Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Peter Casey to contest the European elections

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭trashcan

Hell do more than the current crop of useless ****ers in Brussels. Hopefully he uses his platform to solve rural burglaries and ends direct provision. There are 4 people of voting age in my house. All voting casey no. 1

So you want to end direct provision ? You'd be in favour of giving asylum seekers houses of their own then ? (You do realise that's the alternative, right ? - and don't bother saying, no, the alternative is to put them all on planes. That is not legally possible. You cannot deport asylum seekers )

If you think Peter Casey is going to change the Common European Asylum system, not to mention our own domestic immigration laws, then I'm afraid you're in for a disappointment.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

trashcan wrote: »
    So you want to end direct provision ? You'd be in favour of giving asylum seekers houses of their own then ? (You do realise that's the alternative, right ? - and don't bother saying, no, the alternative is to put them all on planes. That is not legally possible. You cannot deport asylum seekers )

If you think Peter Casey is going to change the Common European Asylum system, not to mention our own domestic immigration laws, then I'm afraid you're in for a disappointment.

Hahahaha the only alternative is to give them houses.

Give me a break. We can do like Australia and send them to an island. That worked for Oz. Sharp drop in the number of "asylum seekers" once they realised they were not getting a cushy life in a b&b

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Are you calling me a gimp?

The only gimps around here are the brainwashed fools voting for FFFGLB expecting a different outcome. Casey will shake things up.

Lads like Jean Paul Juncker and Donald tusk will be very uncomfortable when actual representatives of the people arrive to Brussels to shake things up.

You keep saying Casey will shake things up.

I've asked you twice now what are his policies to 'shake things up' and you've refused to give an answer.

I'll ask you again. What are the policies you like about Casey that matches his mouth?

He has none, therefore will do f*ck all, and gullible fools will keep voting for him because underneath it all, they're probably a little bit racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

Faugheen wrote: »
    You keep saying Casey will shake things up.

I've asked you twice now what are his policies to 'shake things up' and you've refused to give an answer.

I'll ask you again. What are the policies you like about Casey that matches his mouth?

He has none, therefore will do f*ck all, and gullible fools will keep voting for him because underneath it all, they're probably a little bit racist.

I suppose you're a man who votes for the establishment. You can tell it from your tone. Terrified of the likes of casey who is not afraid to call it like it is! It's actually great to see.

I don't know what his policies are. He's not elected yet. We'll see what they are once he gets his seat. I'm just glad to see someone who is not afraid to speak his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,963 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

He's complaining about things that would he would never be able to address just because he knows that there's a cohort of people who want to see someone go after refugees and travellers.

These aren't campaign issues. He can't effect any change to these situations in either of the roles he stood for. He's going after the easiest of targets to appeal to the lowest common denominator.
    The reason people will vote for him is that the established parties have decided not to listen anymore. They are trying to tell us how to think instead if listening and forming policies based in what the electorate want.
    The gap has become very large between what City folk want and what the rest of the country wants. You have to be able to listen to and cater for both.
    If you don't you can expect to see many Caseys, Mings and Wallaces being elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Casey is the leader we need, he tells it like it is unlike the usual waffle trotted out by Leo and Slimon and the likes.
    Wish I could thank this post a million times. Well said.

I suppose you're a man who votes for the establishment. You can tell it from your tone. Terrified of the likes of casey who is not afraid to call it like it is! It's actually great to see.

I don't know what his policies are. He's not elected yet. We'll see what they are once he gets his seat. I'm just glad to see someone who is not afraid to speak his mind.

At least the parties I vote for have policies and that I know what I'm getting.

You're voting for someone who has no policies, and judging by your posts in another thread, I know why you're voting for them, and it's the fact that you don't like foreigners.

You know full well he won't change anything, but hey racists will vote for racists.

Faugheen wrote:
    At least the parties I vote for have policies and that I know what I'm getting.
    Can you point out those people you voted for who have promised things before an election and then delivered on them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

He is excellent on the week in politics.
    How the hell did Maria Walsh get on the ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Are you calling me a gimp?

The only gimps around here are the brainwashed fools voting for FFFGLB expecting a different outcome. Casey will shake things up.

Lads like Jean Paul Juncker and Donald tusk will be very uncomfortable when actual representatives of the people arrive to Brussels to shake things up.

If you are voting for someone without knowing their policies your not very serious about exercising your vote are you?

