Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trump vs Biden 2020, Ultimate battle for the fate of our universe (pt 3)Read OP 01/11

• 05-10-2020 1:57am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,063 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Part 1, Trump Coronation
    Part 2, Septuagenarians

Threadbans from prior threads carry over. The dementia angle has been done to death over the last 2 threads and has been the subject of multiple mod warnings - No more, unless you have solid evidence to back it up.

Final round!

Mod warning, 01/11/20
    Beasty wrote: »
    Just to be clear, following comments made in Feedback, not only is it completely inappropriate to question Biden's mental status or refer to him as the likes of "Sleepy Joe", similar comments about Trump are not allowed

And just to keep the discussions in one place, under one set of rules, I'm going to be closing at least one other thread and re-directing posters here

Who would you vote for - Trump or Biden? 653 votes

Trump
    63% 415 votes
    Biden
    9% 62 votes
    Don't know
    25% 169 votes
    Don't care
    1% 7 votes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

token post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,784 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

UkrsZ3.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

He seems to be recovering very well thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,764 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Kidchameleon
    Many outlets tonight reporting that President Trump could be back at The White House as early as tomorow. Great news. Hopefully a speedy recovery from this terrible disease will serve as inspiration to those in high risk categorys.

So many they just need to believe more and they won't die?

Kinda like you are blaming those you die for just not trying hard enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

If he’s recovering, then that’s good.

Is he still positive for coronavirus? If yes, why is he being allowed visit other people in the hospital, people who are already not in good health. Why is he being permitted to do drive by’s outside where he can wave to his ‘fans’? Placing other people at risk having to sit in a car with a person with a highly contagious disease just so he can stroke his ago.

Staged photo ops, signing what appear to be blank pieces of paper. The man is all about himself.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

"A Manatee County man was arrested Thursday and charged with a third-degree felony after he requested a mail ballot for his dead wife because he was “testing the system to see if it worked,” the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office reports.

Deputies were alerted on Sept. 17 and later interviewed Wiggins. The registered Democrat told them he was “testing the system.”

From previous thread. Trump supporter criticising a Democrat for following Trump's own advice to test the system. Or was he supposed to vote twice himself? There's so much crap spouted by Trump, it's hard to remember the details sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

"A Manatee County man was arrested Thursday and charged with a third-degree felony after he requested a mail ballot for his dead wife because he was “testing the system to see if it worked,” the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office reports.

Deputies were alerted on Sept. 17 and later interviewed Wiggins. The registered Democrat told them he was “testing the system.”

From previous thread. Trump supporter criticising a Democrat for following Trump's own advice to test the system. Or was he supposed to vote twice himself? There's so much crap spouted by Trump, it's hard to remember the details sometimes.

Multiple independent investigations have proven that mail voting fraud is not a problem. It's just another lie as any poster with half a brain would know. But even if you know it's a lie; deflect, deflect, deflect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,653 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Its days like today that I actually have a small bit of sympathy for the Trump zealots in these threads.

Imagine waking up every morning and reading the "What Donny did today" headlines.

Then spending the next couple of hours wondering how the fùck you are going to put a positive spin on his stupidity.

Fair play to them though, they somehow manage to twist, spin and bend the truth enough to make it look (in their mind at least) plausible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,906 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It will be fun watching what they contort "Simple Donald goes Wavey Wavey" into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,654 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Its days like today that I actually have a small bit of sympathy for the Trump zealots in these threads.

Imagine waking up every morning and reading the "What Donny did today" headlines.

Then spending the next couple of hours wondering how the fùck you are going to put a positive spin on his stupidity.

Fair play to them though, they somehow manage to twist, spin and bend the truth enough to make it look (in their mind at least) plausible.

One would almost admire their dedication to the cause, the mental gymnastics must be exhausting!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Biko wrote:
    https://eu.heraldtribune.com/story/n...ys/5893307002/

A Manatee County man was arrested Thursday and charged with a third-degree felony after he requested a mail ballot for his dead wife because he was “testing the system to see if it worked,” the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office reports.

So the system does work?

He tried to commit voter fraud and was caught pretty handily it would seem.

The scare-mongering from Trump and his team is just that - The system works and the instances of fraud are miniscule and utterly irrelevant to the final results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,863 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

One would almost admire their dedication to the cause, the mental gymnastics must be exhausting!

nah, it's cultism. They get a charge when the go back to their safe spaces and gloat to their fellow cultists. Not admirable behavior, actually pretty craven behavior.

Quin_Dub wrote: »
    So the system does work?

The scare-mongering from Trump and his team is just that - The system works and the instances of fraud are miniscule and utterly irrelevant to the final results.

