Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Partner and his hobbies

• 02-10-2018 4:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 32

A (not so) quick question......

Am I being unreasonable? My partner and I have been together over 3.5 years now, not living together. Recently over the last year, he has taken up hobbies. first it was once a week, then twice, now it's 3 times a week. It means, basically, that before all his hobbies we used to complain we didn't get enough time together (I have 2 kids and work full time, as does he). My kids go to their father every other weekend which is the only time we properly get time alone. All the other times are quick dinners every night then he goes home at about 7.30 every night as he works early in the morning.

But now he is away Monday nights at 6.45, Tuesdays and Thursday it is 6.30...I mean, am I wrong to take it personally? We generally get to my place for dinner around 4.45 so between everything there isn't much time except for how are you etc then he's gone!

The kids have swimming lessons etc on Thursdays after my work which means there is even less time. He comes with me to that but there is no quality time for us at all.

I get it, I am a mother and obviously I cannot be free every evening like he can, but I would have been used to this if it had started this way, but this has gradually happened over the last year!

His argument is that he is entitled to some hobbies. Am I being oversensitive? I nearly exploded last night when he came in after his new hobby (Monday nights - it finishes at 8 but it finished late, at 8.45. He promised he'd pop in for tea on the way home, to appease me? I don't know!). He asked me 'so, what have you been up then? Mopping?'. I was livid. I don't think he was trying to be smart, but wtf....

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Do you cook all the dinners during the week, or does he take turns?

By going home at 7.30pm every evening it seems like he's not even waiting until the kids are in bed to maybe have a small bit of child-free time with you before he needs to go home.

What happens on the weekend you are child free? Do you go out on dates or do anything nice as a couple?
    Sorry for all the questions! Just trying to get an understanding of the situation before I can advise.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 GreenAngel2012

Hi Neyite,

That task is generally shared equally.

At weekends when child free we spend the whole time together which is lovely.

Work has got much busier now which means I am not getting home until after 5 now so there's almost no time anymore. In the past I have been taking risks leaving work early so as to get more time with him but that ends now. If he isn't willing to do anything to help things then neither will I.......

Now, he has said he will cut an earlier class once a week so he will only be leaving at 7.15 instead of 6.15 so I guess that's something....? I suppose...?

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

Well, I don't think you should risk your job by leaving early just to see him. You and the kids presumably would be up the creek financially if that backfired.

But it sounds to me that he's the sum of your socialising and that you don't do any hobby yourself or go out with friends, and I don't see that as healthy really. It sounds like a bit of an over-dependence on him really.

I initially thought he was just coming over to yours to get a handy dinner he didn't need to cook himself but if he's sharing the preparation for that or taking turns then he could just as easily cook for himself at his own house.

It kind of feels like you are resentful that he's got activities and gets to go to them but you can't because you have family commitments. And that if he didn't do those, you'd have him for more of his time, but you can't realistically expect someone to give up all their free time outside of work for you. That's not healthy.

Would you move in together? You've been together 3.5 years after all.

Neyite wrote: »
    Well, I don't think you should risk your job by leaving early just to see him. You and the kids presumably would be up the creek financially if that backfired.

But it sounds to me that he's the sum of your socialising and that you don't do any hobby yourself or go out with friends, and I don't see that as healthy really. It sounds like a bit of an over-dependence on him really.

I initially thought he was just coming over to yours to get a handy dinner he didn't need to cook himself but if he's sharing the preparation for that or taking turns then he could just as easily cook for himself at his own house.

It kind of feels like you are resentful that he's got activities and gets to go to them but you can't because you have family commitments. And that if he didn't do those, you'd have him for more of his time, but you can't realistically expect someone to give up all their free time outside of work for you. That's not healthy.

Would you move in together? You've been together 3.5 years after all.

