Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Room to Improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i assume Dermot does this for free for the people doing the build and they'd get alot of things for free also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Funniest Room to Improve in a long time. :D
    Would be interested to know how much it costs to heat those houses with so much glass in them. Although I think they said the glass was triple glazed. The glass itself must have been fairly pricey.......unless Catherine got it on ebay. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Funniest Room to Improve in a long time. :D
    Would be interested to know how much it costs to heat those houses with so much glass in them. Although I think they said the glass was triple glazed. The glass itself must have been fairly pricey.......unless Catherine got it on ebay. :pac:

it came in 7k over budget/extra so that in itself tells you how much they windows cost!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

That Sarah Jane was a gas ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

€35k the windows cost in total if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Good episode all right, seems to be the same 2 or 3 builders that do all the houses I think, I remember that guy from previous series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭useless

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I want to move into that house in Wexford.

http://aof.ie/projects/specific/fethard

Pretty spectacular site. Fabulous looking house. I imagine it cost an absolute fortune to build...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭cee_jay

I thought there was an echo in that Wexford house when they were filming inside of it. That gave me the impression it was cold & empty? While it looks impressive, it really did not look homely to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'd say there was some amount of corners in that house. The location looks wonderful but imagine that many windows on a stormy night?
    Personally, that house wouldn't have been my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Amazing that they always seem to be able to find 20 or 30 k extra when at the beginning there is a max amount of say like last night 260 k and it came to 309 k.

Twas a bit different when I was building me own house.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Just watched it on the player,very good programme,great banter between mother and daughter.

Dermot loves his doors :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Dermot loves his doors :)
    For sure! Just how many doors did that house end up having. Really weird having an external door in a bedroom.

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭blondie29

Really enjoyed that episode..Sarah Jane was mighty craic well able for Dermot! She seemed like lovely girl & her mum too.

Genuinely wish them well in their new home..my dad isn't around anymore I was in tears watching it know exactly what they going through :-(

Would love love love that house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Programme Two - Clane
    When Dublin born Eilín O'Carroll and her South African husband David Pansegrouw returned from the UK to live in Ireland - they couldn't have picked a better time.

With property prices bottomed out, they bought the austere Firmount House near Clane - complete with an adjoining, long-abandoned 1930s property called the Doctor's House, which they want to refurbish and move into with their 3 year-old identical twin sons.

With the unrelenting pressure of a tiny budget, a totally unrealistic schedule and two headstrong clients who want to manage the entire project themselves while holding down full time jobs, this is Dermot's most challenging and frustrating build to date.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/roomtoimprove/this_week.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Oh crap I'm wreaked but cannot miss this tonight :)

Chat later !

Good Evening Everyone!

This looks like a very interesting project, I love the look of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭jos28

Ah Dermot got a new jacket :D

Oh good luck! This is a project and a half.

amdublin wrote: »
    Oh good luck! This is a project and a half.
    It is a money pit!

This property would suit a builder who could do a lot of the work himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Looks like it could be an interesting one this week!

Fabulous fabulous house.

Money pit though :(

Delusional! €150,000 is a ridiculous budget

I'm not feeling much love for this couple, they're coming across a tiny bit arrogant.

It is a money pit!

This property would suit a builder who could do a lot of the work himself.
    Fabulous fabulous house.

Money pit though :(

Great minds mrsD ;)

It's huuuuuuuugggggeeee!

They could save themselves 20%......or they could cost themselves 20% if they make a mess of it

Dying to see the bbq room

Design is nice. Nothing really radical - prob because of the budget...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Kevwoody

Yea these 2 lads will get it done by August no bother!

I don't like the walkway around the balcony on the 2nd floor

Dear god I would love that house
    But I'd need the lotto too :)

Oh God, she is beginning to drive me nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

They'd be better off demolishing the whole thing.

Oh God, she is beginning to drive me nuts.

Agreed, she is very annoying

This is what happens when you plan a house in a conversation :(

I get the feeling that this a freebie and that Dermot is more just a consultant on this job...

They'd be better off demolishing the whole thing.

Oh but it's so pretty :(

I love those old buildings

• Registered Users Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭passremarkable

BRING BACK SARAH JANE!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

Not too gone on tonights programme...... your one does not come across nice....... she is no Sarah Jane form last week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I get the feeling that this a freebie and that Dermot is more just a consultant on this job...
    What do you mean am? Are you saying that the client have their own plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭jjf1974

they will need another 150k for contingencies the way they are going.

Lisha wrote: »
    Oh but it's so pretty :(

I love those old buildings

I dunno. It looks a bit ugly to me :(

And by the time Dermot is finished with it, it'll have glass cubes all over the shop ;)

She works in the IFSC. That explains a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,507 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Nice eye protection :cool:

What do you mean am? Are you saying that the client have their own plan?

I think he's drawn broad plans. But not right down to the minutae. And I think the plan is up for change (by the builders and clients) throughout.

Oh jeez this is a massive project

I think he's drawn broad plans. But not right down to the minutae. And I think the plan is up for change (by the builders and clients) throughout.
    Sounds like that you're more likely to go over budget when you're working like that?

Did they say why they have to be in by August ?

This is Eileen...age two ond a hoff

jos28 wrote: »
    Did they say why they have to be in by August ?

Did I hear correctly, because they have a party organized :confused: