Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

MTB Photos taken on your cycle

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Peter T

Your photos never disappoint. Is that inch/ castlemaine in the background ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭xxyyzz

Peter T wrote: »
    Your photos never disappoint. Is that inch/ castlemaine in the background ?

Thanks it's taken on the top of Strickeen in the Gap of dunloe. The reeks are in the background. That's Dingle bay on the third pic

KxkIZav.jpg

This loop is 5 mins from my house. Requires a little hike-a-bike but good when you're caught for time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

xxyyzz wrote: »
    KxkIZav.jpg

This loop is 5 mins from my house. Requires a little hike-a-bike but good when you're caught for time.

Bet ya I could get there in 3.... :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Lough Nadirkmore, taken from yesterday's Western Lakes MTB Audax.

484093.jpg

What was the turnout like? Hadn't seen that advertised at all, would've been interested in that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

rizzodun wrote: »
    What was the turnout like? Hadn't seen that advertised at all, would've been interested in that.

I only did the 100 (106k) which had about 30 odd at a guess, I saw the 200 crew leaving as I was coming in and I'd say about 15 of them give or take. I did it on a CX and my off road skills are crap, so I struggled badly* on some bits but it was fantastic craic. Course finished on the clubs BMX circuit for that final laugh of the day. Really friendly vibe, well organised and a great part of the country if you get a chance. Lots of bohereens and fire roads for the most part so not that technical for any regular MTBer, though a few bits of bog and rocky bits thrown in there too. I'll be back next year, hopefully with a few more skills.

(* cut off time was 6 hours, took me just under 9)

smacl wrote: »
    I only did the 100 (106k) which had about 30 odd at a guess, I saw the 200 crew leaving as I was coming in and I'd say about 15 of them give or take. I did it on a CX and my off road skills are crap, so I struggled badly* on some bits but it was fantastic craic. Course finished on the clubs BMX circuit for that final laugh of the day. Really friendly vibe, well organised and a great part of the country if you get a chance. Lots of bohereens and fire roads for the most part so not that technical for any regular MTBer, though a few bits of bog and rocky bits thrown in there too. I'll be back next year, hopefully with a few more skills.

(* cut off time was 6 hours, took me just under 9)

Fair play. Will have to look out for it.

Also:
    Mods, ban this heathen for talking about cx bikes in the MTB forum. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

rizzodun wrote: »
    Fair play. Will have to look out for it.

Also:
    Mods, ban this heathen for talking about cx bikes in the MTB forum. :pac:

You haven't long to wait for similar

https://www.audaxireland.org/events-calendar/gazetteer/200km-events/mayo-xtrm-200/

cL2tDhu.jpg
    RisM482.jpg
    T7JSRC1.jpg
    AAyhHDy.jpg
    q6tS6Yj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Some lovely shots there xxyyzz. Also digging the stem-cap :D

p4KaU6Y.jpg
    giGkdyY.jpg
    WAFMB82.jpg
    TMEYaxT.jpg
    ROMHxzr.jpg
    pbLiLpG.jpg
    fEXQPuX.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,628 ✭✭✭prunudo

Took a detour from the usual Ballinastoe trails yesterday.

fftuKVZ.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

Where is that xxyyzz?

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    Where is that xxyyzz?
    Sliabh an Iolair back west of Dingle
    Mt Eagle
    https://www.komoot.com/tour/t80240136

Mt Eagle

Looks like a cracking spot for a wander :)

That bike has me counting down the weeks for the btw again :D

Mt Eagle

Looks like a cracking spot for a wander :)

That bike has me counting down the weeks for the btw again :D

Yeah my first time up there. It's a fireroads climb to the top and a singletrack descent down the other side. Fantastic trail.

Are you looking to get a remedy?

I'm considering it alright they're a cracking looking machine.

It's a great bike alright, the reach is probably a bit on the conservative side by today's standards but it's not meant as an enduro sled, it's an all day trail bike with enough travel to handle some very rough stuff. It actually climbs better than my previous bike which was a 130mm Whyte t130.

Yeah I'm in 2 minds as to what to get I like the slash also but not a big fan of 29r I find them awkward. I also like the moondraker dune r as the slack head angle is class in the corners.

A lad I know did the Megavalanche last weekend on a remedy he said it was grand and not a bother on it.

Tuesday night is adventure night
    UxolAqe.jpg
    c0HCiRC.jpg
    i7L2AJK.jpg
    WIpVmZV.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭saccades

That last picture promises some awesome flow...

Yeah it was some of the best singletrack I've ridden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭covey123

Yeah it was some of the best singletrack I've ridden.