Hi, yes of course I'm envious of his being able to do things that I can't. I've told him this. And I would love to have hobbies, friends outside of work and the home but I simply don't have time. So it feels I'm stuck here and he can come and go whenever he chooses.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

So you think the solution to that is that he should be stuck there with you? That doesn't make sense and is not very fair to him. He doesn't have 2 children, you do and it sounds like he makes an effort by coming to their swimming lessons with you and calling to your house several evenings a week to spend time with you and them. He is doing a lot to suit your life and situation and I doubt that he has taken up hobbies to get away from you. Try not to take it personally, I doubt it is meant that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Triangle

A (not so) quick question......

Am I being unreasonable? My partner and I have been together over 3.5 years now, not living together. Recently over the last year, he has taken up hobbies. first it was once a week, then twice, now it's 3 times a week. It means, basically, that before all his hobbies we used to complain we didn't get enough time together (I have 2 kids and work full time, as does he). My kids go to their father every other weekend which is the only time we properly get time alone. All the other times are quick dinners every night then he goes home at about 7.30 every night as he works early in the morning.

But now he is away Monday nights at 6.45, Tuesdays and Thursday it is 6.30...I mean, am I wrong to take it personally? We generally get to my place for dinner around 4.45 so between everything there isn't much time except for how are you etc then he's gone!

The kids have swimming lessons etc on Thursdays after my work which means there is even less time. He comes with me to that but there is no quality time for us at all.

I get it, I am a mother and obviously I cannot be free every evening like he can, but I would have been used to this if it had started this way, but this has gradually happened over the last year!

His argument is that he is entitled to some hobbies. Am I being oversensitive? I nearly exploded last night when he came in after his new hobby (Monday nights - it finishes at 8 but it finished late, at 8.45. He promised he'd pop in for tea on the way home, to appease me? I don't know!). He asked me 'so, what have you been up then? Mopping?'. I was livid. I don't think he was trying to be smart, but wtf....

This was the same in my family (except reversed, my wife got into politics as hobby) till it eventually turned into hobbies Vs marriage and hobbies won :(
    Sort it out early - find a balance both of you can live with. Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Make the time.
    Get a babysitter OP.

I'm stuck here and he can come and go whenever he chooses.

Well that's the thing, he can. & he should. Hobbies are good for you, & I'm sure when your kids are a bit older, more able to take care of themselves, you would be happy to have something else to do.
    So, it just sounds like a bit of jealousy & I think you have to sort that out yourself.
    It's not his fault that you have to stay home every evening, truth is, he doesn't have to.

Could your kids father take them for a night during the week? One weekend in 2 weeks isn't much.

Thanks, I agree. I think I'm just insecure, I can't do anything about my situation so I feel kinda trapped and if he chooses to leave he can.

I'm going to encourage him more.... And trí to feel less housewifey!

Thanks for your reply, I'm going to cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I'm going to put the cat back amongst the pigeons here.

So you're together 3.5 years, and he recently actively makes sure he spends more time away from you, than with you?

Yes, he's entitled to have hobbies and a life away from his partner, everybody is, but it seems like you're now more of a pit-stop than a partner. A quick dinner, then he goes off and does his own thing most nights. You don't live together, so you don't even get quality time together in bed for chats or cuddles.

I'm not saying he should be home by your side every night. But he basically gets to do whatever he wants and you get to do nothing except work and be a mammy. How is that a partnership? Has he ever offered to mind your children some evening so you can even go out for a drink after work or to the cinema with a friend? Anything like that? I'm aware he is not the children's father, and as such has no real responsibility for them, but he does towards you. He's meant to love you. He should want to make you happy. If that means babysitting for a few hours while you relax with a friend, then why wouldn't he offer to do that, even once every couple of months?

After this length of time, what are you actually getting from this relationship, apart from a few snatched hours here and there, entirely on his schedule?

Thanks for all the replies, I didn't realize I got so many!

