Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on onlyfans and adult entertainment industry

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭KiKi III

kwestfan08 wrote: »
    The only thing about onlyfans is it's very hard to gain a following organically on the platform itself, you need to have a following elsewhere in order to draw in subscribers.

That could be a a lot of followers on Insta, twitter etc or being a big poster on reddit or something.

I'm not saying you couldn't make money doing it but it's going to be very hard to gain traction if you haven't got anywhere to draw people into your page.

A loose plan forming in my mind involves:

- ordering some toe rings (already own lots of heels/ sandals)

- set up an insta account and plaster it (a good dealer always gives you the first sniff free)

- subscribe to someone who already makes loads of money and copy what they do

Lads, I think I’m going to be a millionaire.

Twitter ----> #feet #feetpics #onlyfans

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

All this talk of feet is giving me bad flashbacks from 10+ years ago.

We were at a "friend's" house that we hadn't seen in a couple of years. He opens up his laptop & he had RottenFeet.com as his homepage.

Just when I thought I had gotten over it, it has been brought to the surface again.

**shudders**

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Honestly the whole thing needs to be legalized tho.....even if you think its bad ...i mean affairs are bad ...but we don't make them illegal do we?

You will maybe get more people trafficking tho..who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭LiquidZeb

I don't have a problem with a guy buying it!

WHY IS THIS SO HARD FOR PEOPLE TO UNDERSTAND!

I have an issue with MARRIED men buying it ..and i have an issue with escorts providing it to married men.

I don't think they are good people ....i am sure some escorts only see single men or try to...i mean if he hides it from her ..THEN that is entirely on him.

If she asks ...and he says he is single ....if he lies ..its his fault. But i mean if she knows....yeah that is wrong of her.

Really there's nothing you can do to manage something like that. Unless you act like some sort of morality police intruding into everyone's personal life then it's a matter for the wife and husband to resolve.

LiquidZeb wrote: »
    Really there's nothing you can do to manage something like that. Unless you act like some sort of morality police intruding into everyone's personal life then it's a matter for the wife and husband to resolve.
    I am not saying society should try to resolve it. If you look at my post above ...I am saying the opposite. :rolleyes:

We don't punish people for having affairs.

We see them as wrong. But they are not crimes.

Its the same with prostitution with married men. Its wrong. The parties involved might not be the nicest people in the world. But it should not be a crime.

But I am not going to say ..yeah ..prostitution its harmless.

I mean i am fairly sure women who are escorts would not want all the wives of the men they serve to find out their addresses if you know what i mean. I am sure there would be some black eyes or worse.

I am also certain that if a woman who had been a prostitute herself had a husband ..she would not want him going to prostitutes. You can say well what goes around comes around. But I bet she still wouldn't want it.

Adults can do what they want with themselves, if not coerced into it. I'd worry about the quality of that decision, as I'm sure it doesn't always come from a good place, but I'm not the boss of anyone elses choices, if freely made (or not, for that matter).

If a married man is spending the kiddies nappy money on strippers, then it's on him. All on him. It's not up to a dancer to police the audience, she's not the boss of them. It's ridiculous to suggest they're somehow responsible for his behaviour.

I also think it's pretty easy to convince yourself that all escorts are making huge sums and are happy with their work. Or that legalizing it all will result in healthy and happy workers and users. The reality is that legalizing it may make conditions safer for some workers, but the most vulnerable - the miserable junkie turning tricks by a canal to finance the next fix - is not likely to be among them, and so will always be easy prey for people who will harm them.

It's a complex issue, it's not as simple as illegal = backwards/legal = progressive and safe. It's legal in some European places and trafficking has increased as a result. Sex tourist destinations tend to have plenty of apparently safe places but also plenty of coerced misery for sale.

Candie wrote: »
    It's legal in some European places and trafficking has increased as a result. Sex tourist destinations tend to have plenty of apparently safe places but also plenty of coerced misery for sale.
    In Europe that has kind of changed now.

Its more that the economy improved than anything particularly in eastern European places. Its a different word now.

If you want rid of the sex industry ..improve the economy ...every time.

Politicians want to make it a social issue. Its not ..its an economic one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I have been a dancer in Dublin for a decade started in my early 20s a lot of the girls I work with are sound and believe me it’s definitely nothing you see on tv. However Ireland seems to have this negative attitude towards women in this industry or deems us all sex addicts or easy when the woman who gets bread in her local supermarket could be doing all kinds of dirty things that’s way worse than dancing and it seems to be okay because she’s doing it for free I don’t get the mindset of some of these people we have stage names in work to protect our identity.

