Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stellar XLM

• Registered Users Posts: 921 ✭✭✭benjamin d

Sweet, I have 900 of these yokes! Any reason why I might be wary of sending these to Kraken? It all seems too handy to be given free momey like this...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

1451 of them. Worth $400. Somehow in two different wallets. Might hold onto them a bit as they cost me nothing and I’ve no plan for them.

I keep getting transaction failed. Anyone any ideas what the problem might be? I'm getting charged the transaction fee every time I try...

EDIT: I figured out my mistake. I had left the required 20 XLM in the account but hadn't left enough for the transaction fee (.00001XLM). In case anyone else has the same issue.

My 881 new XLM are worth about €210 In my Kraken account. I did literally nothing except sign up for a stellar account in 2014. I can't remember in the slightest why I did and I'm 100% sure I didn't do the sharing craic others in the OP's thread were doing. What a lovely result.

There are a few wishful projections of $2-5 dollars for XLM, imagine that for doing nutin'??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I have the following from 2014 signup

Your balance:

600.999963 lumens

I have no idea how any of this works

• Registered Users Posts: 18,394 ✭✭✭✭kippy

benjamin d wrote: »
    I keep getting transaction failed. Anyone any ideas what the problem might be? I'm getting charged the transaction fee every time I try...

EDIT: I figured out my mistake. I had left the required 20 XLM in the account but hadn't left enough for the transaction fee (.00001XLM). In case anyone else has the same issue.

My 881 new XLM are worth about €210 In my Kraken account. I did literally nothing except sign up for a stellar account in 2014. I can't remember in the slightest why I did and I'm 100% sure I didn't do the sharing craic others in the OP's thread were doing. What a lovely result.

There are a few wishful projections of $2-5 dollars for XLM, imagine that for doing nutin'??
    Hard to know where the value will go. But at the end of the day they didn't cost anything so not too relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,878 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Relevant to selling now and putting the money elsewhere or holding to be fair..

Crystal ball stuff. No relevance once you didn't put real money into them in the first instance.
    These Cryptos are random enough from what I can tell.

I'm not selling these anyway. If they go to nothing then easy come easy go. If they really moon and go 3, 4 or even 5(!) figures then we'll all party. Can't lose :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

I'm not selling these anyway. If they go to nothing then easy come easy go. If they really moon and go 3, 4 or even 5(!) figures then we'll all party. Can't lose :)

Stellar Boards Meet . We drink it all :)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

There's already a supply of almost 18 billion Lumens and increasing, to reach 4 figures now, the market cap would have to be $18 trillion! That's about 30 times larger than all cryptocurrencies in existence today combined. :pac:

How does one explain any value attached to these at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,777 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

kippy wrote: »
    How does one explain any value attached to these at all?

No one cares!

As long as the next fella pays more, our coins go up in value

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

Dohnjoe wrote: »
    No one cares!

As long as the next fella pays more, our coins go up in value

Nobody will sanely look at a coin with a 20 quadrillion market cap and take it seriously.

Some care.

grindle wrote: »
    Nobody will sanely look at a coin with a 20 quadrillion market cap and take it seriously.

Some care.

Why is there any value attached to them at all?

That's an interesting question!

The coins need to be bought in order to enable their economic use (if it's that kind of token, like XLM or XRP) and for as long as the users believe that it'll get use institutionally, they'll pile on with the belief that large MNCs will start buying them for their own use re: International monetary movement and liquidity, and that'll drive the price up. And so it does.

There's always an equilibrium at the top where people get burnt no matter what the coin or token does. Same with shares in a company - somebody always buys the top and gets rekt.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

You could ask the same about any crypto. Indeed, you could ask the same about gold. It has very little intrinsic value.

It's a completely open secondary market where people can potentially make serious bank buying/selling/holding articially created digital assets

Some of them do stuff, some don't, some are even used by industry, but generally speaking it's the "get rich" and "make money" parts that attract the vast bulk of interest

It's the unregulated casino of investment, everything else looks boring in comparison

generally speaking it's the "get rich" and "make money" parts that attract the vast bulk of interest.

...every investment ever.

Except that many of these investments are supposed to be currencies, which are the opposite of investment instruments

So for all this blurb about crypto-"currencies", the market says **** that, and treats them like speculative digital precious metals

Except that many of these investments are supposed to be currencies, which are the opposite of investment instruments

So for all this blurb about crypto-"currencies", the market says **** that, and treats them like speculative digital precious metals

It's still very much in the growing stage. This kind of volatility will die down as their use grows, and, yeah, the speculative stage is very much like the gold rush, but once it really starts bearing down and taking over it'll start working just like cash. Don't worry about it!
    Plus it democratises IPOs. That's good, no?

Phoebas wrote: »
    You could ask the same about any crypto. Indeed, you could ask the same about gold. It has very little intrinsic value.