Well it seems he is making the effort a bit, ie. coming back after classes for a quick cuppa etc, then he's off again. Don't know if this is sustainable, but we will see. I suppose maybe I am looking for something a bit more...stable? I do agree with some of you that he is adapting to suit my situation, I get that. But he has known my situation from day one, sooo....

there are all sorts of factors here.... he moves in with me and I will lose the maintenance from the kids' father. If we break up I am screwed financially. We have spoken about getting married but that can't happen till he moves in. He won't move in till the kids are older. He is looking for a place to buy at the moment but not in too much of a hurry. He was engaged before and was let down badly so I understand his caution. As am I, I am divorced and want to be very sure I am doing the right thing. We are great together, just that circumstances are against us at the moment. He said we would have to get a move on getting married as my mother is 76 and well, time isn't on her side and we would want a small wedding abroad somewhere. But nothing realistically will happen for at least 2 years I guess. Not in a huge hurry but don't want to be too old getting married (I am nearly 43).

I was actually quite happy with our situation (I love my own space), until he started the Monday night class, I felt like he was beginning to take the p**s.

I'm going to start inviting my friends round once a week during the week, not really to play games but just as I am feeling quite lonely and bored in the evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

What makes you think you will lose the maintenance from your children’s father?

As far as I know, if there's another man living in the house and paying towards mortgage /food, bills, etc my ex can dispute that he no longer needs to pay towards it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

Your relationship doesn't read like it's a priority for you.
    You could probably both do with compromising.

Addle wrote: »
    Your relationship doesn't read like it's a priority for you.
    You could probably both do with compromising.

How so, Addle? Clearly it is a priority if I am here asking advice about it. Also, at the moment my kids have to take priority as I am their primary carer.

Don't get me wrong, he is committed.... We enjoy amazing holidays every year, both with and without the kids. I just wonder if we are moving in the right direction, if any direction at all really. I guess we have to remain stagnant for a bit until the kids are older.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

As far as I know maintenance for kids is not dependant on who you live with. Anyway your arrangements around your previous relationship are yours but I do wonder what your partner gets out of it. The relationship won't move in foreseeable future so he is stuck in being evening company to you, you day he can't move in which would give you more time together and you complain about his hobbies because you feel lonely in the evenings. It seems to me a lot of hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You’d need to check your own agreement, but I am 100% sure that when my brother moved in with his now wife, and even after they married, her previous husband was still paying support for his kid until they left school.

meeeeh wrote: »
    As far as I know maintenance for kids is not dependant on who you live with. Anyway your arrangements around your previous relationship are yours but I do wonder what your partner gets out of it. The relationship won't move in foreseeable future so he is stuck in being evening company to you, you day he can't move in which would give you more time together and you complain about his hobbies because you feel lonely in the evenings. It seems to me a lot of hard work.

Yeah it is hard work, but our situation isn't your 'typical' situation I guess.

kylith wrote: »
    You’d need to check your own agreement, but I am 100% sure that when my brother moved in with his now wife, and even after they married, her previous husband was still paying support for his kid until they left school.

I will check that actually, good point. Perhaps I am wrong about it. My ex has moved on and moved in with someone and they are having a baby together, so he may not cause a fuss about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

kylith wrote: »

your ex may no longer have to pay maintenance for you or pay fully for any mortgage (if he is paying such things) if you remarry and he moves in to your home

however, he is likely to have to continue paying maintenance for kids until of age regardless

Riskymove wrote: »
    your ex may no longer have to pay maintenance for you or pay fully for any mortgage (if he is paying such things) if you remarry and he moves in to your home

however, he is likely to have to continue paying maintenance for kids until of age regardless

He only pays maintenance for the kids.... I wouldn't have it any other way. I did look into it and it does seem like my ex would have to keep paying for the kids. I shall broach it with my partner. He seems unwilling to move in until the kids are older though. Fair enough but I don't want to be walking up the aisle on a zimmer frame either 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Markcheese

He only pays maintenance for the kids.... I wouldn't have it any other way. I did look into it and it does seem like my ex would have to keep paying for the kids. I shall broach it with my partner. He seems unwilling to move in until the kids are older though. Fair enough but I don't want to be walking up the aisle on a zimmer frame either 😂