And he can use the defence "President Trump told us to test it so I did"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭timsey tiger

That's a doppleganger the deep state have replaced Trump and are going to carry on. They are testing the waters firstly with a few far away shots to get people used to the slightly different look. They are going to pass that off as the results of a really interesting illness.

The president needs to show the people he leads that he is OK, that the country is in safe hands. Millions of people are worried about him so I think its fair enough that he greeted those people outside the hospital. Cant link it at the moment bit he did an interview with Fox expaining all of this.

Also hearing today that the first lady is doing well, more good news.

Team Trump have shown that this virus can be beaten, they are an inspiration to millions who are suffering right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Kidchameleon
    Many outlets tonight reporting that President Trump could be back at The White House as early as tomorow. Great news. Hopefully a speedy recovery from this terrible disease will serve as inspiration to those in high risk categorys.

How exactly. It's easy for Trump. He has the best doctors and medical team around him and is been monitored all the time so when they found out he had Covid it was probably very early on and so he gets the experimental drugs as well to help him and will not suffer as bad as the average joe who does not have any if that and might not even have health insurance because the Amercan health system is a disaster. If Trump had to go there too then maybe he might cop on but no he knows he has all these medics around him so acts like he is invincible. Maybe if he ends up with long Covid he will be sorry he thought like that. Has Trump learned anything from this lesson no he is at it again putting more peoples lives at risk and parading around in the Beast. The man is a disgusting selfish human being. I hope he suffers some more but it's highly unlikely and then recovers to be beating well next month in the poles.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

The president needs to show the people he leads that he is OK, that the country is in safe hands. Millions of people are worried about him so I think its fair enough that he greeted those people outside the hospital. Cant link it at the moment bit he did an interview with Fox expaining all of this.

Team Trump have shown that this virus can be beaten, they are an inspiration to millions who are suffering right now.

Not much of an inspiration to the 200000 or so dead people tho....

Where's it been beaten by Team #IMPOTUS? Thousand per day dying. Over 200,000 dead.

What would *losing* look like to Team #IMPOTUS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Ye sure if you have a team of medics around you that are monitoring and testing you constantly and then are giving the drugs needed as soon as its known you have it. Sure if everyone had that maybe more would survive but no most people do not have what Trump has. So there changes of getting very sick and dying from it are a lot higher. It's a very nasty dangerous disease and people need to cop on and do the 3 main practices to stop it ie to Social Distance, to wear masks when needed like inside a crowded space and to wash hands properly for at least 20 second with soap or sanitizer.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 39,602 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Not much of an inspiration to the 200000 or so dead people tho....

Solid bang for your buck at $750 though.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Just taking a bullet on his behalf apparently.

Were there millions of people outside the hospital, it didn't look that that many to me.

If they were not all outside the hospital, how did him going out make them feel any better, that the country was in safe hands? Its almost as if he could have used the power of the video to get the same message across.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 285 ✭✭TexasTornado

Great to see my president recovering. Hopefully he'll survive. As much as i disagree with the vast majority of his policies i don't wish ill health on anyone.

You brought this up before. By inspiration, do you mean that they should just try harder to beat it? Or that they should demand the same treatments as he is receiving?

Not sure how the widower leaving on their own in an apartment complex can get inspiration from a man with not one but two medical facilities at his beck and call and access to the newest and most expensive drugs and treatments.

Leroy42 wrote: »
    Were there millions of people outside the hospital, it didn't look that that many to me.

If they were not all outside the hospital, how did him going out make them feel any better, that the country was in safe hands? Its almost as if he could have used the power of the video to get the same message across.

Most of those that were there, however, weren't wearing masks afaics.

GOP is all about encouraging carnage and death, two things that have become acutely worse since the #IMPOTUS was elected. And, lest we forget, the GOP had a chance to rectify this in January when he was impeached. Might be a lot more live Americans today if they had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

How far down the rabbit hole do you have to be to type stuff like that.

Great to see my president recovering. Hopefully he'll survive. As much as i disagree with the vast majority of his policies i don't wish ill health on anyone.

Out of interest, what do you think of the fact he put a secret service agent in danger yesterday?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Is he really though?

And is the country really safe?

The level of obfuscation and misdirection about his condition is startling. I totally understand not sharing every minute detail about his medical condition but the confusion and mixed messaging just further undermines any information that comes out.

Can we truly believe a word that we are told about his condition?

In what way is the country in safe hands ?

Led by a man that continues to down-play the severity of the situation and by a party that decides that the message to take from the President getting Covid is that all this lockdown stuff is pointless so lets just open up?

