiot. inject people with disinfectant and use strong light to kill coronovirus? the words of a real genius. if somebody said that to you in the pub you would call them a feckin eejit and go talk to somebody else.

Hold yourself to the same standard you hold others...take a long hard look at the state of us and you won't feel so smug...we are looking at a FF led Government, one of the most corrupt political parties in the EU...

Trump is like a guy who is desperate to sell hope to people facing an economic catastrophy not of his making and is making a bags of it...he is unscripted therefore unpolished and maybe that is a hanging offense maybe not...not everyone feels the need to be spoon fed by a polished orator....

Maybe just maybe presidents that went before inplemented policies that have a longer term benefit to the US people and maybe just maybe they didn’t try to divide a country

And maybe just maybe someone who uses the phrase Trump derangement syndrome in their arguments is a bit short on intelligence

As Kevin Bridges said he is like that guy in the pubs that goes on and on talking nonsense and you just move away eventually tapping him on the shoulder saying you have a good night mate (bridges delivers it better than me ha ha)

Waffle waffle waffle versus words that are ment to come from leaders in times of crisis.

Hold yourself to the same standard you hold others...take a long hard look at the state of us and you won't feel so smug...we are looking at a FF led Government, one of the most corrupt political parties in the EU...

Trump is like a guy who is desperate to sell hope to people facing an economic catastrophy not of his making and is making a bags of it...he is unscripted therefore unpolished and maybe that is a hanging offense maybe not...not everyone feels the need to be spoon fed by a polished orator....

the lengths some people will go to to defend somebody doing a job they are totally incapable of is astounding.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Carfacemandog

LOL... Last week your side was exclaiming 'Trump needs to listen to his science advisors!' This week they're incompetent. What will it be next week?
    1. Please quote me on that.

2. You are the one saying Trumps science advisors agreed with him about injecting bleach into people. Are you trying to claim that this is actually a good solution since they agreed with it, or are you trying to claim that it is them (and to Trump) who are to blame for him saying this yesterday? If you don't think injecting bleach into people is a good idea, then you are calling them incompetent. And in that case, what haokened to Trump surrounding himself with only 'the best people'?

Here is your quote on it: Trump, many times, kept asking the science team if he was right in what he was saying on a number of things. If he was speaking incorrectly on a subject you think the team would tell him when he asked, and not have to correct it later.

So which is it?

As Kevin Bridges said he is like that guy in the pubs that goes on and on talking nonsense and you just move away eventually tapping him on the shoulder saying you have a good night mate (bridges delivers it better than me ha ha)

trump is cliff clavin except that clavin was capable of empathy and sympathy.

Maybe just maybe presidents that went before inplemented policies that have a longer term benefit to the US people and maybe just maybe they didn’t try to divide a country

And maybe just maybe someone who uses the phrase Trump derangement syndrome in their arguments is a bit short on intelligence

Now that is a good one.....that made me laugh fair play to you...longer term benefit....ha haa haaaaa...the political system has been corrupted possibly beyond repair over the last three decades!!!!

When will Barak Obamas racial policies kick in...as racial relations in the US were at an all time low when he left office as the first African American president?

Come here, I am well aware of how stupid and consistently incorrect I can be....I don't care if you or anyone thinks I am stupid...I know I have to try hard not to get sucked into hysteria or group think!!!

Too bad you don’t know as much as you claim to know. So you think it was Trump's fault that those casinos went bankrupt? Perhaps do some homework. At the time Trump invested in casinos in Atlantic City they were the only full gambling casino entities east of the Mississippi. Sure there were a couple of Native American casinos here and there but they were limited in the types of gambling they were allowed to provide. Suddenly state after state started allowing casinos to operate and it caused the Atlantic City economy to go down the toilet. And part of the bankruptcy laws causes vendors and contractors from not being paid. But I’m sure you’ll simply just ignore all this and keep up you disingenuous claims that Trump bankrupted them.

the lengths some people will go to to defend somebody doing a job they are totally incapable of is astounding.

Are you that afraid of an alternate opinion?

I have no idea what was going through the mans head, no more than you do....