Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The PDC World Championships 2021

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Smith too consistent

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

fully exspect the snakebite 3-0 or 3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭boomdocker

Don't know why , and maybe I'm completely wrong, but Steve West strikes me as an awful tosser

Hahahaha Peter Wright

Funny!!!!!

TbL

Better win after coming onstage dressed like that!!!!

TbL

boomdocker wrote: »
    Don't know why , and maybe I'm completely wrong, but Steve West strikes me as an awful tosser

and he,s bottom teeth missing,wonder why that is ehh

Better win after coming onstage dressed like that!!!!

TbL

taught there was no fancy dress allowed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,825 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

I'd have thought a Grinch outfit would be more appropriate for the likes of Mervyn King, not that I have any interest in seeing that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

#WaterGate2020 inbound?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Disappointing for Barry. Really poor first 2 sets by hi standard. He picked his game up then but left himself too much to do. Shame.

Beaton was terrible. Very emotional stuff from Portela. Indian lad miles out of his depth.

I think Wright wins this handily 3-0.

Jaysus, didn't he get beaten early on a few years ago wearing a daft Christmas outfit?
    Looking good tonight though - the darts that is ;)

Jaysus, didn't he get beaten early on a few years ago wearing a daft Christmas outfit?
    Looking good tonight though - the darts that is ;)

I hope he doesn’t make a habit of coming on with more outlandish outfits, ok as a one off but I’d hate to see it happening regularly

He’ll be out in one of Brendan Dolans shirts next!!!

TbL

D.Q wrote: »
    Ah god I've missed Wayne mardle. The man just talks sense. He's so measured. Every word out of his mouth is one of substance and weight. Breath of fresh air.

I agree, there's no doubt in my mind that Wayne is up there with John Motson and Peter Alliss in the pantheon of great sports commentators.

the grinch is in full control.....

Steve, how do you go from those first two sets, to getting 6 perfect darts?

Did Wright just say he thinks is he has a broken rib!!

I doubt he be grinch dancing with a broken rib!!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Poor standard tonight all round.

Only way is upwards from here......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Portela gave an interview that was posted on live darts tv on youtube. His recently born daughter had serious health issues, wife suffering postnatal depression and how the pressure of it all was severly impacting him mentally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Dillonb3 wrote: »
    Portela gave an interview that was posted on live darts tv on youtube. His recently born daughter had serious health issues, wife suffering postnatal depression and how the pressure of it all was severly impacting him mentally

Just watched it though I felt it was wrong at the time to ask him about it, his message at the end about seeking help and opening up to someone, and he wishes he did it sooner, was a very positive to anyone in a similar position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,892 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The crowd seating is like an exam hall, few times people were having the fun of old. I wonder how they will adjust the arena with no crowd

I wonder would Snakebite dress up and act as goofy if he was playing MVG or Price

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Did Wright just say he thinks is he has a broken rib!!

I doubt he be grinch dancing with a broken rib!!!!

TbL

It sounded like he may have had a few pints on board in that interview!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Are the first rounds free to watch on sky sports does anyone know

Not as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

peteeeed wrote: »

Honestly don’t know whether to laugh or cry at it. Have to begrudgingly admire him tho i guess

Sedlacek beds a D7 when he had a dart at D16 for the match, and Joyce swoops in to take the last three legs to win it on the last leg decider.

Who'd have known Colin Lloyd would be well so well versed on the GAA 🀣

O Connor playing great here, cruising even though he's missed 18 darts at a double already

All-island Round 2 match confirmed!

He'll beat Gurney easily if he plays like that imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,560 ✭✭✭celt262

El Sueño wrote: »
    O Connor playing great here, cruising even though he's missed 18 darts at a double already

How did he play ?

celt262 wrote: »
    How did he play ?

Scored very well, doubling was poor enough but he was usually so far ahead that it didn't matter. He never really looked threatened to be honest, only lost 3 legs

Just seen the stats 88 avg despite 9 out 32 attempts at double. Sort out his doubles and he should give Guerny a game

Couldn;t have asked for an easier round 1
    The way Gurney has been playing lately i'd imagine O Connor should win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

haha I hate Wrights little hands up- hop across the stage so much. Have never been able to warm to him as a player.

So Dobey comes from 0-2 down to win 3-2, and if Willie beats Gurney, that's what he's up against next. Fun.

Good player Dobey, haven't seen much of him lately though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,892 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Gurney having a little fall from grace with him been on the afternoon billing . He would of been considered a top player in previous years

Playing badly since the lockdown- didn't qualify for Matchplay and went out in first round of grand slam and players championship

He's been struggling this year, I'm surprised he won. Brilliant last two sets from him. Good viewing this afternoon even if I could only watch bits of it on the sly using my phone in work!

I think Willie is favourite to beat Gurney, he needs to brush up on his doubles though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭US2

Who'd have known Colin Lloyd would be well so well versed on the GAA 🀣

His wife is from Ireland. He spends every summer here , he said it on his podcast before

US2 wrote: »
    His wife is from Ireland. He spends every summer here , he said it on his podcast before

Didn't see a wedding ring on he's finger earlier

This Aussie bloke is really bad..

Hope it picks up this evening total dross so far!!!

TbL

This Aussie bloke is really bad..

Not quite at this level.

You’re welcome :)

https://youtu.be/0Rp3lWuNWmg

TbL

Not quite at this level.

You’re welcome :)

https://youtu.be/0Rp3lWuNWmg

TbL

I was actually thinking of him watching this. Could be a distant relative :D

🀣 that first leg from Tony Fleet was the stuff of nightmares “FIVE” :):)

He must have been locked!

TbL

That strut onto the stage by Bailey was something else

�� that first leg from Tony Fleet was the stuff of nightmares “FIVE” :):)

He must have been locked!

TbL

he looked it, stumbling at the oche, dropping darts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

I kinda like this Bailey fella. The nickname is one of the more apt ones i've seen anyway