I could but I amn't. Gold is a finite resource used in any number of physical processes.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,033 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I could but I amn't. Gold is a finite resource used in any number of physical processes.

XLM is a strictly controlled resource (new coins are added at a rate of 1%) used in any number of financial transactions using the Stellar system.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

If Gold's value was measured by its use in manufacturing processes it would cost a tiny fraction of what it does.

Gold has very little intrinsic value. It's value is almost totally what people are willing to put in it as a value store - not unlike cryptos.

It's still very much in the growing stage. This kind of volatility will die down as their use grows,

Not really. BTC has already hit the market cap of some smaller currencies in the world and is far more volatile and unstable

Adoption as a currency is not really growing, quite the opposite, it's diminishing, less outlets are accepting them. People are hoarding speculative digital assets not spending them
    once it really starts bearing down and taking over it'll start working just like cash.

There'll have to be some pretty dramatic changes for people to start spending these cryptos on the same level of cash (or replacing it) apart from black market use.

Adoption as a currency is not really growing, quite the opposite, it's diminishing, less outlets are accepting them. People are hoarding speculative digital assets not spending them
    Adoption as a currency happens later - either way, BTC is a terrible currency right now and possibly far into the future too. Maybe forever?
    The speculative investment angle is however, a fantastic Trojan horse into wider acceptance.
    There'll have to be some pretty dramatic changes for people to start spending these cryptos on the same level of cash (or replacing it) apart from black market use.
    Not sure what kind of timeline you're thinking in, but I think we'll see the adoption and use of these coins continuously growing at a faster pace over the next 10+ years.
    The smarter merchants are looking beyond BTC and have POS machines that have an option to basically act as an immediate exchange to FIAT for them for a number of cryptocurrencies.

Dramatic changes may take a long time to happen but the inherent value offered by having your own store of wealth available to you at all times and secured by networks as large as BTC or ETH's rather than stored as an IOU where your right to access can be revoked on a whim - it's not just going away this time.
    It can crash again once this crazy cycle reaches it's peak, but I can't see it being reduced to nothing as the reasoning behind it is still valid - it's gone beyond fringe nerds, anarcho-capitalists and druggies buying it.
    The more it spreads, the more is learned, the less chance there is of it ever passing by.

The speculative investment angle is however, a fantastic Trojan horse into wider acceptance.

It's basically the only angle. It really just leads into larger speculative investments until it becomes too much of a blackhole of cash leaving economies and governments step in - and the fun days are over

Hopefully we're at the beginning of this and not in the golden age of that right now

As for the currency side of it. Finance and banking (and related industries) are investing heavily into blockchain and DL tech to streamline everything, from cash transfers to smart contracts. No country will ever accept a decentralised currency (for obvious reasons), so cryptos will have a very difficult time competing with more advanced fiat. Except for black market/private use will I feel will lead to far too much attention from regulators

"Wider acceptance" of crypto just seems to be market cap going up until it cracks, and how many can get rich off it in the meanwhile. Strip away the entire speculative aspect of it and it would essentially just be small start-ups attempting to showcase blockchain/crypto tech competing against the big companies

• Registered Users Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭Whelo79

He can you all take this to a general crypto thread and away from this one. I keep thinking something exciting has happened with this coin every time I log in! Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭Ewan Hoosarmi

Just found this thread. I was one of the money train riders in 2014. I've just converted my account to the new format (thank you Lastpass for my login). Now I have a balance of 4,600.999927 lumens. Dunno what to do with it now. :D

They cost me nothing, so nothing to lose. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Great thread.

I myself remember back in 2014 when some poster made a thread about this Stellar Lumen xlm coin on Boards.ie. I got 50 lumens free when i signed up to stellar, then i traded them a little for a day just messing around. I checked my stellar account at the start of 2017 and noticed that I had 4,500 stellar lumens, so i opened an account with bittrex exchange and transferred my Lumens there and then put them into bitcoin to buy a few other coins. I remember at one point my 4,500 lumens were worth €211, then just a week or two ago they were worth €1,122 or more, amazing. I still see stellar doing really well in the future as its a long term investment, and I also see Cardano ADA doing really well coming into April 2018. I got in on ADA at 2-cent and made some nice profits.

Great thread OP. People say that Cardano will go to the moon. It will go further than that 2018. Wait for the next big drop and buy a load of them, because ada in a few years could be the new ETH :) Stellar and Cardano ADA are going to be huge by next christmas. :)

The great thing about this all is that I never put a cent into cryptocurrency nor had to use my bank details to buy and trade, those first 50 free lumens made me a small fortune.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

Stellar has already had a big jump in December, but since it's so similar to Ripple I am wondering if investors will see it as underpriced in comparison to Ripple, and they may start putting money into it.. already moving a bit today with the Ripple jump (against pretty much the rest of the market)