Part of this job comes with a lot of stigma there’s been a few girls who had people find out their day jobs and contact their boss to try and get them fired it’s normally women who rat them out and try to ruin their lives over it. There’s nothing I’d love more than to be open about my job and how it’s helped me get through some dark times in my life but I just couldn’t handle all the derogatory labels and insults and lows people will go to try and ruin your life over it. Since covid hit I don’t know how the strip club industry in Dublin is going to survive.

I want to know what your opinions are on strippers and the likes of using onlyfans to make money nothing you say is going to bother me it’s more curios why people have a begrudging attitude towards these things when they do worse things for free with their husbands boyfriend or a random Jack the lad from coppers In Dublin on a night out.
    Is onlyfans free or I do I have to go back masturbating to to pornhub?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭6541

20 years dancing, you must be tired.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Candie wrote: »
    Adults can do what they want with themselves, if not coerced into it. I'd worry about the quality of that decision, as I'm sure it doesn't always come from a good place, but I'm not the boss of anyone elses choices, if freely made (or not, for that matter).

If a married man is spending the kiddies nappy money on strippers, then it's on him. All on him. It's not up to a dancer to police the audience, she's not the boss of them. It's ridiculous to suggest they're somehow responsible for his behaviour.

I also think it's pretty easy to convince yourself that all escorts are making huge sums and are happy with their work. Or that legalizing it all will result in healthy and happy workers and users. The reality is that legalizing it may make conditions safer for some workers, but the most vulnerable - the miserable junkie turning tricks by a canal to finance the next fix - is not likely to be among them, and so will always be easy prey for people who will harm them.

It's a complex issue, it's not as simple as illegal = backwards/legal = progressive and safe. It's legal in some European places and trafficking has increased as a result. Sex tourist destinations tend to have plenty of apparently safe places but also plenty of coerced misery for sale.

Completely agree with all this

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Melanchthon

On the onlyFans thing it seems sort of depressing that in a world where there is multiple lifetimes of free internet porn there seems to be a huge amount of men using that site.
    Have a weird respect for that Bel Delphine girl though who was making 100'000s without showing nudity, more than enough money to buy a nice gaff etc at 20 and a risque internet history left over but nothing particularly bad that would hurt the later life.

I am a bit skeptical about the actual economics though in terms of how many are actually making real cash, from what I have read a lot of those Instagram ones are actually just being high end hookers rather than making cash from Instagram itself

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

What is a female pimp called?

A "wankette".

So I believe.

On the onlyFans thing it seems sort of depressing that in a world where there is multiple lifetimes of free internet porn there seems to be a huge amount of men using that site.
    Have a weird respect for that Bel Delphine girl though who was making 100'000s without showing nudity, more than enough money to buy a nice gaff etc at 20 and a risque internet history left over but nothing particularly bad that would hurt the later life.

I am a bit skeptical about the actual economics though in terms of how many are actually making real cash, from what I have read a lot of those Instagram ones are actually just being high end hookers rather than making cash from Instagram itself

Selling her own bathwater for $30 was genius.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,475 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Selling her own bathwater for $30 was genius.

She's selling condoms now! Sold out of them too...
    As if anyone who ever buys a Belle Delphine brand Johnnie is ever going to actually use one for anything other than a posh ****!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,350 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Honestly the whole thing needs to be legalized tho.....even if you think its bad ...i mean affairs are bad ...but we don't make them illegal do we?

You will maybe get more people trafficking tho..who knows.

You want people prosecuted for having affairs? :D

Meanwhile, in the real world ...

• Registered Users Posts: 31 Bubblesxoxx

6541 wrote: »

10 years lmao but that made me laugh

You want people prosecuted for having affairs? :D

Meanwhile, in the real world ...
    This was the OPPOSITE of what i said i wanted. Are you able to read?

Stop trolling.

The girl who cheats with your boyfriend isn't exactly a nice person. I mean we can't get the law on her. But i bet a wife or two would like to give her a black eye.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,638 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

10 years lmao but that made me laugh

So how many PMs have you got so far

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Meh don't really care. People around my age talk about sex like food or drink. That's how it should be it's part of the human experience and we hang on to stupid victorian notions of prudence and sensibility.

I mean sex, is everywhere, isn't it? from massive lingerie models/ripped men in boxers on massive advertisements blown up on the side of buildings. In our music, in film, tv....you get the idea. People are more sexualised than ever and it's pretty much the norm.

