Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 4 Chat

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

NTMK wrote: »
    win 7? ive heard of issues being caused by the lack of DX11.1/2 features in win 7

Aye, win 7. If they will want me to upgrade to win 8 for BF4, then they can **** themselfs. I will never have that Shiet on my PC!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Yeah m8. Got those drivers and it still runs like ass.

I got the same cpu and gfx card, just updated to the beta drivers today and it seems to have sorted out a lot of the issues i was having. Maybe try a clean install of the drivers?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Whats the crack with the building bravo base in on....

Does it collapse from player damage (like in Bad Company 2) or specific timed event? ... I keep shooting at it with the heli but feels like it's not doing anything :p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

If you mean the scyscraper? Its a player event, blow up the 4 front facing support pillars [water side ].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

Whats the crack with the building bravo base in on....

Does it collapse from player damage (like in Bad Company 2) or specific timed event? ... I keep shooting at it with the heli but feels like it's not doing anything :p

You've to shoot out the support beams and it'll fall!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

You know what's completely missing from the game now.... RUBBLE DROPS.

Must say I am enjoying the Beta more than I thought, there was a lot of doom and gloom in here but the only things annoying me at the moment are the controls, however once you get used to them its grand.

To the people saying its clunky and slow, what sensitivity are ye playing it on? I've mine around the 80s and it does not feel clunky or slow in any way.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,434 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

I really don't like the new driving controls. Much preferred the old style. Some of the shooting is quite inaccurate too. Usual BF stuff. Emptied a magazine on a guy and was fine. He hit me twice and I died.

antodeco wrote: »
    I really don't like the new driving controls. Much preferred the old style. Some of the shooting is quite inaccurate too. Usual BF stuff. Emptied a magazine on a guy and was fine. He hit me twice and I died.

You can change the majority of controls back in the menu, they're down as Veteran.

• Registered Users Posts: 708 ✭✭✭battser

Am I the only one who thinks that shanghai is not the best map to grace a BF game? Nothing but snipers and rooftops. No ground troop battles or anything like it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

battser wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thinks that shanghai is not the best map to grace a BF game? Nothing but snipers and rooftops. No ground troop battles or anything like it.

It's only really D that is plagued by snipers but I'll just go to the building between D and E get the lift to the roof shoot them all and parachute across to D and kill them too. Snipers are easy pickings.

Then get your chopper pilot to take you to C and surrounding buildings clearing them off. If your tank crew hasn't already taken the building out.

If players are bad I'll get maybe 15 snipers in a map but that leaves nearly 50 people on the ground fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

battser wrote: »

It's more apparent in the Domination game mode, where it's one large rooftop overlooking the points and nearly ends up being a king of the hill scenario, rather than domination, it seems to be too easy to kill people at a point halfway across the map. Terrible map choice, even Metro had its pros and cons, this map does not.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Dermighty wrote: »
    Terrible map choice, even Metro had its pros and cons, this map does not.

I'm sorry, this map is miles better than Metro. Metro was the worst thing to happen to Battlefield. This map at least has a huge variety of ways you can play it. As has been said, guys on roof tops are easy to deal with if you have a decent chopper crew or by using elevators etc.

No it's not the best ever BF map but its a pretty great one

• Registered Users Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭mozattack

BlitzKrieg wrote: »
    In BF3 for the most part unlocks do not have a grind factor to them, you unlock a new gadget and use it over the old one, but it doesnt replace the old one, it does something different. Both the tug and mav spot enemies, but one is a drop it and forget it device and the other requires actual hands on time to operate it (sure you can park it somewhere and it works like a tug, but it still needs to be operated to get it to that spot) as such the unlocks open up options, not grind a progression.

the med pack/ammo pack change is simply creating a grind right now. There needs to be a much more drastic difference between the two to allow options. It needs to encourage a player to take the small ammo/med pack over the large and still have a unique and beneficial role.

As for my other issues with the game:

2. The menu design is horrible, quite frankly the need to show off gun porn is working against the ease one should have to swap up the kit between lives, the top bar should be drop down but it isnt. The fact that the horrible BF3 menus look absolutely genius in comparison is a major warning sign.

3. I'm really hoping this is some beta issue, but the IPD/RPG combo is *odd* I kind of get it if the vehicles were going to be somewhat dominant and in certain ways they are, but its far too easy to run a engie/recon combo at the moment, I would have thought it would have worked like the javelin/soflam where only certain rocket launchers can use the lock on and their standard mode is limited. At the moment the RPG is effective on its own and super effective with the IPD

Very good points

• Registered Users Posts: 7,762 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Use the smartphone app to change your load outs no need to use the menus.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,013 ✭✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

As was said by OP shooting while moving in the tanks is a DISASSSTTTEER DARLING! And even if there is a tiny little obstacle (fence, box etc) in front of the turret the shot is useless.