I haven't voted on party lines for the last 20 years, I vote purely on the policies that are put before us at that election also looking at what the election is for. These days I tend to work backwards from who I can't vote for.

I'm sure the heads in Brussels are just quaking at the thoughts of Peter Casey arriving there. LOL. He'll probably be like Farage, turn up get his soundbite and feck off. But hey if it keeps his gimps happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

He is excellent on the week off n politics. How the hell did Maria Walsh get on the ticket

Gay woman, ex winner of the lovely girl competition. Ticks a few boxes for some.

Is that the real reason has she any political pedigree or she she just a "celebrity" candidate

eagle eye wrote: »
    Can you point out those people you voted for who have promised things before an election and then delivered on them.

Policies are different to promises.

Faugheen wrote:
    Policies are different to promises.
    Not if they never actually act on them. It just means you are a fool believing anything that comes out of their mouths before an election.
    Surely when it happens twice you'd have enough sense to stop falling for it.

Donald trump
    American economy I'd best it's ever been
    The wall is being built
    Putting America first
    Peace building
    Man is true to his word

Is that the real reason has she any political pedigree or she she just a "celebrity" candidate

No political predigree at all. Celebrity seems to be her qualification.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

He is excellent on the week off n politics. How the hell did Maria Walsh get on the ticket

On Barry's tea advert dont forget.

Not if they never actually act on them. It just means you are a fool believing anything that comes out of their mouths before an election.
    Surely when it happens twice you'd have enough sense to stop falling for it.

No, people who vote for someone who rants about foreigners and travellers with no actual plans to tackle those 'issues' are the fools.

What are those people voting for?

People are very quick to ask me what I vote for when nobody likes to give me any answers themselves.

No political predigree at all. Celebrity seems to be her qualification.

She is terribly blend spouting the PC liberal line.
    It's a pity Casey didn't win the presidential election

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

He is excellent on the week in politics.
    How the hell did Maria Walsh get on the ticket

He's doing very well in the face of such disdain from aine lawlor

Maria Walsh is indeed awful

She is terribly blend spouting the PC liberal line.
    It's a pity Casey didn't win the presidential election

Casey wouldn't have been able to do anything as President.

Some people really have no idea how any of this works, do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

He doesn't like travellers and refugees. That's all some.people want to see, sadly.

Faugheen wrote:

No different to anyone that has been President so. A monkey could do the job for a lot less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Donald trump

LOL why am I not surprised you're a Trump fanboy
    American economy I'd best it's ever been

Depends on what you base that on, wall street maybe but they are still in hock mightly to the saudis and chinese.
    The wall is being built

Not technically true, it's more a fence and it is only partially being built and there is no guarantee it will get the funding it needs. So that's not accomplished either.
    Putting America first

I don't agree here either. He's putting the Donald and his business interests first.
    Peace building

LOL definitely saying bollix to this. The North Koreans are playing the Trump administration like a cheap banjo. His Putin love in is making a dangerous situation here in Europe worse. And even domestically he is fueling a growing rift between Americans that could be catastrophic in years to come.
    Man is true to his word

I don't believe the Donald has ever kept his word on anything. The guy went bankrupt six times and stiffed thousands of small businesses in the process.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    He's doing very well in the face of such disdain from aine lawlor

Maria Walsh is indeed awful

I love the way he is smirking at lawlor she is oozing with contempt for Casey.

So why have a president at all?
    It could be used as the biggest speaking platform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,069 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He can't think of anything to say again then. Familiar disposition of his during the pres debates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,026 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

He doesn't like travellers and refugees. That's all some.people want to see, sadly.

That’s not exactly true though, is it? He made a comment about how he sees travellers and it struck a chord with a number of people.

He doesn’t like the Direct Provision set up and he’s got a point. It’s a terrible system but no one wants to try a different method as it’s making a lot of money for those running it.

I won’t be voting for Mr. Casey myself but I do think he’s misrepresented and a number of his supporters aren’t aware of that.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

gandalf wrote: »
    LOL why am I not surprised you're a Trump fanboy

Depends on what you base that on, wall street maybe but they are still in hock mightly to the saudis and chinese.

Not technically true, it's more a fence and it is only partially being built and there is no guarantee it will get the funding it needs. So that's not accomplished either.

I don't agree here either. He's putting the Donald and his business interests first.

LOL definitely saying bollix to this. The North Koreans are playing the Trump administration like a cheap banjo. His Putin love in is making a dangerous situation here in Europe worse. And even domestically he is fueling a growing rift between Americans that could be catastrophic in years to come.

