Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manly words men should know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

Keelhauled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

"That was easy"
    No one was around to see the 4 hours of struggle earlier

"That'll be easy, leave it with me"
    Waiting for everyone to leave so they don't witness 4 hours of struggle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

Gunther.

A fictitious handyman who has worked on the object of your attentions previously. Similar to a banshee or a bogeyman, with a tool belt and Extreme Makeover: Home Edition box sets on his coffee table.

"Ah Jaysus lads. This thing is going to be a bleedin' nightmare. It's been f'n Gunthered by some eejit with a tube of Tec 7. What kind of a muppet...."

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Swarfega - soap for real men.

Cam
    Head gasket
    Sledgehammer
    Traction
    Differential

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Camanflage.
    The happy front men wear in social situations.
    #mandictionary

Sorry to go all serious, but in the UK an organisation called CALM are running awereness for male depression, they have a few of these words on bus stops. Fair dues.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Pisshorn.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,324 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

drink concrete and harden the fook up!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Skerries wrote: »
    drink concrete and harden the fook up!

Spoken like a true goat. (Goat being a colloquialism for natives of skerries used by people in balbriggan)
    I always wondered,it the balbriggan lads call your lot goats,what do youse boys call them?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,162 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The use of the possesive when referring to a shed / garage.

It's not the shed, it's my shed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭andy125

Fiscal space

Paint-stirring-stick.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Proportional Representation

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wacker Plate

• Registered Users Posts: 7,982 ✭✭✭Hitchens

"ya could acrow it up and stick in an RSJ and it'd be grand" .....usually heard from a lad who hasn't hands to wipe his árse

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

I'll just unhinge the sprocket flange under this block casing, then your child's buggy should run grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

"Fcukin A" or "Fcukin A, man"

Can be used as a response for almost anything, positive or negative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

clenched buttocks

• Registered Users Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Agricola wrote: »
    Ballcock

Yeah, but you have to be able to say it to the Mrs with a straight face and without guffawing childishly.

Leave her guessing whether it's Man Talk or 'just being rude again'.

Then, throw in a few references to male and female connectors...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Green deezel. Gooch. Snakeskin. Piss Horn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Ruu wrote: »
    Made a bags of it-cocked things up more or less, ruined.

No man ever said that, ever.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mauve

Back in the day purple was reserved for the dying of imperial silks. It was the ultimate status symbol colour.

"Wot we can't have purple ? bollocks to that." So Mr Perkins went off to make some stuff that was nearly black. Really deep purple if you like.

What practical use is purple ? Well it's synthesis lead to the chemical industry as we know it today as well as providing the sulfa-drugs that were the only effective treatment of bacterial infections before penicillin.

Oh and the colour faded over time. So what is called Mauve today is just a wishy washy remnant, like when the sequels get more family friendly like comparing the original Mad Max with the one with the kids. Or comparing Robocop with Robocop 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Archeron

Baffle

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Gudgeon pin.

Mauve

Back in the day purple was reserved for the dying of imperial silks. It was the ultimate status symbol colour.

"Wot we can't have purple ? bollocks to that." So Mr Perkins went off to make some stuff that was nearly black. Really deep purple if you like.

What practical use is purple ? Well it's synthesis lead to the chemical industry as we know it today as well as providing the sulfa-drugs that were the only effective treatment of bacterial infections before penicillin.

Oh and the colour faded over time. So what is called Mauve today is just a wishy washy remnant, like when the sequels get more family friendly like comparing the original Mad Max with the one with the kids. Or comparing Robocop with Robocop 3.

You're a bit crap at this.

You'll be trying to tell us turqoise is a real colour next.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bearing.

Can be used to describe why various mechanical and non mechanical devices have stopped working or don't sound right...when you really haven't a fcuking clue what's wrong with it.

"Ah yes, it'll be the main bearing that's gone in it" or "it'll need new bearings" or "sounds like there may be a worn bearing" etc etc

Can be applied to cars, bikes, lawn mowers, washing machines, tumble driers, sliding doors, power tools, vacuum cleaners, etc etc

LOL, when you haven't a clue! The GF's car had a knocking sound at a certain rev range, so she asked me an office boy to take a look. Note the front grill was missing from the car at the time. So I popped the hood and had a look:

GF: "Well what do you think?"
    Me: I dunno, I'm looking for a clod of turf or something because the grill is missing."

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,613 ✭✭✭Feisar

Gunther.

A fictitious handyman who has worked on the object of your attentions previously. Similar to a banshee or a bogeyman, with a tool belt and Extreme Makeover: Home Edition box sets on his coffee table.

"Ah Jaysus lads. This thing is going to be a bleedin' nightmare. It's been f'n Gunthered by some eejit with a tube of Tec 7. What kind of a muppet...."

Also, "some hoor bucketed silicone into it."

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭luketitz

Bivvywhack

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,399 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Resistor
    Carburettor
    Fuel injection
    Hydraulic jack
    Drill-bit
    Solder
    Allen key

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭luketitz

bivouac

How tight do you want that yoke?

One grunt, two grunts or three grunts and a fart?