Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

This weeks Classic Irish bargains that I'm not buying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/audi-100-avant-price-reduced-even-more/20949513

OTg0MjZkYTA4YmVjZjg5YjE1ZDVlNjljZWUzZWJjMjljwUT3OJABedDfvqIraw_yaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTc2MDQxMzh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

This looks like it could be a pretty decent buy for around a grand. NCT till 2020, tax till the end of the year and it is seemingly well enough sorted for daily/regular use

€1250

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65,707 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That's as rough as a badgers arse but you can't argue with the asking price. I'd say the seller would take a grand for it.

Almighty cheap work horse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

That's calling to me hard.

unkel wrote: »
    That's as rough as a badgers arse but you can't argue with the asking price. I'd say the seller would take a grand for it.

Almighty cheap work horse!

Photos are suspiciously reticent alright but I think this one says all you need to know really

NDkzNDlmZGViMGVjZTMyOTk5MWRmZTlhMjA3NTNkYjfZXzKI1-J77Ze0KC7cgl1uaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTc2MDQxNDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

If you think thats rough as a badgers backside though, you should see my 1990 Suzuki Alto! :D

Photos are suspiciously reticent alright but I think this one says all you need to know really

NDkzNDlmZGViMGVjZTMyOTk5MWRmZTlhMjA3NTNkYjfZXzKI1-J77Ze0KC7cgl1uaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTc2MDQxNDV8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

If you think thats rough as a badgers backside though, you should see my 1990 Suzuki Alto! :D

It's funny, i was just looking at the bottom right of that near the bumper before you posted this.

Still wanna go look.

Still for the money I guess...

I think its well worth a grand.

It has a recent and valid test, so mustn't be all that bad!

That's what I'm hoping for. Big Saturday morning ahead if it's still there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

That Audi has been up on DD a good few times.

kaizersoze wrote: »
    That Audi has been up on DD a good few times.

Aye. Sure look at the ad. Guy can't shift it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

I think its well worth a grand.

It has a recent and valid test, so mustn't be all that bad!
    Yeah...

Imagine if all shock absorbers are gone in it, it would still have passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭oceanman

Kinda cool? Very cool! :cool:

Never had an NCT though, caveat emptor.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,485 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Better deal here for a RR/Bentley, bit more expensive at €7,750 but has an NCT for 18 months. Needs to have the seats pampered and probably a few other small bits, but you can run this car for less money than a new Golf for 1-2 years.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bentley-8-swap-px-/19665677

YzNkOGJiMzNhNzA0NmVkNjQ5YjZiZjRhNjU3MzUxY2U6F_6oCxczTcvZkwQ4mtZkaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMDc5MDk3MzB8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I love all bubble cars, had an Isetta years ago. Irish manufacture gives this Heinkel added appeal. Reg checks out as 1960. Price is very fair based on international prices.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1960-heinkel-bubble-car-ireland-built/21116574

NmY0NjI4YjVhNmVmYmI0NTg0ZDhjN2U0NzY1ZjQ4YznmHzp7mLF3aWhM93w-mafMaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMTg5MjA1MjF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

They were available in rhd. I wonder why that one is lhd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭supervento

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭oceanman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,563 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Kinda cool? Very cool! :cool:

Never had an NCT though, caveat emptor.

He also has an 01 Merc CLK for the price of a bicycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MrCostington

That's a steal, MrCostington!

"open to reasonable offers" I'd say EUR350 would take it. Current NCT and all. Car has driven to the moon and some of the way back, I like it! :)

This won't be there long, someone grab a bargain quick.

Current NCT and all

Yes, I put that into the title just for you, we know you love your NCTs!

Agreed a bargain, only caveat the ad says something about bodywork, may just be dull paint. Well worth a look if in the market for one. Hard to believe such a modern car is 29 years old!

Yes, I put that into the title just for you, we know you love your NCTs!

No love for the NCT, but all cars registered after 31/12/1979 need to have one and most cars for sale on DD don't seem to have one. Only in Ireland would you come across a shambles like that.

:) well I mean you are a stickler for the NCT, and rightly so.

I was looking at a car last week that was used as a daily, no NCT, owner said he didn't think it needed it, being over 30. It really makes one suspicious, and assume it failed on something major and hence trying to off load car. And of course it's the law, and is a safety check after all. And, the insurance insist on it, so these people are effectively driving uninsured, I'd say.

But anyway, happy St Patricks Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭w124man

You'd nearly buy that Toyota just to bring it over 300,000 miles. Makes you wonder why the owner doesn't do that

w124man wrote: »
    You'd nearly buy that Toyota just to bring it over 300,000 miles. Makes you wonder why the owner doesn't do that

My dad did that 2 years ago with a 99 Toyota. Between doing a deal to trade it and actually handing it over, he clicked it over the mark. https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=103259240

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1972-reliant-scimitar-gte/21340827

NWE5OGMyZTdjMTVkYjk0MDM2MmFiZmE2NzQxNDNkMmSvHk3TY9ZWoIyW9Fr3qjyPaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xMjA2NjA1MjR8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Decent price for a manual Scimitar needing a small bit of TLC (if you're not overly concerned with cosmetics)

Would love to give one of these a try some day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭shagman

Thats mine /\ Needs a bit of work but a lot of the mechanical upgrades are already done , stainless manifolds/exhaust / fuel tank, matched alloy timing gears , aldon ignitor ignition, mountney steering wheel stuff like that.
    Need more time and space to work on my 79 chevy camper van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Don't want to start a new thread.
    Can anyone make any sense of this?
    475881.JPG

It's a 93 motor. Donedeal down. Can't link to it.

