Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Anyone fancy a trip to Pontins ??

Would you like some mayo for that chip

Where’s his chip? It’s a quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

I wouldn't want Jimmy Carr at my resort either.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Those kind of holiday places attract a certain sort anyway. I'm not surprised they have had bad experiences from certain Irish going over there.

When they ain't busy protestin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭POBox19

Can’t say I’d condone this overt practice. Cannot condemn them either having seen the behaviour of a certain group of Irish extraction on their alcoholiday in a good hotel in Malta. Thankfully they were thrown out after a 24 hour nightmare for everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,516 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I am a traveller.
    You are a tourist.
    He is a backpacker.

Me, ex-pat.
    You, immigrant!

Scrap the cap!

I see Spike Milligan can't go to Pontin's

because he's dead.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

py2006 wrote: »
    Those kind of holiday places attract a certain sort anyway. I'm not surprised they have had bad experiences from certain Irish going over there.

Are you finished pontificating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

c'mon now let's be honest if you were running a hotel, guesthouse, b&b etc....and you had a rough sounding fella on the phone with one of those surnames trying to make a booking..what would you do??

in short > i don't blame them

although silly of them to make it public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,741 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Not today boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,822 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Is this a new thing?
    I know with hotels you'd basically be told to be careful if you got a call asking to book a room and to try and get the surname before agreeing to anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,474 ✭✭✭pgj2015

fryup wrote: »
    c'mon now let's be honest if you were running a hotel, guesthouse, b&b etc....and you had a rough sounding fella on the phone with one of those surnames trying to make a booking..what would you do??

in short > i don't blame them

although silly of them to make it public

sometimes people seem rough on the phone but are ok but a rough accent is a bit of a red flag. also if someone rings me and has no manners then I never do business with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭Normal One

I mean i can't stand them but they're ours, so up the ra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Are you finished pontificating?

Almost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

sabat wrote: »
    Boylan, Boyle, Carney, Carr, Cash, Connors, Corcoran, Delaney, Doherty, Dorran, Gallagher, Horan, Keefe, Kell, Leahy, Lee, MacLaughlin, McAlwick, McCully, McDonagh, McGinley, McGinn, McGuiness, McHarg, McLaughan, McMahon, Millighan, Mongans, Murphy, Nolan, O’Brien, O’Connell, O’Donnell, O’Donoghue, O’Mahoney, O’Reilly, Sheriadan, Stokes, Walch, Ward.

They missed a few obvious travellers names. Half the Leinster and Munster rugby teams would be turned down.

Lookit, Pontins is the alternate offering for the Mole family, as in Adrian Mole. Just drive into Pontins in the equivalent of a 1970's model Ford Escort Mk1 Station Wagon.... the equivalent of that today would be a Huyundai Estate, or Subara Impreza estate, etc. Just make the car not look filthy on the outside, but not sparkling after turtlewax etc. The Pontins staff should accept you fine.

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/travel/british-holiday-park-identified-people-with-irish-accents-as-undesirable-guests-1.4499133
    "There’s also a policy that banned holidaymakers from arriving in commercial vehicles and that was potentially or specifically to exclude gypsy/traveller communities to arrive at holiday parks."

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,822 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I remember back sometime in the mid 2000's some places use put barriers up on the car park. To stop such vehicles entering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭65535

Most of ye here have the West Brit attitude - Murphy is the most common name in Ireland yet ye do not see the racism here.
    It is as it was - No Dogs, No Blacks, No Irish.
    If they were to put West Indian Names or Nigerian names on their lists I'm sure there would be a 'BLM' outrage.
    It is further common place in England especially to say things like - 'Oh that's a bit Irish' or 'taking the Mick'
    If ye condone it then ye condone all racism.

We had it in Cork City as well when the British ruled the place - there was the 'English Market' and 'Paddys Market'
    The British mentality is to look down their noses at the Irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,477 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Quote:
    "There’s also a policy that banned holidaymakers from arriving in commercial vehicles and that was potentially or specifically to exclude gypsy/traveller communities to arrive at holiday parks."
    A lot of Irish caravan parks have this policy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

My Mam's family are fecked so... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,700 ✭✭✭Feisar

65535 wrote: »

Not just us, it's what a colonizing nation does to the people of the colonies. In the backs of their minds they know what they are doing is wrong but if one demonizes/belittles/etc the people it makes it a little more OK in the nations psyche.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

biko wrote: »
    "It's a private company. They can do what they like."
    :D:D !! nice one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,918 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

There will be no end of our mobile brethren on the phone as we speak trying to book a holiday
    with them. They dont want to actually go, but a refusal is a nice little earner for discrimination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Boylan, Boyle, Carney, Carr, Cash, Connors, Corcoran, Delaney, Doherty, Dorran, Gallagher, Horan, Keefe, Kell, Leahy, Lee, MacLaughlin, McAlwick, McCully, McDonagh, McGinley, McGinn, McGuiness, McHarg, McLaughan, McMahon, Millighan, Mongans, Murphy, Nolan, O’Brien, O’Connell, O’Donnell, O’Donoghue, O’Mahoney, O’Reilly, Sheriadan, Stokes, Walch, Ward.