How does that show anyone that "they've got this"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,293 ✭✭✭✭Penn

In what way is the country in safe hands ?

Led by a man that continues to down-play the severity of the situation and by a party that decides that the message to take from the President getting Covid is that all this lockdown stuff is pointless so lets just open up?

How does that show anyone that "they've got this"?

Well hopefully now that Trump actually understands the virus, and not in a school book way, means he'll actually take it seriously now.

Or maybe he'll force more Secret Service agents to bring him for a spin and put their lives at risk so he can fuel his ego and wave at people. Hard to know at this point (but I know which I'd be putting money on).

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭terryduff12

So the system does work?

So if trump wins we wont hear anything about voter fraud?

We probably will, because chances are even if he wins he'll have lost the popular vote by more than he did to Clinton, so he'll claim it's because of mass voter fraud and that it's getting even worse than it was four years ago. Even though they investigated it four years ago and found no evidence of same.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭jelem

its got so pathetic and was under impression could not get worse than when
    "dustin" was accepted in eurovision.
    not able to laugh or cry

Trump uses voter suppression, no need for voter fraud.

Oh we absolutely will.

There is an almost zero chance that Trump wins the popular vote and if he wins the EC vote it will be by a tiny margin in a few States , likely decided by the courts.

In both cases he and his surrogates will be shouting endlessly about Voter fraud.

Either to justify/defend the court decisions or as others say, to complain that he really won the popular vote by millions and millions if you exclude all those fake votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Last time out, who was pushing allegations of voter fraud and recounts on behalf of Mrs. Clinton?

Clinton camp splits from White House on Jill Stein recount push
    Stein’s petition to Wisconsin, a copy of which was obtained by the Guardian, focused on concerns that foreign actors might have copied the state’s voter registration database and then filed bogus absentee ballots. No direct evidence supporting this claim was cited.

In requesting the recounts, Stein is acting on behalf of a loose coalition of academics and election experts. Her Wisconsin petition features an affidavit by J Alex Halderman, the director of Michigan University’s Center for Computer Security and Society, who has for years detailed vulnerabilities in electronic voting machines used in the US.

source

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

Last time out, who was pushing allegations of voter fraud and recounts on behalf of Mrs. Clinton?

Clinton camp splits from White House on Jill Stein recount push
    There's no point in that article where the Clinton campaign say they believe there is fraud. In fact, they emphasise they've seen no indication of it. But they did support a recount if it was requested, that was it. Meanwhile Trump started an investigation into voter fraud because he didn't get the popular vote.

Plus Hilary conceded on the night of the election. Strongly doubt we'll ever see Trump do the same thing.

Penn wrote: »
    Plus Hilary conceded on the night of the election. Strongly doubt we'll ever see Trump do the same thing.

As far as I remember, she did not concede on the night. Didnt she send Podesta out to send her supporters home? I think his words were along the lines of 'not giving up'. I could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

‘He wont conceed’ is just this elections ‘he’ll start all the wars’ its a baseless bogeyman with nothing to suggest it has any basis in reality.

As far as I remember, she did not concede on the night. Didnt she send Podesta out to send her supporters home? I think his words were along the lines of 'not giving up'. I could be wrong

According to Wikipedia, she called Trump to concede in the early hours of Wednesday morning (election was on Tuesday). Made her concession speech the next morning.
    As the results came in on election night, November 8, 2016, Clinton lost in multiple states that she had been predicted to win. In the early morning hours of November 9, media sources declared Trump the winner of the presidency.[263] Clinton lost the electoral vote while winning the popular vote, in what the New York Times called a "surprise outcome" after polls leading up to election day had predicted a Clinton victory.[264][265] She congratulated Trump on the win in the early morning hours of November 9, 2016, and delivered her public concession speech at 11:50 AM ET, November 9, 2016.[266]

So she conceded when it was clear she lost. My point is, I don't think Trump will do so, and will instead try to challenge or dispute the results in any close State, as he has already signalled his intent to. Even if he fully loses court challenges etc, I doubt he will ever say he lost the election, he will maintain that he was cheated out of it.

‘He wont conceed’ is just this elections ‘he’ll start all the wars’ its a baseless bogeyman with nothing to suggest it has any basis in reality.

It's based on Trump strongly and repeatedly implying that he will challenge the results if he doesn't win.

You don't need to be Scooby Doo to see that Trump is under the mask of this particular bogeyman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭Pa ElGrande

Mrs. Clinton has yet to find closure for her defeat. On the night she was told by then US president Obama to concede. A few months later she put out a book called "What happened" which blamed everyone but her for the defeat - allegedly her husband told her "you lost" and to this day she is still ranting about the Russians.
    You can see why the Clinton campaign latched on to the recounts and got Jill Stein to front the recounts.