On the small medi and ammo pack, perhaps the benefit is that these can be thrown often whereas the larger ones wont be deployable as often meaning they remain stationery??

If that is the case I can see some benefit in having the smaller version unless you want to camp.

on the game being enjoying it more lately but lets be honest on the PS3 and 24 players isn't great... there will be 2-4 players in the sky, 6 players in the skyscraper and another 6 on some random building sniping... that ruins it.

With 64 players surely it is better

• Registered Users Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

The small ammo only resuplies 1 clip of regular ammo. It doesn't supply grenades or rpgs or anything.

We found an absolute bastard of a hacker last night:

• Registered Users Posts: 30 Nologogo

bahh I spose they never really addressed hackers in BF3, cant see them solving it in this one. Fairfight could help but I'm not sure to what degree.

Just look after yourself by sitting on servers with decent admins, and wait for the initial wave of hackers to get caught and banned.

Edit: Actually, good evidence that spectator mode could be used as a useful anti-cheat. Fair play for taking the time to do it.

Not bringing up the console v PC war cos I actually don't give a crap but this surprised me... expected a massive difference but I'd rank the difference here as minor.

Was looking forward to next-gen so this disappoints me a little apart from the move to 64 players of course.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VjCeldh15iY

mozattack wrote: »
    Not bringing up the console v PC war cos I actually don't give a crap but this surprised me... expected a massive difference but I'd rank the difference here as minor.

What were you expecting? You can't program a game to look more real than real-life itself.

The general consensus from Xbox players was that the game looked poor but it doesn't when you compared it to PC (on that video at least)... maybe the difference is more obvious when the game is played in terms of fluidity... I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

The general consensus from Xbox players was that the game looked poor but it doesn't when you compared it to PC (on that video at least)... maybe the difference is more obvious when the game is played in terms of fluidity... I don't know.

pc beta is lacking textures and that video doesn't do it any justice

Yeah trust me, the game looks MILES better on PC. That video does not do it justice at all. Did you see my "This is Battlefield 4" video posted earlier? One of the old consoles could never produce visuals like that. The new consoles will though I hear :)

• Registered Users Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

On the small medi and ammo pack, perhaps the benefit is that these can be thrown often whereas the larger ones wont be deployable as often meaning they remain stationery??

If that is the case I can see some benefit in having the smaller version unless you want to camp.

on the game being enjoying it more lately but lets be honest on the PS3 and 24 players isn't great... there will be 2-4 players in the sky, 6 players in the skyscraper and another 6 on some random building sniping... that ruins it.

With 64 players surely it is better

Its the same on xbox, 24 players makes it a little too quiet. Its not as frantic as I'd like to be honest. Though I'am getting into it more. What I like is the ammo boxes that spawn on the roof of B with a launcher and a really high powered rifle. Very useful against chopper/infantry. Though the tanks leave a lot to be desired

Also does anyone know what that little bar over your squad list means? It fills up during the course of the match

• Registered Users Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭EGriff

What have they done to the stinger? I hit a chopper 3 times in quick succession and it kept on flying. As if the choppers weren't powerful enough in 3.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Was looking forward to next-gen so this disappoints me a little apart from the move to 64 players of course.

There is a massive difference, i have both and the difference is night and day, No youtube video can get anywhere near the fidelity of sitting infront of a PC
    Its actually shocking the difference between the two.

• Registered Users Posts: 448 ✭✭Mad_Dave

After putting in a good few hours over the last couple of days on PS3, I have to say I'm enjoying it. Wasn't overly impressed with the movement mechanics at first, but once you get used to them its grand.
    Obviously it's rough as ****, but hardly suprising for such an old build - think I read somewhere it's three months old ?
    No major advances over BF3 so far, but lots and lots of small touches that make for a more fun and balanced experince.

Domination is a bit of a laugh, I don't expect to play it a lot but it's fun for what it is.
    Conquest on this particular map is ok, gets much better when the tower comes down I think.

Was playing earlier on using a spec ops style recon with carbine loadout. We'd just taken B when I saw the enemy was taking C, naturally being the super soldier I am I instantly jumped off the building and parachuted down to the rooftop at C. Spotted three bad guys below me, dropped down and knifed one before killing the other two. Captured the point then C4'd the enemy tank that rolled up to try and stop me. Felt like a boss :)

Overall I'm liking BF4 so far, definitely think it's going to be very good once the polished final version comes out. Unfortunately I think the PS3 version is going to suffer due to level design for higher player count, but hopefully I'll be proven wrong.

tim3000 wrote: »
    Also does anyone know what that little bar over your squad list means? It fills up during the course of the match

It's your squad perk upgrade as far as I know. It fills as your squad takes objectives, revives etc., and empties when the squad is wiped.
    Mad_Dave wrote: »
    Obviously it's rough as ****, but hardly suprising for such an old build - think I read somewhere it's three months old ?

Six months, I believe.