Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Elephant - ANOTHER fun headwrecking variation of sheep :D

• 25-02-2021 9:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Elephant is a sheep game where the start of the next word must begin with the end letter of the word before.

c0635ff0000f897ecef86bcd2aa5cd49.jpg

Like a line of elephants walking along holding each other, trunk to tail. The Elephants get upset if their tails are not being held.

e.g.
    elephanT
    TigeR
    RhinO
    OctopuS
    Seal

Simple enough, but it can end up being a total train wreck. Once you step off the path, getting back on again can be a mind****.... not that there is any set path :)

Connect the tails for these set of questions :)

1. A colour
    2. A food
    3. A country
    4. A jewel
    5. A greek letter of the alphabet(english spelling)
    6. A mode of transport
    7. An animal
    8. A book from the bible
    9. An Olympic Sport
    10. A forum games poster

Research is allowed.
    PM your answers to me in the usual way :)

Signups open until Tuesday 2nd March at 23:59PM
    Reveal hopefully on Wednesday evening around 10pm

Any questions, just let me know!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I take it we're aiming for a popular answer (akin to SHEEP rather than PEEHS)?

Actually, nevermind, probably easier if I don't know... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Answers In

EDIT: Spent less than a minute on those answers, this can't end well for me... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,421 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Yes, its sheep :D

otherwise I would have said Elephant was a variation of Peehs :D

Levar first man in! :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

In :D

Rikand wrote: »
    Levar first man in! :D

First Person... ;)

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

I take it that you don't get penalised for using the same first letter more than once. :confused:

First Person... ;)

giphy.gif

Jesus, Am I the only man on forum games ?

Lucky me :cool:

I take it that you don't get penalised for using the same first letter more than once. :confused:

Stop giving him ideas!

Nope :D

tenor.gif

Hang on a second there. :(

Necro wrote: »

tenor.gif

Mr. Bean? Not sure about that! :rolleyes:

No you dont :)

tenor.gif

Sorry Necro, but for some bizarre reason i just naturally think of you as female :)

In fairness I've been called a lot worse :D

My PM inbox is a deep, dark wasteland at times. True story!

First Person... ;)

giphy.gif

Woah!
    What?

I was once referred to as a woman in the Irish Independent when a post of mine was quoted for some reason. Admittedly I was mod of The Ladies Lounge at the time, but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭ari101

I have to get my brain to think of people as 'they' first, him or her second; I keep getting so confused on here when someone says he or she, and then wondering if they are right or not! :D

bubblypop wrote: »
    Woah!
    What?

Not a woman either if that's what you're thinking... :D

giphy.gif

This may clear things up slightly...

giphy.gif

Basically, I'm just Fabulous...

giphy.gif

And that's enough sharing time from me for one day... So now that I've addressed the Elephant in the room get back to the other Elephant in the room... :pac:

giphy.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Edser

Answers In

EDIT: Spent less than a minute on those answers, this can't end well for me... :pac:

You'll probably win :D

Edser wrote: »
    You'll probably win :D

Don't get my hopes up... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,400 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Zaph wrote: »
    I was once referred to as a woman in the Irish Independent when a post of mine was quoted for some reason. Admittedly I was mod of The Ladies Lounge at the time, but still...

What was the post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,557 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

In, once I decided on the first answer the rest just flowed

Collie D wrote: »
    What was the post?

I honestly can't remember, it was years ago

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Edser

Trigger wrote: »
    In, once I decided on the first answer the rest just flowed

I started in the middle for some reason and am now stuck on both ends :confused:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQluU3NA8J4Ksz6bbLCeyAeq3BRhh33bm1hCw&usqp=CAU

Will be doing well to get an entry in now :pac:

Edser wrote: »
    I started in the middle for some reason and am now stuck on both ends :confused:

You started in the middle??? That's the action of a psychopath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

You started in the middle??? That's the action of a psychopath!