Insiders account reveals Obama twice phoned hesitant Clinton, pushing her to concede election defeat
    First came a call from White House political director David Simas to Clinton’s campaign manager, Robby Mook. “POTUS doesn’t think it’s wise to drag this out,” Simas said.

But Clinton was dragging it out.

So then she got a call from POTUS. “You need to concede,” urged Obama, who repeated the message in a follow-up call to Clinton’s campaign chairman, John Podesta.

At last, Clinton said, “Give me the phone.” And then the first woman who was going to be president got her opponent on the line and said two words she never expected to say: “Congratulations, Donald.”

Moments later, Obama was back on the phone, this time making a consolation call. “Mr. President,” Clinton said softly. “I’m sorry.”

source

Net Zero means we are paying for the destruction of our economy and society in pursuit of an unachievable and pointless policy.

It's based on Trump strongly and repeatedly implying that he will challenge the results if he doesn't win.

You don't need to be Scooby Doo to see that Trump is under the mask of this particular bogeyman.

Indeed - I have no issues with any candidate challenging a result based on the facts at hand , we see it here all the time where a recount is requested when it's really tight. That's part of the democratic process - AFTER the Election.

Each State has a process to challenge votes (hanging chads anyone) or a threshold for when a recount can be requested - Using those processes is perfectly fine and part of the rules.

But Trump has repeatedly said in recent weeks that the only way he can lose is if the other side cheat , he is calling fraud before the Election.

That is utterly unacceptable.

Mrs. Clinton has yet to find closure for her defeat. On the night she was told by then US president Obama to concede. A few months later she put out a book called "What happened" which blamed everyone but her for the defeat - allegedly her husband told her "you lost" and to this day she is still ranting about the Russians.
    You can see why the Clinton campaign latched on to the recounts and got Jill Stein to front the recounts.

Insiders account reveals Obama twice phoned hesitant Clinton, pushing her to concede election defeat

But she did concede..

She was not happy about it and probably(definitely) still isn't and her personal feelings are just that.

But she did the correct thing from a Democratic process perspective , she conceded when the fight was done.

There is absolutely no indication that Trump would do the same.

Imagine the result next month is an exact inverse of 2016 and Trump loses by ~70,000 votes across two or three States.

Will he make that phone call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

But she did concede..

She was not happy about it and probably(definitely) still isn't and her personal feelings are just that.

But she did the correct thing from a Democratic process perspective , she conceded when the fight was done.

There is absolutely no indication that Trump would do the same.

Imagine the result next month is an exact inverse of 2016 and Trump loses by ~70,000 votes across two or three States.

Will he make that phone call?

“Theres no indication that he will” , its like that tv joke “your friend can be a murderer, after all he never said he wasn't a murderer , and if he did thats exactly what a murderer would say”

If it did come down to it I think he’d conceed in a snotty way that is childish but he’d conceed and move on , none of this crap about ‘will have to be dragged out of the whitehouse / ask for endless recounts”

“Theres no indication that he will” , its like that tv joke “your friend can be a murderer, after all he never said he wasn't a murderer , and if he did thats exactly what a murderer would say”

If it did come down to it I think he’d conceed in a snotty way that is childish but he’d conceed and move on , none of this crap about ‘will have to be dragged out of the whitehouse / ask for endless recounts”

I agree that he won't need to be "dragged out of the WH" or whatever - That's always been silly , but he has said himself that the only way he can lose is if the Democratic party cheat , so he is the one "setting the scene" for him not conceding and fighting endlessly. It's not a creation of the media , it's his own statements.

He literally stated he can't guarantee a peaceful transition of power due to voter fraud.... Which he hasn't substantiated. I also suspect you and others will defend however he behaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Trump with Covid is more active than Biden without it, stick a fork in it, Biden is done, Trump will crush him now.

Thank you brand new username. All hail the glorious leader. May he reign for a thousand years!

He literally stated he can't guarantee a peaceful transition of power due to voter fraud.... Which he hasn't substantiated. I also suspect you and others will defend however he behaves.

Yes, but you re failing to recognise that this is one of those examples of Trump, being the man that tells it like it is, not actually meaning what he says and its all just a big joke.

I still haven't worked out how his supporters, or anyone else, can tell when he is telling it like it is and when he is simply joking around.

Trump means what he says, except when he doesn't. That's why I know that he is doing perfectly fine because he said he was and he never lies, except when he needs to and then its perfectly acceptable.

If Trump loses he will still be whinging in four years time.

Hell, he'll probably whinge even if he wins!