Where is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭covey123

Excellent pics, really inspiring for getting out on the bike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭steamsey

saccades wrote: »

Lovely. How long is the descent in that last pic?

steamsey wrote: »
    saccades wrote: »

Lovely. How long is the descent in that last pic?
    It's about 2.6km in total, there's a small climb in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭Plastik

hpL9Vo5l.jpg

Slightly different take!

Plastik wrote: »
    hpL9Vo5l.jpg

Slightly different take!

The gap bbq&beers?

An ice cold ale and taco at The Gap after a few hours skirting between pedal ups there and around the other side at Ticknock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,628 ✭✭✭prunudo

Dry trails at the moment, dare say they could do with a sup of rain. #neverhappy

6tQ2uRZ.jpg

Qs29QDT.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Gerry

That's being sorted there now at the moment heading to ravensdale in the morning hope it's not too sloppy

#DONTsendit ;)

kcwOX9gERQmlhzn9gAzHb4l8gWvksGbvJqT7EGAG_krFmdjkRs_jfezituKofZJQ5YJSOt6e-UdQJI0BM7Bvg1Z-aGpARI8vm40pFDo8KzMJxVzZUph5-k7HGJ7k00jUX9LZ-EnelrPHOAuQmMATpBpVBUPcXC3xQOzLpFVI50xYopvh2ydpCcnMZ38CBiHORbaFn3UxN9-5NEABy0DEfcn40ANH_g12d8CQAudy7TOEMo6LvBzRJDUckhW8l2ddvjWSl5FVmw86TRmuQOLTqrCVRrBaLpSMxVxDF-uosts_w4QTThPeRcA4TOVdWXgh9zkyFBNwVDqJ1dhtzCmLee5g6gmrhRNQ1nu5Lgrq7KgLaBvJUxxY-Sc39HRlCB7lm_awbvItVDwqA8ssoHSKYXU8XydTiNQEnzwwGJe2tptP9p7o2lpRTBm34DOswxhrYDCwA0VnIaed6cskK0cdnLSQ7twROcGeigF9UHMh4R9FeWFweAGg1EBqnkbPfEJlOtWBlDasx9RIlcXTjFKU309vOlutSs_g8nuoEd0tjkCXo_fDjOJJE4ARiwpcufKH2MNyES4Bdsmnyf5kowNHvcboxVRzUPj1grzqeYa57mum2NFA1_xtaSlEh7zYHlYy-75bEH68hCtCes2vM2zSgbWADmWixK0k=w469-h625-no

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Biopace

The Vee, Co. Tipp

fX0TePu.jpg?2

bM0jtb8l.jpg

Mega.

Some hoor of a pedal up though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭steamsey

bM0jtb8l.jpg

Mega.

I couldn't do it! On the pulse was enough for me. Savage spot they have there. Did you find the Bins? Great unofficial trails.

It's an absolute bitch alright I'm still not sure if it's worth the down. Cool jersey :)

First time up there so didn't do much exploring. Headed out on the black loop and then up for Mega Mission afterwards, we didn't do much other than a sighting lap on it TBH. I was clipped in for the day and I'm not too keen on jumping like that after a rear wheel over head scorpion move in Bike Park Ireland a few years ago!

It's an absolute bitch alright I'm still not sure if it's worth the down. Cool jersey :)

If you can get a gang you can take turns to shuttle to the top car park, on the pulse is really only a short climb from there.

On the pulse is way more fun than mega mission imo, I prefer proper tech over jump trails.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭Biopace

Millennium Cross & looking back at Tountinne, Co. Tipp.

I97mCl3.jpg

WwSB8pA.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭El Vino

First spin for my 11 year old daughter around the Ballyhouras, She loved it!
    488876.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

488912.jpg

3zlSjell.jpg

Djouce this evening.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭El Vino

488912.jpg

Is that the Dolomites? Great pic

I came across this amazing trail today. I won't say where but I couldn't believe this berm when I saw it
    DfaGy7M.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,903 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

xxyyzz wrote:
    I came across this amazing trail today. I won't say where but I couldn't believe this berm when I saw it

Be ta Jaysis, must have taken the lads years to build that thing, berms are a pain in the hole to make, a lot of energy required, particularly if it's manpower

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Be ta Jaysis, must have taken the lads years to build that thing, berms are a pain in the hole to make, a lot of energy required, particularly if it's manpower

Tree stump would've made things a lot easier :D It looks like you've to pedal up into it though or am I looking at the exit?

That's the exit, similar on the other side. It's more like a wall ride than a berm and it's a lot bigger than it looks in the picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,903 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

its bloody impressive