The NCT ran out on July 5 2015, so it has no currently no valid NCT.

The last NCT was due on July 6 2018, but it missed this appointment and the few others before that.

It's the bottom date that is the important one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

pablo128 wrote: »
    Lovely, but she's far from a bargain.

Hmm I dunno, if kept for ten years it could be an investment.

I couldn't resist it!

After flying over to Bradford in January to look at a 1989 and 1990 saloon Carina II's there was no way I was leaving a one owner liftback online at that price.

Drove down after work and bought her this evening. Drove like a dream from Wexford back to Dublin tonight. Pulls lovely. Box is decent. Can't really say much else that one wouldn't expect on 29yo car. It's like a boat inside!
    Genuinely a thoroughly enjoyable drive on a road I hate!

Body is a wee bit tatty around in spots but nothing some TLC over the next few months won't sort out.

Delighted with her!

Incidentally as an aside; outside Enniscorthy this evening towards Ferns there was a Garda check point. First time breathilysed since October 2009! Madness!

Anyway, he was asking me about the Carina saying he'd seen the ad up on done deal and all and has been looking at them himself... How was it etc... nothing like about of car chat at a check point!
    w124man wrote: »

I brought it over 292000 on the drive back. Satisfying as fook!

Well wear! How much did you get the car for if you don't mind me asking? :)
    Hmm I dunno, if kept for ten years it could be an investment.

It would have been a good investment if you bought it ten years ago. Now at that kinda money, maybe not so much, but of course only time will tell.

I couldn't resist it!
    Drove down after work and bought her this evening. Drove like a dream from Wexford back to Dublin tonight. Pulls lovely. Box is decent. Can't really say much else that one wouldn't expect on 29yo car. It's like a boat inside!
    Genuinely a thoroughly enjoyable drive on a road I hate!

Fantastic! Best of luck with it!

Well wear! How much did you get the car for if you don't mind me asking? :)

290 in the end

Sweet price, well done! :D

That's just the down payment on the pocket emptying over the next year. :)

That was a bargain! Classic tax next year remember :)

Yup.

Watch as the budget changes the rules now that I got in on some classic action.

:D:D:D:D:D:D

Who did you get insurance with and how much are you paying? A lot of classic policies would not insure Japanese cars.

I have a 97 Corolla on a classic policy, with commuting!

(Autoline)

I just flipped it to being my main car for the moment. The '97 Corolla that is my "main" car has to go back in for a retest next week after I stick in new drop-links and bushings so it suits for the minute.

Incidentally I work for *coughs* an insurance company - I work for them but I don't do insurance things - anyway I thought it would be fairly straightforward to get a 2 car policy and sure enough you have to be 40+ to have a 2 car policy!

The more you know I guess. Incidentally I am nearly 35 and I thought these age discrimination things were long over with at this stage. Who knew!

Incidentally I work for *coughs* an insurance company

If you can't beat them, join them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭80sDiesel

Congrats on ur purchase.
    How does a 2 car policy work?Is it that u just pay slightly more given that you can only drive one car at a time.

A man is rich in proportion to the number of things which he can afford to let alone.

80sDiesel wrote: »
    Congrats on ur purchase.
    How does a 2 car policy work?Is it that u just pay slightly more given that you can only drive one car at a time.

That's pretty much the idea.

It's pretty much like how you can get a "classic" policy and it only costs 150 quid or so but as a second policy and will have limiting conditions; the 2 car policy has no "limiting" conditions. Anyway, unless you're over 39 you ain't getting one. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

That's pretty much the idea.

It's pretty much like how you can get a "classic" policy and it only costs 150 quid or so but as a second policy and will have limiting conditions; the 2 car policy has no "limiting" conditions. Anyway, unless you're over 39 you ain't getting one. :confused:

Sadly, I do meet the necessary criteria - so what companies offer this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

Looking at getting my first classic car. Not a mechanic at all but intend learning the basics as I go and know a decent local mechanic that won't rip me off. Thoughts on these MGs would be appreciated :

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1976-mg-roadster-convertible-with-overdrive-/21356443

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mgb-gt/19887528

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/mg-b-convertible-/19424382

Have settled on MG as prefer the real old styling and parts etc should be fairly easily found. I'd probably be squeezing into a midget. A Ford Capri would be lovely too, but out of budget for now. Ones available in budget don't look like safe bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

It would be the coupe I'd go for, for the practicality in this climate but also because I just prefer coupes. MG's are pretty basic and easy to work on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,563 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes the GT looks good but it is very hard to tell from pics.
    Get that mechanic to go with you to check it out.
    Everything for them down to the last nut and bolt is available from specialist suppliers in UK.
    They are pretty simple to work on.
    If you don't have a garage forget it, the weather will kill it.