I think the next natural step is to regulate the sex industry and make it safer and protect sex workers. Inassofar as strippers go, I have never seen the appeal being honest. Sitting there with a horn on for hours, I would just get pretty sexually frustrated tbh, would probably have to nip off to the bathroom after a while to tug one out and after that I would be bored. Then just a waste of money really on top of that but hey, whatever no harm and there should be no taboo around it, it's pretty bland compared to alot of what people I know or have known do to get their kicks!

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭mc25

What's with the repeated mentions of married men?

What about married women and not-married-but-happily-partnered men?

• Registered Users Posts: 363 ✭✭Tig98

I don't get why you fixate on other people doing sex acts etc for "free", the issue isn't being paid for doing x y and z, it's the fact that you're willing to do x y and z publicly.

Anyways, as long as you can manage it alongside your normal day to day life I don't see any issues with it, to be honest. At the end of the day it is just your body and what you decide to do with it, and it can coexist beside whatever else you're up to. As long as you can manage the balance go for it. I was regularly sleeping with a guy at the start of the year who was featured a few times on another guys only fans and I thought it was all cool and good fun. However his Instagram was essentially a **** ton of semi nudes with vague woke captions including references to the only fans. It was his only Instagram account, which he also had friends and family on.

Like, I love being sex positive but don't make it tacky.

• Registered Users Posts: 499 ✭✭Kamu

Just to add, if I was a woman and a particularly alright looking one with any form of platform, think Megan Barton Hanson, I'd probably be all over Onlyfans.

Build up 3 million quid, and you're set for life; and it seems the big creators are making that in a year.

Not easy, or perhaps particularly safe to put yourself out there like that, but there are some who have never shown their face and are raking it in.

I'd just be curious how long a person could keep a 'softcore' subscriber-ship going before they are pressured, by the subscribers or market demand, to release more hardcore content.

I would think, unless the person is particularly niche or alternative, that the subscribers would jump ship to a different creator rather quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,573 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

6541 wrote: »

giphy.gif?cid=82a1493b12xcwk8rx3116b87bl1g91wnt843dxoi0ejrhzds&rid=giphy.gif

Alright lads, the experiment has begun.

I’ve set up an insta. I posted the first pic (very basic) 25 minutes ago and I have 6 followers.

Going to post a few more over the next few days and then throw up an onlyfans link.

Updates to follow!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Coybig_ wrote: »
    People are free to do whatever they want. If that's how women want to make money then all power to them.

However, I wouldn't want my daughter doing it. I wouldn't want my partner doing it. If I went on a date with someone and they were on onlyfans then I wouldn't be taking it any further. If I was with a partner and they started doing it I don't think there'd be a future for us.

Those pictures and videos, once out there, will never go away.

What about your son?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,810 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

KiKi III wrote: »
    Alright lads, the experiment has begun.

I’ve set up an insta. I posted the first pic (very basic) 25 minutes ago and I have 6 followers.

Going to post a few more over the next few days and then throw up an onlyfans link.

Updates to follow!

Eh... link?

Eh... link?

Give me a few days to see how this pans out and I’ll see if wanna post a link.

Might just post the onlyfans one so you have to pay to see it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭mistersifter

...I mean in porn films you never see condoms or consent...

Does "do me harder" not count as consent!? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I go back and forth on OF and the likes. On one hand, I like to look at porn occasionally and am glad there’s outlets available to do so. Paying wouldn’t be for me but it is good that there’s a way for people to support people they like and for those performers to earn a living, I know porn has been struggling for ages in that regard. Good for them.

On the other, I worry about this aspect of feminism and the knock-on effects it may have on people I care about or any future daughters/granddaughters I have in the future. I feel women should be encouraged to view themselves as worth more than to be viewed as an object to be desired by men. I don’t think women that choose that as a career should be judged or criticised, but also not glorified either in the name of ‘progress’ because I’m not sure yet if that’s what it is. I’ve known women who’ve started OF pages. I wouldn’t like a future daughter I may have to end up with the same issues I’ve seen them struggle with. But if I saw someone with a healthy mindset start one, I may feel differently.

Then I ask myself what the **** I know and who am I to make these judgements anyway?

Then I ask myself if I’d do the same if I could earn a lot of money quick for the sake of taking a few pics in my bedroom...and it blows the whole thing wide open.

Then I wonder if it’s easy to get caught in a trap by how easy it is and how quick you can make cash for doing little to nothing. I think how it’s a temporary window where you can make a lot but how it’s tough to ever go back to earning less, and how focusing on this can distract you from focusing on other things you may need to to succeed when this window closes. And what about those who succeed who don’t make money and just get the downside with no wins? If you can start it from home, it’s not as if there’s training/support or anything that teaches you how to deal with what you may have to.

In short: I dunno. It’s complicated.