Half of Donegal wouldn't get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Can't believe they missed Joyce.

I'm grand though, lucky that my surname is Walsh and not Walch! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,704 ✭✭✭Corvo

Pubs and hotels have been doing it here for years.

You just tend not to print it off and circulate to staff :)

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Random Account

They just tried to bar travellers but couldn’t specifically so named as many traveller names as possible lol. I don’t blame them. I work in a hotel/bar and we get so many traveller birthdays and funerals , always sends up in violence and the place smashed up and the locals don’t show up. They are a disaster, haven’t had a celebration uniting their families without drama. Fully understand this companies idea but went about it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Whoever in the first place decides to book a "holiday" in Pontins, frankly deserves a holiday in Pontins.

But, crap and all as Britannia group properties are (and they're all shocking), I can't blame them for wanting to protect their assets, their insurance and their other customers. They've just gone about it stupid as.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Most of ye here have the West Brit attitude - Murphy is the most common name in Ireland yet ye do not see the racism here.
    If they were to put West Indian Names or Nigerian names on their lists I'm sure there would be a 'BLM' outrage.
    It is further common place in England especially to say things like - 'Oh that's a bit Irish' or 'taking the Mick'

We had it in Cork City as well when the British ruled the place - there was the 'English Market' and 'Paddys Market'

The 1974 version of boards.ie is looking for its post back... :D

Those B@st@rd McHargs. Never has anything but trouble when they're around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Darc19

I'd go, but on condition that the list is adhered to. :D

The London based journo with iNews explained it on the radio at teatime.

If you rang up and booked with one of these surnames, or others like them, it would raise a red flag with the booking. Pontins would check it out and if for example, Pat Delaney from Dublin or Kerry or whatever booked, they would see if he had a residential address in Ireland and if that checked out, the booking would clear.

If however, Jamsie Mongan booked and gave an address as adjacent to an industrial estate in Lewisham, the red flag wouldn't clear and they'd have standby bullsh1t ready to not confirm it.

Likewise if you booked a saloon car or a family SUV with your Irish surname, it'd probably clear. But if your vehicle was a heavy 4x4 or a commercial van or wagon, chances are it wouldn't.

Very pragmatic really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,510 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

My name isn't on the list, but I'll gladly sacrifice my opportunity to go to Pontin's as a show of solidarity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Those B@st@rd McHargs. Never has anything but trouble when they're around.

If I see just one more of those McHarg ****'s around here I'm going to lose it completely.

Corvo wrote: »
    Pubs and hotels have been doing it here for years.

You just tend not to print it off and circulate to staff :)

what were they thinking of? i mean in this day & age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,510 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Don't think people with surnames like Rothschild and Goldstein stay at crappy little holiday camps!

I think they like to steer clear of all varieties of camps, just in case.

Don't think people with surnames like Rothschild and Goldstein stay at crappy little holiday camps!

Don't think people with any self respect stay at crappy little holiday camps!

The-Slobs1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I paid to see the reaction if John Connors rocked up there with the family and they refused him ...

• Registered Users Posts: 2 almighty101

I would pay to see the reaction if Patrick Ward and Nidge Delaney rocked up there with the families and Pontins refused them ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭lalababa

And the Irish mentality is to look down on the other Irish.

lalababa wrote: »

Not the Irish people I know.
    I lived in London for a long time.
    Always got on well with Irish, English, Welsh, Scottish etc.
    I know that Ireland is seen as somewhere west of Scotland and it's ll mixed up with the fact that most British study royal family history and not real history.

http://arethebritsatitagain.com/

Apparently these signs were everywhere in the 50s

But there isn't a single genuine photograph of one in existence.

Odd that.

Scrap the cap!

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

I think the Irish who left from the 50's to the 80's to go to the U.K and their offspring are looked down upon.

As for Pontins I'm surprised the Travellers even want to go to their rubbish sites.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

Odd that.

Maybe not as late as the 1950s, there are plenty of examples of anti Irish sentiment and "no Irish need apply" spanning decades after the 1850 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭blueskys

We went to Cornwall for a holiday c2010. Had a campervan and were mostly to stay in campsites. The problem was nearly every campsite that i would ring would say they were fully booked even when we were outside seeing they were far from full. The ones that did let us in asked a load of questions about how long we were staying and had to have a good inspection of us in a not so friendly way. It was a bit off putting to say the least and it took me a while to get the inference.
    Now imagine the furore if someone with an English accent was subjected to the same treatment here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭OldRio

Odd that.

I can assure you in the 1960's those signs existed. I saw them. I also remember being turned away from 'digs' because of our accent. 'F##k off paddy'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭NeVeR

I'm on that list, "Stokes" and I'm delighted :D Didn't know I had traveler blood in me...

For those of ye that don't know or don't care this will explain it all

https://youtu.be/NTVoNb5heIs