Is getting married again by a certain date a big deal? As in a deal breaker?
    Relationships are complicated enough, add kids and multiply up, even more so for previous kids..
    Ye both need to look after ye're own mental health.. And having some level of outside interests could be good for ye both...
    Would it be possible (or even desirable), for him to stay over more, mid week ect..??
    So that he's not just visiting for dinner Or a cup of tea..?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Is getting married again by a certain date a big deal? As in a deal breaker?
    Relationships are complicated enough, add kids and multiply up, even more so for previous kids..
    Ye both need to look after ye're own mental health.. And having some level of outside interests could be good for ye both...
    Would it be possible (or even desirable), for him to stay over more, mid week ect..??
    So that he's not just visiting for dinner Or a cup of tea..?

Haha that's so funny as I just suggested to him this evening that he stay over on Wednesday nights..... To start with. He was delighted I asked. So I think we're at least heading in the right direction. And no, not at all so we have to be married at all really.... Just a certain bit of commitment so I don't feel like we are teenagers dating if you know what I mean.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,253 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

As far as I know, if there's another man living in the house and paying towards mortgage /food, bills, etc my ex can dispute that he no longer needs to pay towards it as well.

Uh, I really don't believe that to be true.

I'm a father paying maintenance to my children's mother, and she's had several partners living with them over the years.

He has a legal responsibility to his kids, even if he has another family.

Sonics2k wrote: »
    Uh, I really don't believe that to be true.

I'm a father paying maintenance to my children's mother, and she's had several partners living with them over the years.

He has a legal responsibility to his kids, even if he has another family.

I know this now, if you look further on I was advised of this then found it to be true. But thanks anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭ChrissieH

I know this thread is a bit old now but I just wanted to throw in my tuppence worth, my husband has a child, I don't have any children and don't particularly enjoy being around children - I prefer adult company or just being on my own - but that's not to say that I don't do my best for my step-daughter and make sure her best interests are met; I just don't feel that it's up to me to make the same amount of sacrifices as her mother and my husband should make.

I'm aware that you never said you expected that of your boyfriend, so don't take what I'm saying personally, I'm just trying to shed a bit of light on what it's like from the "step-parent" point of view, and that is that whether we like it or not, we can get jealous when we're not Number 1 - we're only human, we know that kids come first, rightly so, but it doesn't mean that it's always lovely for us. So whether your boyfriend is just genuinely taking up more hobbies to suit himself, or he's doing it to prove to you that he too has other things in his life besides your relationship, who knows but it's promising that he was delighted when you asked him to stay overnight midweek, so the chances are that maybe he feels a bit unsure about his place in your life, which is totally understandable given that you have children and a job to prioritise over anything "fun".

It can be really, really difficult to be in a relationship with someone who has a child and saying that he knew the situation before ye got involved is totally daft; we all KNOW things, but living through them is completely different because your emotions are involved. I'm sure you "knew" what having children would be like in theory, but the reality is totally different to the theory.
    I knew my husband had a baby when I first met him, but I thought that being with someone who had a child would be all sweetness and light, that it was the ideal solution to take the pressure off me to have children of my own and would be full of fond moments spent together but the reality is not that at all - my experience of it is that it's a huge financial strain on us, it's geographically difficult and there have been many times when I've had to forego holiday time / weekend events etc because of a change of plan on the other side.
    That would then make me resentful and want to go out of my way to plan my own things, without him, so that I wouldn't be let down again.

Again, not saying that you're involved in any of the same scenarios but I just wanted to speak for someone in a more similar position to your BF. I think people tend to be harsh on those of us who are involved with a partner with kids by using the "you knew what you were getting into" line but that's not fair, yes, we know that the situation is there but we don't know how it feels to be living it unless we've been in a similar relationship before, so it would be nice if our partners acknowledged that they appreciate the difficulties and are grateful for what we do when we help out etc, as to be honest, it's like being constantly on babysitting duty during your free time, which isn't that much fun really!

Thanks ChrissieH,

Great reply. And it's great to have your input. Things have settled down now, and yes, he probably does get a little jealous which is understandable.