Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Normal People [BBC - RTE] - [**SPOILERS**]

• Registered Users Posts: 43,777 ✭✭✭✭Basq

threetrees wrote: »
    I enjoyed it. However it was a bit strange to be watching a man who know is 24 and some of his buddies who I know are mid 20's in school uniforms.

Daisy Edgar Jones is 22, again in uniform is a bit weird.
    That's nothing new.. most of the Dawson's Creek cast were in their late 20's playing 16 year olds.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,077 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

threetrees wrote: »
    I enjoyed it. However it was a bit strange to be watching a man who know is 24 and some of his buddies who I know are mid 20's in school uniforms.

Daisy Edgar Jones is 22, again in uniform is a bit weird.

Aside from that it was good. I think silence is everything in a series like this. A little like Brooklyn, the silences and the timing of the conversations are key.

I believe the reason for this is that the series shows the two characters grow a bit older and we see them a few years later, so they didn't really have much choice.

If it had just been a teen romantic drama, they could have used two teen actors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

i think certain courses/societies in trinity really cater to a type of personality which secondary schools by and large don't. I certainly know a few people who went from being considered weird/quiet/annoying in school to being social butterflies within a few months of starting in college. I'm sure it's the same in other colleges but i think it's particularly acute in trinity.

Maybe but when I read the book, her character/ personality/ life experience seemed to transform completely between the two parts - like two different people, over the space of a couple of months. Whereas you could see a logic in Conal's change of circumstances. Rooney's story was based on this switch and for me, I thought it rang hollow in how the story was told.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,270 ✭✭✭Tork

Not necessarily. She went from a family background where she didn't fit in to one where she'd find people who were more of her class. When you start at a large university like Trinity and know nobody, you have two choices. You either keep to yourself and risk being lonely (like what Connell was doing at the start) or you make the effort to talk to people and find some friends. It isn't unknown for people who didn't have many friends at school to do much better for themselves once they moved on. Marianne was vulnerable but she was no shrinking violet.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,525 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

You often find your tribe in college...types of people you may not have met in school but who you are similar to and can identify with more.

I've a couple of questions about when she went to Sweden. I'll stick a spoiler around it, for people who haven't got around to binge-watching the whole thing
    Was the Lukas guy she was with in Sweden always a BDSM type or did he just go that way after he tried to tell her he liked her? Or had she just started getting drawn to abusive men?

What's the story with the photos he took of her with her top off? I was waiting for those to start circulating online or something

• Registered Users Posts: 12,777 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Basq wrote: »
    That's nothing new.. most of the Dawson's Creek cast were in their late 20's playing 16 year olds.

Funny you say that Basq. I left it after 20 minutes and says to herself..."it's like Dawson's Creek set in Sligo...are we meant to believe that this is the dialogue kids use today".

Have to say I found what I watched was boring and not at all believable.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

She did a very decent Irish accent with just the very odd slip of English accent. If I hadn't known she was English prior to watching I probably wouldn't have noticed.

The acting was excellent and it was so beautifully awkward and relatable at times. Unlike any other romance drama that's for sure. Very nostalgic too.

It did feel a bit dragged out at times though and could have done without that Swedish saga.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

mfceiling wrote: »
    Funny you say that Basq. I left it after 20 minutes and says to herself..."it's like Dawson's Creek set in Sligo...are we meant to believe that this is the dialogue kids use today".

Have to say I found what I watched was boring and not at all believable.

I’ll stick up for the show there. I think the dialogue was very believeable in the first episode. Dawson’s creek was the opposite, it was overly sophisticated mature language for Adults never mindteens.

All the dialogue in this was not very mature and awkward.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Not getting the love in for this. It's beautifully directed and performed, for sure, but essentially it's a pretty hackneyed popular kid /unpopular kid romance that's been done to death a thousand times before.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,840 ✭✭✭hetuzozaho

I enjoyed the book and have finished the series there now.

I thought it was very well written, acted, directed etc. Fair play to all involved. Looks like it's getting some great feed back.
    It's nice to watch things set in Ireland, especially when the quality of acting / direction and cinematography is so high.

(might be showing my ignorance but we don't get many well produced drama series set in ireland really?)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭robwen

No they weren't

• Registered Users Posts: 85,234 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

That never bothered me much, thought they passed well for the age

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    That never bothered me much, thought they passed well for the age

Most of them were in or around 20 in 1998, Michelle Williams 17/18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Not getting the love in for this. It's beautifully directed and performed, for sure, but essentially it's a pretty hackneyed popular kid /unpopular kid romance that's been done to death a thousand times before.

I thought it was way more complex than that - or at least it subtly evolves into something more complex. The way the tables are turned in college as Marianne flourishes and Connell flounders. The underlying class issue - the fact that he's so alienated from the whole Trinity 'thing', despite being academically superior to all the pseuds around him. The depiction of men's mental health issues.

Needless to say, I think it's brilliant. I don't think I've ever read a book that struck so many chords, on so many levels.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I thought it was way more complex than that - or at least it subtly evolves into something more complex. The way the tables are turned in college as Marianne flourishes and Connell flounders. The underlying class issue - the fact that he's so alienated from the whole Trinity 'thing', despite being academically superior to all the pseuds around him. The depiction of men's mental health issues.