I don't believe the Donald has ever kept his word on anything. The guy went bankrupt six times and stiffed thousands of small businesses in the process.
    I'll respectively disagree I think he is doing a great job.
    I admire him most because of his attempts to stop the USA engaging in war far and trying to bring out peace.
    He is a man of peace

No different to anyone that has been President so. A monkey could do the job for a lot less.

You don't understand it at all, do you?

A President represents everyone on this island whether everyone voted for him/her or not.

People voted for him because he 'told the truth' as opposed to anything he actually represents.

He also got his arse handed to him in the election, lest we forget.

If you put Casey up against Varadkar or Coveney, for all their faults, they'd wipe the floor with him. Insert Micheal Martin, Mary Lou, even Arlene Foster would walk rings around him.

But hey, you keep voting for someone with no policies other than to run his mouth and not back any of it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Insufferably smug Liberal of the kind RTE specialises in

He can't think of anything to say again then. Familiar disposition of his during the pres debates.

No he is very articulate today seems to have been media trained.
    He just isn't letting lawlor get to him

Faugheen wrote:
    You don't understand it at all, do you?

I do, keep your condescending comments for others thanks that may appreciate them.

Smirking stupidly at someone isn't 'smug' in and of itself? Hmmmm...

Faugheen wrote:
    He also got his arse handed to him in the election, lest we forget.

Getting 22 per cent is getting your ass handed to you?

Remember that time Ryan tubridy got all Steven seagall with him threatened to loose control.
    Tubridy some gob****e

I do, keep your condescending comments for others thanks that may appreciate them.

You've made it clear to me that you don't get it. So I will try and speak more clearly and slowly in future.

Racists tend to be that little bit slower anyway.

Getting 22 per cent is getting your ass handed to you?

When the winner got 56 percent and and nearly 2-and-a-half times Casey's vote, I'd call that a walloping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

These aren't campaign issues. He can't effect any change to these situations...........

Isn't this par though for many elections and referendums too? People are elected on the basis of how they relate to the electorate, particularly in EU and presidential votes. Most voters I'd venture have a limited grasp of MEPs and their role - so it's more about projecting persona & style as opposed to substance. That was Ming's path and Casey will outMing him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

When the winner got 56 percent and and nearly 2-and-a-half times Casey's vote, I'd call that a walloping.

With practically the entire establishment behind said winner.

Faugheen wrote:
    Racists tend to be that little bit slower anyway.

The usual pathetic response from your ilk to shout down someone else. I suggest you use a different word , people like you have destroyed the true meaning of what a racist actually is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

Casey is the leader we need, he tells it like it is unlike the usual waffle trotted out by Leo and Slimon and the likes.

Casey has some limited merits and occasional glimpses of the truth, but he's far from a leader. On balance, he's more of a liability than an asset.

BarryD2 wrote: »
    With practically the entire establishment behind said winner.

And Casey immediately tried to join an establishment party. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,179 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Casey did well enough in a sown up election, that no one was that interested in, where the only major party candidate was a dinner party cliche machine, an incumbent that all other major parties backed and a host of people already forgotten.

It was easy for him to be outside the establishment, people like throwing in a Rep. that is not of the establishment or for it.

Yes well rte accounts for at least half of higgans vote count.
    They acted as election agents for him across radio and television. In both election campaigns.
    Casey's vote came from the people in spite of Rte attempts to scandalise him mis quote him to make him drop out the race.
    Sure killer tubridy threatened to beat him up after an attempted ambush on the late late show

They acted as election agents for him across radio and television. In both election campaigns.
    Casey's vote came from the people in spite of Rte attempts to scandalise him mis quote him to make him drop out the race.
    Sure killer tubridy threatened to beat him up after an attempted ambush on the late late show

Wow, conspiracy theories.

Bet you're anti-vax and anti-choice too.

He got walloped. Get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,179 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Casey got a lot of working class support last time, especially in the West. That vote is still up for grabs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,144 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Jaysus what planet are you on?

Wow, conspiracy theories.

Bet you're anti-vax and anti-choice too.

He got walloped. Get over it.

Anti abortion do you mean?

The usual pathetic response from your ilk to shout down someone else. I suggest you use a different word , people like you have destroyed the true meaning of what a racist actually is.

You don't like foreigners and you're voting Casey for 'telling the truth' about foreigners.

Therefore I believe you are a racist.