I initially started at the end, then the middle, then eventually just changed answers to make them fit. The bible one was a killer.

sullivlo wrote:
    I initially started at the end, then the middle, then eventually just changed answers to make them fit. The bible one was a killer.

I 'may' have slightly cheated for that one... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

I considered sending a pm to see if the number in front counted as a letter or something like that. Eventually found one.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

In

tenor.gif?itemid=12648194

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,557 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

I know your answer so.. least we won't ace :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

sullivlo wrote: »
    I considered sending a pm to see if the number in front counted as a letter or something like that. Eventually found one.

No wrong answers in Sheep, are there wrong answers in Elephants?

Entry sent.

giphy.gif

Can we take a moment to appreciate how wonderful elephants are? Such gentle, graceful and beautiful creatures. I'd love to go to an ethical elephant sanctuary some time, hopefully I'll get a chance when international travel becomes a thing again.....so maybe as a treat for my 90th birthday (if I don't have work that day).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

Entry sent.

giphy.gif

Can we take a moment to appreciate how wonderful elephants are? Such gentle, graceful and beautiful creatures. I'd love to go to an ethical elephant sanctuary some time, hopefully I'll get a chance when international travel becomes a thing again.....so maybe as a treat for my 90th birthday (if I don't have work that day).
    Have to agree and I was very privileged to visit one a long time ago

https://www.sheldrickwildlifetrust.org/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

So long as its only in a specific and limited way, you'll be grand so.

I found this one quite difficult. Four of my answers are really inspired but I cant see that helping much.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

In
    T5C2RoK.gif?noredirect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

We went to Tanzania for our honeymoon. One place, Tarangire, is known for elephants particularly. No fences around the hotel, you're just asked to keep your distance if they wander in, so this photo is through our hotel door...

IMG-0628.jpg

Have loads of better photos, but I always love that one for how close they'd come, how clearly this was their home and we were their guests

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It was tricky getting everything to line up.
    I'll probably score sweet Fanny Addams for my efforts too :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭davetherave

I also started in the middleish and work forward and back. Have nine solid answers and one "Does it fit? Yes. Then it's going in". Tried redoing it a few times from the first and from the last to see if I could get a more real answer in but couldn't make a chain better than the one I already had.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

I started in the middle too, started with the hardest ones and it was going great until the last one and then, oh christ. Had to change things a bit but got there in the end, nice game by the way you sure love your exotic animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Rikand, that was great craic. I got to the last question easily and would you believe the trauma I had trying to find a forum player beginning with the letter I needed. So I took a complete liberty and am 100% certain I scored an ace on that one at least

Enjoying your variations tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Sawduck wrote: »
    I started in the middle too, started with the hardest ones and it was going great until the last one and then, oh christ. Had to change things a bit but got there in the end, nice game by the way you sure love your exotic animals

Youre going down my friend.

The player I went with was a G. Not many Gs, esp not in the Sheep and such games.

Had a blast though, fair play Rikand. With your creative juices you should be in a board room spitballing Hasbro games ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

beakerjoe wrote: »
    The player I went with was a G. Not many Gs, esp not in the Sheep and such games.

I was struggling to find a G player so had to change my previous answer.
    Which then meant I had to go back & change the question before that too.
    That meant having to research the bible question for a third time :rolleyes:

I'm curious now who this G is :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭Sawduck

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Youre going down my friend.

Had a blast though, fair play Rikand. With your creative juices you should be in a board room spitballing Hasbro games ideas.

Have you ever beaten me, nice little rivalry :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,530 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

And in!

Got a list together, decided to see if I could get a second one and pick the better of the two. Started at the top, started at the bottom, started at a couple of the awkward ones in the middle - and no way could I come up with a second lot :(

Love all the variations on the theme, Rikand!

I'm delighted with my list.

Think I might win this.

A solid 7/2 chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

I was struggling to find a G player so had to change my previous answer.
    Which then meant I had to go back & change the question before that too.
    That meant having to research the bible question for a third time :rolleyes:

I'm curious now who this G is :D

Yeah but even if ya dont win you'll be a bit holier. :)