Needless to say, I think it's brilliant. I don't think I've ever read a book that struck so many chords, on so many levels.

You may well be right. I've only seen two episodes and haven't read the book. I see trailers for the next episode revolve around a falling out over who he takes to the Debs. It just seems so adolescent and predicable to me. The reversal of popularity is such a trope. I won't be watching any more or bothering with the book.

Perhaps I am missing out but I can live with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,025 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I loved it. It was like a trip down nostalgia lane, the peer pressure, the first crush, finding your identity and independence.
    I did find it hard to get over the fact that most of the cast were twenty somethings supposed to be doing Leaving Cert but after a while, I got used to it.
    Beautiful sound track and camera work.

To thine own self be true

robwen wrote: »
    Most of them were in or around 20 in 1998, Michelle Williams 17/18

I thought Michelle was the oldest :o

No they weren't
    Kerr Smith (Jack) and Meredith Monroe (Andie) were 26 and 28.

So not most of the cast were in there late 20's playing 16 year olds as you said, we'll leave it at that tis gone off topic

To be fair, regardless of me incorrectly stating “most”, I was simply making a point that actors have been playing characters significantly younger than their age for a long time - which is true.

But yeah, let’s leave it there!

Joe busy talking about the porn on tv on Liveline :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Tork wrote: »
    Not necessarily. She went from a family background where she didn't fit in to one where she'd find people who were more of her class. When you start at a large university like Trinity and know nobody, you have two choices.

If I'm not mistaken, her home family background was that of the protestant middle class in a rural town? And is not the idea that she goes to Trinity and suddenly clicks with people of her own ilk? That's conceivable but the complete character change less so in my reading of it. I'm talking the book here.

I didn't read the book so I can only go by what I saw on TV. I bought the change in her. She was not only hanging around with people she had more in common with but they liked her. Having even one or two friends boosts a person's confidence. She was also away from home and her awful mother and brother. The brother was undeniably a nasty piece of work but I thought her mother was the real villain in that family.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭gp1990

Binged on all 12 episodes over the last day or two - and absolutely loved every bit of it

Can see why some mightn't like it however, but I can see this becoming an absolutely massive hit. The two leads were outstanding and the tv series definitely stays true to the book

I fully bought her change also. I went to a small rural secondary school (like in the series) and some of the quieter and less popular students, completely came out of their shells in college going out regularly, mixing with their own like-minded peers and finding their feet on a social level.

I don't see it as a simple matter of her going to college and automatically becoming a party animal/social butterfly or whatever. As can be seen, in her school days, she's promiscuous behind closed doors and in episode 3 - i won't spoil the details - but we see her briefly coming out of her shell also. Basically the school environment she's in prevents her from actually expressing herself

I can't emphasise enough how narrow minded rural secondary schools can be. GAA is basically the be all and end all, social status mainly depends on one's standing in the senior football team or how good looking the girls are, overly studious pupils are not in the popular cliques. Basically completely superficial. Everyone knows everyone, students' sex lives are often completely common knowledge. I can't say how it works in city schools or Dublin or whatever but the school in the show is portrayed excellently and I can completely relate

I'm surprised to see some comments expressing surprise at Connell hiding the relationship also. I think its extremely realistic.

Sure his actions are cowardly, but as teenagers we can be incredibly emotionally immature. I'd say the vast majority of people in this very forum can think back to a time in our teens where we may have shunned someone, or may not have intervened when we saw bullying going on or whatever.

He's a star GAA player, is extremely photogenic, he's the envy of most of the lads and the object of most of the girls' desires. Basically by 'outing' himself as sleeping with the 'loner' of the school year would diminish his high social status, and he'll lose all his friends - in his own mind of course. This is how many of us think as completely shallow adolescents, but of course its all a load of rubbish - which we tend to realise when we actually grow up

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭gourcuff

Brilliant show, loved the depiction of secondary school in Ireland, the football was pretty realistic which is difficult to film and get right, the peer pressure amongst the lads

paul mescals acting is also sensational, great show...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,025 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

gourcuff wrote: »
    Brilliant show, loved the depiction of secondary school in Ireland, the football was pretty realistic which is difficult to film and get right, the peer pressure amongst the lads

She's brilliant too. Would never have realised she was British until I read it here.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭gp1990

gourcuff wrote: »

Absolutely - I read somewhere that Mescal played minor football for Kildare.

Was thinking he looked natural when playing and that they weren't using an obvious stand-in

I think he's booked in for the Late Late friday, no prizes for predicting the breakthrough Irish star of the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I got to ask what is so shocking about the sex in this show? I haven’t watched past the first episode.

The nudity? Frequency Or length of scenes? Candidness of the visual or sound? Realism?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 442 ✭✭freak scence

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I got to ask what is so shocking about the sex in this show? I haven’t watched past the first episode.

The nudity? Frequency Or length of scenes? Candidness of the visual or sound? Realism?

probably that a dick is shown .

Binged the 12 eps , very enjoyable and emotional , great soundtrack .